DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/4/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korevaar (US 5,777,768) in view of Wang (US 2017/0195061).
1). With regard to claim 1, Korevaar discloses a satellite (Figures 1-3 etc.; column 3 line 62 and line 66, “the system can be used either for establishing a terrestrial communications link or a satellite communications link. Thus, in order to meet the specific needs of a particular application, several versions of the system for the present invention are contemplated. First, in a version that is perhaps best suited for use as a satellite communications link”) comprising:
a communication terminal (e.g., 12 in Figure 2; and Figure 3) configured to establish an inter-satellite data transfer link with a second satellite (e.g., 14 in Figure 2; column 3 line 62 and line 66, “a satellite communications link”; column 5 lines 6-8, “a first terminal 12 and a second terminal 14 which is essentially the same as the first terminal 12”), wherein the communication terminal comprises multiple optical transmit apertures (Figure 3: apertures for laser beams 20a-20c; Figure 4A and 4B: apertures 42a and 42i etc. for laser assemblies 40a-40p) and is configured to use the multiple optical transmit apertures together to establish the inter-satellite data transfer link with the second satellite (Figures 2-4, and column 5 line 4 to column 7 line 34),
wherein each of the optical transmit apertures of the multiple optical transmitters are each positionable (Figure 3, positioned by steering assembies 28a/28b/28c; “These laser transmitters 26a-c are pointed by respective steering assemblies 28a, 28b and 28c, also mounted on support member 27a, so that the respective emanating laser beams 20a, 20b and 20c are all pointed approximately in the same direction. For purposes of the present invention the laser beams 20 are pointed along substantially parallel paths, recognizing that in a far field 30 they will, at least to some extent, overlap one another. The laser transmitters 26a-c can be either semiconductor diode lasers or of some other type of laser well known in the art. The respective steering assemblies 28a-c can be either independent gimbals which are useful for steering the lasers transmitters 26a-c separately, or there can be a single steering assembly 28 which has a single gimbal for collectively holding and steering all of the multiple laser transmitters 26a-c. In this latter case, lenses or mirrors (not shown) can be used for fine pointing of the laser beams 20a-c”);
wherein the communication terminal is configured to cause the multiple optical transmitters to perform synchronized transmission of a same data stream (column 3 line 47-48, “At least two of the non-coherent over-lapping transmitted laser beams carry the same communications signal”. Korevaar does not expressly state that the multiple transmitters perform synchronized transmission of the same data stream; however, as shown in Figure 3 etc., the transmitters 26a-26c are driven by signals from a same “laser drive electronics 24” that provides drive current for separate laser transmitters 26. And for the receiver to decode the transmitted signal, it is obvious to one skilled in the art that the data streams transmitted from the multiple transmitters need to be synchronized, otherwise, the receiver could not decode the data signal properly. Also, Korevaar teaches “For the present invention, these characteristics of the laser beams 20 must be somehow controlled and, therefore, made predictable”, column 9 lines 34-36, and a controller/computer 18a/18b is implemented in the terminals, it is obvious that the multiple optical transmitters need to be controlled to perform synchronized transmission of the same data stream); and
wherein the communication terminal comprises a controller (e.g., computer 18a/18b) that is configured to adjust positions of the optical transmit apertures based on indications of received signal quality from the second satellite (column 7 line 58-60: “The transmitted lasers are steered with pointing mirror 72, which can be controlled automatically by computer 18 to maintain alignment if desired”, “some of the received light 44 is reflected to focus on tracking detector assembly 56”; column 8 lines 39-44: “Preferably the tracking detector 86 is a CCD camera but could also be another position sensitive device such as a quadrant detector which is known in the art”, “a tracking detector mounted on said base and connected to said steering assembly for selectively activating said steering assembly to point said laser light transmitters”. It is well-known in the art that a quadrant detector, “which is known in the art”, is used to check the received signal quality; and the “alignment” is one of criteria/indications of received signal quality).
As indicated above, Korevaar does not expressly state that the multiple optical transmitters perform synchronized transmission of the same data stream, however, first, as discussed above, as shown in Figure 3 etc. of Korevaar, the transmitters 26a-26c are driven by signals from a same “laser drive electronics 24” that provides drive current for the laser transmitters 26a-c; and for the receiver to decode the transmitted signal, it is obvious to one skilled in the art that the multiple optical transmitters need to perform synchronized transmission of the same data stream; otherwise, the receiver could not properly decode the data signals that are the combination of data streams from multiple transmitters; also, Korevaar teaches “For the present invention, these characteristics of the laser beams 20 must be somehow controlled and, therefore, made predictable” (column 9 lines 34-36), and a controller/computer 18a/18b is implemented in the terminals; therefore, it is obvious that the multiple optical transmitters are controlled by the controller/computer to perform synchronized transmission of the same data stream. Second, another prior art, Wang, discloses a free-space optical communication system/method (Figures 1-2 and 4 etc.), which utilizes spatial diversity to mitigate turbulence. Wang discloses “In some embodiments, the FIFOs may be connected to a common data clock 205 for synchronizing the operation of the FIFOs. For example, the common data clock 205 may clock data from data sources to the FIFOs, therefore providing at least a coarse synchronization of the optical beam arrival. In some embodiments, the PLLs 221-224 may provide a fine synchronization of the optical beam arrival by independently adjusting the phase of the optical beams interleaving to a sub-baud level. The synchronized interleaved optical beams from the data sources (only one data source is illustrated) may be sent to the TXs 201a-204a and the apertures 201b-204b. In at least some embodiments, the combination of the coarse and fine synchronization (adjustment) improves signal-to-noise ratio at the RX apertures. In some embodiments, the coarse synchronization may be used, while the fine synchronization is not used” ([0020] and [0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wang to the system/method of Korevaar so that synchronized transmissions of a same data stream data streams are performed by the multiple optical transmitter, and SNR can be improved, and received data can be properly decoded.
