DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/11/2025 was filed on or after the mailing date of the application.
The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed on 09/28/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Further, Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because
The use of “may include” is not concise and is improper. Please amend the abstract to remove the recitation of “may include,” for clarity.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 2-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 2-11 the claim recites “… at least one processor.” at least one processor is introduced in claim 1. Please amend the claims to recite - - the at least one processor - - for clarity.
Regarding claim 11 the claim recites “… is configured to determine the refrigerant amount to determine whether the refrigerant amount is normal.” The claim should be amended to recite - - is configured to determine whether the refrigerant amount is normal - - for clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US20090211281A1) and Takeichi et al. (US20170276413A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chang teaches an air conditioner [100], comprising:
at least one indoor unit [IU] comprising an indoor temperature sensor [176] configured to detect an indoor temperature [0028 “measure the temperature of the indoor spaces”];
an outdoor unit [OU] comprising a compressor [110] configured to compress a refrigerant [0026 “compresses an introduced low temperature low pressure refrigerant”], an outdoor heat exchanger [140], and an outdoor temperature sensor [177] configured to detect an outdoor temperature [0029 “measure the temperature of an outdoor space”];
at least one expansion valve [131, 132 & 182] configured to adjust a flow rate of the refrigerant [0029 “throttles the refrigerant”]; and
at least one processor [0024 “controller (not shown)”], comprising processing circuitry [0034 “input device (not shown)” someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would recognize that processing circuitry would be required], collectively [0034 “user requests performing of the refrigerant amount determining mode”], configured to determine whether the refrigerant amount is normal based on [0044 “determining whether or not the amount of refrigerant charged the air-conditioner is excessive, normal, and insufficient by using the fuzzy rule and the member ship functions with respect to the second operation variables”] the outdoor temperature, the indoor temperature [0041-0043 “an indoor temperature, an outdoor temperature”], and an opening/closing rate of the at least one expansion valve [0041-0042 “reduce the opening degree” & “increasing an opening degree”].
Chang does not explicitly teach an outdoor heat exchanger configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant and outdoor air.
However, teaches an outdoor heat exchanger [203 corresponding to 140 of Chang] configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant and outdoor air [0070 “perform the heat exchange between the high temperature compressed gas and the low temperature outdoor air”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chang to have an outdoor heat exchanger configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant and outdoor air in view of the teachings of Takeichi where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an air conditioner where an outdoor heat exchanger is configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant and outdoor air which allows the system efficiency of the heating operation and the cooling operation to be the highest [Takeichi; 0178].
Regarding Claim 2, modified Chang teaches the air conditioner of claim 1 and Takeichi teaches wherein the outdoor unit [10] further comprises an outdoor heat exchanger outlet temperature sensor [208] configured to detect an outlet temperature of the outdoor heat exchanger [0079 “detect a refrigerant temperature outlet temperature”], and at least one processor [411 corresponding to the controller of Chang; Fig. 2 showing other processors], individually and/or collectively [at least fig. 2], is configured to determine whether the refrigerant amount is normal [0107 “ calculate an average value of the read refrigerant amount ratio (RA) and output the calculated average value of the refrigerant amount ratio (RA)”] based on the outlet temperature of the outdoor heat exchanger [0079 “208 may detect a refrigerant temperature (outlet temperature; Tcond (a first refrigerant temperature) in the outlet of the condenser 203”; see also 0097-0108 “detect the amount of refrigerant with high accuracy, regardless of the refrigerant state at the outlet of the condenser 203”].
Regarding Claim 6, modified Chang teaches the air conditioner of claim 1 Chang teaches wherein at least one processor [controller (not shown)], collectively [0034 “user requests performing of the refrigerant amount determining mode”], is configured to determine that the refrigerant amount is not identifiable [0044 “unknown”] based on an operating frequency of the compressor being less than or equal to a specified reference value [given 0038-0044 someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have would recognize that the controller would determine the refrigerant amount is not identifiable based on the operating frequency of the compressor being less than or equal to a specified reference].
Regarding Claim 7, modified Chang teaches the air conditioner of claim 1 and Takeichi teaches further comprising:
a low pressure sensor [211] configured to measure a pressure [0082 “detect a pressure”] of the refrigerant [0076 “refrigerant”] flowing in a flow path connected to an inlet of the compressor [0082 “ low pressure side of the compressor” see also 0076]; and
a high pressure sensor [210] configured to measure a pressure [0081 “detect a pressure”] of the refrigerant t[0076 “refrigerant”] flowing in a flow path connected to an outlet of the compressor [0081” high pressure side of the compressor” see also 0076].
