DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the claims dated 3/11/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “A transparent panel for a display device, comprising: a transparent panel including …”. The claim is potentially unclear because the preamble recites a transparent panel while the body again recites “a transparent panel,” creating ambiguity as to whether the claimed article is one transparent panel or an assembly comprising a separate transparent panel.
Claim 16: “wherein the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular each other.” The phrase is grammatically incomplete because it omits “to,” and the intended relationship should be clarified.
Claim 17: “each of the plurality of filling resin pattern”
The singular term “pattern” is inconsistent with “plurality” and creates a grammatical ambiguity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Pub. 2022/0376201 (hereinafter D1) in view of KIM et al. U.S. Pub. 2022/0287189 (hereinafter D2) and in further view of Kim et al. U.S. Patent 11,768,520 (hereinafter D3).
Regarding claim 1, D1 teaches a display device (DD; figure 1) comprising:
a display panel (DP; figure 4) including a folding area (FA2; figure 4); and
a window (“WM”; figure 4 and 5B) disposed on the display panel (DP), wherein the window (WM) includes a pattern portion (see above figure 5B) disposed at a position overlapping (see figure 5B) the folding area (“FA2”), the window (“WM”) including a first edge (upper/lower edge of “WM”; figure 5B) extending in a first direction “(DR2”; figure 5B), the pattern portion includes a plurality of groove patterns (see above annotated figure 5B) .
However, D1 does not teach a plurality of filling resin patterns disposed in the plurality of groove patterns, the plurality of filling resin patterns is arranged to be spaced apart from each other along the first direction, the plurality of groove patterns extends in a second direction crossing the first direction, and each of the plurality of filling resin patterns has varying heights along the second direction, wherein mountain portions and valley portions are alternately arranged along the second direction.
D2 teaches a display device, which suggests a plurality of filling resin patterns (4030; figure 40) disposed in the plurality of groove patterns (4020; figure 40) at a folding section (see figure 40) at a layer (see figure 40) of the display device, the plurality of filling resin patterns is arranged to be spaced apart (see figure 40) from each other along the first direction (horizonal direction), the plurality of groove patterns (4020) extends in a second direction (Z direction) crossing the first direction.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide the groove pattern of D1 with a plurality of filling resin patterns disposed in the plurality of groove patterns, as suggested by D2, such that the plurality of filling resin patterns would be arranged to be spaced apart from each other along the first direction, the plurality of groove patterns extends in a second direction crossing the first direction, to enhance the structural integrity of said flexible folding portion.
However, D1/D2 does not specifically teach each of the plurality of filling resin patterns has varying heights along the second direction, wherein mountain portions and valley portions are alternately arranged along the second direction.
D3, teaches a similar structure, which suggests filling resins (FR; figures 9B-C) filling the groove pattern (GP1-n; figures 9B-C) from both sides (see figures 9B-C) of the window (“WM”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide the plurality of filling resin patterns of D1/D2 alternately arranged along the second direction, as suggested by D3, to enhance the structural integrity of said folding portion.
Even though, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach that the plurality of filling resin patterns have varying heights, D3 however, does suggest the groove patterns can have different shapes or widths (see paragraph bridging columns 14-15). Providing different shapes and widths for said groove patterns would reasonably motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to derive different heights.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the filling resin patterns of D1/D2/D3 with different heights, as suggested by D3, to derive different heights for said resin patterns, to derive desired flexibility for said folding portion.
Regarding claim 2, D1/D2/D3 teaches the display device of claim 1.
Even though, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach wherein an angle between a line connecting adjacent mountain portions of adjacent filling resin patterns of the plurality of filling resin patterns that are adjacent to each other along the first direction and the first direction is greater than 0 degree and less than 90 degree, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change the heights of said mountains and valleys such that it would result in an angle between a line connecting adjacent mountain portions of adjacent filling resin patterns of the plurality of filling resin patterns that are adjacent to each other along the first direction and the first direction is greater than 0 degree and less than 90 degree, to derive desired flexibility for said folding portion, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 3, D1/D2/D3 teaches the display device of claim 1. Even though, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach wherein an angle between a line connecting adjacent mountain portions of adjacent filling resin patterns of the plurality of filling resin patterns that are adjacent to each other along the first direction and the second direction is greater than 0 degree and less than 90 degree, and wherein the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to each other, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change the heights of said mountains and valleys such that it would result in an angle between a line connecting adjacent mountain portions of adjacent filling resin patterns of the plurality of filling resin patterns that are adjacent to each other along the first direction and the second direction is greater than 0 degree and less than 90 degree, and wherein the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to each other, to derive desired flexibility/rigidity for said folding portion, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the display device of claim 1. Even though, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach wherein a height difference between the mountain portions and the valley portions of each of the plurality of filling resin patterns is in a range of about 5 to about 15 µm, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to derive such range for the height difference between the mountain portions and the valley portions, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, for optimizing the flexibility of said folding portion. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the display device of claim 1.
