DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on the following dates are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner: 04/07/2026.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 17, 23, 24 and 29 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17, line 8, “direction” should be change to “direction (r)”
Claim 23, line 2 having extra space after “the digital map”.
Claim 24, line 1 having extra space before “,”.
Claim 29 does not end with a period. See MPEP 608.01 (m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 16-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 respectively of US Patent No.12008733-B2 of application U.S. 17/741,875 as shown in the table 1 below. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are similar to the claims in the patent to meet the limitations claimed in the patent.
The following table illustrates the conflicting claim pairs:
Current
Appl.
(19075854)
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
Patent
12008733 (17741875)
1, 4
2
3
1
5
6
7
8
9, 4
10
11
12
13
9
14
Table 1: Comparison of claims 16 and 24 in instant application 19075854 vs. claims 1 and 9 in U.S. Patent 12008733.
Instant Application (19075854)
Patent (12008733)
16. A method for rendering a user interface, the method comprising:
providing a digital map, the digital map comprising a first area surrounding at least partly a target area;
defining a point of rotation on the digital map;
rendering, on the user interface, a locator object within an area of the digital map;
controlling the locator object to move on the digital map in a direction of the target area;
and
rotating, about the point of rotation, the digital map to align the target area in a predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface, wherein the rotation of the digital map is one of:
clock wise in respect to the point of rotation, if movement of the locater object is within the first area and is indicated towards a right direction in respect to the predetermined direction;
counter clock wise in respect to the point of rotation, if the movement of the locater object
is within the first area and is indicated towards a left direction in respect to the predetermined
direction; or
disabled when the locator object is within the target area.
1. A method for rendering a user interface, the method comprising:
providing a digital map, the digital map comprising a first area surrounding at least partly a target area;
defining a point of rotation on the digital map;
providing locator co-ordinates in respect to the digital map;
rendering, on the user interface, the provided locator co-ordinates within the first area of the digital map; and
rotating, about the point of rotation, the digital map to align the target area in a predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface, wherein a speed of the rotation is inversely proportional to a distance of a locator object from the point of rotation.
(Claim 4)
clock wise in respect to the point of rotation, if the movement of the locater object within the first area is indicated towards a right direction in respect to the predetermined direction (r);
counter clock wise in respect to the point of rotation, if the movement of the locater object within the first area is indicated towards a left direction in respect to the predetermined direction; or
disabled when the locator object is within the target area.
17. The method according to claim 16, further comprising:
rendering locator co-ordinates on the user interface within the first area of the digital map;
rendering the locator object in the user interface at the locator co-ordinates, wherein the locator object is rendered at a centre with respect to the user interface;
controlling the locator object to move in the predetermined direction (r) with respect to the
user interface; and
generating an illusion of movement of the locator object on the user interface by re-rendering at least one portion of the digital map based on the predetermined direction with respect to the user interface.
2. The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
rendering the locator object in the user interface at the locator co-ordinates, wherein the locator object is rendered at a centre with respect to the user interface;
controlling the locator object to move in the predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface; and
generating an illusion of movement of the locator object on the user interface by re-rendering at least one portion of the digital map based on the predetermined direction with respect to the user interface.
18. The method according to claim 16, wherein the point of rotation is located within the target area such that the target area has a predetermined radius from the point of rotation.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the point of rotation is located within the target area such that the target area has a predetermined radius from the point of rotation.
19. The method according to claim 16, wherein a speed of rotation is inversely proportional to a distance of the locator object from the point of rotation.
(Claim 1)
…, wherein a speed of the rotation is inversely proportional to a distance of a locator object from the point of rotation.
20. The method according to claim 16, wherein the digital map is scrolled in a direction of movement of the locator object when the locator object is within the target area.
5. The method according to claim 1, wherein the digital map is scrolled in a direction of movement of the locator object when the locator object is within the target area.
21. The method according to claim 16, wherein a speed of the rotation along the point
of rotation is a function of a distance of the locator object from the point of rotation and a function of a speed of the movement of the locator object.
6. The method according to claim 1, wherein a speed of the rotation along the point of rotation is a function of a distance of the locator object from the point of rotation and a function of a speed of the movement of the locator object.
22. The method according to claim 16, wherein the user interface is implemented as a navigation map-type user interface, a game map-type user interface.
7. The method according to claim 1, wherein the user interface is implemented as a navigation map-type user interface, a game map-type user interface.
23. method according to claim 16, wherein the user interface comprises a mini digital map providing a high-level view of the digital map.
