The amendment filed 7/30/2026 has been entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: improper grammar “from lid base wall”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: improper grammar “on a hinge side of lid assembly”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: improper grammar “the hinge side of lid assembly”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the additive cartridge" in line 8 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 14 and 16 recite the limitation "the flavor adjustor" in line 8 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13, 15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 11,136,170 (Faerber et al. hereinafter).
In re claim 1, with reference Figs. 2A, 2B, 3A, and 3B, Faerber et al. discloses: A lid assembly (12) for use with a drinking container (14), the drinking container having an internal space configured to hold a base liquid and a drinking container opening, the lid assembly comprising: a lid base (24) configured to attach to the drinking container (at threads 48), the lid base including a lid base opening (50), a lid base wall surrounding the lid base opening, and a lid base opening edge spaced apart from the lid base wall; a cartridge chamber (16) extending from the lid base opening and defining an additive cartridge receiving space (note a properly sized/shaped, yet unclaimed additive cartridge could be received in the space defined by the chamber); a closure (26) coupled to the lid base and configured to move from a closed position in which the closure covers an additive cartridge receiving space (see Fig. 1), and an open position in which the additive cartridge receiving space is not covered (column 9, lines 5-25), wherein the closure is configured to accommodate an upper portion of an additive cartridge, including a drinking spout assembly connected to the additive cartridge, the drinking spout assembly extending through the lid base opening and outwardly from the lid base opening edge, when the closure is in the closed position (should such cartridge be provided in 16/50b); a latching mechanism (28, 34) movable between a latched position, in which the latching mechanism retains the closure in the closed position (see fig. 10A), and a release position (see Fig. 10C) in which the closure is free to move to the open position; and a handle (30) configured to selectively lock the latching mechanism and thereby prevent the latching mechanism from moving to the release position (column 6, lines 7-21).
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (i.e. “a cartridge chamber extending from the lid base opening and defining an additive cartridge receiving space”, “configured to accommodate an upper portion of an additive cartridge”, and “including a drinking spout assembly connected to the additive cartridge, the drinking spout assembly extending through the lid base opening and outwardly from the lid base opening edge”) does not positively recite a cartridge, but claims a chamber for a cartridge and a space for an additive cartridge, Faerber et al. has a chamber and a space capable of being used for a cartridge and/or an additive cartridge, and the limitation “configured to accommodate an upper portion of the additive cartridge”) and therefore does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114, II.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lid base opening edge)][AltContent: textbox (Inner Annular Wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lid Base Wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Enclosing Wall)][AltContent: arrow]
In re claim 2, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the closure (26) includes a domed portion (above dotted line below), a shoulder (74), wherein the handle (30) encircles the domed portion (lock 30 as a “carry loop”, column 6, lines 10-11), and a skirt extending below the domed portion (See below).
[AltContent: textbox (Non-Hinge Side )][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Hinge Side of Lid Assembly)][AltContent: textbox (Handle flush with Domed Portion outer surface in this region)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Skirt)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Domed Portion)][AltContent: connector]
In re claim 3, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the closure (26) includes a domed portion, a shoulder (74), wherein the handle rests on the shoulder (column 15, lines 1-19), and a skirt extending below the domed portion (as in re claim 2 above).
In re claim 4, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein an outer portion of the skirt protrudes outwardly (skirt shown in Fig. 11b above continues outward flare from domed portion, therefore an outer portion of the skirt protrudes outwardly).
In re claim 5, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. discloses the claimed invention including, wherein the handle has an inner surface flush with an outer surface of the domed portion in the closed position (see Fig. 2A above).
In re claim 7, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. discloses the claimed invention including a push button (28) configured to move the latching mechanism into the release position (see Figs. 10A-10C).
