Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 refers to “a plurality of enterprise data object definitions, each enterprise data object definition comprising metadata for an enterprise data structure and including at least one of table definitions, column definitions, field definitions, schema definitions, application object definitions, and business object definitions having first natural-language descriptors;”
“ a plurality of database object definitions from one or more heterogeneous enterprise data sources, each database object definition comprising at least one of database table definitions, database column definitions, field definitions, schema definitions, and metadata records having second natural-language descriptors;” and
“measure the quantum states to produce measurement results identifying at least one nearest-neighbor database table definitions, database column definitions, field definitions, schema definitions, and metadata records;”
In the measurement step, it is unclear if the “database table definitions, database column definitions, field definitions, schema definitions, and metadata records” are in reference to the first, second, or both sets of earlier defined definitions.
Claim 3 refers to “enterprise data object metadata comprising at least one of natural-language descriptors of table definitions, column definitions, field definitions, schema definitions, application object definitions, and business object definitions;”
“the database metadata comprising natural- language descriptors of database table definitions, database column definitions, field definitions, schema definitions, and metadata records;” and
“the quantum states to produce measurement results identifying at least one of nearest-neighbor table definitions, column definitions, field definitions, schema definitions, and metadata records.”
In the measurement step, it is unclear if the “table definitions, column definitions, field definitions, schema definitions, and metadata records” are in reference to the first, second, or both sets of earlier introduced definitions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sander-Edwards et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0073261), in view of Baughman et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0123240), in view of Bhide et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2013/0117217), and further in view of Clapis et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0325704).
As to claim 2, Sander-Edwards teaches a hybrid classical-quantum enterprise data-fabric system comprising:
at least one classical processor configured to execute an enterprise data processing engine (see Sander-Edwards paragraphs [0046]-[0047]);
memory (see Sander-Edwards paragraphs [0046]-[0047]) storing:
a plurality of enterprise data object definitions, each enterprise data object definition comprising metadata for an enterprise data structure and including at least one of table definitions, column definitions, field definitions, schema definitions, application object definitions, and business object definitions having first natural-language descriptors (see Sander-Edwards paragraphs [0081]-[0086]. Sander-Edwards tracks data objects in the form of first content and second content. Sander-Edwards analyzes multiple different databases, see paragraph [0163]-[0167], in which contents have different natural language descriptors, [0081]-[0086]. These objects include at least business object definitions);
a plurality of database object definitions from one or more heterogeneous enterprise data sources, each database object definition comprising at least one of database table definitions, database column definitions, field definitions, schema definitions, and metadata records having second natural-language descriptors (see Sander-Edwards. Contents of the database have metadata records having different natural language descriptors, [0081]-[0086]. These objects include at least metadata records); and
…
a vectorization module executable by the at least one classical processor and configured to generate first TF-IDF vectors from the first natural-language descriptors and second TF-IDF vectors from the second natural-language descriptors (see Sander-Edwards. Contents of the database have metadata records having different natural language descriptors, [0081]-[0086]. Analyses are performed on the vectors, including measuring similarity distances);
…
Sander-Edwards does not clearly teach:
at least one of migration and access metadata usable to cause at least one of transforming, retrieving, and presenting enterprise data across a source-system schema and a target-system schema;
a quantum accelerator communicatively coupled to the one or more classical processors through a quantum interface, the quantum accelerator comprising a quantum processor;
wherein the at least one classical processor is configured to transmit, through the quantum interface, quantum circuit instructions representing at least one of the first TF-IDF vectors and a plurality of the second TF-IDF vectors;
wherein the quantum processor is configured to:
prepare a quantum superposition representing candidate semantic relationships between the at least one first TF-IDF vector and the plurality of second TF-IDF vectors; encode distances between the at least one first TF-IDF vector and the plurality of second TF-IDF vectors into amplitudes of quantum states of the quantum superposition; and
measure the quantum states to produce measurement results identifying at least one nearest-neighbor database table definitions, database column definitions, field definitions, schema definitions, and metadata records; and
wherein the at least one classical processor is further configured to:
generate, based on the measurement results, a semantic mapping between at least one enterprise data object definition and at least one database object definition;
store the semantic mapping in a mapping repository usable by the enterprise data processing engine; and
configure, using the semantic mapping, at least one of:
a data transformation process that transforms source-system data into target-system data according to the target-system schema;
a search process that retrieves enterprise data from operational data and history data; and
an access process that presents enterprise data from a plurality of heterogeneous enterprise data sources through a common target-system interface.
