DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2 and 4 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2011/0234502) in view of Chatterjee et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2010/0162109).
Regarding Claim 1, Yun et al. teach a system (Figure 58, Element 5800. Paragraph 180), comprising:
a processor (Figure 58, Element 5803. Paragraph 181); and
a memory (Figure 58, Element 5801. Paragraph 181) comprising instructions executable by the processor (Figure 58, Element 5803. Paragraph 181) to:
receive a request (Figure 5, Element 511. Paragraph 86) for a touch screen user interface (Figure 55. Paragraph 160) of a clinical medical software application (Paragraph 177);
send a reset signal to a touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106);
select a predetermined configuration (Figure 5, Element 512. Paragraph 87) for the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106), the predetermined configuration (Figure 5, Element 512. Paragraph 87):
being associated with the clinical medical software application (Paragraph 177) and the touch screen user interface (Figure 55. Paragraph 160); and
comprising a mapping between a touch screen control (Figure 5, Element desirable shapes. Paragraphs 87 - 89) for the touch screen user interface (Figure 55. Paragraph 160) and a corresponding tactile effect (Figure 24. Paragraph 113);
send a configuration signal (Figure 5, Element 522. Paragraph 89) to the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) that causes the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) to generate corresponding the tactile effect (Figure 24. Paragraph 113) on a surface of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) in an area (Paragraph 150) of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106), wherein the area (Paragraph 150) of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) corresponds to a location where the touch screen control (Figure 5, Element desirable shapes. Paragraphs 87 - 89) is displayed on a display layer (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) of the touch screen device (Figure 18, Element 80. Paragraph 106) having the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) overlaid.
Yun et al. is silent with regards to wherein pressure applied on the corresponding tactile effect causes the touch screen interface membrane to make contact with a touch panel of a touch screen device.
Chatterjee et al. teach wherein pressure (Paragraphs 166) applied on the corresponding tactile effect causes the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 4, Element 41. Paragraph 84) to make contact with Figure 31. Paragraph 162 and Figures 34 – 35. Paragraphs 165 – 166. Chatterjee et al. teaches that the surface is on top of the sensing layer and the surface can be deformed, which will contact the touch sensing layer as pressure is applied.) a touch panel (Figure 4, Element 45. Paragraph 85) of a touch screen device (Figure 4, Element 40. Paragraph 83).
Yun et al. teach a device which is different from the claimed interface apparatus by the substitution of the step(s) of the interface member being on top of the touch screen. Chatterjee et al. teaches the substituted step(s) of interface member being on top of the touch screen and their functions were known in the art to provide an interface member that will make contact with a touch sensing layer when touched.
The layer order of Yun et al. could have been substituted with layer order as taught by Chatterjee et al. and the results would have been predictable and resulted in an interface member that will make contact with a touch sensing layer when touched. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. The examiner further notes that Paragraph 93 of Chatterjee et al. discloses different layer orders that can be reordered based on the needs of the device, making it clear that one order can be substituted for another.
Regarding Claim 2, Yun et al. in view of Chatterjee et al. teach the system (Figure 58, Element 5800. Paragraph 180) of claim 1 (See Above). Yu et al. teaches wherein the corresponding tactile effect (Figure 24. Paragraph 113) is selected from a group consisting of a bump (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113), a ridge (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113), a groove (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113), and a temperature differential between the area (Paragraph 150) of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) and an area (Paragraph 150) proximate to the area (Paragraph 150) of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106).
Regarding Claim 4, Yun et al. in view of Chatterjee et al. teach the system (Figure 58, Element 5800. Paragraph 180) of claim 1 (See Above). Yu et al. teaches wherein the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) comprises a plurality of excitation electrodes (Figure 18, Elements 82 - 84. Paragraphs 106 - 109) that are arranged in an array (Seen in Figure 12).
Regarding Claim 5, Yun et al. in view of Chatterjee et al. teach the system (Figure 58, Element 5800. Paragraph 180) of claim 4 (See Above). Yu et al. teaches wherein the corresponding tactile effect (Figure 24. Paragraph 113) comprises a bump (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113), and wherein the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106), in response to the configuration signal, applies a voltage (Paragraph 95) between a pair of excitation electrodes (Figure 18, Elements 82 - 84. Paragraphs 106 - 109) that are disposed next to each other in the array (Seen in Figure 12).
