Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scanlan et al. (US 10,034,459 B1), hereinafter Scanlan, in view of Aragon, Jr. (US 5,138,535 A).
Regarding claim 1, Scanlan discloses a pet toy comprising:
a handle (handle 2, fig. 1);
at least one light source disposed in the handle (light pointer 14, fig. 3);
a shaft (boom 7, fig. 1) extending from the handle (as shown in fig. 1, boom 7 extends from the handle 2);
a cord (line 5, fig. 1) attached to the shaft (Col. 2, lines 39-40, “the cat-attracting toy is attached to the boom with a line 5”; as shown in fig. 1); and
a toy assembly coupled to the cord (as shown in fig. 1, the feather clump 3 is attached to the line 5).
While Scanlan discloses at least one light source disposed in the handle, Scanlan does not
appear to specifically disclose a transparent or semitransparent shaft, the shaft including a plurality of optical strands configured to radiate light generated by the at least one light source, the plurality of optical strands abutting the at least one light source and arranged within the shaft to form a recurring pattern.
However, Aragon is in the field of toys (Abstract) and teaches a handle (handle 14, fig. 1); at least one light source disposed in the handle (as shown in fig. 1, light source 16 is disposed in the handle 14); a transparent or semitransparent shaft extending from the handle (transparent chosen; Col. 3, line 13, “tubular member 44 is transparent”; as shown in fig. 1), the shaft including a plurality of optical strands (see a plurality of fiber optic leads 42, fig. 1) configured to radiate light generated by the at least one light source (Col. 3, lines 30-34, “the light source will be activated at a predetermined flash rate and in turn emit same to the fiber optic elements 42 to generate blinking lights along the length of the tubular member 44”; as shown in fig. 1), the plurality of optical strands abutting the at least one light source (fig. 1) and arranged within the shaft to form a recurring pattern (as shown in fig. 1, the leads 42 vary in length from short to long which results in a recurring pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shaft of Scanlan with the transparent shaft including a plurality of optical strands, the optical strands abutting the light source and arranged within the shaft to form a recurring pattern as taught by Aragon, in order to engage and stimulate the pet through interactive play and provide a more aesthetically pleasing toy design.
Regarding claim 9, Scanlan in view of Aragon discloses the invention in claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein a portion of each of the plurality of optical strands are disposed in the handle.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Scanlan such that portions of the plurality of optical strands are disposed in the handle, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Doing so would protect a portion of the optical strand in the event that the tubular member (i.e., the shaft) brakes. Furthermore, examiner notes that applicant has not provided any criticality as to why a portion of the optical strands are disposed in the handle.
Regarding claim 11, Scanlan in view of Aragon discloses the invention in claim 1, and Scanlan further discloses generating light in accordance with two or more operational modes (Col. 2, lines 56-57, “Switch 12 may be a click-on, click-off switch”; as shown in fig. 5), but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the one or more optical strands are configured to radiate light generated by the at least one light source in accordance with two or more operational modes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light source of modified Scanlan to be operated by a switch in order to turn the device on and off with convenience.
Regarding claim 17, Scanlan discloses a pet toy comprising:
a handle (handle 2, fig. 1);
at least one light source disposed in the handle (light pointer 14, fig. 3);
a shaft (boom 7, fig. 1) extending from the handle (as shown in fig. 1, boom 7 extends from the handle 2);
a cord (line 5, fig. 1) attached to the shaft (Col. 2, lines 39-40, “the cat-attracting toy is attached to the boom with a line 5”; as shown in fig. 1); and
a toy assembly coupled to the cord (as shown in fig. 1, the feather clump 3 is attached to the line 5).
While Scanlan discloses at least one light source disposed in the handle, Scanlan does not
appear to specifically disclose a transparent or semitransparent shaft, the shaft including a plurality of optical strands in contact with the at least one light source, the plurality of optical strands configured to radiate light generated by the at least one light source and arranged within the shaft to form a recurring pattern.
However, Aragon is in the field of toys (Abstract) and teaches a handle (handle 14, fig. 1); at least one light source disposed in the handle (as shown in fig. 1, light source 16 is disposed in the handle 14); a transparent or semitransparent shaft extending from the handle (transparent chosen; Col. 3, line 13, “tubular member 44 is transparent”; as shown in fig. 1), the shaft including a plurality of optical strands (see a plurality of fiber optic leads 42, fig. 1) in contact with the at least one light source (fig. 1), the plurality of optical strands configured to radiate light generated by the at least one light source (Col. 3, lines 30-34, “the light source will be activated at a predetermined flash rate and in turn emit same to the fiber optic elements 42 to generate blinking lights along the length of the tubular member 44”; as shown in fig. 1) and arranged within the shaft to form a recurring pattern (as shown in fig. 1, the leads 42 vary in length from short to long which results in a recurring pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shaft of Scanlan with the transparent shaft including a plurality of optical strands, the optical strands in contact with the light source and arranged within the shaft to form a recurring pattern as taught by Aragon, in order to engage and stimulate the pet through interactive play and provide a more aesthetically pleasing toy design.
