DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS/IDSs) submitted on 4/3/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS/IDSs is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “locator” appears to be a typo that should be “portable device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-40 of U.S. Patent No. 8729901. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent are broader than the claims of the application. Please see below for a detailed mapping of the claims.
US Serial # 19/075784
US Patent 8,729,901
Examiner Notes
1. For use in conjunction with a system in which a transmitter is moved through the ground in a region during an operational procedure while transmitting a transmitter signal having at least one transmission frequency and said transmission frequency is selectable in a transmission frequency range and said region includes electromagnetic noise that can vary within said region and across said transmission frequency range, a portable device comprising:
1. For use in conjunction with a system in which a transmitter is moved through the ground in a region during an operational procedure while transmitting a transmitter signal having a transmission frequency and said transmission frequency is selectable as one of a group of discrete transmission frequencies that are spaced apart in a transmission frequency range and said region includes electromagnetic noise that can vary within said region and across said transmission frequency range, a portable device comprising:
The patent’s claim in the preamble is narrower in scope than the application’s preamble.
a user input arrangement for receiving one or more user interactions;
From the patent’s claim 5: “a user input arrangement for receiving one or more user interactions”
a processor that is configured to cooperate with the user input arrangement to identify a group of discrete transmission frequencies within the transmission frequency range; and
From the patent’s claim 12: “a processor that is configured to cooperate with the user input arrangement to identify a group of said discrete transmission frequencies”
a receiver having a receiver bandwidth that at least includes said transmission frequency range for measuring the electromagnetic noise at least in said transmission frequency range at each frequency of the group of discrete transmission frequencies for use in selecting at least one frequency from the group of discrete transmission frequencies as the transmission frequency that is subsequently received by the receiver during the operational procedure.
a receiver having a receiver bandwidth that at least includes said transmission frequency range for measuring the electromagnetic noise at least in said transmission frequency range to establish a frequency content of the electromagnetic noise for use in selecting one of the discrete transmission frequencies as a selected transmission frequency that is subsequently received by the receiver during the operational procedure.
These limitations differ only by language that does not make the limitations patentably distinct; also, the differentiating language here appears in the preamble of the patent claim, thus making the scope of the overall claims identical for patentability purposes.
Claim
Corresponding Claims
2
-none-
3
-none-
4
1 + 15
5
1 + 16
6
-none-
7
-none-
8
-none-
9
-none-
10
-none-
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Is the Claim to a Process, Machine, Manufacture or Composition of Matter?
Claims 1-10 recite a portable device that includes a user input arrangement, a processor, and a receiver. Thus, the claims are to a machine, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A: Prong One: Does the Claim Recite an Abstract Idea?
Representative claim 1 recites…
1. For use in conjunction with a system in which a transmitter is moved through the ground in a region during an operational procedure while transmitting a transmitter signal having at least one transmission frequency and said transmission frequency is selectable in a transmission frequency range and said region includes electromagnetic noise that can vary within said region and across said transmission frequency range, a portable device comprising:
a user input arrangement for receiving one or more user interactions;
a processor that is configured to cooperate with the user input arrangement to identify a group of discrete transmission frequencies within the transmission frequency range; and
a receiver having a receiver bandwidth that at least includes said transmission frequency range for measuring the electromagnetic noise at least in said transmission frequency range at each frequency of the group of discrete transmission frequencies for use in selecting at least one frequency from the group of discrete transmission frequencies as the transmission frequency that is subsequently received by the receiver during the operational procedure. [The examiner finds that the emphasized limitation is both math and mental steps as a person can mentally select which frequency to monitor and averaging the noise is math. More specifically, PgPub 20250208186 ¶ [0059] discloses that a selection is made by calculating and comparing average noise power for each frequency and selecting the one with the lowest value, which falls under mathematical concepts.]
Step 2A: Prong Two: Does the Claim Recite Additional Elements That Integrate The Abstract Idea Into a Practical Application?
The elements that are not underlined above are the additional elements.
The examiner finds that each of the following additional elements merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea:
“a processor that is configured to cooperate with the user input arrangement to identify a group of discrete transmission frequencies within the transmission frequency range” [the examiner finds that this limitation is merely data gathering].
