DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a display information generator configured to” in claims 1-13.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: [0013] of the Specification discloses that “The CPU22 includes an initial communication processor 221, a periodic communication processor 222, a monitoring controller 223, and a display information generator 224. The CPU22 is provided with a peripheral circuit (not illustrated), and functions of the initial communication processor 221, the periodic communication processor 222, the monitoring controller 223, and the display information generator 224 are executed by the CPU22 reading and processing a program stored in a read only memory (ROM) therein.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kida (US 20140032173 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kida teaches an equipment device management apparatus comprising:
an initial communication processor configured to execute communication establishment processing by initial communication with an equipment device to be managed for which communication has not been established; ([0043]: In the case where a network fault is suspected, the determination unit 1 d may request the connection unit 1 e to attempt to set up a network connection with the target device 2. When this attempt by the connection unit 1 e is unsuccessful, the determination unit 1 d concludes that there is a network fault associated with the target device 2.)
a periodic communication processor configured to periodically execute communication confirmation processing by periodic communication for confirming whether a communication state is normal with respect to the equipment device for which communication has been established by the communication establishment processing; ([0094]: The regular monitoring unit 110 performs regular monitoring of other devices, i.e., management control unit 211 and internal server monitoring unit 212. For example, the regular monitoring unit 110 periodically sends a regular monitoring message to each of the management control unit 211 and internal server monitoring unit 212. When a response to this regular monitoring message is received from one of the destination devices (target devices), the regular monitoring unit 110 determines that the responding target device is operating properly.)
a display information generator configured to, upon recognizing that a communication abnormality has occurred with the equipment device based on an execution result of the communication establishment processing and an execution result of the communication confirmation processing, generate display information for distinguishing whether the communication abnormality is an abnormality of the initial communication or an abnormality of the periodic communication; and (Fig. 6: Monitor 11. [0045] and Fig. 17: the connection unit 1 e attempts to set up a network connection to reach the target device 2 when so requested by the determination unit 1 d. The connection unit 1 e informs the determination unit 1 d of whether it has successfully established a network connection (e.g., initial communication) with the target device 2. Fig. 15 and [0182]: FIG. 15 illustrates an exemplary error log produced in the case of a timeout during regular monitoring. The illustrated error log 151 includes a status value of “Error” and a message “Alive-check error” indicating a failure found in the regular monitoring (e.g., periodic communication).)
a display configured to display the display information generated by the display information generator. (Fig. 6: Monitor 11. Fig. 15, 17, 19)
Regarding claim 2, Kida teaches the equipment device management apparatus according to claim 1.
Kida teaches wherein the equipment device to be managed is provided in a plurality, and the display information generator is further configured to generate the display information including information on a number of equipment devices in which the abnormality of the initial communication occurs. ([0094]: When a response to this regular monitoring message is received from one of the destination devices (target devices), the regular monitoring unit 110 determines that the responding target device is operating properly. [0045] and Fig. 17: the connection unit 1 e attempts to set up a network connection to reach the target device 2 when so requested by the determination unit 1 d. The connection unit 1 e informs the determination unit 1 d of whether it has successfully established a network connection (e.g., initial communication) with the target device 2.)
Regarding claim 3, Kida teaches the equipment device management apparatus according to claim 1.
Kida teaches wherein the equipment device to be managed is provided in a plurality, and the display information generator is further configured to generate the display information including information on a number of equipment devices in which the abnormality of the periodic communication occurs. ([0094]: When a response to this regular monitoring message is received from one of the destination devices (target devices), the regular monitoring unit 110 determines that the responding target device is operating properly. Fig. 15 and [0182]: FIG. 15 illustrates an exemplary error log produced in the case of a timeout during regular monitoring. The illustrated error log 151 includes a status value of “Error” and a message “Alive-check error” indicating a failure found in the regular monitoring (e.g., periodic communication).)
Regarding claim 12, Kida teaches the equipment device management apparatus according to claim 1.
Kida teaches wherein the equipment device to be managed is provided in a plurality, and the display information generator is configured to generate the display information including information that distinguishes whether the communication abnormality is the abnormality of the initial communication or the abnormality of the periodic communication for each equipment device for which the display information generator has recognized that the communication abnormality has occurred. ([0094]: When a response to this regular monitoring message is received from one of the destination devices (target devices), the regular monitoring unit 110 determines that the responding target device is operating properly. [0045] and Fig. 17: the connection unit 1 e attempts to set up a network connection to reach the target device 2 when so requested by the determination unit 1 d. The connection unit 1 e informs the determination unit 1 d of whether it has successfully established a network connection (e.g., initial communication) with the target device 2. Fig. 15 and [0182]: FIG. 15 illustrates an exemplary error log produced in the case of a timeout during regular monitoring. The illustrated error log 151 includes a status value of “Error” and a message “Alive-check error” indicating a failure found in the regular monitoring (e.g., periodic communication).)