8. The method according to claim 1, wherein the user interface comprises a mini digital map providing a high-level view of the digital map.
24. A computing device for rendering a user interface, the computing device comprising:
a display for rendering the user interface; and a processor configured to:
provide a digital map, the digital map comprising a first area surrounding at least
partly a target area;
define a point of rotation on the digital map;
rendering, on the user interface, a locator object within an area of the digital map;
controlling the locator object to move on the digital map in a direction of the target area;
and
rotating, about the point of rotation, the digital map to align the target area in a predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface, wherein the rotation of the digital map is one of:
clock wise in respect to the point of rotation, if movement of the locater object is within the first area and is indicated towards a right direction in respect to the predetermined direction;
counter clock wise in respect to the point of rotation, if the movement of the locater object
is within the first area and is indicated towards a left direction in respect to the predetermined
direction; or
disabled when the locator object is within the target area.
9. A computing device for rendering a user interface, the computing device comprising:
a display for rendering the user interface; and
a processor configured to:
provide a digital map, the digital map comprising a first area surrounding at least partly a target area;
define a point of rotation on the digital map;
provide locator co-ordinates in respect to the digital map;
render, on the user interface, the provided locator co-ordinates within the first area of the digital map; and
rotate, about the point of rotation, the digital map to align the target area in a predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface, wherein a speed of the rotation is inversely proportional to a distance of a locator object from the point of rotation.
(Claim 4)
clock wise in respect to the point of rotation, if the movement of the locater object within the first area is indicated towards a right direction in respect to the predetermined direction (r);
counter clock wise in respect to the point of rotation, if the movement of the locater object within the first area is indicated towards a left direction in respect to the predetermined direction; or
disabled when the locator object is within the target area.
25. The computing device according to claim 24, wherein the processor is further configured to:
render locator co-ordinates on the user interface within the first area of the digital map;
render the locator object in the user interface at the locator co-ordinates, wherein the locator
object is rendered at a centre with respect to the user interface;
control the locator object to move in the predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface; and
generate an illusion of movement of the locator object on the user interface by re-rendering at least one portion of the digital map based on the predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface.
10. The computing device according to claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to:
render the locator object in the user interface at the locator co-ordinates, wherein the locator object is rendered at a centre with respect to the user interface;
control the locator object to move in the predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface; and
generate an illusion of movement of the locator object on the user interface by re-rendering at least one portion of the digital map based on the predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface.
26. The computing device according to claim 24, wherein the user interface is implemented as a navigation map-type user interface, a game map-type user interface.
11. The computing device according to claim 9, wherein the user interface is implemented as a navigation map-type user interface, a game map-type user interface.
27. The computing device according to claim 24, wherein the user interface comprises
a mini digital map providing a high-level view of the digital map.
12. The computing device according to claim 9, wherein the user interface comprises a mini digital map providing a high-level view of the digital map.
28. The computing device according to claim 24, wherein the computing device is a navigator.
13. The computing device according to claim 9, wherein the computing device is a navigator.
29. The computing device according to claim 24, wherein a speed of rotation is inversely proportional to a distance of the locator object from the point of rotation.
(Claim 9)
…, wherein a speed of the rotation is inversely proportional to a distance of a locator object from the point of rotation.
30. A computer program product for rendering a user interface, the computer program product comprising a non-transitory machine-readable data storage medium having stored thereon program instructions that, when accessed by a processor, cause the processor to carry out the method of claim 16.
14. A computer program product for rendering a user interface, the computer program product comprising a non-transitory machine-readable data storage medium having stored thereon program instructions that, when accessed by a processor, cause the processor to carry out the method of claim 1.
6. Claims 16-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 respectively of US Patent No.12277675-B2 of U.S. application 18647503 as shown in the table 1 below in view of Tahkokallio et al. (US-2020/0016483-A1). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are similar to the claims in the patent to meet the limitations claimed in the patent.
The following table illustrates the conflicting claim pairs:
Current
Appl.
(19075854)
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
Patent
12277675 (18647503)
1, 2
1
1
1
6
7
9, 10
9
15
16
9
8
Table 1: Comparison of claims 16 and 24 in instant application 19075854 vs. claims 1 and 9 in U.S. Patent 12277675.
