Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williams (US 6105785).
Regarding claim-1. Williams discloses an apparatus (Fig.3) for removing product (gumbo and solids) from a conveying belt (17) having a plurality of openings (Col.6, line1-25, Fig.3) therein, comprising:
a movable member (14/42, Fig.3) with a surface area and a plurality of protruding members (42C, Fig.3) constructed and arranged to extend from the surface area for movement into and out of corresponding ones of the plurality of openings from a first side of the conveying belt, the plurality of protruding members (42C) adapted to contact and dislodge the product through to a second side of the conveying belt opposite to the first side for subsequent removal of the product from the conveying belt (Abstract, Col.6, line1-25, Fig.3).
Regarding claim-2. Williams discloses wherein the movable member (14/42) is mounted to a roller (42), and the movable member is adapted to rotate about the roller for co-action with the conveying belt (Fig.2-4).
Regarding claim-3. Williams discloses wherein the movable member (14/42) is disposed at a discharge end of the conveying belt (Fig.2-4).
Regarding claim-4. Williams discloses wherein the plurality of protruding members (42C) are each constructed from a material selected from the group consisting of metal, plastic and other polymers, high density foam, and rubber (Elastomeric Material, Abstract).
Regarding claim-5. Williams discloses wherein the plurality of protruding members (42C) are each sized and shaped to be in registration with a corresponding one of the plurality of openings to dislodge product from the corresponding ones of the openings and scrape the product from an inner surface area of each one of the plurality of the openings (Fig.3-4, Abstract, Col.6, line1-25)
Regarding claim-6. Williams discloses wherein the movable member (14/42) has a length substantially equivalent to a width of the conveying belt (Fig.3).
Regarding claim-7. Williams discloses wherein the movable member comprises a collar (Fig.3).
Regarding claim-8. Williams discloses wherein the movable member comprises a plurality of collars (Fig.3).
Regarding claim-9. Williams discloses wherein each protruding member (42C) of the plurality of protruding members comprises a sidewall extending from the surface area at a first diameter to a second diameter less than the first diameter (Fig.3-4, 7-10).
Regarding claim-10. Williams discloses wherein the sidewall comprises a first planar surface with a first surface area at the sidewall, and a second planar surface with a second surface area at an opposed side of the sidewall (Fig.3-4, 7-10).
Regarding claim-11. Williams discloses wherein the conveying belt comprises a flat wire belt (17 mesh wire belt, See Fig.3).
Regarding claim-12. Williams discloses wherein the plurality of protruding members (42C) are each constructed in a shape selected from the group consisting of teeth, and fingers (Fig.3, 8, and 10).
Regarding claim-13. Williams discloses wherein the product is a substance selected from the group consisting of food products, wet products, and sticky products (gumbo and other large solids which may otherwise sticky, Abstract, Col.6, line1-25).
Regarding claim-14. Williams discloses wherein the movable member (14/42) is adapted for actuation by the conveying belt for the plurality of protruding members to co-act with the plurality of openings (Col.6, line1-25, Fig.3).
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robert (US 20090000922).
Regarding claim-1. Robert discloses an apparatus (100, Fig.2) for removing product (cleaning) from a conveying belt (30, Fig.1) having a plurality of openings (wire mesh conveyor having holes, Fig.1) (Check [0001], [0004], [0019-0021]), therein, comprising:
a movable member (102/104, Fig.2) with a surface area and a plurality of protruding members (106, Fig.2) constructed and arranged to extend from the surface area for movement into and out of corresponding ones of the plurality of openings from a first side of the conveying belt, the plurality of protruding members adapted to contact and dislodge the product through to a second side of the conveying belt opposite to the first side for subsequent removal of the product from the conveying belt (Fig.1-2, [0001], [0004], [0016-0021]).
Regarding claim-2. Robert discloses wherein the movable member is mounted to a roller (shaft), and the movable member is adapted to rotate about the roller for co-action with the conveying belt (Fig.2-4).
Regarding claim-3. Robert discloses wherein the movable member (102/104) is disposed at a discharge end of the conveying belt (implicitly, [0016]).
Regarding claim-4. Robert implicitly discloses wherein the plurality of protruding members (106) are each constructed from a material selected from the group consisting of metal, plastic and other polymers, high density foam, and rubber. It is well known in the art that protruding members are generally construct of strong material in order to provide strong grip and removal of material from conveyor and provide strong durability, and smooth operation for the conveyor’s function.
Regarding claim-5. Robert discloses wherein the plurality of protruding members (106) are each sized and shaped to be in registration with a corresponding one of the plurality of openings to dislodge product from the corresponding ones of the openings and scrape the product from an inner surface area of each one of the plurality of the openings (Fig.1-2, [0001], [0004], [0016-0021]).