In re claim 8, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. discloses A lid assembly for use with a drinking container, the drinking container having an internal space configured to hold a base liquid and a drinking container opening, the lid assembly comprising: a lid base configured to attach to the drinking container (as in re claim 1 above), the lid base including an enclosing wall and a lid base opening (50) encircled by the enclosing wall (see Fig. 3A above, “c-shape” enclosing wall 120 in paragraph 0031 of Applicant’s specification interpreted as “encircling”); a cartridge chamber having at least one wall (16) extending from the lid base opening downward into the internal space, the at least one wall defining an additive cartridge receiving space configured to house the additive cartridge (see intended use recitation in re claim 1 above); a closure coupled to the lid base and configured to move from a closed position in which the closure covers the additive cartridge receiving space, and an open position in which the additive cartridge receiving space is not covered, wherein the closure is configured to accommodate an upper portion of the additive cartridge when the closure is in the closed position (as in re claim 1 above); a hinge (52, 64) positioned on a hinge side of [the] lid assembly on an outermost edge of the enclosing wall, wherein the hinge is configured to enable pivoting movement of the closure; a latching mechanism movable between a latched position, in which the latching mechanism retains the closure in the closed position, and a release position in which the closure is free to move to the open position (as in re claim 1 above); and a handle configured to selectively lock the latching mechanism and thereby prevent the latching mechanism from moving to the release position (as in re claim 1 above).
In re claim 9, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the closure includes a domed portion, a shoulder, wherein the handle encircles the domed portion, and a skirt extending below the domed portion (as in re claim 2 above).
In re claim 10, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the closure includes a domed portion, a shoulder, wherein the handle rests on the shoulder, and a skirt extending below the domed portion (as in re claim 3 above).
In re claim 11, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein an outer portion of the skirt protrudes outwardly (as in re claim 4 above).
In re claim 12, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the handle has an inner surface flush with an outer surface of the domed portion in the closed position (as in re claim 5 above).
In re claim 13, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein a push button configured to move the latching mechanism into the release position (as in re claim 7 above), wherein the push button is disposed on the hinge side of [the] lid assembly (button and hinge on “hinge side” as delineated by dotted line as annotated in Fig. 11b above).
In re claim 15, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. discloses A lid assembly for use with a drinking container, the drinking container having an internal space configured to hold a base liquid and a drinking container opening, the lid assembly comprising: a lid base configured to attach to the drinking container (as in re claim 1 above), the lid base including a lid base wall and an inner annular wall extending outwardly from lid base wall and forming a lid base opening, the inner annular wall having a lid base opening edge (see Fig. 3A above); a cartridge chamber (16) extending inwardly from the lid base opening and defining an additive cartridge receiving space, wherein the inner annular wall is configured to support a portion of the cartridge chamber resting on the lid base opening edge; a closure coupled to the lid base and configured to move from a closed position in which the closure covers the additive cartridge receiving space, and an open position in which the additive cartridge receiving space is not covered (as in re claim 1 above), wherein the closure is configured to accommodate a drinking spout assembly connected to the cartridge chamber and protruding above the lid base opening when the closure is in the closed position (see intended use recitation as in re claim 1 above); a latching mechanism movable between a latched position, in which the latching mechanism retains the closure in the closed position, and a release position in which the closure is free to move to the open position; and a handle configured to selectively lock the latching mechanism and thereby prevent the latching mechanism from moving to the release position (as in re claim 1 above).
In re claim 17, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the closure includes a domed portion, a shoulder, wherein the handle wraps around domed portion and rests on the shoulder , and a skirt extending below the domed portion (as in re claims 2 and 3 above).
In re claim 18, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein an outer portion of the skirt protrudes outwardly (as in re claim 4 above).
In re claim 19, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the handle has an inner surface flush with an outer surface of the domed portion in the closed position (as in re claim 5 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 14, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faerber et al. as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of US PG Pub No. 2014/0230659 (Waggoner et al. hereinafter).
In re claim 6, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. fails to disclose a chamber-straw connector formed by an elongate body comprising: a longitudinal axis, a chamber-straw connector passage extending along the longitudinal axis, a chamber connection portion, and a straw connection portion opposite the chamber connection portion, wherein, when assembled, the chamber connection portion is disposed within the cartridge chamber and the straw connection portion is disposed outside the cartridge chamber; and a straw configured to be received within the chamber-straw connector passage such that a fluid pathway extends continuously through the straw and the cartridge chamber.