Regarding Claim 6, Yun et al. in view of Chatterjee et al. teach the system (Figure 58, Element 5800. Paragraph 180) of claim 4 (See Above). Yu et al. teaches wherein the corresponding tactile effect (Figure 24. Paragraph 113) comprises a groove (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113), and wherein the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106), in response to the configuration signal, applies a plurality of voltages (Paragraph 95) between a corresponding plurality of neighboring pairs of excitation electrodes (Figure 18, Elements 82 - 84. Paragraphs 106 - 109), wherein the plurality of neighboring pairs of excitation electrodes (Figure 18, Elements 82 - 84. Paragraphs 106 - 109) is disposed in two neighboring columns of the array (Seen in Figure 12), and wherein applying the voltage (Paragraph 95) generates two ridges (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113) on the surface of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106), wherein the groove (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113) is disposed between the two ridges (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113).
Regarding Claim 7, Yun et al. in view of Chatterjee et al. teach the system (Figure 58, Element 5800. Paragraph 180) of claim 5 (See Above). Yu et al. teaches wherein the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) comprises an element selected from a group consisting of air (Paragraph 89) and a viscous fluid.
Regarding Claim 8, Yun et al. in view of Chatterjee et al. teach the system (Figure 58, Element 5800. Paragraph 180) of claim 7 (See Above). Yu et al. teaches wherein applying the voltage (Paragraph 95) causes a portion of the element to flow to an area (Paragraph 150) that is disposed proximate to the pair of excitation electrodes (Figure 18, Elements 82 - 84. Paragraphs 106 - 109).
Regarding Claim 9, Yun et al. in view of Chatterjee et al. teach the system (Figure 58, Element 5800. Paragraph 180) of claim 4 (See Above). Yu et al. teaches wherein the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106), in response to the reset signal, deactivates (Figure 5, Element 522, Sub-Element lowered. Paragraph 89) the plurality of excitation electrodes (Figure 18, Elements 82 - 84. Paragraphs 106 - 109).
Regarding Claim 10, Yun et al. teach a method, comprising:
receiving a request (Figure 5, Element 511. Paragraph 86) for a touch screen user interface (Figure 55. Paragraph 160) of a clinical medical software application (Paragraph 177);
sending a reset signal to a touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106);
selecting a predetermined configuration (Figure 5, Element 512. Paragraph 87) for the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106), the predetermined configuration (Figure 5, Element 512. Paragraph 87):
being associated with the clinical medical software application (Paragraph 177) and the touch screen user interface (Figure 55. Paragraph 160); and
comprising a mapping between a touch screen control (Figure 5, Element desirable shapes. Paragraphs 87 - 89) for the touch screen user interface (Figure 55. Paragraph 160) and a corresponding tactile effect (Figure 24. Paragraph 113);
send a configuration signal (Figure 5, Element 512. Paragraph 87) to the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) that causes the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) to generate the corresponding tactile effect (Figure 24. Paragraph 113) on a surface of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) in an area (Paragraph 150) of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) wherein the area (Paragraph 150) of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) corresponds to a location where the touch screen control (Figure 5, Element desirable shapes. Paragraphs 87 - 89) is displayed on a display layer (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) of the touch screen device (Figure 18, Element 80. Paragraph 106) having the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) overlaid.
Yun et al. is silent with regards to wherein pressure applied on the corresponding tactile effect causes the touch screen interface membrane to make contact with a touch panel of a touch screen device.
Chatterjee et al. teach wherein pressure (Paragraphs 166) applied on the corresponding tactile effect causes the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 4, Element 41. Paragraph 84) to make contact with Figure 31. Paragraph 162 and Figures 34 – 35. Paragraphs 165 – 166. Chatterjee et al. teaches that the surface is on top of the sensing layer and the surface can be deformed, which will contact the touch sensing layer as pressure is applied.) a touch panel (Figure 4, Element 45. Paragraph 85) of a touch screen device (Figure 4, Element 40. Paragraph 83).