Regarding Claim 8, modified Chang teaches the air conditioner of claim 7 and Takeichi teaches wherein at least one processor [411; Fig. 2 showing other processors], individually and/or collectively [at least fig. 2], is configured to determine whether the refrigerant amount is normal based [0107 “ calculate an average value of the read refrigerant amount ratio (RA) and output the calculated average value of the refrigerant amount ratio (RA)”] on an output value of the low pressure sensor, an output value of the high pressure sensor [0105-0106 “by using the discharge pressure (Pd) indicated by the discharge pressure signal, the suction pressure (Ps) indicated by the suction pressure signal”], and the opening/closing rate of the at least one expansion valve [0111 “fix the opening degree”].
Regarding Claim 9, modified Chang teaches the air conditioner of claim 1 and Chang teaches further comprising:
at least one indoor heat exchanger [120] configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant and indoor air [0028; see also 0032 where together someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that heat is exchanged between the refrigerant and indoor air];
an evaporation temperature sensor [172] configured to detect an evaporation temperature [0028 “indoor outlet pipe temperature sensors”] of the at least one indoor heat exchanger [0028 “indoor heat exchangers”]; and
a condensation temperature sensor [Takeichi; 208] configured to detect a condensation temperature of the outdoor heat exchanger [Takeichi; 0079 “detect a refrigerant temperature (outlet temperature; Tcond (a first refrigerant temperature)) in the outlet of the condenser”].
Regarding Claim 10, modified Chang teaches the air conditioner of claim 9 and Chang teaches wherein at least one processor [controller (not shown)], collectively [0034 “user requests performing of the refrigerant amount determining mode”], is configured to determine whether the refrigerant amount is normal based [0044 ”proper”] on the evaporation temperature [0041 “evaporation temperature”], the condensation temperature [0041 “condensation temperature”] and the opening/closing rate of the at least one expansion valve [0042 “opening degree of the supercooling expansion valve”].
Regarding Claim 11, modified Chang teaches the air conditioner of claim 1 and Chang teaches wherein at least one processor [0024 “controller (not shown)”], collectively [0034 “user requests performing of the refrigerant amount determining mode”], is configured to determine whether the refrigerant amount [0043 “refrigerant is determined”] is normal [0043 “normal”], and determine that the refrigerant amount is insufficient [0043” insufficient”] based on the refrigerant amount being below a specified reference range [0043 “when the operation variables `A` and `B` are insufficient, the amount of charged refrigerant is determined to be insufficient, only when the operation variables `A` and `B` are normal, the amount of charged refrigerant is determined to be normal”].
Regarding Claim 12, Chang teaches A method [006] for controlling an air conditioner [100] comprising a compressor [110] configured to compress a refrigerant [0026 “compresses an introduced low temperature low pressure refrigerant”],
an outdoor heat exchanger [140],
at least one expansion valve [131, 132 & 182] configured to adjust a flow rate of the refrigerant [0029 “throttles the refrigerant”], and
at least one indoor heat exchanger [120] configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant and indoor air [0032-0033 where it is clear that heat is exchanged between the refrigerant and indoor air], the method comprising:
detecting an outdoor temperature [0029 “measure the temperature of an outdoor space”];
detecting an indoor temperature [0028 “measure the temperature of the indoor spaces”]; and
determining whether the refrigerant amount is normal [0044 “determining whether or not the amount of refrigerant charged the air-conditioner is excessive, normal, and insufficient by using the fuzzy rule and the member ship functions with respect to the second operation variables”] based on the outdoor temperature, the indoor temperature [0041-0042 “an indoor temperature, an outdoor temperature”], and an opening/closing rate of the at least one expansion valve [0041-0042 “reduce the opening degree” & “increasing an opening degree”].
Chang does not explicitly teach an outdoor heat exchanger configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant and outdoor air.
However, teaches an outdoor heat exchanger [203 corresponding to 140 of Chang] configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant and outdoor air [0070 “perform the heat exchange between the high temperature compressed gas and the low temperature outdoor air”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Chang to have an outdoor heat exchanger configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant and outdoor air in view of the teachings of Takeichi where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an air conditioner where an outdoor heat exchanger is configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant and outdoor air which allows the system efficiency of the heating operation and the cooling operation to be the highest [Takeichi; 0178].
Regarding Claim 13, modified Chang teaches the method of claim 12 and Takeichi teaches further comprising:
detecting an outlet temperature [208] of the outdoor heat exchanger [203]; and
determining whether the refrigerant amount is normal [0107 “ calculate an average value of the read refrigerant amount ratio (RA) and output the calculated average value of the refrigerant amount ratio (RA)”] based on the outlet temperature of the outdoor heat exchanger [0079 “208 may detect a refrigerant temperature (outlet temperature; Tcond (a first refrigerant temperature)) in the outlet of the condenser 203”; see also 0097-0108 “detect the amount of refrigerant with high accuracy, regardless of the refrigerant state at the outlet of the condenser 203”].