2). With regard to claim 2, Korevaar and Wang disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang further discloses wherein the communication terminal of the satellite is configured to separately position the optical transmit apertures (Korevaar: Figure 3, positioned by steering assembies 28a/28b/28c; “These laser transmitters 26a-c are pointed by respective steering assemblies 28a, 28b and 28c, also mounted on support member 27a, so that the respective emanating laser beams 20a, 20b and 20c are all pointed approximately in the same direction. For purposes of the present invention the laser beams 20 are pointed along substantially parallel paths, recognizing that in a far field 30 they will, at least to some extent, overlap one another. ... . The respective steering assemblies 28a-c can be either independent gimbals which are useful for steering the lasers transmitters 26a-c separately”).
3). With regard to claim 3, Korevaar and Wang disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang further discloses wherein the communication terminal of the satellite is configured to adjust a position of the optical transmit apertures to selectively transmit to (i) a single receive aperture of the second satellite (Korevaar: aperture for receiver 34 in Figure 3; aperture 46 in Figures 4-6) or (ii) multiple receive apertures of the second satellite.
4). With regard to claim 4, Korevaar and Wang disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang further discloses wherein the communication terminal of the satellite is configured to operate in multiple modes, including (i) a first mode in which the multiple optical transmit apertures are directed to a same, single receive aperture of the second satellite (Korevaar: Figures 3-6, multiple optical transmit apertures are directed to a same, single receive aperture. Wang: Figures 1-2, single receive aperture 300), and (ii) a second mode in which the multiple optical transmit apertures are directed to separate receiver apertures of the second satellite (Wang: [0021], “multiple RX apertures may be used. For example, one RX aperture may receive optical beams from a subset of TX apertures, while the remaining optical beams are received by another RX aperture”, [0020], “the combination of the coarse and fine synchronization (adjustment) improves signal-to-noise ratio at the RX apertures. In some embodiments, the coarse synchronization may be used, while the fine synchronization is not used.”).
5). With regard to claim 5, Korevaar and Wang disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang further discloses wherein the controller of the communication terminal is configured to position the optical transmit apertures to (i) align the optical transmit apertures with one or more optical receive apertures of the second satellite (Korevaar: column 7 lines 58-60, “The transmitted lasers are steered with pointing mirror 72, which can be controlled automatically by computer 18 to maintain alignment if desired”) and (ii) maintain alignment of the optical transmit apertures with one or more optical receive apertures of the second satellite over time (Wang: column 6 line 63-67, “some of the received light 44 is reflected to focus on tracking detector assembly 56”; column 8 lines 19-45, “this embodiment employs ten laser transmitters 26 of which two are used for an acquisition and tracking function” and “The acquisition/tracking signal at wavelength 850 nm passes through the beam splitter 82, through narrowband filter 84 and into tracking detector 86. Preferably the tracking detector 86 is a CCD camera but could also be another position sensitive device such as a quadrant detector which is known in the art”; that is, positions are tracked and alignment is maintained over time).