Regarding claim-6. Robert discloses wherein the movable member (102/104) has a length substantially equivalent to a width of the conveying belt (Fig.1-2, [0001], [0004], [0016-0021]).
Regarding claim-7. Robert discloses wherein the movable member comprises a collar (Fig.2-4).
Regarding claim-8. Robert discloses wherein the movable member comprises a plurality of collars (Fig.2-4).
Regarding claim-9. Robert discloses wherein each protruding member (106) of the plurality of protruding members comprises a sidewall extending from the surface area at a first diameter to a second diameter less than the first diameter (See Fig.5-7).
Regarding claim-10. Robert discloses wherein the sidewall comprises a first planar surface with a first surface area at the sidewall, and a second planar surface with a second surface area at an opposed side of the sidewall (See Fig.5-7).
Regarding claim-11. Robert discloses wherein the conveying belt comprises a flat wire belt (mesh wire conveyor, [0001]).
Regarding claim-12. Robert discloses wherein the plurality of protruding members (106) are each constructed in a shape selected from the group consisting of teeth, and fingers (See Fig.5-7).
Regarding claim-13. Robert discloses wherein the product is a substance selected from the group consisting of food products, wet products, and sticky products (material removal, build-up any product and/or debris, [0001], [0003-0004])
Regarding claim-14. Robert discloses wherein the movable member (102/104) is adapted for actuation by the conveying belt (30) for the plurality of protruding members to co-act with the plurality of openings (Fig.1-2, [0001], [0004], [0016-0021]).
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frank (US 3631980).
Regarding claim-1. Frank discloses an apparatus (Fig.1) for removing product (vegetable matters) from a conveying belt (6) having a plurality of openings (Abstract, Col.1 line65-75 to Col.2 line1-48) therein, comprising:
a movable member (22/18) with a surface area and a plurality of protruding members (20/26) constructed and arranged to extend from the surface area for movement into and out of corresponding ones of the plurality of openings from a first side of the conveying belt, the plurality of protruding members adapted to contact and dislodge the product through to a second side of the conveying belt opposite to the first side for subsequent removal of the product from the conveying belt (Fig.1-3, Abstract, Col.1 line65-75 to Col.2 line1-48).
Regarding claim-2. Frank discloses wherein the movable member (22) is mounted to a roller (sprocket 18), and the movable member is adapted to rotate about the roller for co-action with the conveying belt (Fig.1-3).
Regarding claim-3. Frank discloses wherein the movable member (22) is disposed at a discharge end of the conveying belt (Fig.1, and 3).
Regarding claim-4. Frank discloses wherein the plurality of protruding members are each constructed from a material selected from the group consisting of metal, plastic and other polymers, high density foam, and rubber. It is well known in the art that protruding members are generally construct of strong material in order to provide strong grip and removal of material from conveyor and provide strong durability, and smooth operation for the conveyor’s function.
Regarding claim-5. Frank discloses wherein the plurality of protruding members (20/26) are each sized and shaped to be in registration with a corresponding one of the plurality of openings to dislodge product from the corresponding ones of the openings and scrape the product from an inner surface area of each one of the plurality of the openings (Fig.2-3).
Regarding claim-6. Frank discloses wherein the movable member (20/26) has a length substantially equivalent to a width of the conveying belt (Fig.1).
Regarding claim-7. Frank discloses wherein the movable member comprises a collar (Fig.1).
Regarding claim-8. Frank discloses wherein the movable member comprises a plurality of collars (Fig.1).
Regarding claim-9. Frank discloses wherein each protruding member (20/26) of the plurality of protruding members comprises a sidewall extending from the surface area at a first diameter to a second diameter less than the first diameter (Fig.3).
Regarding claim-10. Frank discloses wherein the sidewall comprises a first planar surface with a first surface area at the sidewall, and a second planar surface with a second surface area at an opposed side of the sidewall (Fig.1-3).
Regarding claim-11. Frank discloses wherein the conveying belt comprises a flat wire belt (6 mesh conveyor belt, Fig.1, 3).
Regarding claim-12. Frank discloses wherein the plurality of protruding members (20/26) are each constructed in a shape selected from the group consisting of teeth, and fingers (Fig.1-3).
Regarding claim-13. Frank discloses wherein the product is a substance selected from the group consisting of food products, wet products, and sticky products (vegetable matters).
Regarding claim-14. Frank discloses wherein the movable member (22/18) is adapted for actuation by the conveying belt (6) for the plurality of protruding members to co-act with the plurality of openings (Fig.1-3).
Conclusion
Note: Examiner strongly suggest applicant to take a look at Notice of References Cited PTO-892 as there are other multiple prior arts or in combination that can be used to reject claims 1-14.
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651