DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to a Continuation patent application filed by Applicant on 3/10/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement PTO-1449
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted by applicant on 8/6/2025 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Double Patenting
Claims 1–21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory anticipatory-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12 of US 10,917,788 B2, issued Feb. 9, 2021. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The present application, as claimed, satisfies the requirements for patent-eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1–5, 12–16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US 2016/0112871 A1, published Apr. 21, 2016, cited in IDS filed 8/6/2025) in view of Robinson (US 2014/0156833 A1, published Jun. 5, 2014, cited in IDS filed 8/6/2025).
Regarding claim 1, White discloses: a method of detecting departure of a previously authenticated user from proximity to a secure resource, the method comprising the steps of: establishing a wireless communication link between the secure resource and a device proximate thereto (direct wireless communication between computer 110 and mobile device 102 using a short-range communications link. White Figure 1, element 140 and ¶¶ 29–30.); verifying, by the secure resource, an association between the authenticated user and the device (authentication of the user is performed using scanned signature cards, ID cards 716, and passwords 717, by access control 710. White ¶ 81.); monitoring over time, by the secure resource, a signal strength of the wireless communication link and periodically storing, in a computer memory, values indicative of the monitored signal strength (signal properties of the transmission, such as signal strength, are checked to determine if the device is still in the enabled location and the data is stored in memory. White ¶¶ 88–89.); periodically analyzing, by the secure resource, the stored values for patterns indicative of a walkaway event and, when the monitored data exceeds a threshold specified by a security policy registering a walkaway even and terminating the authenticated user’s access to the secure resource (monitoring and checking the characteristics of the signal strength of the transmitted proximity signal to determine a failure to meet a criteria threshold determining that the device is no longer within the room (out-of-room state) and terminates access to data based upon policies. White ¶¶ 68–69, 86, and 89.).
White does not disclose: assigning probabilities to indicate an event based on an exceeded threshold.
However, Robinson does disclose: assigning probabilities to indicate an event based on an exceeded threshold (applying probability based upon the state of the data to determine what is the likely state. Robinson ¶ 61.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restricting access between devices based upon proximity enabled by monitoring signal strength of the communications link of White with triggering events based upon assigned probability values exceeding a threshold based upon the teachings of Robinson. The motivation being to add flexibility, not rigid logic, to the means of data analytics. Robinson ¶ 61.
Regarding claim 2, White in view of Robinson discloses the limitations of claim 1, wherein the secure resource verifies the association by communication with a location server having access to a user database (database maintained at a central server located remote to establishment for storing the content, data, or communications. White ¶ 91. Authentication of the user is performed using scanned signature cards, ID cards 716, and passwords 717, by access control 710. White ¶ 81.).
Regarding claim 3, White in view of Robinson discloses the limitations of claim 1, wherein the authenticated user's access to the secure resource is terminated by ending a session hosted by the secure resource (session is terminated. White ¶ 89.).
Regarding claim 4, White in view of Robinson discloses the limitations of claim 1, wherein the authenticated user's access to the secure resource is terminated by launching a privacy screen removable only by a new authentication (when access is terminated the device wipes all information accessed during the session. White ¶ 89.).
Regarding claim 5, White in view of Robinson discloses the limitations of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication link is a short-range wireless protocol (White ¶ 27.).
Regarding claim 12, White discloses: a system comprising a plurality of secure resources, each of the secure resources comprising: a processor; a computer memory including stored instructions executable by the processor for implementing (i) an authentication module and (ii) an event-monitoring module (White ¶¶ 82, 89, and 98.); a wireless interface for establishing wireless communication links with user devices proximate to the secure resource (direct wireless communication between computer 110 and mobile device 102 using a short-range communications link. White Figure 1, element 140 and ¶¶ 29–30.); RSSI circuitry configured to monitor a signal strength of a wireless communication link between the wireless interface and a user device, and periodically storing, in the computer memory, values indicative of the monitored signal strength (signal properties of the transmission, such as signal strength, are checked to determine if the device is still in the enabled location and the data is stored in memory. White ¶¶ 88–89.), wherein: the authentication module is configured to authenticate a user and verify an association between the authenticated user and the linked user device (authentication of the user is performed using scanned signature cards, ID cards 716, and passwords 717, by access control 710. White ¶ 81.); and the event-monitoring module is configured to (i) periodically analyze the stored values for patterns indicative of a walkaway event and, when the monitored data exceeds a threshold specified by a security policy registering a walkaway event and terminating the authenticated user's access to the secure resource (monitoring and checking the characteristics of the signal strength of the transmitted proximity signal to determine a failure to meet a criteria threshold determining that the device is no longer within the room (out-of-room state) and terminates access to data based upon policies. White ¶¶ 68–69, 86, and 89.).
White does not disclose: assigning probabilities to indicate an event based on an exceeded threshold.
However, Robinson does disclose: assigning probabilities to indicate an event based
on an exceeded threshold (applying probability based upon the state of the data to determine what is the likely state. Robinson ¶ 61.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restricting access between devices based upon proximity enabled by monitoring signal strength of the communications link of White with triggering events based upon assigned probability values exceeding a threshold based upon the teachings of Robinson. The motivation being to add flexibility, not rigid logic, to the means of data analytics. Robinson ¶ 61.