Yun et al. teach a device which is different from the claimed interface apparatus by the substitution of the step(s) of the interface member being on top of the touch screen. Chatterjee et al. teaches the substituted step(s) of interface member being on top of the touch screen and their functions were known in the art to provide an interface member that will make contact with a touch sensing layer when touched.
The layer order of Yun et al. could have been substituted with layer order as taught by Chatterjee et al. and the results would have been predictable and resulted in an interface member that will make contact with a touch sensing layer when touched. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. The examiner further notes that Paragraph 93 of Chatterjee et al. discloses different layer orders that can be reordered based on the needs of the device, making it clear that one order can be substituted for another.
Regarding Claim 11, Yun et al. in view of Chatterjee et al. teach the method of claim 10 (See Above). Yu et al. teaches wherein the corresponding tactile effect (Figure 24. Paragraph 113) is selected from a group consisting of a bump (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113), a ridge (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113), a groove (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113), and a temperature differential between the area (Paragraph 150) of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) and an area (Paragraph 150) proximate to the area (Paragraph 150) of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106).
Regarding Claim 12, Yun et al. in view of Chatterjee et al. teach the method of claim 10 (See Above). Yu et al. teaches wherein the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) comprises a plurality of excitation electrodes (Figure 18, Elements 82 - 84. Paragraphs 106 - 109) that are arranged in an array (Seen in Figure 12).
Regarding Claim 13, Yun et al. in view of Chatterjee et al. teach the method of claim 11 (See Above). Yu et al. teaches wherein the corresponding tactile effect (Figure 24. Paragraph 113) comprises a bump (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113), and wherein the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106), in response to the configuration signal, applies a voltage (Paragraph 95) between a pair of excitation electrodes (Figure 18, Elements 82 - 84. Paragraphs 106 - 109) that are disposed next to each other in the array (Seen in Figure 12).
Regarding Claim 14, Yun et al. in view of Chatterjee et al. teach the method of claim 11 (See Above). Yu et al. teaches wherein the corresponding tactile effect (Figure 24. Paragraph 113) comprises a groove (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113), and wherein the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106), in response to the configuration signal, applies a plurality of voltages (Paragraph 95) between a corresponding plurality of neighboring pairs of excitation electrodes (Figure 18, Elements 82 - 84. Paragraphs 106 - 109), wherein the plurality of neighboring pairs of excitation electrodes (Figure 18, Elements 82 - 84. Paragraphs 106 - 109) is disposed in two neighboring columns of the array (Seen in Figure 12), and wherein applying the voltage (Paragraph 95) generates two ridges (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113) on the surface of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106), wherein the groove (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113) is disposed between the two ridges (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113).
Regarding Claim 15, Yun et al. in view of Chatterjee et al. teach the method of claim 14 (See Above). Yu et al. teaches wherein the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) comprises an element selected from a group consisting of air (Paragraph 89) and a viscous fluid.
Regarding Claim 16, Yun et al. in view of Chatterjee et al. teach the method of claim 15 (See Above). Yu et al. teaches wherein applying the voltage (Paragraph 95) causes a portion of the element to flow to an area (Paragraph 150) that is disposed proximate to the pair of excitation electrodes (Figure 18, Elements 82 - 84. Paragraphs 106 - 109).
Regarding Claim 17, Yun et al. in view of Chatterjee et al. teach the method of claim 12 (See Above). Yu et al. teaches wherein the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106), in response to the reset signal, deactivates (Figure 5, Element 522, Sub-Element lowered. Paragraph 89) the plurality of excitation electrodes (Figure 18, Elements 82 - 84. Paragraphs 106 - 109).