Similar rationales apply to rejection of claim 14 (method) because it is substantially similar to the combination of claim 1 (apparatus).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kida (US 20140032173 A1) in view of Sakaguchi (JP2012178798A).
Regarding claim 4, Kida teaches the equipment device management apparatus according to claim 2.
Kida does not explicitly disclose wherein the display information generator is further configured to generate the display information including information on a total number of the equipment devices to be managed.
However, Sakaguchi teaches wherein the display information generator is further configured to generate the display information including information on a total number of the equipment devices to be managed. (Fig. 2 S1: Total monitored device 1300, normal 1296, abnormal 4.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include above limitation into Kida. One would have been motivated to do so because it is important to know the total number of devices/equipment being monitored to ensure all devices are being monitored accordingly.
Regarding claim 5, Kida teaches the equipment device management apparatus according to claim 3.
Kida does not explicitly disclose wherein the display information generator is further configured to generate the display information including information on a total number of the equipment devices to be managed
However, Sakaguchi teaches wherein the display information generator is further configured to generate the display information including information on a total number of the equipment devices to be managed. (Fig. 2 S1: Total monitored device 1300, normal 1296, abnormal 4.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include above limitation into Kida. One would have been motivated to do so because it is important to know the total number of devices/equipment being monitored to ensure all devices are being monitored accordingly.
Regarding claim 6, Kida teaches the equipment device management apparatus according to claim 2.
Kida does not explicitly disclose wherein the display information generator is configured to generate the display information so as to simultaneously display information on the number of the equipment devices in which the abnormality of the initial communication has occurred and information on a total number of the equipment devices to be managed.
However, Sakaguchi teaches wherein the display information generator is configured to generate the display information so as to simultaneously display information on the number of the equipment devices in which the abnormality of the initial communication has occurred and information on a total number of the equipment devices to be managed. (Fig. 2 S1: Total monitored device 1300, normal 1296, abnormal 4. Fig. 2 S2: List of abnormal devices with details.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include above limitation into Kida. One would have been motivated to do so because it is important to know the total number of devices/equipment being monitored to ensure all devices are being monitored accordingly and it is desirable to display the device(s) that are in abnormality to ensure the problem/issue is addressed accordingly.
Regarding claim 7, Kida teaches the equipment device management apparatus according to claim 3.
Kida does not explicitly disclose wherein the display information generator is further configured to generate the display information including information on a total number of equipment devices in which communication abnormality has currently occurred, the total number being obtained by adding the number of the equipment devices in which the abnormality of the periodic communication has occurred to a number of equipment devices in which the abnormality of the initial communication has occurred.
However, Sakaguchi teaches wherein the display information generator is further configured to generate the display information including information on a total number of equipment devices in which communication abnormality has currently occurred, the total number being obtained by adding the number of the equipment devices in which the abnormality of the periodic communication has occurred to a number of equipment devices in which the abnormality of the initial communication has occurred. (Fig. 2 S1: Total monitored device 1300, normal 1296, abnormal 4. Fig. 2 S2: List of abnormal devices with details.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include above limitation into Kida. One would have been motivated to do so because it is important to know the total number of devices/equipment being monitored to ensure all devices are being monitored accordingly and it is desirable to display the device(s) that are in abnormality to ensure the problem/issue is addressed accordingly.
Regarding claim 10, Kida and Sakaguchi teach the equipment device management apparatus according to claim 6.
Kida teaches wherein the display has a liquid crystal screen, andthe display information generator is configured to display the generated display information on a single screen of the liquid crystal screen. ([0080]: The monitor may be, for example, a cathode ray tube (CRT) display or a liquid crystal display.)
Regarding claim 13, Kida teaches the equipment device management apparatus according to claim 12.
Kida does not explicitly disclose wherein the display information generator is further configured to generate the display information including information indicating that the communication state is normal for each equipment device for which the display information generator has recognized that the communication state is normal, based on the execution result of the communication establishment processing and the execution result of the communication confirmation processing.
However, Sakaguchi teaches wherein the display information generator is further configured to generate the display information including information indicating that the communication state is normal for each equipment device for which the display information generator has recognized that the communication state is normal, based on the execution result of the communication establishment processing and the execution result of the communication confirmation processing (Fig. 2 S1: Total monitored device 1300, normal 1296, abnormal 4. Fig. 2 S2: List of abnormal devices with details.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include above limitation into Kida. One would have been motivated to do so because it is desirable to display the device(s) that are operating normally to get a sense of the overall health among the devices being monitored.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fail to explicitly disclose each and every limitation recited in claim 8. Claims 9 and 11 are dependent claims of claim 8.
Conclusion
/ZI YE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455