However, with reference to Figs. 1 and 5, Waggoner et al. discloses a lid assembly (120/140) for use with a fluid container (10), wherein the lid assembly includes a lid base (141) having a lid base opening (at 142), a cartridge chamber element (127/150) extending from the lid base opening and defining an additive cartridge receiving space (128/158), an upper portion of an additive cartridge (200) accommodated in the opening, including a chamber-straw connector (174) formed by an elongate body comprising: a longitudinal axis, a chamber-straw connector passage extending along the longitudinal axis, a chamber connection portion, and a straw connection portion opposite the chamber connection portion, wherein, when assembled, the chamber connection portion is disposed around the cartridge chamber and the straw connection portion is disposed outside the cartridge chamber (see Fig. 5 below); and a straw (155/172) configured to be received within the chamber-straw connector passage such that a fluid pathway extends continuously through the straw and the cartridge chamber (See Fig. 5 below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lid Base Opening Equivalent)][AltContent: textbox (Chamber Straw Connector Passage)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Chamber Straw Connector)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Straw Connector Portion)][AltContent: textbox (Chamber Connection Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided an additive cartridge within the opening of Faerber et al., the additive cartridge extending from the lid base in the lid base opening, and including straw connections as taught by Waggoner et al. for the purposes of delivering additives (flavor concentrate, see Waggoner et al. Abstract) to a base liquid of a container by housing the additive container within the lid base opening, thereby flavoring base liquids during delivery through a spout to a user.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have formed the chamber connection portion as disposed within the cartridge chamber as claimed, rather than outside of cartridge chamber as taught by Faerber et al. in view of Waggoner et al., since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 0053, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 14, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. in view of Waggoner et al. discloses the claimed invention including wherein the lid base includes a lid base wall perpendicular to the enclosing wall (see Fig. 3A above), but not wherein accommodating the upper portion of the additive cartridge when the closure is in the closed position includes accommodating a cartridge base extending outwardly from the lid base opening, a flavor adjuster extending outwardly from the lid base, and a drinking spout assembly extending outwardly from the flavor adjustor.
However, Waggoner et al. does disclose an upper portion of the additive cartridge extending above the lid base wall (See Fig. 5 above), and the closure of combined Faerber et al. and Waggoner et al. accommodate a cartridge base (200), a flavor adjuster (50B), and a drinking spout assembly (44) within the closed closure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined Faerber et al. in view of Waggoner et al. such that the closure encloses the working parts of the chamber and spout for the predictable benefits of ensuring the sanitary condition of the components and preventing spillage.
In re claim 16, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. in view of Waggoner et al. disclose accommodating the upper portion of the additive cartridge when the closure is in the closed position includes accommodating a cartridge base extending outwardly from the lid base opening, a flavor adjuster extending outwardly from the cartridge base, and a drinking spout assembly extending outwardly from the flavor adjustor (as in re claim 14 above).
In re claim 20, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Faerber et al. in view of Waggoner et al. disclose a chamber-straw connector formed by an elongate body comprising: a longitudinal axis, a chamber-straw connector passage extending along the longitudinal axis, a chamber connection portion, and a straw connection portion opposite the chamber connection portion, wherein, when assembled, the chamber connection portion is disposed within the cartridge chamber and the straw connection portion is disposed outside the cartridge chamber; and a straw configured to be received within the chamber-straw connector passage such that a fluid pathway extends continuously through the straw and the cartridge chamber (as in re claim 6 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 10 and 11 of the Remarks that Faerber’s lid opening cannot accommodate the additive cartridge extending outwardly from the opening. However, see above wherein the lid base opening is interpreted as the opening in the lid base, and not the spout, such that there would exist a distance between the lid base opening and the cover within which a cartridge/cartridge elements (while not positively recited in claims 1 and 8 as being part of the lid assembly) could conceivably be held.
Applicant argues on page 11 of the remarks regarding claim 8, but appears to refer to the amendments of claim 1. Regardless, see the current characterization of the cartridge chamber (i.e. a chamber which could conceivably receive an unclaimed cartridge) which meets the amended claim language.
Applicant argues on pages 12-14 of the Remarks that it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified a portion of the chamber-straw connector to be within the cartridge chamber as doing so would interfere with the metered delivery of additive to a base liquid by the venturi effect attributed to metering ports 157. However, as shown in Fig. 6 detail below, no such interference would occur, since reversing the connection of the chamber connection portion of the chamber straw connector to instead be within portion 155 of the cartridge/chamber element 127/150 would require only configuring the chamber connection portion to thread into the element 155 instead of the element 155 threading into the chamber connection portion, which would only effect the structure through the height of the chamber connection portion, and would not be expected to interfere in any manner with the metering ports at 157 which are located upstream and clear of the modification area.
[AltContent: textbox (Obvious to reverse parts such that chamber connection portion is instead externally threaded and located within portion 155 which would be internally threaded)][AltContent: arrow]
No further arguments are presented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733