DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 8-11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2679532 A1 (Sihvola, Applicant’s cited prior art).
Regarding claim 1, Sihvola discloses:
A pulley for a suspension element (“suspension ropes” abstract, line 3) of an elevator, the pulley comprising:
at least one bearing (14);
a main body (12, 32, 34);
a running-surface shell (38) comprising a first plastic (“hard plastics” paragraph [0024], line 3), wherein the at least one bearing is retained by the main body;
an intermediate layer (36) between the main body and the running-surface shell, the intermediate layer is directly joined to the main body (36 is directly joined to 34 of the main body) and directly joined to the running-surface shell (36 is directly joined to 38, figure 4), and the intermediate layer comprises a second plastic (“polyurethane or polyamide” paragraph [0023], line 10) that is different from the first plastic.
Regarding claim 4, Sihvola further discloses:
wherein the second plastic is a thermoplastic (polyamide is a known thermoplastic).
Regarding claim 8, Sihvola further discloses:
wherein the running-surface shell (38) includes a running surface having a first wedge profile (grooves 18 form a wedge profile).
Regarding claim 9, Sihvola further discloses:
wherein the at least one bearing (14) is integrated into the main body (between 12 and 32).
Regarding claim 10, Sihvola further discloses:
An elevator having at least one pulley according to claim 1 (claim 13).
Regarding claim 11, Sihvola further discloses:
further comprising a suspension element (ropes) which interacts with the at least one pulley, the suspension element including at least one steel cable (“As usually the elevator ropes are made from steel…” col. 5, lines 10-11).
Regarding claim 20, Sihvola further discloses:
wherein the second plastic is a polyamide (paragraph [0023], line 10).
Claims 1, 5-7, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 4112526 A1 (Sotoca Munoz et al., Applicant’s cited prior art).
Regarding claim 1, Sotoca Munoz et al. disclose:
A pulley (100) for a suspension element (108) of an elevator, the pulley comprising:
at least one bearing (135a);
a main body (125a, 462, and 472);
a running-surface shell (460) comprising a first plastic (“The first and second surface layers 460, 462 comprise a low (e.g. glass, e.g. carbon) fibre content, such that the outer surface 406 and inner surface 405 of the cylindrical sleeve are polymer-rich with substantially no (e.g. glass, e.g. carbon) fibre content by weight.” Paragraph [0151], lines 1-5, the first plastic is substantially polymer based), wherein the at least one bearing is retained by the main body;
an intermediate layer (470, 480) between the main body and the running-surface shell, the intermediate layer is directly joined to the main body (480 of the intermediate layer is directly joined to 472 of the main body) and directly joined to the running-surface shell (470 of the intermediate layer is directly joined to 460 of the running-surface shell), and the intermediate layer comprises a second plastic (layers 470 and 480 are comprised of a different plastic composition than layer 460, “The first surface layer 460, second surface layer 462, outer portion 470, inner portion 472 and the central portion 480, as shown in Figure 4, all exhibit different (e.g. glass, e.g. carbon) fibre polymer characteristics and properties.” Paragraph [0150], Lines 15-19) that is different from the first plastic.
Regarding claim 5, Sotoca Munoz et al. further disclose:
wherein the second plastic makes up more than 20% of the intermediate layer (paragraph [0090], “In some examples, the polymeric material comprises between 30 wt.% to 80 wt.% … fibre is dispersed within the polymer matrix.” Lines 1-4, meaning the polymer base constitutes the remaining 20-70%).
Regarding claim 6, Sotoca Munoz et al. further disclose:
wherein the second plastic makes up less than 80% of the intermediate layer (paragraph [0090] teaches the polymeric material comprising between 30-80% glass or carbon fibers, meaning the polymer constitutes the remaining 20-70%).
Regarding claim 7, Sotoca Munoz et al. further disclose:
wherein the intermediate layer comprises a filler (glass or carbon fibres 450, figure 4).
Regarding claim 15, Sotoca Munoz et al. disclose:
A method for manufacturing a pulley (100) for a suspension element (108) of an elevator comprising the following steps:
- providing a main body (125a, 462, 472) together with at least one bearing (135a) mounted or to be mounted therein,
- producing a running-surface shell (460) at least partially from a first plastic (“The first and second surface layers 460, 462 comprise a low (e.g. glass, e.g. carbon) fibre content, such that the outer surface 406 and inner surface 405 of the cylindrical sleeve are polymer-rich with substantially no (e.g. glass, e.g. carbon) fibre content by weight.” Paragraph [0151], lines 1-5, the first plastic is substantially polymer based), and
- producing an intermediate layer (470, 480) between the main body and the running-surface shell at least partially from a second plastic that is different from the first plastic (layers 470, 480 are comprised of a different plastic composition than layer 460, “The first surface layer 460, second surface layer 462, outer portion 470, inner portion 472 and the central portion 480, as shown in Figure 4, all exhibit different (e.g. glass, e.g. carbon) fibre polymer characteristics and properties.” Paragraph [0150], Lines 15-19), such that the intermediate layer is directly joined to the main body and directly joined to the running-surface shell (480 of the intermediate layer is directly joined to 472 of the main body and 470 of the intermediate layer is directly joined to 460 of the running-surface shell).
Regarding claim 16, Sotoca Munoz et al. further disclose:
wherein at least one of the running-surface shell or the intermediate layer is produced by injection molding (Claim 13, lines 4-5, “for injection moulding”).
