DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits for this continuous application filed on 03/11/2025
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Method claim 17 which depends from system claim 1 does not recite what structural limitations are or are not included in the method claim. And therefore, the examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of method claim 17. It is respectfully requested that method claim 17 be rewritten in independent form to include all the structural limitations of system claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wideroe (US 3,227,880).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Wideroe discloses a collimator system (Fig.1) that is capable of controlling and/or collimating radiation originating from an electron beam source for sterilization of a medical product (col.4, lines 18-21) and a method to control and/or focus radiation originating from an electron beam source, comprising:
a collimator (Fig.1:1 and 2) having a thickness L (unlabeled thickness of 1 and 2) including:
a first absorber (Fig.1:1) comprising a first side configured to allow electron beam entry (unlabeled entry in 1 as shown in Fig.1) and a second side opposite to the first side;
a second absorber (Fig.1:2) comprising a proximal side adjacent to the second side of the first absorber and a distal side opposite to the proximal side;
a first recess opening (Fig.1:1a) at the first side having a diameter of dimension D1 and a second recess opening (Fig.1:6) at the second side having a diameter of dimension d1;
a third recess opening (Fig.1:2a) at the proximal side having a dimension D2 and a fourth recess opening at the distal side having a dimension of d2;
wherein dimension D1 (Fig.1:1a) is larger than dimension d1 (Fig.1:6), and d1 is greater than or equal to D2 (Fig.1:2a);
wherein D1 (Fig.1:1a), d1 (Fig.1:6), and D2 (Fig.1:2a) are capable of being configured such that an electron dose P0 measured at the fourth recess opening is at least 90% of an electron dose Pe measured at the first recess opening and such that an electron dose P1 measured at a location on the second side spaced a distance away from the second recess opening is at most 5% of the electron dose P0 at a constant collimator thickness L, wherein the distance is capable of being away is from 10 mm or less;
wherein the medical product is capable of having an integrated circuit and a sensor and is also capable of being configured for subcutaneous use, wherein the medical product is capable of being arranged with the collimator (Fig.1:1 and 2) such that the sensor is positioned beneath the second recess and the integrated circuit is positioned beneath the location on the second side;
providing a first collimator system (Fig.1:1 and 2); and
irradiating the medical product (col.4, lines 18-21) with electrons from the electron beam source.
Regarding claim 2, Wideroe discloses that the ratio D1/d1 is 2.5 (Fig.1:1a and 6).
Regarding claim 3, Wideroe discloses that the second absorber comprises a cylindrical recess (unlabeled opening in 1 as shown in Fig.1).
Regarding claim 4, Wideroe discloses that the second absorber (Fig.1:2) is provided behind or downstream with respect to the second side.
Regarding claim 5, Wideroe discloses that the second absorber (Fig.1:2) is attached to and/or integrated into the first absorber (Fig.1:1).
Regarding claim 6, Wideroe discloses that the at least second absorber (Fig.1:2) comprises a material with a higher average atomic number than the first absorber and comprises at least one of: a polymer; an electrically conducting polymer; a polymer comprising metal particles; a polymer comprising at least one metal piece; a semiconductor; and a metal (col.2, lines 10-29).
Regarding claim 7, Wideroe discloses that the first absorber (Fig.4:1a” and 7) comprises at least two layers, wherein a thickness of the first layer L1 is capable of being selected based on a range of electrons beams at the selected electron beam energy in the same material without recess, and wherein a thickness of the successive layers L₂ +LN is capable of being configured for absorption of scattered electrons and x-rays generated by electron interaction with all materials.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Wideroe discloses that the collimator (Fig.1:1 and 2) and the medical product (col.4, lines 18-21) are capable of being attached and/or assembled and/or integrated into an applicator for the medical device and to each other.
Regarding claim 9, Wideroe discloses that D₁ (Fig.1:1a) is capable of being within a range of 3 mm to 20 mm.
Regarding claim 10, Wideroe discloses that d1 (Fig.1:6) is capable of being within a range of 1 mm to 10 mm.
Regarding claim 11, Wideroe discloses that D2 (Fig.1:2a) is capable of being 4 mm.
Regarding claim 12, Wideroe discloses that D1 (Fig.1:1a), d1 (Fig.1:6), and D2 (Fig.1:2a) are capable of being configured such that an electron dose P0 measured at the second fourth recess opening is greater than 100% of an electron dose Pe measured at the first recess opening.
Regarding claim 13, Wideroe discloses that the distance is capable of being away is 5 mm or less.
Regarding claim 14, Wideroe discloses that D2 (Fig.1:2a) is capable of being greater than d1 (Fig.1:6).
Regarding claim 15, Wideroe discloses that D2 (Fig.1:2a) is capable of being equal to d1 (Fig.1:6).
Regarding claim 18, Wideroe discloses conveying the medical product (col.4, lines 1-24) continuously, and simultaneously irradiating it from top and/or bottom and/or from one or both sides.
Regarding claim 19, Wideroe discloses that medical product is capable of being positioned with the collimator (Fig.1:1 and 2) such that the sensor is positioned beneath the second recess and the integrated circuit is positioned beneath the location on the second side.
Regarding claim 20, Wideroe discloses focusing the electrons (col.2, lines 49-72 through col.3, lines 1-25) from the electron beam source with the collimator such that an electron dose P0 measured at the second fourth recess opening is greater than 100% of an electron dose Pe measured at the first recess opening.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,251,480 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scopes of the claims 1-18 in the pending application and the scopes of the claims 1-17 in the U.S. Patent No. 12,251,480 B2 are the same, but rewritten differently.
Conclusion
/MONZER R CHORBAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799