DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. The present application is a continuation of application 18605389.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
2. Regarding the prior art rejection, the Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. The Applicant states that the prior art, 3GPP (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #94 R2-163371 in view of Tirronen (US 20180255585 A1) and in further view of Deenoo (US 20190182884 A1), does not teach the independent claims. Specifically, the Applicant argues that the Examiner’s interpretation of the limitation “selecting a preamble” is overly broad, and that the prior art does not teach 1) “selecting a preamble… based on information related to a signal… including… PSS… and SSS”, and 2) “determining a timing for transmitting the preamble based on a configuration index”.
Regarding 1), 3GPP discloses a preamble for requesting SI (see section 2 and Fig. 2; the Examiner notes that sending a preamble necessarily involves selecting a preamble). Deenoo discloses using e.g. a PSS/SSS to set preamble timing. The Examiner understands the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitation “selecting a preamble” to be inclusive of all aspects of selecting the preamble (e.g. selecting the preamble timing), as a preamble transmitted at time t=0 is a different entity than a preamble transmitted at time t=1. The Applicant’s arguments are therefore unpersuasive. The Examiner also points out that the claim language requires preamble selection based on “information related to” a signal containing the the PSS and SSS, and notes that this is extremely broad—there are many pieces of information “related to” a signal containing the PSS and SSS that impact the preamble timing selection.
Regarding 2), it is ambiguous whether the sentence fragment “based on a configuration index” refers to the “determining a timing” or “transmitting the preamble”. The broadest reasonable interpretation of limitation 2) encompasses either meaning. As noted in the previous Office Action, 3GPP in view of Tirronen teaches transmitting the preamble based on a configuration index. The Examiner notes that transmitting a preamble necessarily includes determining a timing in which to transmit the preamble.
The Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1 - 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #94 R2-163371 in view of Tirronen (US 20180255585 A1) and in further view of Deenoo (US 20190182884 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP discloses subject matter relating to system information transmission. Specifically, 3GPP discloses a method performed by a terminal device (UE; see section 2), the method comprising:
selecting a preamble, for requesting a system information (connection setup incl. preamble for requesting SI; see section 2 and Fig. 2), based on a signal, the signal including a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS);
determining a timing for transmitting the preamble based on a configuration index (UE transmits RA Preamble; see Fig. 2; the Examiner notes that transmitting a preamble necessarily involves determining the timing to do so);
transmitting, to a network device, the preamble for requesting the system information based on the timing (UE transmits RA Preamble to network node; see Fig. 2; this is a request for on demand SI; see section 2.1); and
receiving the system information from the network device based on a timing, wherein the timing is determined based on a periodicity of the system information (SI response; see section 2.1 and Fig. 2; SI in general is broadcast periodically; see sections 5 and 6; the Examiner notes that all subsequent transmissions (and therefore transmission timings) are based on the reception of the SI e.g. the MIB and SIB1)
3GPP does not explicitly disclose that the determining step is done based on a PRACH configuration index, or the PSS/SSS.
Tirronen discloses subject matter relating to random access, including the transmission of the preamble request based on the PRACH configuration index
(PRACH resources are defined by parameters incl. PRACH Configuration Index; see paragraph [0116])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of 3GPP with Tirronen by specifying that the preamble is transmitted based on the PRACH configuration index. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to do so, as this is standard practice in LTE, and allows for streamlined processing of the RACH. Further, doing so would have been a use of a technique known in the art to improve a similar device, with predictable results, which has been determined by the Supreme Court to be obvious (see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
3GPP and Tirronen do not explicitly disclose the PSS/SSS limitation.
Deenoo discloses subject matter relating to network access. Specifically, Deenoo discloses:
based on a signal, the signal including a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) (WTRU uses a preamble timing based on signature comprising PSS and SSS; see paragraph [0082])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of 3GPP ‘371 and Tirronen with Deenoo by incorporating the PSS/SSS, and using them to select and transmit the preamble. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to do, as this is standard practice in cellular systems. Doing so would have been a use of a technique known in the art to improve a similar device, with predictable results, which has been determined by the Supreme Court to be obvious (see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
Regarding claims 2, 4, 6, and 8, 3GPP ‘371, Tirronen, and Deenoo teach the subject matter of the parent claim(s). 3GPP ‘371 further discloses:
wherein the preamble is transmitted in a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) (PRACH preamble; see Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP discloses a terminal device (UE; see section 2) comprising:
at least one memory (UE; see section 2; the Examiner understands UEs as comprising memory); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to (UE; see section 2; the Examiner understands UEs as comprising processors coupled to memory):
select a preamble, for requesting a system information (connection setup incl. preamble for requesting SI; see section 2 and Fig. 2), based on a signal, the signal including a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS);
determine a timing for transmitting the preamble based on a configuration index (UE transmits RA Preamble; see Fig. 2; the Examiner notes that transmitting a preamble necessarily involves determining the timing to do so);
transmit, to a network device, the preamble for requesting the system information based on the timing (UE transmits RA Preamble to network node; see Fig. 2; this is a request for on demand SI; see section 2.1) based on a configuration index; and
receive the system information from the network device based on a timing, wherein the timing is determined based on a periodicity of the system information (SI response; see section 2.1 and Fig. 2; SI in general is broadcast periodically; see sections 5 and 6; the Examiner notes that all subsequent transmissions (and therefore transmission timings) are based on the reception of the SI e.g. the MIB and SIB1)
3GPP does not explicitly disclose that the determining step is done based on a PRACH configuration index, or the PSS/SSS.