Regarding claim 17, Sotoca Munoz et al. further disclose:
wherein the production of the intermediate layer (470, 480) forms a material bond with both the main body and the running-surface shell (production of the layered formation shown in figure 4 results in a material bond between 470 of the intermediate layer and shell 460 as well as between 480 of the intermediate layer and 472 of the main body).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by EP 2679532 A1 (Sihvola, Applicant’s cited prior art) in view of US 9701517 B2 (Chang et al.).
Regarding claim 2, Sihvola teaches:
The pulley according to claim 1.
Sihvola does not elaborate on the type of plastic of the first plastic.
However, Chang et al. teaches:
An elevator pulley (56) with an outer layer (50) comprised of a plastic,
wherein the first plastic is a thermoplastic (UHMW is a subset of the thermoplastic polyethylene, col. 5, line 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the running-surface shell of Sihvola from a UHMW thermoplastic as taught by Chang et al. with a reasonable expectation for success for improved wear characteristics. As noted by Chang et al. “UHMW polyethylene may have improved wear characteristics as compared to other polymers such as PTFE; e.g. UHMW polyethylene exhibits a relatively low material transfer rate.” Col. 5, lines 23-27. The low material transfer rate reduces material transfer onto the tension members that can create slippage between the tension members and the sheave/pulley.
Regarding claim 19, Chang et al. further teaches:
wherein the first plastic is an ultra-high-molecular- weight polyethylene (“ultra high molecular weight (UHMW) polyethylene” col. 5 lines 20-21).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by EP 2679532 A1 (Sihvola, Applicant’s cited prior art).
Regarding claim 3, Sihvola teaches:
The pulley according to claim 1.
While Sihvola does not explicitly state the material makeup of the layer 38, Sihvola further reasonably teaches:
wherein the first plastic (“hard plastics”) makes up more than 50% of the running-surface shell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the rim layer, when comprised of hard plastics, the plastic material makes up more than 50% of the layer. Sihvola does not teach mixing materials in the individual layers, Sihvola teaches that the layer 38 may be made of “steel or hard plastics or rubber” and does not reasonably suggest a combination thereof. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the material chosen for the rim layer would comprise more than 50% of the layer, even if reinforced with other materials.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by EP 2679532 A1 (Sihvola, Applicant’s cited prior art) in view of US 20120211310 A1 (Peric et al., Applicant’s cited prior art).
Regarding claim 12, Sihvola teaches:
The elevator according to claim 11, wherein the running surface of the at least one pulley includes a wedge profile (18).
Sihvola does not teach:
the suspension element includes a belt in which the steel cable is embedded, and the belt includes an inner profile which interacts with the running surface of the running-surface shell.
However, Peric et al. teach:
An elevator pulley (4.1) with a wedge profile running surface (figure 4a), and
the suspension element (12) includes a belt in which the steel cable (22) is embedded, and the belt includes an inner profile (20) which interacts with the running surface of the running-surface shell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a ribbed belt that encases steel tension members and corresponds to the wedge profile of the pulley as taught by Peric et al. in the elevator system of Sihvola with a reasonable expectation of success for reduced wear on the steel cables and improved traction between the suspension element and the pulley. Encasing steel cables or tension members within a belt is well known in the art to decrease wear on the cables. Further, Peric et al. teach “Thus, on the driving pulley 4.1, only flanks 24 of the ribs 20 of the V-ribber belt 12 cooperate with flanks 38 of the grooves 35 of the driving pulley 4.1, so as to give rise between the grooves 35 of the driving pulley 4.1 and the ribs 20 of the V-ribbed belt 12 to a wedge effect which improves the traction capacity.” Paragraph [0096], lines 5-10.
Regarding claim 13, Peric et al. further teach:
wherein the inner profile includes a second wedge profile (figure 4a).
Regarding claim 14, Peric et al. further teach:
wherein the running surface corresponds to the inner profile (20 corresponds to the wedge profile of 4.1, as shown in figure 4a).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious all of the limitations of dependent claim 18. Sotoca Munoz teaches a method for manufacturing a pulley for an elevator system utilizing different plastics. Sotoca Munoz does not reasonably teach a configuration of the pulley that includes an intermediate layer directly joined to the main body and running-surface shell of the pulley with the intermediate layer being produced after the main body and shell components are produced and arranged with the shell positioned around the main body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 6 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that components 12, 32, and 34 are separate components and do not collectively comprise a “main body” of a pulley for an elevator as claimed in claim 1. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, this argument is not commensurate with the scope of the claim. There are no limitations regarding the main body that preclude multiple components forming the main body. Sihvola’s hub 12 and layers 32 and 34 form the main body of the pulley that retains the bearing. Regarding the newly added limitation that the intermediate layer is directly joined to the main body and directly joined to the running-surface shell, intermediate layer 36 is directly joined to 34, which is part of the main body, and 36 is directly joined to running-surface shell 38.
Regarding the argument on page 7 of the Remarks that Sotoca Munoz does not anticipate the independent claims as presently amended, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. There are multiple layers present in the invention of Sotoca Munoz, under a different interpretation of Sotoca Munoz as outlined in the rejection above, Sotoca Munoz continues to anticipate the independent claims.
Applicant’s argument on page 10 regarding claim 18 is persuasive; claim 18 is objected to as being dependent on rejected claim 15 but contains allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.M.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654