Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,246,665. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite substantially identical claim language. In the exemplary claim 1 the claim differs from the claim 1 of the patent in the language “first state” and “second state” are replaced with “first mode signal” and “second mode signal”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the patent to recite modes as alternative to the recited state transition for the benefit of establishing distinct programmable states for the controller circuit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12, 14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seibert (US 10,127,742)
With respect to claims 1 and 12 Seibert teaches an accessory controller configured the accessory controller (col. 17 line 31) comprising: a network input configured for connection to a communications network pin (Pins 6 and 14 further see col. 23 lines 10-30) of the OBD port (see OBD-II port, col. 23 line 8), a battery input (col. 8 lines 7-10, and line 36 for example) configured for connection to a battery pin of the OBD port; a output (see for example bidirectional communication with vehicle ECU, see RF transceiver with child buckle TX) configured for connection to the vehicle accessory (portable controller for child safety) and a controller circuit (microcontroller col. 7 line 62) configured to (i) monitor a communications signal (see value returned during querying to determine underway status col. lines 45-65) provided via the network input, (ii) monitor a battery voltage (col. 8 lines 7-10, and line 36 for example battery data fed to controller) provided via the battery input, and (iii) selectively deliver a mode signal (journey status, see ended confirming mode and monitoring mode col. 3 lines 20-25) to the output depending at least in part on the communications signal and the battery voltage, wherein the controller circuit is configured to transition from delivery of a first mode signal (journey ended) to delivery of a second mode (initial query or underway) signal when the communications signal exceeds a first threshold (from zero voltage to logic high voltage level response indicating journey is underway) and the battery voltage exceeds a second threshold (predefined level col. 8 line 44, 51-57, col. 23 lines 66- col. 24 lines 8).
With respect to claim 2 Seibert teaches the mode signal is a power output configured for connection to the vehicle accessory (when vehicle is stopped and journey has ended and child is buckled power output to alarm is output, col. 3 line 26, col. 25 lines 5-20).
With respect to claim 3 Seibert teaches the first mode signal is associated with partial functionality of the accessory in a sleep state (continued query not allowed when journey is ended) while the vehicle is parked and the second mode signal is associated with partial functionality of the accessory in a wake state while the vehicle is parked (confirming mode before transition to underway).
With respect to claim 14 Seibert teaches the plurality of mode signals are provided by a first output and a second output from the controller circuit (see broadcast status, alarm or waring col. 3 lines 20-30)
With respect to claim 16 Seibert teaches an accessory controller configured the accessory controller (col. 17 line 31) comprising: a network input configured for connection to a communications network pin (Pins 6 and 14 further see col. 23 lines 10-30) of the OBD port (see OBD-II port, col. 23 line 8), a battery input (col. 8 lines 7-10, and line 36 for example) configured for connection to a battery pin of the OBD port; and a controller circuit (microcontroller col. 7 line 62) configured to deliver a vehicle operation signal (journey status underway and active querying permitted to continue) to the vehicle accessory (portable controller for child safety) when a communications signal (see value returned during querying to determine underway status col. lines 45-65) provided via the network input exceeds a first voltage threshold (logic high voltage level response indicating journey is underway) and a battery signal provided via the battery input exceeds a second threshold (predefined level col. 8 line 44, 51-57, col. 23 lines 66- col. 24 lines 8).
With respect to claim 17 Seibert teaches an output configured for connection to the vehicle accessory (see bidirectional communication with the vehicle ECU), wherein the controller circuit is configured to deliver the vehicle operation signal via the at least one output.
With respect to claim 18 Seibert teaches the at least one output includes a first output and a second output (CAN high/low provides a differential signal on two I/O pins), wherein the vehicle operation signal is provided by a combination of the first output and the second output.
With respect to claim 19 Seibert teaches the vehicle operation signal is one of a plurality of mode signals, the plurality of mode signals including a first mode signal associated with the vehicle being off and parked (journey ended status), a second mode signal (initial querying after battery voltage detected, see col. 24 line 10 start or querying) associated with the vehicle being on and parked, and a third mode signal associated with the vehicle being on and driving (underway status).
