DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/11/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakagawa et al. (US 2020/0108616).
Regarding claim 1, Nakagawa et al teaches a liquid ejection apparatus (figs.1-3) comprising:
a liquid ejection unit (8 figs.1-3) configured to eject liquid;
a liquid amount detection unit (202 in fig.2 counts waste ink amount; S101 fig.13) configured to detect, in a waste liquid container (20 figs.1,3) configured to contain liquid ejected by the liquid ejection unit as waste liquid, that a contained amount of waste liquid contained in the waste liquid container reaches a threshold (paragraphs 0087, 0091,0098,0106,0111); and
a control unit (controlling elements in 100,200,300 fig.2), the control unit being configured to execute:
calculation processing of calculating an evaporation amount of waste liquid when waste liquid contained in the waste liquid container evaporates from the waste liquid container provided with an atmosphere opening hole (figs.10-13,14,15; paragraphs 0086,0087,0094-0102,0105,0112); and
estimation processing of estimating a contained amount of waste liquid contained in the waste liquid container, based on an additional amount of waste liquid when liquid ejected by the liquid ejection unit is added to the waste liquid container as waste liquid and a calculation result in the calculation processing (figs.13,16-19; paragraphs 0098-0100,0102,0106-0108,0111,0112,0121,0123).
Regarding claim 2, Nakagawa et al further teaches wherein the control unit executes notification processing of causing a notification unit to issue a notification related to a contained amount of waste liquid contained in the waste liquid container, based on an estimation result in the estimation processing (fig.16; paragraphs 0105,0106).
Regarding claim 7, Nakagawa et al further teaches wherein the control unit executes the notification processing of causing the notification unit to issue an error notification related to waste liquid contained in the waste liquid container (20 figs.1,3), based on a detection result by the liquid amount detection unit and an estimation result in the estimation processing (fig.16; paragraphs 0105,0106).
Regarding claim 8, Nakagawa et al further teaches wherein the waste liquid container (20 figs.1,3) is replaceable (paragraphs 0035,0092,0106).
Regarding claim 9, Nakagawa et al further teaches comprising the waste liquid container (20 figs.1,3) configured to contain liquid ejected by the liquid ejection unit (8) as waste liquid, wherein
the waste liquid container (20) includes the atmosphere opening hole configured to evaporate waste liquid contained in the waste liquid container therethrough (evaporation opening including 21 figs.10,11; paragraphs 0086).
Regarding claim 10, Nakagawa et al further teaches a control method for a liquid ejection apparatus (figs.1-3) configured to perform control related to a contained amount of waste liquid that is liquid ejected by a liquid ejection unit (8 figs.1-3) and contained in a waste liquid container (20 figs.1-3) as waste liquid, the control method comprising executing:
determination processing of determining that a contained amount of waste liquid contained in the waste liquid container (20 figs.1-3) reaches a threshold, based on a detection result by a liquid amount detection unit (202 in fig.2; S101 fig.13; paragraphs 0087, 0091,0098,0106,0111);
calculation processing of calculating an evaporation amount of waste liquid when waste liquid contained in the waste liquid container evaporates from the waste liquid container provided with an atmosphere opening hole (figs.10-13,14,15; paragraphs 0086,0087,0094-0102,0105,0112); and
estimation processing of estimating a contained amount of waste liquid contained in the waste liquid container, based on an additional amount of waste liquid when liquid ejected by the liquid ejection unit is added to the waste liquid container as waste liquid and a calculation result in the calculation processing (figs.13,16-19; paragraphs 0098-0100,0102,0106-0108,0111,0112,0121,0123).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HENOK D LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853