6). With regard to claim 8, Korevaar discloses a method performed by one or more processors (e.g., computer 18a-b etc.), the method comprising:
initiating, by a first satellite (e.g., terminal 12 in Figure 2; and Figure 3. Figures 1-3 etc.; column 3 line 62 and line 66, “the system can be used either for establishing a terrestrial communications link or a satellite communications link. Thus, in order to meet the specific needs of a particular application, several versions of the system for the present invention are contemplated. First, in a version that is perhaps best suited for use as a satellite communications link”), a inter-satellite data transfer link (column 5 line 15, “a satellite link” between terminal 12 and terminal 14) with a second satellite (e.g., terminal 14; column 3 line 62 and line 66, “a satellite communications link”; column 5 lines 6-8, “a first terminal 12 and a second terminal 14 which is essentially the same as the first terminal 12”), wherein the first satellite comprises multiple optical transmit apertures (Figure 3: apertures for laser beams 20a-20c; Figure 4A and 4B: apertures 42a and 42i etc. for laser assemblies 40a-40p) configured to be used concurrently to provide the inter-satellite data transfer link (Figures 2-4, and column 5 line 4 to column 7 line 34);
positioning, by the first satellite, the optical transmit apertures with respect to the second satellite (Figure 3, positioned by steering assembies 28a/28b/28c; “These laser transmitters 26a-c are pointed by respective steering assemblies 28a, 28b and 28c, also mounted on support member 27a, so that the respective emanating laser beams 20a, 20b and 20c are all pointed approximately in the same direction. For purposes of the present invention the laser beams 20 are pointed along substantially parallel paths, recognizing that in a far field 30 they will, at least to some extent, overlap one another. The laser transmitters 26a-c can be either semiconductor diode lasers or of some other type of laser well known in the art. The respective steering assemblies 28a-c can be either independent gimbals which are useful for steering the lasers transmitters 26a-c separately, or there can be a single steering assembly 28 which has a single gimbal for collectively holding and steering all of the multiple laser transmitters 26a-c. In this latter case, lenses or mirrors (not shown) can be used for fine pointing of the laser beams 20a-c”);
performing, by the first satellite, synchronized transmission of a same data stream using each of the multiple optical transmit apertures (column 3 line 47-48, “At least two of the non-coherent over-lapping transmitted laser beams carry the same communications signal”. Korevaar does not expressly state that the first satellite, performs synchronized transmission of the same data stream using each of the multiple optical transmit apertures; however, as shown in Figure 3 etc., the transmitters 26a-26c are driven by signals from a same “laser drive electronics 24” that provides drive current for separate laser transmitters 26. And for the receiver to decode the transmitted signal, it is obvious to one skilled in the art that the data streams transmitted from the multiple transmitters need to be synchronized, otherwise, the receiver could not decode the data signal properly. Also, Korevaar teaches “For the present invention, these characteristics of the laser beams 20 must be somehow controlled and, therefore, made predictable”, column 9 lines 34-36, and a controller/computer 18a/18b is implemented in the terminals, it is obvious that the multiple optical transmitters need to be controlled to perform synchronized transmission of the same data stream); and
adjusting, by the first satellite, positions of the optical transmit apertures based on indications of received signal quality from the second satellite (column 7 line 58-60: “The transmitted lasers are steered with pointing mirror 72, which can be controlled automatically by computer 18 to maintain alignment if desired”, “some of the received light 44 is reflected to focus on tracking detector assembly 56”; column 8 lines 39-44: “Preferably the tracking detector 86 is a CCD camera but could also be another position sensitive device such as a quadrant detector which is known in the art”, “a tracking detector mounted on said base and connected to said steering assembly for selectively activating said steering assembly to point said laser light transmitters”. It is well-known in the art that a quadrant detector, “which is known in the art”, is used to check the received signal quality; and the “alignment” is one of criteria/indications of received signal quality).
As indicated above, Korevaar does not expressly state that the first satellite, performs synchronized transmission of the same data stream using each of the multiple optical transmit apertures, however, first, as discussed above, as shown in Figure 3 etc. of Korevaar, the transmitters 26a-26c are driven by signals from a same “laser drive electronics 24” that provides drive current for the laser transmitters 26a-c; and for the receiver to decode the transmitted signal, it is obvious to one skilled in the art that the multiple optical transmitters need to perform synchronized transmission of the same data stream; otherwise, the receiver could not properly decode the data signals that are the combination of data streams from multiple transmitters; also, Korevaar teaches “For the present invention, these characteristics of the laser beams 20 must be somehow controlled and, therefore, made predictable” (column 9 lines 34-36), and a controller/computer 18a/18b is implemented in the terminals; therefore, it is obvious that the multiple optical transmitters are controlled by the controller/computer to perform synchronized transmission of the same data stream. Second, another prior art, Wang, discloses a free-space optical communication system/method (Figures 1-2 and 4 etc.), which utilizes spatial diversity to mitigate turbulence. Wang discloses “In some embodiments, the FIFOs may be connected to a common data clock 205 for synchronizing the operation of the FIFOs. For example, the common data clock 205 may clock data from data sources to the FIFOs, therefore providing at least a coarse synchronization of the optical beam arrival. In some embodiments, the PLLs 221-224 may provide a fine synchronization of the optical beam arrival by independently adjusting the phase of the optical beams interleaving to a sub-baud level. The synchronized interleaved optical beams from the data sources (only one data source is illustrated) may be sent to the TXs 201a-204a and the apertures 201b-204b. In at least some embodiments, the combination of the coarse and fine synchronization (adjustment) improves signal-to-noise ratio at the RX apertures. In some embodiments, the coarse synchronization may be used, while the fine synchronization is not used” ([0020] and [0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wang to the system/method of Korevaar so that synchronized transmissions of a same data stream data streams are performed by the multiple optical transmitter, and SNR can be improved, and received data can be properly decoded.