Instant Application (19075854)
Patent (12277675)
16. A method for rendering a user interface, the method comprising:
providing a digital map, the digital map comprising a first area surrounding at least partly a target area;
defining a point of rotation on the digital map;
rendering, on the user interface, a locator object within an area of the digital map;
controlling the locator object to move on the digital map in a direction of the target area;
and
rotating, about the point of rotation, the digital map to align the target area in a predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface, wherein the rotation of the digital map is one of:
clock wise in respect to the point of rotation, if movement of the locater object is within the first area and is indicated towards a right direction in respect to the predetermined direction;
counter clock wise in respect to the point of rotation, if the movement of the locater object
is within the first area and is indicated towards a left direction in respect to the predetermined
direction; or
disabled when the locator object is within the target area.
1. A method for rendering a user interface, the method comprising:
providing a digital map, the digital map comprising a first area surrounding at least partly a target area;
defining a point of rotation within the target area, wherein the target area has a predetermined radius from the point of rotation;
rotating, about the point of rotation, the digital map to align the target area in a predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface;
rendering a locator object in the user interface, wherein the locator object is rendered at a centre with respect to the user interface;
controlling the locator object to move in the predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface, wherein a speed of the rotation along the point of rotation is a function of a distance of the locator object from the point of rotation and a function of a speed of the movement of the locator object in the predetermined direction (r) and the speed of the rotation is inversely proportional to the distance of the locator object from the point of rotation; and
....
(Claim 2)
clock wise in respect to the point of rotation, if the movement of the locater object within the first area is indicated towards a right direction in respect to the predetermined direction (r);
counter clock wise in respect to the point of rotation, if the movement of the locater object within the first area is indicated towards a left direction in respect to the predetermined direction; or
disabled when the locator object is within the target area.
17. The method according to claim 16, further comprising:
rendering locator co-ordinates on the user interface within the first area of the digital map;
rendering the locator object in the user interface at the locator co-ordinates, wherein the locator object is rendered at a centre with respect to the user interface;
controlling the locator object to move in the predetermined direction (r) with respect to the
user interface; and
generating an illusion of movement of the locator object on the user interface by re-rendering at least one portion of the digital map based on the predetermined direction with respect to the user interface.
(Claim 1)
…
rendering a locator object in the user interface, wherein the locator object is rendered at a centre with respect to the user interface;
controlling the locator object to move in the predetermined direction ® with respect to the user interface, wherein a speed of the rotation along the point of rotation is a function of a distance of the locator object from the point of rotation and a function of a speed of the movement of the locator object in the predetermined direction ® and the speed of the rotation is inversely proportional to the distance of the locator object from the point of rotation; and
generating an illusion of movement of the locator object on the user interface by re-rendering at least one portion of the digital map based on the predetermined direction with respect to the user interface.
18. The method according to claim 16, wherein the point of rotation is located within the target area such that the target area has a predetermined radius from the point of rotation.
19. The method according to claim 16, wherein a speed of rotation is inversely proportional to a distance of the locator object from the point of rotation.
(Claim 1)
…, wherein a speed of the rotation along the point of rotation is a function of a distance of the locator object from the point of rotation and a function of a speed of the movement of the locator object in the predetermined direction (r) and the speed of the rotation is inversely proportional to the distance of the locator object from the point of rotation.
20. The method according to claim 16, wherein the digital map is scrolled in a direction of movement of the locator object when the locator object is within the target area.
21. The method according to claim 16, wherein a speed of the rotation along the point
of rotation is a function of a distance of the locator object from the point of rotation and a function of a speed of the movement of the locator object.
(Claim 1)
…, wherein a speed of the rotation along the point of rotation is a function of a distance of the locator object from the point of rotation and a function of a speed of the movement of the locator object in the predetermined direction (r) and the speed of the rotation is inversely proportional to the distance of the locator object from the point of rotation.
22. The method according to claim 16, wherein the user interface is implemented as a navigation map-type user interface, a game map-type user interface.
6. The method according to claim 1, wherein the user interface is implemented as one or more of a navigation map-type user interface or a game map-type user interface.
23. method according to claim 16, wherein the user interface comprises a mini digital map providing a high-level view of the digital map.
7. The method according to claim 1, wherein the user interface comprises a mini digital map providing a high-level view of the digital map.
24. A computing device for rendering a user interface, the computing device comprising:
a display for rendering the user interface; and a processor configured to:
provide a digital map, the digital map comprising a first area surrounding at least
partly a target area;
define a point of rotation on the digital map;
rendering, on the user interface, a locator object within an area of the digital map;
controlling the locator object to move on the digital map in a direction of the target area;
and
rotating, about the point of rotation, the digital map to align the target area in a predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface, wherein the rotation of the digital map is one of:
clock wise in respect to the point of rotation, if movement of the locater object is within the first area and is indicated towards a right direction in respect to the predetermined direction;
counter clock wise in respect to the point of rotation, if the movement of the locater object
is within the first area and is indicated towards a left direction in respect to the predetermined
direction; or
disabled when the locator object is within the target area.