Baughman teaches:
a quantum accelerator communicatively coupled to the one or more classical processors through a quantum interface, the quantum accelerator comprising a quantum processor (see Baughman paragraphs [0036]-[0037]. Baughman teaches to perform an initial analysis of a dataset using a classical processor. Following this, a quantum processor is used to identify similar data objects for each of the initial data objects);
wherein the at least one classical processor is configured to transmit, through the quantum interface, quantum circuit instructions representing at least one of the first TF-IDF vectors and a plurality of the second TF-IDF vectors (see Baughman paragraph [0116]. Classical encoded feature vectors are submitted to quantum encoding modules. As noted in paragraphs [0047]-[0048], these vectors are created using natural language processing to represent data objects for which similarity is to be determined through clustering. It is additionally noted that while Baughman considers natural language vectors, Sander-Edwards is relied upon for the calculation of TF-IDF vectors, as cited above at Sander-Edwards paragraphs [0081]-[0086]. The rejection is based on the combination of references);
wherein the quantum processor is configured to:
prepare a quantum superposition representing candidate semantic relationships between the at least one first TF-IDF vector and the plurality of second TF-IDF vectors (see Baughman paragraph [0116]. The encoding modules encode the classical encoded vectors into different quantum encoding spaces. As noted in paragraph [0038], one type of encoding includes encoding data objects in a superposition. As noted above, Sander-Edwards teaches to compare vectors that are TF-IDF vectors);
encode distances between the at least one first TF-IDF vector and the plurality of second TF-IDF vectors into amplitudes of quantum states … (see Baughman paragraph [0039]. Amplitudes may be encoded. As noted above, Sander-Edwards teaches to compare vectors that are TF-IDF vectors); and
measure the quantum states to produce measurement results identifying at least one nearest-neighbor database table definitions, database column definitions, field definitions, schema definitions, and metadata records (see Baughman paragraph [0116]. Clustering operations of metadata records and field definitions are produced based on the quantum states. It is noted that such clustering operations identifying metadata records that are similar to one another); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Sander-Edwards by the teachings of Baughman because Baughman provides for improving efficiency when identifying relationships between data (see Baughman paragraph [0029]).
Bhide teaches:
at least one of migration and access metadata usable to cause at least one of transforming, retrieving, and presenting enterprise data across a source-system schema and a target-system schema (see Bhide paragraphs [0018] and [0035]. Also see paragraphs [0044]-[0047] for context. The mappings of the model are used to perform ETL jobs);
…
wherein the at least one classical processor is further configured to:
generate, based on the measurement results, a semantic mapping between at least one enterprise data object definition and at least one database object definition (see Bhide paragraphs [0044]-[0047]. Bhide generates a semantic mapping based on analysis of a source database definition and a target database definition);
store the semantic mapping in a mapping repository usable by the enterprise data processing engine (see Bhide paragraphs [0044]-[0047]. The mapping is preserved and used by the system); and
configure, using the semantic mapping, at least one of:
a data transformation process that transforms source-system data into target-system data according to the target-system schema (see Bhide paragraphs [0018] and [0035]. Also see paragraphs [0044]-[0047] for context. The mappings of the model are used to perform ETL jobs);
a search process that retrieves enterprise data from operational data and history data; and
an access process that presents enterprise data from a plurality of heterogeneous enterprise data sources through a common target-system interface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Sander-Edwards by the teachings of Bhide because Bhide provides for automatically identifying rules to that allow for ETL processing, save a user time-consuming effort when performing ETL operations to move data from one system to another (see Bhide paragraph [0004]).
Clapis teaches to encode distances between the at least one first TF-IDF vector and the plurality of second TF-IDF vectors into amplitudes of quantum states of the quantum superposition (see paragraph [0079]. Amplitudes of quantum states of a quantum superposition may be recorded based on quantum analysis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Sander-Edwards by the teachings of Clapis because Clapis provides ways of analyzing data that may be must faster than classical computers (see Clapis paragraph [0002]). This will improve the speed and efficiency of Sander-Edwards.