7). With regard to claim 9, Korevaar and Wang disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 8 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang further discloses wherein positioning the optical transmit apertures comprises separately positioning the optical transmit apertures (Korevaar: Figure 3, positioned by steering assembies 28a/28b/28c; “These laser transmitters 26a-c are pointed by respective steering assemblies 28a, 28b and 28c, also mounted on support member 27a, so that the respective emanating laser beams 20a, 20b and 20c are all pointed approximately in the same direction. For purposes of the present invention the laser beams 20 are pointed along substantially parallel paths, recognizing that in a far field 30 they will, at least to some extent, overlap one another. ... . The respective steering assemblies 28a-c can be either independent gimbals which are useful for steering the lasers transmitters 26a-c separately”).
8). With regard to claim 10, Korevaar and Wang disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 8 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang further discloses wherein the first satellite is configured to adjust a position of the optical transmit apertures to selectively transmit (i) from multiple optical transmit apertures to a same single receive aperture of the second satellite (Korevaar: aperture for receiver 34 in Figure 3; aperture 46 in Figures 4-6) or (ii) from multiple optical transmit apertures to different corresponding receive apertures of the second satellite (Wang: [0021], “multiple RX apertures may be used. For example, one RX aperture may receive optical beams from a subset of TX apertures, while the remaining optical beams are received by another RX aperture”, [0020], “the combination of the coarse and fine synchronization (adjustment) improves signal-to-noise ratio at the RX apertures. In some embodiments, the coarse synchronization may be used, while the fine synchronization is not used.”).
9). With regard to claim 11, Korevaar and Wang disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 8 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang further discloses wherein the first satellite is configured to operate in multiple modes, including (i) a first mode in which the multiple optical transmit apertures are directed to a same, single receive aperture of the second satellite (Korevaar: Figures 3-6, multiple optical transmit apertures are directed to a same, single receive aperture. Wang: Figures 1-2, single receive aperture 300), and (ii) a second mode in which the multiple optical transmit apertures are directed to separate receiver apertures of the second satellite (Wang: [0021], “multiple RX apertures may be used. For example, one RX aperture may receive optical beams from a subset of TX apertures, while the remaining optical beams are received by another RX aperture”, [0020], “the combination of the coarse and fine synchronization (adjustment) improves signal-to-noise ratio at the RX apertures. In some embodiments, the coarse synchronization may be used, while the fine synchronization is not used.”).
10). With regard to claim 12, Korevaar and Wang disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 8 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang further discloses the method of claim 8, comprising:
aligning the optical transmit apertures with one or more optical receive apertures of the second satellite (Korevaar: column 7 lines 58-60, “The transmitted lasers are steered with pointing mirror 72, which can be controlled automatically by computer 18 to maintain alignment if desired”); and
adjusting positions of the optical transmit apertures to maintain alignment of the optical transmit apertures with one or more optical receive apertures of the second satellite over time (Wang: column 6 line 63-67, “some of the received light 44 is reflected to focus on tracking detector assembly 56”; column 8 lines 19-45, “this embodiment employs ten laser transmitters 26 of which two are used for an acquisition and tracking function” and “The acquisition/tracking signal at wavelength 850 nm passes through the beam splitter 82, through narrowband filter 84 and into tracking detector 86. Preferably the tracking detector 86 is a CCD camera but could also be another position sensitive device such as a quadrant detector which is known in the art”; that is, positions are tracked and alignment is maintained over time).
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korevaar and Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chaffee et al (US 2026/0081688).
1). With regard to claim 6, Korevaar and Wang disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang further discloses wherein the communication terminal is configured to receive an electrical information signal and to provide the received electrical information signal to the optical transmitters (Korevaar: from laser driver 24).
But, Korevaar and Wang do not expressly discloses the satellite of claim 1, comprising a separate optical modulator for each of the optical transmit apertures; and wherein the communication terminal is configured to provide the received electrical information signal to the optical modulators, such that each of the optical modulators separately converts the electrical information signal to optical signals.
However, first, Korevaar discloses “The drive electronics 24 can provide a communications signal to be modulated on the laser beams 20a-c” (column 3 line 39-40); and Wang discloses “Intensity-Modulated Direct Detection with Multi-Channel Multi-Beaming”. It is obvious to one skilled in the art that either a directly modulated laser or an external modulator is used to modulate data signal onto the optical carrier. Second, using a separate optical modulator to modulate optical signal is well-known in the art. E.g., Chaffee et al discloses a system/method for transmitting information in free-space optical communications (Figures 5-10 and 29 etc.); and the system/method comprising a separate optical modulator (302 in Figure 6; or 1004 or 1006 in Figure 10; or 2921/2922/2929 in Figure 29); and wherein the communication terminal is configured to receive electrical information signal and to provide the received electrical information signal to the optical modulators, such that each of the optical modulators separately converts the electrical information signal to optical signals (Figures 10 and 29).