Claim(s) 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scanlan et al. (US 10,034,459 B1) in view of Aragon, Jr. (US 5,138,535 A), and Kim et al. (US 2008/0196676 A1), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 12, Scanlan discloses a pet toy comprising:
a handle (handle 2, fig. 1);
at least one light source disposed in the handle (light pointer 14, fig. 3);
a shaft (boom 7, fig. 1) extending from the handle (as shown in fig. 1, boom 7 extends from the handle 2);
a cord (line 5, fig. 1) attached to the shaft (Col. 2, lines 39-40, “the cat-attracting toy is attached to the boom with a line 5”; as shown in fig. 1); and
a toy assembly coupled to the cord (as shown in fig. 1, the feather clump 3 is attached to the line 5).
While Scanlan discloses at least one light source disposed in the handle, Scanlan does not
appear to specifically disclose a transparent or semitransparent shaft, the shaft including a plurality of optical strands configured to radiate light generated by the at least one light source, the plurality of optical strands abutting the at least one light source and arranged within the shaft to form a recurring pattern. Furthermore, Scanlan does not appear to specifically disclose the toy assembly including at least one additional light source.
However, Aragon is in the field of toys (Abstract) and teaches a handle (handle 14, fig. 1); at least one light source disposed in the handle (as shown in fig. 1, light source 16 is disposed in the handle 14); a transparent or semitransparent shaft extending from the handle (transparent chosen; Col. 3, line 13, “tubular member 44 is transparent”; as shown in fig. 1), the shaft including a plurality of optical strands (see a plurality of fiber optic leads 42, fig. 1) configured to radiate light generated by the at least one light source (Col. 3, lines 30-34, “the light source will be activated at a predetermined flash rate and in turn emit same to the fiber optic elements 42 to generate blinking lights along the length of the tubular member 44”; as shown in fig. 1), the plurality of optical strands abutting the at least one light source (fig. 1) and arranged within the shaft to form a recurring pattern (as shown in fig. 1, the leads 42 vary in length from short to long which results in a recurring pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shaft of Scanlan with the transparent shaft including a plurality of optical strands, the optical strands abutting the light source and arranged within the shaft to form a recurring pattern as taught by Aragon, in order to engage and stimulate the pet through interactive play and provide a more aesthetically pleasing toy design.
Kim is in the field of a pet toy (Abstract) and teaches wherein the toy assembly including at least one [additional] light source (Para. [0011], “attachment 11 can include feathered bundles while attachment can contain attractants such as catnip, bells, electric sound generators, crackle fabrics and lights to enhance a pet's interest”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feather clump of Scanlan with the attachment body and light attractant as taught by Kim, in order to enhance the pet’s interests (Kim: Para. [0011]).
Regarding claim 16, Scanlan in view of Aragon and Kim discloses the invention in claim 12, and Scanlan further discloses wherein the handle includes two or more user input devices (Col. 2, lines 56-57, “Switch 12 may be a click-on, click-off switch”; as shown in fig. 5).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scanlan in view of
Aragon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Riding (US 8,997,695 B2).
Regarding claim 4, Scanlan in view of Aragon discloses the invention in claim 1, but does not
appear to specifically disclose wherein the toy assembly includes a body and a loop coupled to the body.
However, Riding is in the field of a casting pet toy (Abstract) and teaches wherein the toy assembly includes a body and a loop coupled to the body (pet lure 28 has a body 36 and an attachment loop 38 extending from the body, figs. 5 & 6A-6F).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feather clump of Scanlan such that it had a body and a loop coupled thereto as taught by Riding, in order to form an attachment connection between the cord and the pet toy body.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scanlan in view of
Aragon and Riding as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2008/0196676 A1), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 5, Scanlan in view of Aragon and Riding discloses the invention in claim 4, and further discloses a body (as modified above in claim 4), but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the body includes an additional light source.
However, Kim is in the field of a pet toy (Abstract) and discloses wherein the body includes an [additional] light source (Para. [0011], “attachment 11 can include feathered bundles while attachment can contain attractants such as catnip, bells, electric sound generators, crackle fabrics and lights to enhance a pet's interest”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Scanlan such that there was an additional light source in the toy assembly as taught by Kim, in order to enhance the pet’s interests (Kim: Para. [0011]).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scanlan in view of Aragon as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Crane et al. (US 2019/0014746 A1), hereinafter Crane.
Regarding claim 18, Scanlan in view of Aragon discloses the invention in claim 17, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the one or more optical strands are configured to radiate light generated by the at least one light source in accordance with two or more operational modes.
However, Crane is in the field of a pet toy with laser light (Abstract) and teaches [generating light] by the at least one light source in accordance with two or more operational modes (Para. [0017], “[t]he laser light may include different colors and different patterns of projected light. For example, the laser light source may have one or more pre-programmed sequences enabling the pet owner to select from a desired light color, a desire projected light pattern, and a desired sequence of activation and deactivation of the light”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Scanlan such that the laser light source may include different colors and different patterns of projected light as taught by Crane, in order to provide mental and physical stimulation for the animal.
Regarding claim 19, Scanlan in view of Aragon and Crane discloses the invention in claim 18, and Scanlan further discloses wherein the user input device (switch 12, fig. 5) is configured to change an operational mode of the two or more operation modes of the pet toy (Examiner notes, as set forth above in claim 18, the two operational modes may include a change in colors and/or different patterns of projected light. The switch is operating the laser light source and therefore operating the two operation modes of the pet toy.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9, 11-12, and 16-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/N.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647