As to claim 3, Sander-Edwards teaches a computer-implemented method for generating semantic mappings for an enterprise data fabric using a hybrid classical-quantum computing system, the method comprising:
receiving, by at least one classical processor, enterprise data object metadata comprising at least one of natural-language descriptors of table definitions, column definitions, field definitions, schema definitions, application object definitions, and business object definitions (see Sander-Edwards paragraphs [0081]-[0086] and [0163]-[0167] and the rejection of claim 2);
receiving, by the at least one classical processor, database metadata from at least one of a plurality of heterogeneous enterprise data sources, the database metadata comprising natural- language descriptors of database table definitions, database column definitions, field definitions, schema definitions, and metadata records (see Sander-Edwards paragraphs [0081]-[0086] and [0163]-[0167] and the rejection of claim 2);
generating, by the at least one classical processor, TF-IDF vectors from the enterprise data object metadata and the database metadata (see Sander-Edwards paragraphs [0081]-[0086] and [0163]-[0167] and the rejection of claim 2);
Sander-Edwards does not teach:
transmitting, from the at least one classical processor to a quantum processor through a quantum interface, quantum circuit instructions representing the TF-IDF vectors;
preparing, by the quantum processor, a quantum superposition representing candidate semantic correspondences between the enterprise data object metadata and the database metadata;
encoding, by the quantum processor, distances between the TF-IDF vectors into amplitudes of quantum states of the quantum superposition;
measuring, by the quantum processor, the quantum states to produce measurement results identifying at least one of nearest-neighbor table definitions, column definitions, field definitions, schema definitions, and metadata records;
generating, by the at least one classical processor based on the measurement results, a semantic mapping between at least one enterprise data object definition and at least one database object definition; and
configuring, by the at least one classical processor using the semantic mapping, an enterprise data processing operation that causes at least one of transforming, retrieving, and presenting enterprise data across a source-system schema and a target-system schema.
Baughman teaches:
transmitting, from the at least one classical processor to a quantum processor through a quantum interface, quantum circuit instructions representing the TF-IDF vectors (see Baughman paragraphs [0036]-[0037] and the rejection of claim 2. As noted above, Sander-Edwards teaches TF-IDF vectors);
preparing, by the quantum processor, a quantum superposition representing candidate semantic correspondences between the enterprise data object metadata and the database metadata (see Baughman paragraphs [0038] and [0116] and the rejection of claim 2);
encoding, by the quantum processor, distances between the TF-IDF vectors into amplitudes of quantum states … (see Baughman paragraph [0039] and the rejection of claim 2);
measuring, by the quantum processor, the quantum states to produce measurement results identifying at least one of nearest-neighbor table definitions, column definitions, field definitions, schema definitions, and metadata records (see Baughman paragraph [0116] and the rejection of claim 2);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Sander-Edwards by the teachings of Baughman because Baughman provides for improving efficiency when identifying relationships between data (see Baughman paragraph [0029]).
Bhide teaches:
generating, by the at least one classical processor based on the measurement results, a semantic mapping between at least one enterprise data object definition and at least one database object definition (see Bhide paragraphs [0044]-[0047] and the rejection of claim 2); and
configuring, by the at least one classical processor using the semantic mapping, an enterprise data processing operation that causes at least one of transforming, retrieving, and presenting enterprise data across a source-system schema and a target-system schema (see Bhide paragraphs [0018] and [0035] and the rejection of claim 2. Also see paragraphs [0044]-[0047] for context).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Sander-Edwards by the teachings of Bhide because Bhide provides for automatically identifying rules to that allow for ETL processing, save a user time-consuming effort when performing ETL operations to move data from one system to another (see Bhide paragraph [0004]).
Clapis teaches encoding, by the quantum processor, distances between the TF-IDF vectors into amplitudes of quantum states of the quantum superposition (see paragraph [0079] and the rejection of claim 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Sander-Edwards by the teachings of Clapis because Clapis provides ways of analyzing data that may be must faster than classical computers (see Clapis paragraph [0002]). This will improve the speed and efficiency of Sander-Edwards.
As to claim 4, Sander-Edwards as modified by Bhide teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the semantic mapping comprises at least one of a table mapping, a column mapping, a field mapping, a data-element mapping, a structure mapping, and a table-name/field-name value mapping (see Bhide paragraphs [0044]-[0047]).
As to claim 5, Sander-Edwards as modified by Bhide teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the mapping repository comprises a JOIN repository configured to map source artifacts to target artifacts for an enterprise data migration or archive-access operation (see Bhide paragraph [0047]).
As to claim 6, Sander-Edwards as modified by Bhide teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the enterprise data processing engine is configured to map field names from a schema of an archive database to a schema of a target operational database and perform a set-theory UNION operation between a first result set sourced from the archive database and a second result set sourced from the target operational database (see Bhide paragraph [0047]).
As to claim 7, Sander-Edwards as modified by Bhide teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the one or more heterogeneous enterprise data sources comprise at least two of an enterprise resource planning system, a customer relationship management system, a cloud database, a source operational database, an archive database, and a target operational database (see Bhide paragraph [0047]).
As to claim 8, Sander-Edwards as modified by Bhide teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the access process presents history data and operational data through the common target-system interface while the history data is stored separately from an operational database of a target system (see Bhide paragraphs [0039] and [0047]).