9. A computing device for rendering a user interface, the computing device comprising:
a display for rendering the user interface; and a processor configured to:
providing a digital map, the digital map comprising a first area surrounding at least partly a target area;
defining a point of rotation within the target area, wherein the target area has a predetermined radius from the point of rotation;
rotating, about the point of rotation, the digital map to align the target area in a predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface;
(Claim 10)
clockwise in respect to the point of rotation, if the movement of the locater object within the first area is indicated towards a right direction in respect to the predetermined direction (r); and
counter clockwise in respect to the point of rotation, if the movement of the locater object within the first area is indicated towards a left direction in respect to the predetermined direction,
disabled when the locator object is within the target area.
25. The computing device according to claim 24, wherein the processor is further configured to:
render locator co-ordinates on the user interface within the first area of the digital map;
render the locator object in the user interface at the locator co-ordinates, wherein the locator
object is rendered at a centre with respect to the user interface;
control the locator object to move in the predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface; and
generate an illusion of movement of the locator object on the user interface by re-rendering at least one portion of the digital map based on the predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface.
(Claim 9)
…
rendering a locator object in the user interface, wherein the locator object is rendered at a centre with respect to the user interface;
controlling the locator object to move in the predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface, wherein a speed of the rotation along the point of rotation is a function of a distance of the locator object from the point of rotation and a function of a speed of the movement of the locator object in the predetermined direction (r) and the speed of the rotation is inversely proportional to the distance of the locator object from the point of rotation; and
generating an illusion of movement of the locator object on the user interface by re-rendering at least one portion of the digital map based on the predetermined direction with respect to the user interface.
26. The computing device according to claim 24, wherein the user interface is implemented as a navigation map-type user interface, a game map-type user interface.
15. The computing device according to claim 9, wherein the user interface is implemented as one or more of a navigation map-type user interface or a game map-type user interface.
27. The computing device according to claim 24, wherein the user interface comprises
a mini digital map providing a high-level view of the digital map.
16. The computing device according to claim 9, wherein the user interface comprises a mini digital map providing a high-level view of the digital map.
28. The computing device according to claim 24, wherein the computing device is a navigator.
29. The computing device according to claim 24, wherein a speed of rotation is inversely proportional to a distance of the locator object from the point of rotation.
(Claim 9)
…, wherein a speed of the rotation along the point of rotation is a function of a distance of the locator object from the point of rotation and a function of a speed of the movement of the locator object in the predetermined direction (r) and the speed of the rotation is inversely proportional to the distance of the locator object from the point of rotation.
30. A computer program product for rendering a user interface, the computer program product comprising a non-transitory machine-readable data storage medium having stored thereon program instructions that, when accessed by a processor, cause the processor to carry out the method of claim 16.
8. A computer program product for rendering a user interface, the computer program product comprising a non-transitory machine-readable data storage medium having stored thereon program instructions that, when accessed by a processor, cause the processor to carry out the method of claim 1.
7. Regarding Claim 18, a method according to Claim 16. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The claims in US-12277675-B2 do not disclose the point of rotation is located within the target area such that the target area has a predetermined radius from the point of rotation.
However Tahkokallio discloses the point of rotation is located within the target area such that the target area has a predetermined radius from the point of rotation (Tahkokallio- Fig. 2A and ¶0078, at least disclose a first contact 216 is detected with the user interface 200 at a first position (X1, Y1). In one embodiment, a movement of the first contact 216 is detected and the distance of the movement from the first position of the first contact 216 is determined. If the movement stays within a circle C 217 having mid point (X1, Y1) and a radius of pre-determined distance threshold d, a type of the first contact 216 is determined to be a move instruction; ¶0085, at least discloses the first contact 216 can move any determined distance for any extent of time within the circle C 217. This can include a rotational movement, such as a circular movement of the first contact 216, for any number of rotations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified US-12277675-B2 to incorporate the teachings of Tahkokallio, and apply the mid point and a radius into Pylappan’s teachings so the point of rotation is located within the target area such that the target area has a predetermined radius from the point of rotation.
Doing so would enable an enjoyable gaming experience.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to notice claim 18 and claim 1 of US-12277675-B2 are almost identical. Both of claims are the same structure and perform essentially the same function, therefore unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
8. Regarding Claim 20, a method according to Claim 16. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The claims in US-12277675-B2 do not disclose the digital map is scrolled in a direction of movement of the locator object when the locator object is within the target area.