Korevaar and Wang disclose that each channel has its own transmit aperture, and same electrical information signal is provided to each channel/beam so to convert the electrical signal into optical signal. Chaffee et al discloses that a separate external modulator is used for each channel/transmitter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply external modulators as taught by Chaffee et al to the system/method of Korevaar and Wang so that electrical information can be conveniently modulated on to the optical carrier, and a high speed data speed can be obtained.
2). With regard to claim 13, Korevaar and Wang disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 1 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang further discloses wherein the method comprises receiving an electrical information signal (Korevaar: from laser driver 24); and providing the received electrical information signal to the optical transmitters (Korevaar: from laser driver 24 to transmitters 26).
But, Korevaar and Wang do not expressly discloses wherein the first satellite comprises a separate optical modulator for each of the optical transmit apertures; and providing the received electrical information signal to the optical modulators, such that each of the optical modulators separately converts the electrical information signal to optical signals.
However, first, Korevaar discloses “The drive electronics 24 can provide a communications signal to be modulated on the laser beams 20a-c” (column 3 line 39-40); and Wang discloses “Intensity-Modulated Direct Detection with Multi-Channel Multi-Beaming”. It is obvious to one skilled in the art that either a directly modulated laser or an external modulator is used to modulate data signal onto the optical carrier. Second, using a separate optical modulator to modulate optical signal is well-known in the art. E.g., Chaffee et al discloses a system/method for transmitting information in free-space optical communications (Figures 5-10 and 29 etc.); and the system/method comprising a separate optical modulator (302 in Figure 6; or 1004 or 1006 in Figure 10; or 2921/2922/2929 in Figure 29); and wherein the communication terminal is configured to receive electrical information signal and to provide the received electrical information signal to the optical modulators, such that each of the optical modulators separately converts the electrical information signal to optical signals (Figures 10 and 29).
Korevaar and Wang disclose that each channel has its own transmit aperture, and same electrical information signal is provided to each channel/beam so to convert the electrical signal into optical signal. Chaffee et al discloses that a separate external modulator is used for each channel/transmitter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply external modulators as taught by Chaffee et al to the system/method of Korevaar and Wang so that electrical information can be conveniently modulated on to the optical carrier, and a high speed data speed can be obtained
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korevaar and Wang and Chaffee et al as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Giggenbach (US 2020/0162160)
1). With regard to claim 7, Korevaar and Wang and Chaffee et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 1 and 6 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang and Chaffee et al further discloses the satellite of claim 6, comprising a separate optical booster amplifier (Chaffee: 604 in Figure 6; or 1010 or 1012 in Figure 10; or 2931/2932/2933 in Figure 29) and aperture (Korevaar: Figures 3-6; Wang: 201b-204b) for each of the optical transmit apertures, and wherein each of the optical modulators is coupled to its corresponding optical booster amplifier and aperture through fiber optics (Wang: [0011], “a first data source may send multiple optical beams at different frequencies, wavelengths, phases or polarization angles to the corresponding TX apertures through optical fiber”, [0013], “In at least some embodiments, the optical beams 150 can be generated by lasers or light emitting diodes (LEDs), and may be transferred to the TX apertures 201-204 through the atmosphere or optical fiber”. Chaffee: [0097], “FIG. 3 illustrates an example of an optical communications platform 300 for using an USPL source 102 fiber coupled to an external modulator 302 through a fiber medium 304 and connected to a transmitting element 106 through an additional transmission medium 306, which can optionally be a fiber medium, a free space connection, etc. The USPL source 102 can be externally modulated by the external modulator 302 such that optical power from the USPL source 102 is fiber coupled to the transmitting element 106 or handled via an equivalent optical telescope”; and Figure 6, fiber medium 202/306).
In Figure 4, Wang does not expressly state that the aperture (201b-204b) is a telescope. However, in Figures 4 and 6 etc. of Korevaar, the transmit laser assemblies 40a and 40c’ are actually have a telescope structure (with optics 42 etc.); and Chaffee et al discloses that a telescope is used as an aperture (106 in Figure 6). Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art that a telescope can be used for each aperture so that the light beam can be concentrated. Another prior art, Giggenbach, discloses a transmitter for an optical free-beam communication system (Figures 1 and 3), and a telescopes (26 in Figure 3) after the amplifier (24) for each beam/channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Giggenbach with Korevaar and Wang and Chaffee et al so that telescopes are used at the apertures, and the beam size can be controlled.