The examiner finds that each of the following additional elements does no more than generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use:
“a user input arrangement for receiving one or more user interactions”; and
“a receiver having a receiver bandwidth that at least includes said transmission frequency range for measuring the electromagnetic noise at least in said transmission frequency range at each frequency of the group of discrete transmission frequencies”.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For example, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology.
Step 2B: Does the Claim Recite Additional Elements That Amount to Significantly More Than the Abstract Idea?
The examiner finds that the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for the same reasons discussed above with respect to the conclusion that the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, those additional limitations relating to displaying certain results further expound on the abstract idea and can practically be performed in the human mind.
Regarding claim 4, the additional limitations do no more than generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, please see the prior art rejection of those claims below for Berkheimer evidence proving that the additional limitations are well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(I).
Regarding claim 7, the additional limitations merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea (data gathering).
Regarding claim 8, the additional limitations are mathematics or mathematical concepts. See PgPub 20250208186 ¶ [0108].
Regarding claims 9 and 10, those additional limitations relating to displaying certain results further expound on the abstract idea and can practically be performed in the human mind.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-7 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20040189305 to Brune et al.
Regarding claim 1, Brune teaches for use in conjunction with a system in which a transmitter is moved through the ground in a region during an operational procedure while transmitting a transmitter signal having at least one transmission frequency and said transmission frequency is selectable in a transmission frequency range and said region includes electromagnetic noise that can vary within said region and across said transmission frequency range, a portable device comprising:
a user input arrangement for receiving one or more user interactions (¶ [0118]: “In the manual mode, the operator selects the locating signal frequency from a set of available frequencies.”);
a processor that is configured to cooperate with the user input arrangement to identify a group of discrete transmission frequencies within the transmission frequency range (¶ [0118]: “In the manual mode, the operator selects the locating signal frequency from a set of available frequencies.”); and
a receiver having a receiver bandwidth that at least includes said transmission frequency range for measuring the electromagnetic noise at least in said transmission frequency range at each frequency of the group of discrete transmission frequencies for use in selecting at least one frequency from the group of discrete transmission frequencies as the transmission frequency that is subsequently received by the receiver during the operational procedure (¶ [0063]: “In one configuration, frequency selection can be performed at the beginning of the drilling operation, for example, after monitoring of background noise levels at various frequencies such that noisy frequencies may be avoided.”).
Regarding claim 2, Brune teaches the portable device of claim 1 further comprising: a display for indicating a noise level that is associated with each one of the frequencies in the group of frequencies (figure 8 element 180).
Regarding claim 4, Brune teaches the portable device of claim 1 wherein said receiver is configured to receive the transmitter signal as a locating signal during the operational procedure for tracking an inground position of the transmitter (claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Brune teaches the portable device of claim 1 wherein said receiver includes an antenna array that is configured for detecting the electromagnetic noise along three orthogonally opposed receiving axes (¶ [0067]).
Regarding claim 6, Brune teaches the portable device of claim 5 wherein said antenna array is configured to receive said transmitter signal as a dipole field during said operational procedure for tracking a position of the transmitter (¶ [0095]).
Regarding claim 7, Brune teaches the portable device of claim 1 wherein the receiver establishes an amount of electromagnetic noise from the measured electromagnetic noise for one or more of the group of discrete transmission frequencies (¶ [0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 3 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brune.
Regarding claim 3, Brune teaches the locator of claim 2, but does not teach explicitly wherein said processor is configured to limit the display to the noise levels associated with the group of available transmission frequencies identified in the user interactions.
However, programming a processor to adjustably limit data displayed to a user is common knowledge that would be trivial to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the limitation provides no patentable difference between it and the prior art. See MPEP § 2114.04(V)(D) (stating that adjustability is not a patentable difference).
Allowable Subject Matter
If the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections above were to be resolved favorably, claims 8-10 would be allowable because the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, in claim 8, “The portable device of claim 1 wherein the receiver is configured for determining a predicted maximum usable operational depth for each frequency of the group of discrete transmission frequencies.” Claims 9-10 are allowable as depending on claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20090088118 to Slattery et al. discloses radio device's exposure reducing apparatus for use in wireless communication system, has memory for storing set of symbols corresponding to set of operating frequency values of wireless receiver and graphics controller.
/ROBERT P ALEJNIKOV JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ARLEEN M VAZQUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857