However Pylappan discloses the digital map is scrolled in a direction of movement of the locator object when the locator object is within the target area (¶0133-0134, at least disclose the mapping application may be configured to generate directions from an origination (e.g., an address or a user's current position) to a destination (e.g., an address, landmark, bookmarked/saved location, or point of interest). For instance, an indication of the origination and/or destination may be input into the multi function device by the user. The multifunction device may generate one or more candidate routes between those two points. The multifunction device may select one of those routes for display on the device. In other cases, multiple candidate routes may be presented to the user and the user may select a preferred route […] The route may also include turn-by-turn directions which may be presented to the user (in 2D or 3D), such as a graphical indication to perform a turn 322 a from road 318 a to road 318 b […] ) the mapping application may determine that the user is traveling along route 320 from position information […] the map 314 may remain stationary while position indicator 316 is moved along the route).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to notice claim 20 and claim 1 of US-12277675-B2 are almost identical. Both of claims are the same structure and perform essentially the same function, therefore unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
9. Regarding Claim 28, a method according to Claim 24. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The claims in US-12277675-B2 do not disclose the computing device is a navigator.
However Pylappan discloses the computing device is a navigator (¶0005, at least discloses a system and method for navigation guidance with destination-biased route display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to notice claim 20 and claim 1 of US-12277675-B2 are almost identical. Both of claims are the same structure and perform essentially the same function, therefore unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 16-17, 20-22, 24-26, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pylappan, (“Pylappan”) [US-2013/0325321-A1]
Regarding claim 16, Pylappan discloses a method for rendering a user interface (Figs. 7A, 7B and ¶0174, at least disclose one or more map objects obstructing the user's view of the final destination and/or a portion of the navigation route leading to the final destination. One example of such a situation is illustrated in map view 314 d of FIG. 7A […] FIG. 7B illustrates a map view 314 e that is similar to map view 314 d), the method comprising:
providing a digital map, the digital map comprising a first area surrounding at least partly a target area (Fig. 6 shows a map [digital map] with a map view 314c [a first area] including an area surrounding the route destination 324 as a target area; Fig. 7A, 7B show a map [digital map] with a map view 314d and 314e; ¶0149, at least discloses a map service may provide map services by generating map service data in various formats; ¶0172, at least discloses the multifunction device may display a new map view 314 b [digital map] including the various roadways 318 a-c; the map view may indicate that the user's travel has progressed along route 320);
defining a point of rotation on the digital map (¶0022, at least discloses once biased view is activated, the mapping application handling navigation may cause the graphical representation of the destination to be fixed, such as fixed in the upper portion of the map display. The graphical position indicator corresponding to the user may also be fixed, such as in the bottom portion of the display. With these two points fixed, the map display may be rotated and/or zoomed (in or out) in order to maintain the biased view while the user travels about);
rendering, on the user interface, a locator object within an area of the digital map (Fig. 7B shows rendering the translucent representation 326 b [locator co-ordinates] within the area of the map 314e [the first area of the digital map]; ¶0130, at least disclose Map 314 a may include a graphical position indicator 316, which may represent the location of the multifunction device within the geographic region of the map. Generally position indicator 316 may represent the current or real-time position of the multifunction device, although it should be understood that in some cases there may exist some small amount of temporal latency between the actual position of the multifunction device and the graphical representation of that location (e.g., position indicator 316); ¶0149, at least disclose map image data may provide image data to a client device so that the client device may process the image data (e.g., rendering and/or displaying the image data as a two-dimensional or three-dimensional map); ¶0174, at least discloses a translucent representation 326 b of building 326 a is presented. As illustrated, this translucence enables destination 324 to be seen on-screen and by the user);
controlling the locator object to move on the digital map in a direction of the target area (¶0133-0134, at least disclose the mapping application may be configured to generate directions from an origination (e.g., an address or a user's current position) to a destination (e.g., an address, landmark, bookmarked/saved location, or point of interest). For instance, an indication of the origination and/or destination may be input into the multi function device by the user. The multifunction device may generate one or more candidate routes between those two points. The multifunction device may select one of those routes for display on the device. In other cases, multiple candidate routes may be presented to the user and the user may select a preferred route […] The route may also include turn-by-turn directions which may be presented to the user (in 2D or 3D), such as a graphical indication to perform a turn 322 a from road 318 a to road 318 b […] ) the mapping application may determine that the user is traveling along route 320 from position information […] the map 314 may remain stationary while position indicator 316 is moved along the route; Fig. 6 and ¶0173, at least discloses the graphical position indicator 316 may remain in a center-bottom position as is the case in map views 314 a-b); and