Regarding Claim 18, Yun et al. teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Figure 58, Element 5801. Paragraph 181) comprising instructions that are executable by a processor (Figure 58, Element 5803. Paragraph 181) to:
receive a request (Figure 5, Element 511. Paragraph 86) for a touch screen user interface (Figure 55. Paragraph 160) of a clinical medical software application (Paragraph 177);
send a reset signal to a touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) comprising a plurality of excitation electrodes (Figure 18, Elements 82 - 84. Paragraphs 106 - 109) that are arranged in an array (Seen in Figure 12);
select a predetermined configuration (Figure 5, Element 512. Paragraph 87) for the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106), the predetermined configuration (Figure 5, Element 512. Paragraph 87):
being associated with the clinical medical software application (Paragraph 177) and the touch screen user interface (Figure 55. Paragraph 160); and
comprising a mapping between a touch screen control (Figure 5, Element desirable shapes. Paragraphs 87 - 89) for the touch screen user interface (Figure 55. Paragraph 160) and a corresponding tactile effect (Figure 24. Paragraph 113);
send a configuration signal (Figure 5, Element 512. Paragraph 87) to the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) that causes the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) to generate the corresponding tactile effect (Figure 24. Paragraph 113) on a surface of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) in an area (Paragraph 150) of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) wherein the area (Paragraph 150) of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) corresponds to a location where the touch screen control (Figure 5, Element desirable shapes. Paragraphs 87 - 89) is displayed on a display layer (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) of the touch screen device (Figure 18, Element 80. Paragraph 106) having the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) overlaid.
Yun et al. is silent with regards to wherein pressure applied on the corresponding tactile effect causes the touch screen interface membrane to make contact with a touch panel of a touch screen device.
Chatterjee et al. teach wherein pressure (Paragraphs 166) applied on the corresponding tactile effect causes the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 4, Element 41. Paragraph 84) to make contact with Figure 31. Paragraph 162 and Figures 34 – 35. Paragraphs 165 – 166. Chatterjee et al. teaches that the surface is on top of the sensing layer and the surface can be deformed, which will contact the touch sensing layer as pressure is applied.) a touch panel (Figure 4, Element 45. Paragraph 85) of a touch screen device (Figure 4, Element 40. Paragraph 83).
Yun et al. teach a device which is different from the claimed interface apparatus by the substitution of the step(s) of the interface member being on top of the touch screen. Chatterjee et al. teaches the substituted step(s) of interface member being on top of the touch screen and their functions were known in the art to provide an interface member that will make contact with a touch sensing layer when touched.
The layer order of Yun et al. could have been substituted with layer order as taught by Chatterjee et al. and the results would have been predictable and resulted in an interface member that will make contact with a touch sensing layer when touched. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. The examiner further notes that Paragraph 93 of Chatterjee et al. discloses different layer orders that can be reordered based on the needs of the device, making it clear that one order can be substituted for another.
Regarding Claim 19, Yun et al. in view of Chatterjee et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Figure 58, Element 5801. Paragraph 181) of claim 18 (See Above). Yu et al. teaches wherein the corresponding tactile effect (Figure 24. Paragraph 113) is selected from a group consisting of a bump (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113), a ridge (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113), a groove (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113), and a temperature differential between the area (Paragraph 150) of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106) and an area (Paragraph 150) proximate to the area (Paragraph 150) of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106).
Regarding Claim 20 Yun et al. in view of Chatterjee et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Figure 58, Element 5801. Paragraph 181) of claim 18 (See Above). Yu et al. teaches wherein the corresponding tactile effect (Figure 24. Paragraph 113) comprises a groove (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113), and wherein the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106), in response to the configuration signal, applies a plurality of voltages (Paragraph 95) between a corresponding plurality of neighboring pairs of excitation electrodes (Figure 18, Elements 82 - 84. Paragraphs 106 - 109), wherein the plurality of neighboring pairs of excitation electrodes (Figure 18, Elements 82 - 84. Paragraphs 106 - 109) is disposed in two neighboring columns of the array (Seen in Figure 12), and wherein applying the voltage (Paragraph 95) generates two ridges (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113) on the surface of the touch screen interface membrane (Figure 18, Element 85. Paragraph 106), wherein the groove (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113) is disposed between the two ridges (Seen in Figure 24. Paragraph 113).
Response to Arguments
All arguments are considered moot in light of the new grounds of rejection presented above, necessitated by the amendment to the instant claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nordgren et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2019/0380683) disclose a medical device with that has a programable membrane that can provide for changeable raised inputs, similar to the instant application.
Diederiks (U.S. PG Pub 2005/0030292); Heubel et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2009/0250267); Dimitrov et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2010/0026635); Romera Jolliff et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2011/0304550); Vatanian et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2010/0238114); and disclose an input device where a screen can be elevated to provide tactile feedback to a user and where and how input can be entered into the touch device, similar to the instant invention.
/A.B.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625