2). With regard to claim 14, Korevaar and Wang and Chaffee et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claims 8 and 13 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang and Chaffee et al further discloses wherein the first satellite comprises an optical booster amplifier (Chaffee: 604 in Figure 6; or 1010 or 1012 in Figure 10; or 2931/2932/2933 in Figure 29) and aperture (Korevaar: Figures 3-6; Wang: 201b-204b) for each of the optical transmit apertures, and wherein each of the optical modulators is coupled to its corresponding optical booster amplifier and aperture through fiber optics (Wang: [0011], “a first data source may send multiple optical beams at different frequencies, wavelengths, phases or polarization angles to the corresponding TX apertures through optical fiber”, [0013], “In at least some embodiments, the optical beams 150 can be generated by lasers or light emitting diodes (LEDs), and may be transferred to the TX apertures 201-204 through the atmosphere or optical fiber”. Chaffee: [0097], “FIG. 3 illustrates an example of an optical communications platform 300 for using an USPL source 102 fiber coupled to an external modulator 302 through a fiber medium 304 and connected to a transmitting element 106 through an additional transmission medium 306, which can optionally be a fiber medium, a free space connection, etc. The USPL source 102 can be externally modulated by the external modulator 302 such that optical power from the USPL source 102 is fiber coupled to the transmitting element 106 or handled via an equivalent optical telescope”; and Figure 6, fiber medium 202/306).
In Figure 4, Wang does not expressly state that the aperture (201b-204b) is a telescope. However, in Figures 4 and 6 etc. of Korevaar, the transmit laser assemblies 40a and 40c’ are actually have a telescope structure (with optics 42 etc.); and Chaffee et al discloses that a telescope is used as an aperture (106 in Figure 6). Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art that a telescope can be used for each aperture so that the light beam can be concentrated. Another prior art, Giggenbach, discloses a transmitter for an optical free-beam communication system (Figures 1 and 3), and a telescopes (26 in Figure 3) after the amplifier (24) for each beam/channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Giggenbach with Korevaar and Wang and Chaffee et al so that telescopes are used at the apertures, and the beam size can be controlled
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korevaar (US 5,777,768) in view of Wang (US 2017/0195061) and Buscaino et al (US 2024/0396631).
1). With regard to claim 15, Korevaar discloses a process executed by a processor (e.g., computer 18a or 18b) of a first satellite (e.g., terminal 12 in Figure 2; and Figure 3. Figures 1-3 etc.; column 3 line 62 and line 66, “the system can be used either for establishing a terrestrial communications link or a satellite communications link. Thus, in order to meet the specific needs of a particular application, several versions of the system for the present invention are contemplated. First, in a version that is perhaps best suited for use as a satellite communications link”), to cause the first satellite to perform operations comprising:
initiating, by the first satellite, a inter-satellite data transfer link (column 5 line 15, “a satellite link” between terminal 12 and terminal 14) with a second satellite (e.g., terminal 14; column 3 line 62 and line 66, “a satellite communications link”; column 5 lines 6-8, “a first terminal 12 and a second terminal 14 which is essentially the same as the first terminal 12”), wherein the first satellite comprises multiple optical transmit apertures (Figure 3: apertures for laser beams 20a-20c; Figure 4A and 4B: apertures 42a and 42i etc. for laser assemblies 40a-40p);
positioning, by the first satellite, the optical transmit apertures with respect to the second satellite (Figure 3, positioned by steering assembies 28a/28b/28c; “These laser transmitters 26a-c are pointed by respective steering assemblies 28a, 28b and 28c, also mounted on support member 27a, so that the respective emanating laser beams 20a, 20b and 20c are all pointed approximately in the same direction. For purposes of the present invention the laser beams 20 are pointed along substantially parallel paths, recognizing that in a far field 30 they will, at least to some extent, overlap one another. The laser transmitters 26a-c can be either semiconductor diode lasers or of some other type of laser well known in the art. The respective steering assemblies 28a-c can be either independent gimbals which are useful for steering the lasers transmitters 26a-c separately, or there can be a single steering assembly 28 which has a single gimbal for collectively holding and steering all of the multiple laser transmitters 26a-c. In this latter case, lenses or mirrors (not shown) can be used for fine pointing of the laser beams 20a-c”);
performing, by the first satellite, synchronized transmission of a same data stream using each of the multiple optical transmit apertures (column 3 line 47-48, “At least two of the non-coherent over-lapping transmitted laser beams carry the same communications signal”. Korevaar does not expressly state that the first satellite, performs synchronized transmission of the same data stream using each of the multiple optical transmit apertures; however, as shown in Figure 3 etc., the transmitters 26a-26c are driven by signals from a same “laser drive electronics 24” that provides drive current for separate laser transmitters 26. And for the receiver to decode the transmitted signal, it is obvious to one skilled in the art that the data streams transmitted from the multiple transmitters need to be synchronized, otherwise, the receiver could not decode the data signal properly. Also, Korevaar teaches “For the present invention, these characteristics of the laser beams 20 must be somehow controlled and, therefore, made predictable”, column 9 lines 34-36, and a controller/computer 18a/18b is implemented in the terminals, it is obvious that the multiple optical transmitters need to be controlled to perform synchronized transmission of the same data stream); and
adjusting, by the first satellite, positions of the optical transmit apertures based on indications of received signal quality from the second satellite (column 7 line 58-60: “The transmitted lasers are steered with pointing mirror 72, which can be controlled automatically by computer 18 to maintain alignment if desired”, “some of the received light 44 is reflected to focus on tracking detector assembly 56”; column 8 lines 39-44: “Preferably the tracking detector 86 is a CCD camera but could also be another position sensitive device such as a quadrant detector which is known in the art”, “a tracking detector mounted on said base and connected to said steering assembly for selectively activating said steering assembly to point said laser light transmitters”. It is well-known in the art that a quadrant detector, “which is known in the art”, is used to check the received signal quality; and the “alignment” is one of criteria/indications of received signal quality).