rotating, about the point of rotation, the digital map to align the target area in a predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface (Fig. 6 shows a map view 314c including an area surrounding the route destination 324 as a target area; ¶0022, at least discloses in the course-up configuration, the graphical position indicator for the user generally remains fixed while the map and route (e.g., the “course”) are manipulated to keep the forthcoming portions of the route in the upper portion of the display […] once biased view is activated, the mapping application handling navigation may cause the graphical representation of the destination to be fixed, such as fixed in the upper portion [predetermined direction] of the map display. The graphical position indicator corresponding to the user may also be fixed, such as in the bottom portion of the display. With these two points fixed, the map display may be rotated and/or zoomed (in or out) in order to maintain the biased view while the user travels about; ¶0130, at least discloses the multifunction device may be configured to perform a “snap to” function in which the graphical position indicator 316 is aligned onto a roadway when the user's position falls within in a specified threshold distance of the roadway; ¶0170, at least discloses the graphical position indicator corresponding to the user may also be fixed, such as in the bottom portion of the display. With these two points fixed, the map display may be rotated and/or zoomed (in or out) in order to maintain the biased view while the user travels about), wherein the rotation of the digital map is one of:
clock wise in respect to the point of rotation, if movement of the locater object is within the first area and is indicated towards a right direction in respect to the predetermined direction;
counter clock wise in respect to the point of rotation, if the movement of the locater object is within the first area and is indicated towards a left direction in respect to the predetermined direction; or
disabled when the locator object is within the target area (Pylappan- ¶0170-0171, at least disclose once biased view is activated, the mapping application handling navigation may cause the graphical representation of the destination to be fixed, such as fixed in the upper-center portion of the map display. The graphical position indicator corresponding to the user may also be fixed, such as in the bottom portion of the display. With these two points fixed, the map display may be rotated and/or zoomed (in or out) in order to maintain the biased view while the user travels about […] determining when the destination-biased view is to be activated, such as when the user is within a certain distance of the destination. In other cases, the destination-biased view may be activated (e.g., by the user) through a control of the mapping application -> suggests rotation of the digital map is not activated when the locator object is within the target area).
Regarding claim 17, Pylappan discloses the method according to claim 16, and discloses the method further comprising:
rendering locator co-ordinates on the user interface within the first area of the digital map (Fig. 7B shows rendering the translucent representation 326 b [locator co-ordinates] within the area of the map 314e [the first area of the digital map]; ¶0130, at least disclose Map 314 a may include a graphical position indicator 316, which may represent the location of the multifunction device within the geographic region of the map. Generally position indicator 316 may represent the current or real-time position of the multifunction device, although it should be understood that in some cases there may exist some small amount of temporal latency between the actual position of the multifunction device and the graphical representation of that location (e.g., position indicator 316); ¶0149, at least disclose map image data may provide image data to a client device so that the client device may process the image data (e.g., rendering and/or displaying the image data as a two-dimensional or three-dimensional map); ¶0174, at least discloses a translucent representation 326 b of building 326 a is presented. As illustrated, this translucence enables destination 324 to be seen on-screen and by the user);
rendering the locator object in the user interface at the locator co-ordinates (Fig. 7 shows the graphical position indicator 316 [locator object] traveling along route 320 at the translucent representation 326 b [locator co-ordinates] of building 326 a; ¶0134, at least discloses the mapping application of the multifunction device may be configured to track the position of the user over time and correspondingly adjust the graphical position indicator 316 to indicate the new position. For instance, the mapping application may determine that the user is traveling along route 320 from position information), wherein the locator object is rendered at a centre with respect to the user interface (¶0173, at least discloses the graphical position indicator 316 may remain in a center-bottom position as is the case in map views 314 a-b);
controlling the locator object to move in the predetermined direction (r) with respect to the user interface (¶0133-0134, at least disclose the route may also include turn-by-turn directions which may be presented to the user (in 2D or 3D), such as a graphical indication to perform a turn 322 a from road 318 a to road 318 b […] the map 314 may remain stationary while position indicator 316 is moved along the route; ¶0170, at least discloses once biased view is activated, the mapping application handling navigation may cause the graphical representation of the destination to be fixed […] the graphical position indicator corresponding to the user may also be fixed, such as in the bottom portion of the display; Fig. 6 and ¶0173, at least discloses the graphical position indicator 316 may remain in a center-bottom position as is the case in map views 314 a-b); and
generating an illusion of movement of the locator object on the user interface by re-rendering at least one portion of the digital map based on the predetermined direction with respect to the user interface (¶0022, at least discloses a user to quickly and easily view the final stages of a navigation route by creating map orientations that bias route display towards the user's destination […] Generally, these orientations may deviate from conventional course-up or north-up map orientations. For instance, in north-up map orientations, directional north of the map is generally fixed in the upper portion of the display. In most cases, north-up map orientations are implemented in 2D map representations. In these cases, a graphical position indicator may convey the user's moving position on the 2D map while the map generally remains fixed in the north-up configuration […] In the course-up configuration, the graphical position indicator for the user generally remains fixed while the map and route (e.g., the “course”) are manipulated to keep the forthcoming portions of the route in the upper portion of the display […] once biased view is activated, the mapping application handling navigation may cause the graphical representation of the destination to be fixed, such as fixed in the upper portion of the map display. The graphical position indicator corresponding to the user may also be fixed, such as in the bottom portion of the display […] biasing this second viewing angle in this way may provide the user useful insight into the particular location of the destination. For instance, the user may be traveling in an urban area and the biasing techniques described herein may provide the user with a useful way to view the final legs of the navigation route).