Tirronen discloses subject matter relating to random access, including the transmission of the preamble request based on the PRACH configuration index
(PRACH resources are defined by parameters incl. PRACH Configuration Index; see paragraph [0116])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of 3GPP with Tirronen by specifying that the preamble is transmitted based on the PRACH configuration index. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to do so, as this is standard practice in LTE, and allows for streamlined processing of the RACH. Further, doing so would have been a use of a technique known in the art to improve a similar device, with predictable results, which has been determined by the Supreme Court to be obvious (see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
3GPP and Tirronen do not explicitly disclose the PSS/SSS limitation.
Deenoo discloses subject matter relating to network access. Specifically, Deenoo discloses:
based on a signal, the signal including a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) (WTRU uses a preamble timing based on signature comprising PSS and SSS; see paragraph [0082]
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of 3GPP ‘371 and Tirronen with Deenoo by incorporating the PSS/SSS, and using them to select and transmit the preamble. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to do, as this is standard practice in cellular systems. Doing so would have been a use of a technique known in the art to improve a similar device, with predictable results, which has been determined by the Supreme Court to be obvious (see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute processing comprising (UE; see section 2; the Examiner understands UEs as comprising media storing programs):
selecting a preamble, for requesting a system information (connection setup incl. preamble for requesting SI; see section 2 and Fig. 2), based on a signal, the signal including a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS);
determining a timing for transmitting the preamble based on a configuration index (UE transmits RA Preamble; see Fig. 2; the Examiner notes that transmitting a preamble necessarily involves determining the timing to do so);
transmitting, to a network device, the preamble for requesting the system information based on the timing (UE transmits RA Preamble to network node; see Fig. 2; this is a request for on demand SI; see section 2.1); and
receiving the system information from the network device based on a timing, wherein the timing is determined based on a periodicity of the system information (SI response; see section 2.1 and Fig. 2; SI in general is broadcast periodically; see sections 5 and 6; the Examiner notes that all subsequent transmissions (and therefore transmission timings) are based on the reception of the SI e.g. the MIB and SIB1)
3GPP does not explicitly disclose that the determining step is done based on a PRACH configuration index, or the PSS/SSS.
Tirronen discloses subject matter relating to random access, including the transmission of the preamble request based on the PRACH configuration index
(PRACH resources are defined by parameters incl. PRACH Configuration Index; see paragraph [0116])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of 3GPP with Tirronen by specifying that the preamble is transmitted based on the PRACH configuration index. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to do so, as this is standard practice in LTE, and allows for streamlined processing of the RACH. Further, doing so would have been a use of a technique known in the art to improve a similar device, with predictable results, which has been determined by the Supreme Court to be obvious (see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
3GPP and Tirronen do not explicitly disclose the PSS/SSS limitation.
Deenoo discloses subject matter relating to network access. Specifically, Deenoo discloses:
based on a signal, the signal including a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) (WTRU uses a preamble timing based on signature comprising PSS and SSS; see paragraph [0082]
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of 3GPP ‘371 and Tirronen with Deenoo by incorporating the PSS/SSS, and using them to select and transmit the preamble. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to do, as this is standard practice in cellular systems. Doing so would have been a use of a technique known in the art to improve a similar device, with predictable results, which has been determined by the Supreme Court to be obvious (see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
Regarding claim 7, 3GPP discloses a method performed by a network device (NB; see Fig. 2), the method comprising:
receiving, from a terminal device, a preamble transmitted at a time determined (preamble for requesting SI sent to NB; see section 2 and Fig. 2; the Examiner notes that the transmission time is necessarily determined), based on a configuration index, the preamble for requesting a system information being based on a signal, the signal including a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS); and
transmitting the system information to the terminal device based on a timing, wherein the timing is determined based on a periodicity of the system information (SI response; see section 2.1 and Fig. 2; SI in general is broadcast periodically; see sections 5 and 6; the Examiner notes that all subsequent transmissions (and therefore transmission timings) are based on the reception of the SI e.g. the MIB and SIB1)
3GPP does not explicitly disclose that the transmission of the preamble is based on a PRACH configuration index, or the PSS/SSS.
Tirronen discloses subject matter relating to random access, including the transmission of the request based on the PRACH configuration index
(PRACH resources are defined by parameters incl. PRACH Configuration Index; see paragraph [0116])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of 3GPP with Tirronen by specifying that the preamble is transmitted based on the PRACH configuration index. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to do so, as this is standard practice in LTE, and allows for streamlined processing of the RACH. Further, doing so would have been a use of a technique known in the art to improve a similar device, with predictable results, which has been determined by the Supreme Court to be obvious (see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
3GPP and Tirronen do not explicitly disclose the PSS/SSS limitation.
Deenoo discloses subject matter relating to network access. Specifically, Deenoo discloses:
based on a signal, the signal including a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) (WTRU uses a preamble timing based on signature comprising PSS and SSS; see paragraph [0082]
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of 3GPP ‘371 and Tirronen with Deenoo by incorporating the PSS/SSS, and using them to select and transmit the preamble. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to do, as this is standard practice in cellular systems. Doing so would have been a use of a technique known in the art to improve a similar device, with predictable results, which has been determined by the Supreme Court to be obvious (see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464