As indicated above, Korevaar does not expressly state that the first satellite, performs synchronized transmission of the same data stream using each of the multiple optical transmit apertures; and Korevaar discloses a processor (computer), but, Korevaar does not expressly show one or more non-transitory machine-readable media storing instructions that are operable, when executed by one or more processors of the first satellite, to cause the first satellite to perform operations as presented above.
Regarding the synchronized transmission, however, first, as discussed above, as shown in Figure 3 etc. of Korevaar, the transmitters 26a-26c are driven by signals from a same “laser drive electronics 24” that provides drive current for the laser transmitters 26a-c; and for the receiver to decode the transmitted signal, it is obvious to one skilled in the art that the multiple optical transmitters need to perform synchronized transmission of the same data stream; otherwise, the receiver could not properly decode the data signals that are the combination of data streams from multiple transmitters; also, Korevaar teaches “For the present invention, these characteristics of the laser beams 20 must be somehow controlled and, therefore, made predictable” (column 9 lines 34-36), and a controller/computer 18a/18b is implemented in the terminals; therefore, it is obvious that the multiple optical transmitters are controlled by the controller/computer to perform synchronized transmission of the same data stream. Second, another prior art, Wang, discloses a free-space optical communication system/method (Figures 1-2 and 4 etc.), which utilizes spatial diversity to mitigate turbulence. Wang discloses “In some embodiments, the FIFOs may be connected to a common data clock 205 for synchronizing the operation of the FIFOs. For example, the common data clock 205 may clock data from data sources to the FIFOs, therefore providing at least a coarse synchronization of the optical beam arrival. In some embodiments, the PLLs 221-224 may provide a fine synchronization of the optical beam arrival by independently adjusting the phase of the optical beams interleaving to a sub-baud level. The synchronized interleaved optical beams from the data sources (only one data source is illustrated) may be sent to the TXs 201a-204a and the apertures 201b-204b. In at least some embodiments, the combination of the coarse and fine synchronization (adjustment) improves signal-to-noise ratio at the RX apertures. In some embodiments, the coarse synchronization may be used, while the fine synchronization is not used” ([0020] and [0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wang to the system/method of Korevaar so that synchronized transmissions of a same data stream data streams are performed by the multiple optical transmitter, and SNR can be improved, and received data can be properly decoded.
Regarding non-transitory machine-readable media storing instructions, however, first, Korevaar discloses that a computer is used to control the operation of the terminals, it is obvious to one skilled in the art that a memory is in the computer, and the memory stores instructions, when executed by the computer (processor) of the first satellite, to cause the first satellite to perform operations as discussed above. Second, Buscaino et al discloses a system/method for spatial diversity schemes in free-space optical communications (Figures 1-8 and 15-17), which includes “a non-transitory, machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations” ([0054], [0058] and claim 19 etc.). The non-transitory machine-readable media is an electronic, magnetic, optical, or other tangible physical device or means that can contain or store a computer program (instructions) for use by or in connection with a computer-related system or method. One skilled in the art would have clearly recognized that the method of Korevaar and Wang would have been implemented in a computer program. The implemented software would perform same function of the hardware for less expense, adaptability, and flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used the non-transitory machine-readable media storing instructions as taught by Buscaino et al in Korevaar and Wang in order to reduce cost and improve the adaptability and flexibility of the communication system.
2). With regard to claim 16, Korevaar and Wang and Buscaino et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 15 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang and Buscaino et al further discloses wherein positioning the optical transmit apertures comprises separately positioning the optical transmit apertures (Korevaar: Figure 3, positioned by steering assembies 28a/28b/28c; “These laser transmitters 26a-c are pointed by respective steering assemblies 28a, 28b and 28c, also mounted on support member 27a, so that the respective emanating laser beams 20a, 20b and 20c are all pointed approximately in the same direction. For purposes of the present invention the laser beams 20 are pointed along substantially parallel paths, recognizing that in a far field 30 they will, at least to some extent, overlap one another. ... . The respective steering assemblies 28a-c can be either independent gimbals which are useful for steering the lasers transmitters 26a-c separately”).