Regarding claim 20, Pylappan discloses the method according to claim 16, and further discloses wherein the digital map is scrolled in a direction of movement of the locator object when the locator object is within the target area (¶0133-0134, at least disclose the mapping application may be configured to generate directions from an origination (e.g., an address or a user's current position) to a destination (e.g., an address, landmark, bookmarked/saved location, or point of interest). For instance, an indication of the origination and/or destination may be input into the multi function device by the user. The multifunction device may generate one or more candidate routes between those two points. The multifunction device may select one of those routes for display on the device. In other cases, multiple candidate routes may be presented to the user and the user may select a preferred route […] The route may also include turn-by-turn directions which may be presented to the user (in 2D or 3D), such as a graphical indication to perform a turn 322 a from road 318 a to road 318 b […] ) the mapping application may determine that the user is traveling along route 320 from position information […] the map 314 may remain stationary while position indicator 316 is moved along the route).
Regarding claim 21, Pylappan discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein a speed of the rotation along the point of rotation is a function of a distance of the locator object from the point of rotation and a function of a speed of the movement of the locator object (Pylappan- ¶0022, at least discloses once biased view is activated, the mapping application handling navigation may cause the graphical representation of the destination to be fixed, such as fixed in the upper portion of the map display. The graphical position indicator corresponding to the user may also be fixed, such as in the bottom portion of the display. With these two points fixed, the map display may be rotated and/or zoomed (in or out) in order to maintain the biased view while the user travels about; ¶0023, at least discloses determining when the destination-biased view is to be activated, such as when the user is within a certain distance of the destination; ¶0052, at least discloses determining movement of the point of contact, which is represented by a series of contact data, may include determining speed (magnitude), velocity (magnitude and direction), and/or an acceleration (a change in magnitude and/or direction) of the point of contact; ¶0141, at least discloses the multifunction device may be configured to scope any searches to points of interested within a specified distance away from the route; ¶0143, at least discloses an estimated time of arrival (ETA), travel distance remaining, average speed (overall or moving average), top speed, and/or other route statistics; ¶0171, at least discloses determining when the destination-biased view is to be activated, such as when the user is within a certain distance of the destination).
Regarding claim 22, Pylappan discloses the method according to claim 16, and further discloses wherein the user interface is implemented as a navigation map-type user interface, a game map-type user interface (Pylappan- Figs. 7A, 7B and ¶0128, at least disclose multifunction device 300 includes a mapping application).
The computing device of claims 24-26 are similar in scope to the functions performed by the method of claims 16-17 and 22 and therefore claims 24-26 are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 24, Pylappan discloses a computing device for rendering a user interface (Figs. 1A, 2 and ¶0031-0032, at least disclose the various applications that may be executed on the device may use at least one common physical user-interface device, such as the touch-sensitive surface […] a common physical architecture (such as the touch-sensitive surface) of the device may support the variety of applications with user interfaces that are intuitive and transparent to the user […] portable multifunction device 100 with touch-sensitive displays 112), the computing device comprising:
a display for rendering the user interface (Figs. 1A, 2 show touch-sensitive display 112 and ¶0031-0032, at least disclose the various applications that may be executed on the device may use at least one common physical user-interface device, such as the touch-sensitive surface […] a common physical architecture (such as the touch-sensitive surface) of the device may support the variety of applications with user interfaces that are intuitive and transparent to the user […] portable multifunction device 100 with touch-sensitive displays 112 […] Touch-sensitive display 112 is sometimes called a “touch screen” for convenience, and may also be known as or called a touch-sensitive display system); and
a processor (Figs. 1A and ¶0035, at least disclose the one or more processors 120 run or execute various software programs and/or sets of instructions stored in memory 102 to perform various functions for device 100 and to process data) configured to perform the method of claim 16.