However, D1 does not specifically teach wherein the plurality of filling resin patterns includes a first filling resin pattern disposed in a first surface of the window and a second filling resin pattern disposed in a second surface of the window that is a surface opposite to the first surface in a thickness direction of the window and faces the display panel; and a mountain portion of the first filling resin pattern and a mountain portion of the second filling resin pattern are positioned on a same axis along the thickness direction of the window.
D3 also suggests filling resins (FR; figures 9B-C) filling the groove pattern (GP1-n; figures 9B-C) from both sides (see figures 9B-C) of the window (“WM”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the plurality of filling resins patterns of D1/D2/D3 with a first filling resin pattern disposed in a first surface of the window and a second filling resin pattern disposed in a second surface of the window that is a surface opposite to the first surface in a thickness direction of the window and faces the display panel; and a mountain portion of the first filling resin pattern and a mountain portion of the second filling resin pattern are positioned on a same axis (see figures 9B-C of D3) along the thickness direction of the window, as suggested by D3, to derive desired flexibility/rigidity for said folding portion.
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the display device of claim 1.
However, D1 does not teach wherein: the plurality of filling resin patterns includes a first filling resin pattern disposed in a first surface of the window and a second filling resin pattern disposed in a second surface of the window that is a surface opposite to the first surface in a thickness direction of the window and faces the display panel; and a mountain portion of the first filling resin pattern and a valley portion of the second filling resin pattern are positioned on a same axis along the thickness direction of the window.
D3 also suggests filling resins (FR; figures 9B-C) filling the groove pattern (GP1-n; figures 9B-C) from both sides (see figures 9B-C) of the window (“WM”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the plurality of filling resins patterns of D1/D2/D3 with a first filling resin pattern disposed in a first surface of the window and a second filling resin pattern disposed in a second surface of the window that is a surface opposite to the first surface in a thickness direction of the window and faces the display panel; and a mountain portion of the first filling resin pattern and a valley portion of the second filling resin pattern are positioned on a same axis (see figure 9B-C of D3) along the thickness direction of the window, as suggested by D3, to derive desired flexibility/rigidity for said folding portion.
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the display device of claim 1.
However, D1 does not teach the plurality of filling resin patterns includes a first filling resin pattern disposed in a first surface of the window and a second filling resin pattern disposed in a second surface of the window that is a surface opposite to the first surface in a thickness direction of the window and faces the display panel; and the first filling resin pattern and the second filling resin pattern have shapes symmetrical to each other.
D3 also suggests filling resins (FR; figures 9B-C) filling the groove pattern (GP1-n; figures 9B-C) from both sides (see figures 9B-C) of the window (“WM”).
D3 also suggest the groove patterns can have different shapes or widths (see paragraph bridging columns 14-15).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the plurality of filling resin patterns of D1/D2/D3 with a first filling resin pattern disposed in a first surface of the window and a second filling resin pattern disposed in a second surface of the window that is a surface opposite to the first surface in a thickness direction of the window and faces the display panel; and the first filling resin pattern and the second filling resin pattern have shapes symmetrical to each other, as suggested by D3, to derive desired flexibility/rigidity for said folding portion.
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the display device of claim 1.
However, D1 does not teach the plurality of filling resin patterns includes a first filling resin pattern disposed in a first surface of the window and a second filling resin pattern disposed in a second surface of the window that is a surface opposite to the first surface in a thickness direction of the window and faces the display panel; and the first filling resin pattern and the second filling resin pattern have shapes asymmetrical to each other.
D3 also suggests filling resins (FR; figures 9B-C) filling the groove pattern (GP1-n; figures 9B-C) from both sides (see figures 9B-C) of the window (“WM”).
D3 also suggest the groove patterns can have different shapes or widths (see paragraph bridging columns 14-15).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the plurality of filling resin patterns of D1/D2/D3 with a first filling resin pattern disposed in a first surface of the window and a second filling resin pattern disposed in a second surface of the window that is a surface opposite to the first surface in a thickness direction of the window and faces the display panel, as suggested by D3, to derive desired flexibility/rigidity for said folding portion.
From figure 5B of D1, the first filling resin pattern and the second filling resin pattern would have shapes asymmetrical to each other.