Regarding claim 13, White in view of Robinson discloses the limitations of claim 12, further comprising a user database storing associations between users and the user devices (database maintained at a central server located remote to establishment for storing the content, data, or communications. White ¶ 91. Authentication of the user is performed using scanned signature cards, ID cards 716, and passwords 717, by access control 710. White ¶ 81.).
Regarding claim 14, White in view of Robinson discloses the limitations of claim 12, wherein the event-monitoring module is configured to terminate the authenticated user's access to the secure resource by ending a session hosted by the secure resource (session is terminated. White ¶ 89.).
Regarding claim 15, White in view of Robinson discloses the limitations of claim 12, wherein the event-monitoring module is configured to terminate the authenticated user's access to the secure resource by launching a privacy screen removable only by a new authentication by the authentication module (when access is terminated the device wipes all information accessed during the session. White ¶ 89.).
Regarding claim 16, White in view of Robinson discloses the limitations of claim 12, wherein the wireless communication link is a short-range wireless protocol (White ¶ 27.).
Claims 6, 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White in view of Robinson in view of Chen (US 2015/0245165 A1, published Aug. 27, 2015, cited in IDS filed 8/6/2025).
Regarding claim 6, White in view of Robinson discloses the limitations of claim 5, wherein the short-range wireless protocol is Bluetooth (White ¶ 27.).
White in view of Robinson does not disclose: Bluetooth Low Energy.
However, Chen does disclose: Bluetooth Low Energy (Chen ¶¶ 4–6.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restricting access between devices based upon proximity enabled by monitoring signal strength of the communications link of White with using Bluetooth Low Energy based upon the teachings of Chen. The motivation being the Bluetooth Low Energy is part of the Bluetooth specification and provides significant benefits with regards to power consumption compared with previous versions. Chen ¶ 3.
Regarding claim 17, White in view of Robinson discloses the limitations of claim 16, wherein the short-range wireless protocol is Bluetooth (White ¶ 27.).
White in view of Robinson does not disclose: Bluetooth Low Energy.
However, Chen does disclose: Bluetooth Low Energy (Chen ¶¶ 4–6.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restricting access between devices based upon proximity enabled by monitoring signal strength of the communications link of White with using Bluetooth Low Energy based upon the teachings of Chen. The motivation being the Bluetooth Low Energy is part of the Bluetooth specification and provides significant benefits with regards to power consumption compared with previous versions. Chen ¶ 3.
Claims 10, 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White in view of Robinson in view of Lee (US 2014/0156833 A1, published Jun. 5, 2014, cited in IDS filed 8/6/2025).
Regarding claim 10, White in view of Robinson discloses the limitations of claim 1. White in view of Robinson does not disclose: wherein the analyzing step is performed with a recurrent neural network.
However, Lee does disclose: wherein the analyzing step is performed with a recurrent neural network (employing various AI tools for analytical calculations such as recurrent neural network-based analysis for real-time prediction and data mining. Lee ¶ 66.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restricting access between devices based upon proximity enabled by monitoring signal strength of the communications link of White with analyzing performed with a recurrent neural network based upon the teachings of Lee. The motivation being to improve analytics when determining the state of the system.
Regarding claim 21, White in view of Robinson discloses the limitations of claim 12. White in view of Robinson does not disclose: wherein the analyzing step is performed with a recurrent neural network.
However, Lee does disclose: wherein the analyzing step is performed with a recurrent neural network (employing various AI tools for analytical calculations such as recurrent neural network-based analysis for real-time prediction and data mining. Lee ¶ 66.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restricting access between devices based upon proximity enabled by monitoring signal strength of the communications link of White with analyzing performed with a recurrent neural network based upon the teachings of Lee. The motivation being to improve analytics when determining the state of the system.
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White in view of Robinson in view of Chawla (US 2011/0159884 A1, published Jun. 30, 2011, cited in IDS filed 8/6/2025).
Regarding claim 11, White in view of Robinson discloses the limitations of claim 1. White in view of Robinson does not disclose: further comprising, by the secure resource following the user's authentication, subscribing to location events of the user with a location server configured to broadcast location events to subscribers thereto.
However, Chawla does disclose: further comprising, by the secure resource following the user's authentication, subscribing to location events of the user with a location server configured to broadcast location events to subscribers thereto (subscribing to a push-client service with location updates in the embedded mobile application. Chawla Figure 5 and ¶¶ 38–39.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restricting access between devices based upon proximity enabled by monitoring signal strength of the communications link of White with subscribing after user authentication to local events with a location server to broadcast events to subscribers based upon the teachings of Chawla. The motivation being to enable enhanced communication with location-relevant data to subscribing clients. Chawla ¶ 39.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7–9 and 18–20 are subject to the above double patenting rejection. However, were Applicant to overcome this rejection, claims 7–9 and 18–20 would be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VANCE M LITTLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493