Regarding claim 28, Pylappan discloses the computing device according to claim 24, and further discloses wherein the computing device is a navigator (¶0005, at least discloses a system and method for navigation guidance with destination-biased route display).
Regarding claim 30, Pylappan discloses a computer program product for rendering a user interface, the computer program product comprising a non-transitory machine-readable data storage medium having stored thereon program instructions that, when accessed by a processor (Figs. 1A, 2 and ¶0031-0032, at least disclose the various applications that may be executed on the device may use at least one common physical user-interface device, such as the touch-sensitive surface […] a common physical architecture (such as the touch-sensitive surface) of the device may support the variety of applications with user interfaces that are intuitive and transparent to the user […] portable multifunction device 100 with touch-sensitive displays 112 […] Device 100 may include memory 102 (which may include one or more computer readable storage mediums), memory controller 122, one or more processing units (CPU's) 120; ¶0035, at least discloses The one or more processors 120 run or execute various software programs and/or sets of instructions stored in memory 102 to perform various functions for device 100 and to process data), cause the processor to carry out the method of claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
13. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pylappan in view of Tahkokallio et al., (“Tahkokallio”) [US-2020/0016483-A1]
Regarding claim 18, Pylappan discloses the method according to claim 16, and does not explicitly disclose, but Tahkokallio discloses wherein the point of rotation is located within the target area such that the target area has a predetermined radius from the point of rotation (Tahkokallio- Fig. 2A and ¶0078, at least disclose a first contact 216 is detected with the user interface 200 at a first position (X1, Y1). In one embodiment, a movement of the first contact 216 is detected and the distance of the movement from the first position of the first contact 216 is determined. If the movement stays within a circle C 217 having mid point (X1, Y1) and a radius of pre-determined distance threshold d, a type of the first contact 216 is determined to be a move instruction; ¶0085, at least discloses the first contact 216 can move any determined distance for any extent of time within the circle C 217. This can include a rotational movement, such as a circular movement of the first contact 216, for any number of rotations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pylappan to incorporate the teachings of Tahkokallio, and apply the mid point and a radius into Pylappan’s teachings so the point of rotation is located within the target area such that the target area has a predetermined radius from the point of rotation.
Doing so would enable an enjoyable gaming experience.
14. Claims 23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pylappan in view of Chen et al., (“Chen”) [US-2011/0187716-A1]
Regarding claim 23, Pylappan discloses the method according to claim 16, and does not explicitly disclose, but Chen discloses wherein the user interface comprises a mini digital map providing a high-level view of the digital map (Chen- Fig. 2 and ¶0030, at least discloses the user interface 200 also includes a top-down map 208 displayed in an inset window, or “mini-map” 210, in conjunction with the local-navigation display 204 […] The display of the mini-map 210 may be toggled by a particular control 212 in the navigation controls 206).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pylappan to incorporate the teachings of Chen, and apply the mini-map in conjunction with the local-navigation display into Pylappan’s teachings in order the mini digital map providing a high-level view of the digital map.
Doing so would enhance the user's understanding of the environment and spatial context of the scene while improving the discoverability of photographs not easily discovered through local navigation.
The computing device of claim 27 is similar in scope to the functions performed by the method of claim 23 and therefore claim 27 is rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
15. Claims 19 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
16. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of prior arts teaches the method of Claim 16.
However in the context of claim 1 and 7 as a whole, the combination of prior arts does not teach a speed of rotation is inversely proportional to a distance of the locator object from the point of rotation. Therefore, Claim 19 in the context of claim 1 as a whole does comprise allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 29, the combination of prior arts teaches the method of Claim 24.
However in the context of claim 24 and 29 as a whole, the combination of prior arts does not teach a speed of rotation is inversely proportional to a distance of the locator object from the point of rotation. Therefore, Claim 29 in the context of claim 24 as a whole does comprise allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
17. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. They are as recited in the attached PTO-892 form.
/MICHAEL LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614