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the display device of claim 1.
However, D1 does not teach the plurality of filling resin patterns includes a plurality of first filling resin patterns disposed in a first surface of the window and a plurality of second filling resin patterns disposed in a second surface of the window that is a surface opposite to the first surface in a thickness direction of the window and faces the display panel; and a pitch between adjacent mountain portions in the plurality of first filling resin patterns and a pitch between adjacent mountain portions in the plurality of second filling resin patterns are equal to each other.
D3 also suggests filling resins (FR; figures 9B-C) filling the groove pattern (GP1-n; figures 9B-C) from both sides (see figures 9B-C) of the window (“WM”); a pitch (pitch of “FR” in figure 9B of D3) between adjacent mountain portions in the plurality of first filling resin patterns and a pitch (pitch of “FR” in figure9C of D3) between adjacent mountain portions in the plurality of second filling resin patterns are equal to each other.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the plurality of filling resin patterns of D1/D2/D3 with a plurality of first filling resin patterns disposed in a first surface of the window and a plurality of second filling resin patterns disposed in a second surface of the window that is a surface opposite to the first surface in a thickness direction of the window and faces the display panel; and a pitch between adjacent mountain portions in the plurality of first filling resin patterns and a pitch between adjacent mountain portions in the plurality of second filling resin patterns are equal to each other, as suggested by D3, to derive desired flexibility/rigidity for said folding portion.
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein mountain portions of adjacent filling resin patterns of the plurality of filling resin patterns that are adjacent (see figure 5B of D1 and figures 9B-C of D3) to each other along the first direction.
However, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach said mountain portions have different heights from each other and form a step therebetween.
D3 however, does suggest the groove patterns can have different shapes or widths (see paragraph bridging columns 14-15). Providing different shapes and widths for said groove patterns would reasonably motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to derive different heights, if desired.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to derive such height difference to form a step therebetween, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size/shape of a component, to derive flexibility/rigidity of said folding portion, as desired. A change in size/shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the display device of claim 1.
However, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach wherein a connection line connecting the mountain portions and the valley portions of each of the plurality of filling resin patterns to each other along the second direction has a wavy shape.
D3, however, does suggest the groove patterns can have different shapes or widths (see paragraph bridging columns 14-15).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the groove patterns of D1/D2/D3 with different shapes/widths as suggested by D3, which would result in a connection line connecting the mountain portions and the valley portions of each of the plurality of filling resin patterns to each other along the second direction has a wavy shape, to derive flexibility/rigidity for said folding portion, as desired.
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the display device of claim 1.
However, D1 does not specifically teach wherein the plurality of filling resin patterns includes a first filling resin pattern disposed in a first surface of the window and a second filling resin pattern disposed in a second surface of the window that is a surface opposite to the first surface in a thickness direction of the window and faces the display panel; and the first filling resin pattern has a shape that protrudes from a surface of the first surface towards the second surface, the second filling resin pattern has a shape that protrudes from a surface of the second surface towards the first surface, and the first filling resin pattern and the second filling resin pattern are alternately arranged along the first direction.
D3 also suggests filling resins (FR; figures 9B-C) filling the groove pattern (GP1-n; figures 9B-C) from both sides (see figures 9B-C) of the window (“WM”).
D3 also suggest the groove patterns can have different shapes or widths (see paragraph bridging columns 14-15).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the plurality of filling resin patterns of D1/D2/D3 with a first filling resin pattern disposed in a first surface of the window and a second filling resin pattern disposed in a second surface of the window that is a surface opposite to the first surface in a thickness direction of the window and faces the display panel; and the first filling resin pattern has a shape that protrudes from a surface of the first surface towards the second surface, the second filling resin pattern has a shape that protrudes from a surface of the second surface towards the first surface, and the first filling resin pattern and the second filling resin pattern are alternately arranged along the first direction, as suggested by D3, to derive flexibility/rigidity for said folding portion, as desired.
Regarding claim 14, D1/D2/D3 teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of groove patterns includes a plurality of first concave grooves (top grooves; see above annotated figure 5B of D1) defined in a first surface (upper surface) of the window and a plurality of second concave grooves (bottom grooves; see above figure 5B of D1) defined in a second surface (lower surface) of the window that is a surface opposite to the first surface and faces the display panel; and the plurality of first concave grooves and the plurality of second concave grooves are alternately arranged (see above annotated figure 5B).