As to claim 9, Sander-Edwards as modified by Baughman teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the at least one classical processor is configured to select between a classical classification path and a quantum classification path based on at least one of availability of the quantum processor, a size of a candidate set of database object definitions, and a cost or performance criterion (see Baughman paragraphs [0036]-[0037] and [0042]).
As to claim 10, Sander-Edwards as modified by Baughman teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the quantum processor is configured to repeat the measuring to generate a probability distribution indicating closeness of candidate database object definitions to an input enterprise data object definition (see Baughman paragraphs [0044]-[0046] and [0048] for distribution-based clustering via repeated measurements).
As to claim 11, Sander-Edwards as modified teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the quantum processor is accessed by the at least one classical processor as at least one of a networked resource and through a cloud-based quantum application programming interface (see Baughman paragraphs [0086]-[0088] for accessing the hybrid clustering system through an API, wherein the hybrid clustering system includes the quantum processor, paragraph [0091]. Alternatively, see Baughman paragraphs [0077] and [0083], in which the system uses a networked resource).
As to claim 12, Sander-Edwards as modified teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the distances encoded into the amplitudes comprise semantic distances based on the TF-IDF vectors (see Baughman paragraph [0116]. Amplitude of vectors may be performed, wherein related data objects may be determined based on distance. It is additionally noted that while Baughman considers natural language vectors, Sander-Edwards is relied upon for the calculation of TF-IDF vectors, as cited above at Sander-Edwards paragraphs [0081]-[0086]. The rejection is based on the combination of references).
As to claim 13, Sander-Edwards as modified by Baughman teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the quantum processor is configured to use a quantum pattern classification operation in which a distance of an input vector to a plurality of training vectors is considered (see Baughman paragraph [0118]. Testing may be performed using training data. It is noted that similarity is performed using distance, as noted above in [0116]).
As to claim 14, Sander-Edwards as modified teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the enterprise data object definition comprises a business object definition of an enterprise resource planning system (see Sander-Edwards paragraphs [0081]-[0086] and [0163]-[0167]).
As to claim 15, Sander-Edwards as modified by Bhide teaches the method of claim 3, wherein generating the semantic mapping comprises identifying at least one of an equivalent table, an equivalent column, an equivalent data element, and a probabilistic set of candidate equivalent tables, columns, and data elements between a source operational database and a target operational database (see Bhide paragraphs [0044]-[0047]).
As to claim 17, Sander-Edwards as modified teaches the method of claim 3, wherein configuring the enterprise data processing operation comprises configuring an extract-transform-load migration engine to transform source- system data into target-system data according to the target-system schema (see Bhide paragraph [0035])
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sander-Edwards et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0073261), in view of Baughman et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0123240), in view of Bhide et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2013/0117217), in view of Clapis et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0325704), and further in view of Liu et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2020/0133676).
As to claim 16, Sander-Edwards as modified teaches the method of claim 3.
Sander-Edwards does not teach further comprising selecting a value k representing a number of nearest neighbors to consider for classification of at least one of an enterprise data object definition and a database object definition.
Liu teaches further comprising selecting a value k representing a number of nearest neighbors to consider for classification of at least one of an enterprise data object definition and a database object definition (see Liu paragraph [0062] for computing a subset of neighbor vectors based on a parameter value. It is additionally noted that Liu relies upon quantum processing, paragraph [0024]).
It would have been obvious before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Sander-Edwards by the teaching of Liu because Liu provides for optimizations in parallel processing that help to more efficiently identifying related data structures based on vector distance (see Liu paragraphs [0023] and [0025]). This will improve the efficiency of Sander-Edwards in performing analysis.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sander-Edwards et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0073261), in view of Baughman et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0123240), in view of Bhide et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2013/0117217), in view of Clapis et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0325704), and further in view of Bhatawdekar et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2009/0249125).
As to claim 18, Sander-Edwards as modified teaches the method of claim 3.
Sander-Edwards does not teach wherein configuring the enterprise data processing operation comprises configuring a search and display user interface to retrieve history data from an archive database and operational data from a target operational database through a common target-system interface.
Bhatawdekar teaches wherein configuring the enterprise data processing operation comprises configuring a search and display user interface to retrieve history data from an archive database and operational data from a target operational database through a common target-system interface (see Bhatawdekar paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Sander-Edwards by the teaching of Bhatawdekar because Bhatawdekar provides for a user interface to query data warehouses without requiring the user the underlying query language. This will make querying and exploring data of Sander-Edwards easier.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES D ADAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165