Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,572. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader than the parent patent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,6,9,14,17,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ossim (US 11,386,683) in view of Asam (US 2012/0116883).
Regarding claim 1, 9, 17, Ossim discloses a computer implemented method comprising:
Determining, based on a set of frames of video content, a mean image (fig. 6, col. 7 lines 5-37);
Extracting, from the determined mean image, a reference template of static content (fig. 6, col. 7 lines 5-37 A composite image is formed from a sequence of frames. Static content such as a logo is identified in the composite image);
Ossim does not specifically disclose identifying in a frame of the set of frames of the video content, the extracted reference template of static content is present in the frame; labeling a segment of the set of frames as a program segment or an advertisement segment based on the presence of the extracted reference template of static content in the frame; and generating data identifying the labeled segment.
However, Asam discloses identifying in a frame of the set of frames of the video content, the extracted reference template of static content is present in the frame; labeling a segment of the set of frames as a program segment or an advertisement segment based on the presence of the extracted reference template of static content in the frame; and generating data identifying the labeled segment ([0069-0070] The detection of a logo indicates main program content, while detecting that a logo is no longer present indicates an advertisement. The logo represents the “reference template of static content” Information regarding the advertisement content is used to determine which to maintain and replace). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the logo detection of Asam into the system of Ossim in order to easily detect segment types in video content.
Regarding claim 6, 14, 20, Asam discloses labeling the frame of the video content as program content rather than advertisement content based on the identified presence of the extracted reference template of static content in the frame of the video content ([0069-0070]).
Claim(s) 2,3,10,11,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ossim (US 11,386,683) in view of Asam (US 2012/0116883) in view of Ma (US 2017/0236003).
Regarding claim 2, 10, 18, Ossim in view of Asam does not specifically disclose generating a binary image from the image; and using the binary image as the reference template of static content.
However, Ma discloses generating a binary image from the image; and using the binary image as the reference template of static content ([0060, 0065, 0084]). It would have been obvious before the filing date the invention to incorporate the binary image of Ma into the system of Ossim in view of Asam in order to generate a simple reference image to perform identification with.
Regarding claim 3, 11, Ma discloses generating a binary image from the mean image;
Applying one or more morphological operations to the binary image so as to identify a residual component of the binary image; and extracting a reference template of static content based on the residual component ([0060, 0065, 0084]).
Claim(s) 4,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ossim (US 11,386,683) in view of Asam (US 2012/0116883) in view of Ma (US 2017/0236003) in view of Tsai (US 2021/0319592).
Regarding claim 4, 12, Ossim in view of Asam in view of Ma does not specifically disclose determining a bounding box of the residual component; and extracting a reference template of static content from a sub-region of the binary image corresponding to the bounding box.
However, Tsai discloses determining a bounding box of the residual component; and extracting a reference template of static content from a sub-region of the binary image corresponding to the bounding box ([0043-0046]. It would have been obvious before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the bounding box of Tsai into the system of Ossim in view of Asam in view of Ma in order to select a specific region of the frame to perform identification and matching.
Claim(s) 5,13,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ossim (US 11,386,683) in view of Asam (US 2012/0116883) in view of Lo (US 2019/0205433).
Regarding claim 5, 13, 19, Ossim in view of Asam does not specifically disclose matching the extracted reference template of static content against the frame of the video content so as to determine a match score; and identifying presence of the extracted reference template of static content based on the match score.
Lo discloses matching the extracted reference template of static content against the frame of the video content so as to determine a match score; and identifying presence of the extracted reference template of static content based on the match score ([0062-0063]). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the threshold score of Lo into the system of Ossim in view of Asam in order to determine a threshold for matching frames with reference content.
Claim(s) 8,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ossim (US 11,386,683) in view of Asam (US 2012/0116883) in view of Pacella (US 2017/0193548).
Regarding claim 8, 16, Osim in view of Asam does not specifically disclose wherein output data identifying the labeled segment is useable to facilitate taking an action, wherein the action comprises dynamic ad insertion.
However, Pacella discloses wherein output data identifying the labeled segment is useable to facilitake taking an action, wherein the action comprises dynamic ad insertion ([0041]). It would have been obvious before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the dynamic ad insertion of Pacella into the system of Osim in view of Asam in order to provide a functionality after identifying an ad segment.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL H HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426