Regarding claim 15, D1 teaches a transparent panel for a display device, comprising:
a transparent panel (see par[0077]) including a pattern portion (see above annotated figure 5B) including a plurality of groove patterns (see above annotated figure 5B) recessed in a thickness direction (see above annotated figure 5B) from one surface, a first non-pattern portion (“NFA3”; figure 5A) positioned on a first side of the pattern portion in a first direction (see figure 5A) and having one surface (top surface) that is flat, and a second non-pattern portion (“NFA4; figure 5A) positioned on an opposite second side (see figure 5A) of the pattern portion in the first direction and having one surface (top surface) that is flat.
However, D1 does not teach:
a plurality of filling resin patterns at least partially filled in the plurality of groove patterns of the pattern portion, wherein the plurality of filling resin patterns is arranged to be spaced apart from each other along the first direction, the plurality of groove patterns extends in a second direction crossing the first direction, each of the plurality of filling resin patterns has varying heights along the second direction, wherein mountain portions and valley portions are alternately arranged along the second direction.
D2 teaches a display device, which suggests a plurality of filling resin patterns (4030; figure 40) disposed in the plurality of groove patterns (4020; figure 40) at a folding section (see figure 40) at a layer (see figure 40) of the display device, the plurality of filling resin patterns is arranged to be spaced apart (see figure 40) from each other along the first direction (horizonal direction), the plurality of groove patterns (4020) extends in a second direction (Z direction) crossing the first direction.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide the groove pattern of D1 with a plurality of filling resin patterns disposed in the plurality of groove patterns, as suggested by D2, such that the plurality of filling resin patterns would be arranged to be spaced apart from each other along the first direction, the plurality of groove patterns extends in a second direction crossing the first direction, to enhance the structural integrity of said flexible folding portion.
However, D1/D2 does not specifically teach each of the plurality of filling resin patterns has varying heights along the second direction, wherein mountain portions and valley portions are alternately arranged along the second direction.
D3, teaches a similar structure, which suggests filling resins (“FR”; figures 9B-C) can be filled from both directions of the groove pattern (GP1-N; figures 9B-C).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide the plurality of filling resin patterns of D1/D2 alternately arranged along the second direction, as suggested by D3, to enhance the structural integrity of said folding portion.
D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach that the plurality of filling resin patterns have varying heights, however, D3 however, does suggest the groove patterns can have different shapes or widths (see paragraph bridging columns 14-15). Providing different shapes and widths for said groove patterns would reasonably motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to derive different heights.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide said filling resin patterns of D1/D2/D3 with different heights, as suggested/motivated by D3, to derive desired flexibility for said folding portion.
Even though, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach wherein an angle between a line connecting adjacent mountain portions of adjacent filling resin patterns of the plurality of filling resin patterns that are adjacent to each other along the first direction and the first direction is greater than 0 degree and less than 90 degree, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change the heights of said mountains and valleys such that it would result in an angle between a line connecting adjacent mountain portions of adjacent filling resin patterns of the plurality of filling resin patterns that are adjacent to each other along the first direction and the first direction is greater than 0 degree and less than 90 degree, to derive desired flexibility for said folding portion, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 16, D1/D2/D3 teaches the display device of claim 15. Even though, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach wherein an angle between a line connecting adjacent mountain portions of adjacent filling resin patterns of the plurality of filling resin patterns that are adjacent to each other along the first direction and the second direction is greater than 0 degree and less than 90 degree, and wherein the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to each other, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change the heights of said mountains and valleys such that it would result in an angle between a line connecting adjacent mountain portions of adjacent filling resin patterns of the plurality of filling resin patterns that are adjacent to each other along the first direction and the second direction is greater than 0 degree and less than 90 degree, and wherein the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to each other, to derive desired flexibility/rigidity for said folding portion, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned above, D1/D2/D3 teaches the display device of claim 15. Even though, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach wherein a height difference between the mountain portions and the valley portions of each of the plurality of filling resin patterns is in a range of about 5 to about 15 µm, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to derive such range for the height difference between the mountain portions and the valley portions, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, for optimizing the flexibility of said folding portion. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 18, D1 teaches an electronic device (DD; figure e1) comprising:
a display panel (DP; figure 4) including a folding area (FA2; figure 4); and
a window (WM; figures 4 and 5B) disposed on the display panel and including an upper surface (upper surface of WM; figure 5B) and a lower surface (lower surface of WM; figure 5B), wherein the window includes a pattern portion (see above annotated figure 5B) disposed at a position overlapping (see above annotated figure 5B) the folding area;
the pattern portion includes a plurality of first concave grooves (upper grooves; see above annotated figure 5B) recessed towards the lower surface of the window and a plurality of second concave grooves (bottom grooves; see above annotated figure 5B) recessed towards the upper surface of the window, the plurality of first concave grooves and the plurality of second concave grooves are alternately arranged (see above annotated figure 5B) along a first direction (horizontal direction), wherein each of the plurality of first concave grooves and the plurality of second concave grooves extends in a second direction (vertical direction) crossing the first direction.