With respect to claim 20 Seibert teaches the first mode signal is associated with no functionality of the vehicle accessory (journey ended no child buckled vehicle off), wherein the second mode signal is associated with partial functionality of the vehicle accessory (transition state from ended to underway), and wherein the third mode signal is associated with full functionality of the vehicle accessory (underway operation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seibert in view of Mader et al. (US 20180277028).
With respect to claim 11 and 13 Seibert teaches the known use of an accessory however does not teach the accessory is a camera. Mader teaches the known use of a dashboard camera and the network input is a controller area network (CAN) input. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to apply the accessory system of Seibert to the dash cam of Mader to the benefit of ensuring the driver is aware to deactivate dash cam electronics.
Claims 1, 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan et al. (US 20050177288) in view of Barden et al. (US 11,982,694).
With respect to claim 16 Sullivan teaches an accessory controller configured the accessory controller comprising: a network input configured for connection to a communications connection (see data connection with OBD port paragraph 0017-18) of the OBD port (10), a battery input (paragraph 0036, further see Fig. 3 paragraph 0047-49) configured for connection to a battery connection of the OBD port; and a controller circuit (see accessory microcontroller 14) configured to deliver a vehicle operation signal (allow the lift 34 operation in a safe mode) to the vehicle accessory (wheelchair lift) when a communications signal (digital comm signal to logic 24 or 38 indicating a TRUE state) provided via the network input (see input from vehicle data bus which interfaces logic) exceeds a first voltage threshold (transition from zero to active logic high of digital data transmission) and a battery signal provided via the battery input exceeds a second threshold (see battery voltage level for maintaining charge value paragraph 0049). Sullivan does not detail the pin architecture of the OBD port. As Applicant admits the network and battery pins are typical and known pins found in a OBD port (paragraph 0030), Barden for example teaches the known use of a network pin (see pin 6, 14) and battery voltage (P16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to apply the known pin configuration of Barden to the OBD port of Sullivan for the benefit of reliably interfacing the known connection in variety of vehicle.
With respect to claims 1 and 12 Sullivan teaches an accessory controller configured the accessory controller comprising: a network input configured for connection to a communications connection (see data connection with OBD port paragraph 0017-18) of the OBD port (10), a battery input (paragraph 0036, further see Fig. 3 paragraph 0047-49) configured for connection to a battery connection of the OBD port; a output (see for example bidirectional communication with vehicle ECU, for controlling engine RPM) configured for connection to the vehicle accessory (lift) and a controller circuit (see accessory microcontroller 14) configured to a controller circuit configured to (i) monitor a communications signal (digital comm signal to logic 24 or 38 indicating a TRUE state) provided via the network input, (ii) monitor a battery voltage provided via the battery input, and (iii) selectively deliver a mode signal (allow the lift 34 operation in a safe mode or disable when safe condition are not met) to the output depending at least in part on the communications signal and the battery voltage, wherein the controller circuit is configured to transition from delivery of a first mode signal to delivery of a second mode signal when the communications signal exceeds a first threshold (transition from zero to active logic high of digital data transmission) and the battery voltage exceeds a second threshold (see battery voltage level for maintaining charge value paragraph 0049). Sullivan does not detail the pin architecture of the OBD port. As Applicant admits the network and battery pins are typical and known pins found in a OBD port (paragraph 0030), Barden for example teaches the known use of a network pin (see pin 6, 14) and battery voltage (P16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to apply the known pin configuration of Barden to the OBD port of Sullivan for the benefit of reliably interfacing the known connection in variety of vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 4 Seibert teaches the controller circuit however does not teach the controller is configured to transition from delivery of the second mode signal to delivery of a third mode signal when the battery voltage exceeds a third threshold indicative of vehicle operation or jumps by a change threshold indicative of vehicle operation. At least this further limitation is not taught or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
With respect to claim 15 Seibert teaches the plurality of mode signals however does not teach the signals include: a first mode signal wherein the first output and the second output are off; a second mode signal wherein the first output is on and the second output is off; and a third mode signal wherein the first output is on and the second output is on. At least this further limitation is not taught or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
MICHAEL FIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/MICHAEL R. FIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836