3). With regard to claim 17, Korevaar and Wang and Buscaino et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 15 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang and Buscaino et al further discloses wherein the first satellite is configured to adjust a position of the optical transmit apertures to selectively transmit (i) from multiple optical transmit apertures to a same single receive aperture of the second satellite (Korevaar: aperture for receiver 34 in Figure 3; aperture 46 in Figures 4-6) or (ii) from multiple optical transmit apertures to different corresponding receive apertures of the second satellite (Wang: [0021], “multiple RX apertures may be used. For example, one RX aperture may receive optical beams from a subset of TX apertures, while the remaining optical beams are received by another RX aperture”, [0020], “the combination of the coarse and fine synchronization (adjustment) improves signal-to-noise ratio at the RX apertures. In some embodiments, the coarse synchronization may be used, while the fine synchronization is not used.”).
4). With regard to claim 18, Korevaar and Wang and Buscaino et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 15 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang and Buscaino et al further discloses wherein the first satellite is configured to operate in multiple modes, including (i) a first mode in which the multiple optical transmit apertures are directed to a same, single receive aperture of the second satellite (Korevaar: Figures 3-6, multiple optical transmit apertures are directed to a same, single receive aperture. Wang: Figures 1-2, single receive aperture 300), and (ii) a second mode in which the multiple optical transmit apertures are directed to separate receiver apertures of the second satellite (Wang: [0021], “multiple RX apertures may be used. For example, one RX aperture may receive optical beams from a subset of TX apertures, while the remaining optical beams are received by another RX aperture”, [0020], “the combination of the coarse and fine synchronization (adjustment) improves signal-to-noise ratio at the RX apertures. In some embodiments, the coarse synchronization may be used, while the fine synchronization is not used.”).
5). With regard to claim 19, Korevaar and Wang and Buscaino et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 15 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang and Buscaino et al further discloses the one or more non-transitory machine-readable media of claim 15, comprising:
aligning the optical transmit apertures with one or more optical receive apertures of the second satellite (Korevaar: column 7 lines 58-60, “The transmitted lasers are steered with pointing mirror 72, which can be controlled automatically by computer 18 to maintain alignment if desired”); and
adjusting positions of the optical transmit apertures to maintain alignment of the optical transmit apertures with one or more optical receive apertures of the second satellite over time (Wang: column 6 line 63-67, “some of the received light 44 is reflected to focus on tracking detector assembly 56”; column 8 lines 19-45, “this embodiment employs ten laser transmitters 26 of which two are used for an acquisition and tracking function” and “The acquisition/tracking signal at wavelength 850 nm passes through the beam splitter 82, through narrowband filter 84 and into tracking detector 86. Preferably the tracking detector 86 is a CCD camera but could also be another position sensitive device such as a quadrant detector which is known in the art”; that is, positions are tracked and alignment is maintained over time).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korevaar and Wang and Buscaino et al as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Chaffee et al (US 2026/0081688).
Korevaar and Wang and Buscaino et al disclose all of the subject matter as applied to claim 15 above. And the combination of Korevaar and Wang and Buscaino et al further discloses wherein the method comprises receiving an electrical information signal (Korevaar: from laser driver 24; and providing the received electrical information signal to the optical transmitters (Korevaar: from laser driver 24 to transmitters 26).
But, Korevaar and Wang do not expressly discloses wherein the first satellite has an independent optical modulator for each of the optical transmit apertures; and providing the received electrical information signal to the optical modulators, such that each of the optical modulators independently converts the electrical information signal to optical signals.
However, first, Korevaar discloses “The drive electronics 24 can provide a communications signal to be modulated on the laser beams 20a-c” (column 3 line 39-40); and Wang discloses “Intensity-Modulated Direct Detection with Multi-Channel Multi-Beaming”. It is obvious to one skilled in the art that either a directly modulated laser or an external modulator is used to modulate data signal onto the optical carrier. Second, using a separate optical modulator to modulate optical signal is well-known in the art. E.g., Chaffee et al discloses a system/method for transmitting information in free-space optical communications (Figures 5-10 and 29 etc.); and the system/method comprising a separate optical modulator (302 in Figure 6; or 1004 or 1006 in Figure 10; or 2921/2922/2929 in Figure 29); and wherein the communication terminal is configured to receive electrical information signal and to provide the received electrical information signal to the optical modulators, such that each of the optical modulators separately converts the electrical information signal to optical signals (Figures 10 and 29).
Korevaar and Wang disclose that each channel has its own transmit aperture, and same electrical information signal is provided to each channel/beam so to convert the electrical signal into optical signal. Chaffee et al discloses that a separate external modulator is used for each channel/transmitter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply external modulators as taught by Chaffee et al to the system/method of Korevaar and Wang and Buscaino et al so that electrical information can be conveniently modulated on to the optical carrier, and a high speed data speed can be obtained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240348333 A1
US 20220337316 A1
US 11309964 B1
US 20210152243 A1
US 20160119059 A1
US 20120099868 A1
US 20110286749 A1
US 6795655 B1
/LI LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634 September 3, 2026