Claim(s) 3-4 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. and Takeichi et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (KR102160283B1).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Chang teaches the air conditioner of claim 1 and Chang teaches further comprising:
at least one indoor heat exchanger [120] configured to exchange heat between the refrigerant and indoor air [0028; see also 0032 where together someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that heat is exchanged between the refrigerant and indoor air], wherein at least one processor [Takeichi; 411; Fig. 2 showing other processors], individually and/or collectively [Takeichi; at least fig. 2].
Modified chang does not explicitly teach wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to determine whether the refrigerant amount is normal based on an average superheat of the at least one indoor heat exchanger.
However, Choi teaches wherein at least one processor [controller (not shown) corresponding to 411 of Takeichi], individually and/or collectively [0061-0062 control unit], is configured to determine whether the refrigerant amount is normal [0119, “determined that the amount of refrigerant circulating the heat pump system is insufficient” see also 0134, “determined that the amount of refrigerant circulating the heat pump system is excessive” further see 0127, someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that a normal amount of refrigerant is determined] based on an average superheat [0145 “preset optimal superheat range”] of the at least one indoor heat exchanger [0062-0063; clearly describing conditions of 20 corresponding to 120 of Chang].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Chang teaching with Choi by combining wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to determine whether the refrigerant amount is normal based on an average superheat of the at least one indoor heat exchanger where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an air conditioner where at least one processor determines whether the refrigerant amount is normal based on an average superheat of the at least one indoor heat exchanger which reduces risk of damage and performance deterioration [Choi; 0002].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Chang teaches the air conditioner of claim 3 and Choi teaches wherein at least one processor [controller (not shown) corresponding to 411 of Takeichi], individually and/or collectively [0061-0062 control unit], is configured to determine that the refrigerant amount is insufficient [0078 “insufficient”] based on the average superheat [0077 “approximately 6K”] of the at least one indoor heat exchanger [20] being greater than or equal to a specified value [0077-0078 “6K”].
Regarding Claim 14, modified Chang teaches the method of claim 12.
Modified Chang does not explicitly teach configured to determine whether the refrigerant amount is normal based on an average superheat of the at least one indoor heat exchanger.
However, Choi teaches is configured to determine whether the refrigerant amount is normal [0119, “determined that the amount of refrigerant circulating the heat pump system is insufficient” see also 0134, “determined that the amount of refrigerant circulating the heat pump system is excessive” further see 0127, someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that a normal amount of refrigerant is determined] based on an average superheat [0145 “preset optimal superheat range”] of the at least one indoor heat exchanger [0062-0063; clearly describing conditions of 20 corresponding to 120 of Chang].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of the modified Chang teaching with Choi by combining is configured to determine whether the refrigerant amount is normal based on an average superheat of the at least one indoor heat exchanger where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an air conditioner where the refrigerant amount is normal based on an average superheat of the at least one indoor heat exchanger which reduces risk of damage and performance deterioration [Choi; 0002].
Regarding Claim 15, modified Chang teaches the method of claim 14 and Choi teaches further comprising:
determining that the refrigerant amount is insufficient [0078 “insufficient”] based on the average superheat [0077 “approximately 6K”] of the at least one indoor heat exchanger [20] being greater than or equal to a specified value [0077-0078 “6K”].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. and Takeichi et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kojima (JP2010203673A).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Chang teaches the air conditioner of claim 3 and Takeichi teaches wherein at least one processor [411; Fig. 2 showing other processors], individually and/or collectively [at least fig. 2].
Modified Chang does not explicitly teach at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to determine whether the refrigerant amount is normal based on an operating frequency of the compressor being greater than or equal to a specified reference value and the average superheat being less than or equal to a specified value.
However, Kojima teaches at least one processor [40], individually [0046 “controller (40) derives”], is configured to determine whether the refrigerant amount is normal [0058 “the refrigerant circulation amount in the refrigerant circuit (10) is judged”] based on an operating frequency of the compressor [0063 “reduce the compressor's capacity (operating speed) to lower the discharge pressure”] being greater than or equal to a specified reference value [0022 “the suction pressure of the compressor (11) exceeds a predetermined value, it is determined that the amount of refrigerant circulating in the refrigerant circuit (10) has recovered” with the understanding of paragraph 0063 someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that pressure and compressor frequency are related therefore the frequency is greater than or equal to a specified value] and the average superheat being less than or equal to a specified value [0020 “the suction superheat or discharge superheat of the compressor (11) falls below a predetermined value, it is determined that the refrigerant circulation amount of the refrigerant circuit (10) has recovered(increased to or above a predetermined value)”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Chang teaching with Kojima by combining at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to determine whether the refrigerant amount is normal based on an operating frequency of the compressor being greater than or equal to a specified reference value and the average superheat being less than or equal to a specified value where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures an air conditioner with at least one processor which is configured to determine whether the refrigerant amount is normal based on an operating frequency of the compressor being greater than or equal to a specified reference value and the average superheat being less than or equal to a specified value which shortens the time required for defrosting operation [Kojima; 0005].
Conclusion
/ADAM DORREL MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763