However, D1 does not teach a plurality of filling resin patterns disposed in the plurality of groove patterns, the plurality of filling resin patterns is arranged to be spaced apart from each other along the first direction, the plurality of groove patterns extends in a second direction crossing the first direction, and each of the plurality of filling resin patterns has varying heights along the second direction, wherein mountain portions and valley portions are alternately arranged along the second direction.
D2 teaches a display device, which suggests a plurality of filling resin patterns (4030; figure 40) disposed in the plurality of groove patterns (4020; figure 40) at a folding section (see figure 40) at a layer (see figure 40) of the display device, the plurality of filling resin patterns is arranged to be spaced apart (see figure 40) from each other along the first direction (horizonal direction), the plurality of groove patterns (4020) extends in a second direction (Z direction) crossing the first direction.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide the groove pattern of D1 with a plurality of filling resin patterns disposed in the plurality of groove patterns, as suggested by D2, such that the plurality of filling resin patterns would be arranged to be spaced apart from each other along the first direction, the plurality of groove patterns extends in a second direction crossing the first direction, to enhance the structural integrity of said flexible folding portion.
However, D1/D2 does not specifically teach each of the plurality of filling resin patterns has varying heights along the second direction, wherein mountain portions and valley portions are alternately arranged along the second direction.
D3, teaches a similar structure, which suggests filling resins (“FR”; figures 9B-C) can be filled from both directions of the groove pattern (GP1-n; figures 9B-C).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further provide the plurality of filling resin patterns of D1/D2 alternately arranged along the second direction, as suggested by D3, to enhance the structural integrity of said folding portion.
Even though, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach that the plurality of filling resin patterns have varying heights, however, D3 however, does suggest the groove patterns can have different shapes or widths (see paragraph bridging columns 14-15). Providing different shapes and widths for said groove patterns would reasonably motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to derive different heights.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide said filling resin patterns of D1/D2/D3 with different heights, as suggested/motivated by D3, to derive desired flexibility for said folding portion.
Regarding claim 19, D1/D2/D3 teaches the display device of claim 18.
Even though, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach wherein an angle between a line connecting adjacent mountain portions of adjacent filling resin patterns of the at least one of the plurality of first filling resin patterns and the plurality of second filling resin patterns and the first direction is in a range of about 3 degree to about 15 degree, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change the heights of said mountains and valleys such that it would result in an angle between a line connecting adjacent mountain portions of adjacent filling resin patterns of the at least one of the plurality of first filling resin patterns and the plurality of second filling resin patterns and the first direction is in a range of about 3 degree to about 15 degree, to derive desired flexibility for said folding portion, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 20, D1/D2/D3 teaches an electronic device of claim 18. Even though, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach a line connecting adjacent first filling resin patterns of the plurality of first filling resin patterns that are adjacent along the first direction has a curved line shape; and a line connecting adjacent second filling resin patterns of the plurality of second filling resin patterns that are adjacent along the first direction has a straight line shape, however, such straight line shape or curved line shape are merely the result of changing the heights of said mountains and valleys.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to change the shape/size of said mountain portions and valley portions of D1/D2/D3 to achieve the claimed limitation, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape/size of a component, to derive desired flexibility/rigidity of said folding portion. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Pub. 2022/0376201 (hereinafter D1) in view of KIM et al. U.S. Pub. 2022/0287189 (hereinafter D2) and in further view of Kim et al. U.S. Patent 11,768,520 (hereinafter D3) and in further view of SONG U.S. Pub. 2025/0280709 (hereinafter D4).
Regarding claim 13, D1/D2/D3 teaches the display device of claim 1.
However, D1/D2/D3 does not specifically teach wherein the plurality of filling resin patterns includes one or more filling resins selected from a urethane-based resin, an epoxy-based resin, a polyester-based resin, a polyether-based resin, an acrylate-based resin, an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS) resin, and rubber.
D4, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a foldable display device, which suggests a plurality of filling resin patterns includes one or more filling resins being urethane-based resin (see par[0062]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select urethane-based resin as filling resins for said plurality of filing resin patterns of D1/D2/D3, as suggested by D4, to achieve its high flexibility, fast cure times, and super impact resistance advantages.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/IMANI N HAYMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841