DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goda (US 20210304211 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Goda teaches a payment processing apparatus (figures 1 and 7) comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions ([0086]); and
at least one processor ([0087] and [0088] the CPU) configured to execute the instructions to:
receive information for identifying a person used by a first terminal which is installed at a portion for payment (8, S18, S19, and 51A(3) of fig. 7, [0037] a face image to be authenticated, [0042] in a case where the user presents the commodity to be purchased (operation S14), the shop assistant at the checkout counter 7C reads the commodity to be purchased by the POS terminal 8; in a case where the settlement amount of the commodity to be purchased is acquired, the camera 45 of the settlement terminal 3 acquires the biometric information of the user who is the commodity purchaser (operation S18). The main application 51A of the settlement terminal 3 accepts the acquired biometric information of the user (operation S19));
operate to pay based on the information for identifying the person in response to receiving the information for identifying the person ([0028] in a case where the user uses a service to settle the payment for a commodity to be purchased, the biometric information is biometric information of the user himself or herself who permits the use of the service; S14, S15, S16, S20 and S25 and 51A(3) of fig. 7, the authentication result OK; [0042] an operation for selecting the settlement method includes, for example, a button operation of the POS terminal 8 for selecting settlement by biometric authentication, settlement by QR code (registered trademark), settlement by credit card, or cash settlement; and [0045] the authentication result is OK for settlement of the commodity to be purchased);
control the number of destinations to send notification based on the information for identifying the person (S25 and 51A(3) of fig. 7, for a destination, [0044] the settlement terminal; S28, S29, and 5 of fig. 7, for another destination, [0046] the settlement server);
send the notification to the destination (S33 of fig. 7, notify settlement complete, [0048]) in response to executing the payment (S29, S30, and 3 of fig. 7, [0047] In a case of receiving the settlement data from the smartphone terminal 2, the settlement server 5 of the settlement service agency executes a settlement process of settling the settlement amount of the commodity to be purchased in the settlement data (operation S30), and transmits a settlement completion notification to the smartphone terminal 2 (operation S31)),
wherein the instruction to operate to pay is configured to send the information for identifying the person to a server (5, S28, and S29 of fig. 7, [0046] The settlement application 21B generates settlement data including the settlement amount of the commodity to be purchased, the shop information, and the user ID in the settlement information (operation S28). The settlement application 21B transmits the settlement data to the settlement server 5 of the settlement service agency through the first communication unit 11 (operation S29)) and receive a result of the payment from the server (S31 of fig. 7, [0047] In a case of receiving the settlement data from the smartphone terminal 2, the settlement server 5 of the settlement service agency executes a settlement process of settling the settlement amount of the commodity to be purchased in the settlement data (operation S30), and transmits a settlement completion notification to the smartphone terminal 2 (operation S31)), the payment being executed by a way of payment associated with the information for identifying the person ([0047] the settlement server 5 of the settlement service agency executes a settlement process of settling the settlement amount of the commodity to be purchased in the settlement data (operation S30)), and
wherein the notification includes information regarding the payment (S28 and S29 of fig. 7, [0046] the settlement application 21B generates settlement data including the settlement amount of the commodity to be purchased, the shop information, and the user ID in the settlement information (operation S28). The settlement application 21B transmits the settlement data to the settlement server 5 of the settlement service agency through the first communication unit 11 (operation S29)).
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Goda further teaches the payment processing apparatus according to claim 1 and the method of claim 6. Goda further teaches wherein sending the notification is further configured to send a first notification to a first destination (S25 and 51A(3) of fig. 7, [0044] The settlement terminal communication unit 33B in the main application 21A transmits the authentication result OK to the settlement terminal 3 through the second communication unit 12 (operation S25)) and send a second notification to a second destination which is different from the first destination (S29 and 5 of fig. 7, [0046] the settlement application 21B transmits the settlement data to the settlement server 5 of the settlement service agency through the first communication unit 11 (operation S29)).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Goda further teaches the payment processing apparatus according to claim 1 and the method of claim 6. Goda further teaches wherein the information for identifying the person is derived from an image showing a face of the person (S18 of fig. 7, biometric information, [0037] the detection unit 66 captures a face image of a commodity purchaser to be authenticated by the camera 45, and detects biometric information such as the captured face image of the commodity purchaser to be authenticated; [0077] a face image of a user).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Goda further teaches the payment processing apparatus according to claim 1 and the method of claim 6. Goda further teaches wherein the information regarding the payment includes at least one of a paid date, paid time or a paid place ([0024] and [0042] a point of sale (POS) terminal).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Goda further teaches the payment processing apparatus according to claim 1 and the method of claim 6. Goda further teaches wherein the way of payment includes at least one of payment by electronic money, payment by credit card, or payment by debit card ([0042] QR code, credit card).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gurnani et al. (US 20160019547 A1) discloses a successful user authentication causes the transaction security processing server 29 to notify the financial institution server 32 of the transaction request and the successful user authentication. The notification, for example, may include identification of the device and/or the validated user (user identified from the records of the server 28 and/or 29) and the particular authentication in factors that have been validated. The financial institution server 32 confirms that the authentication procedure followed the applicable rule set.
Senda (US 20220343673 A1) discloses the management server 10 can also notify a user terminal, which is a portable terminal carried and used by the user U detected as the candidate for person requiring assistance, of the alarm. In this case, the management server 10 can identify the user terminal carried by the candidate for person requiring assistance who is to be the notification destination of the alarm, based on the position information or the like transmitted from the application executed in the user terminal.
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425