DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim 10 has been cancelled.
Claims 20-21 have been newly added.
Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are currently pending and addressed below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeFevre (US 2018/0209451), hereinafter referred to as LeFevre, in view of Howell et al. (US 2016/0016576), hereinafter referred to as Howell. LeFevre and Howell are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of monitoring a hydraulic accumulator system for an aircraft.
The examiner notes that the applied reference by Howell has a common inventor and applicant with the instant application. This reference is considered prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention, and the exceptions under 35 U.S.C 102(b)(1) do not apply due to the publication date of the applied reference which is greater than one year prior to the effective filing date of the instant application.
Regarding claim 1, LeFevre teaches:
A computer-implemented method of estimating characteristics of a hydraulic accumulator of an aircraft ("The present disclosure relates to hydraulic accumulators, and more particularly to diagnosing leaks in hydraulic accumulators." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0003),
the method comprising: obtaining pressure information representative of a pressure of hydraulic fluid in the hydraulic accumulator at a plurality of times during a mission of the aircraft ("With continued reference to FIG. 2, a leak assessment module 114 is operatively connected to start valve status sensor 108, low-pressure switch 112, and temperature sensor 116 to determine whether a leak is present in hydraulic accumulator 102 based on the measured elapsed time, e.g. actual discharge duration, between opening start valve 106, which releases the hydraulic charge from hydraulic accumulator 102, and tripping of low-pressure switch 112, which senses when pressure in gas chamber 104 of hydraulic accumulator 102 has reached a pre-determined threshold, described in more detail below." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0020);
and estimating the characteristics based on the pressure information ("Method 200 includes determining accumulator health or gas chamber pressure, as indicated by box 213, by using the ambient temperature measurement and condition indicator value to select the appropriate accumulator health or gas chamber pressure value from another look-up table, which is generated by the physics-based accumulator model and correlates the value of the condition indicator to the pressure in gas chamber 104 as a function of measured ambient temperature. Method 200 includes generating an indication of at least one of accumulator health or gas chamber pressure and transmitting the indication of accumulator health and/or gas chamber pressure to other diagnostic and prognostic tools, as indicated by box 214, for the purpose of further analysis." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0022) (The examiner notes that the indication of accumulator health and gas chamber pressure at various ambient temperatures as taught by LeFevre corresponds to the claimed characteristics)
and a model comprising relationships between pressure and time for respective variants of the characteristics ("Leak assessment module 114 includes at least one of a look-up table and an equation. Each of the look-up table and equation is based on a physics-based accumulator model that correlates expected discharge duration to varied levels of pressure in gas chamber 104 for a variety of ambient temperatures to characterize the presence or absence of a leak in hydraulic accumulator 102." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0020).
LeFevre does not explicitly disclose, but Howell teaches:
when a threshold condition is satisfied, supplying pressurized hydraulic fluid to the hydraulic accumulator for recharging the hydraulic accumulator; wherein the threshold condition is based on one or more of the estimated characteristics of the hydraulic accumulator ("During cruise of the aircraft there is a natural leakage of hydraulic liquid from the accumulator 6 and other parts of the hydraulic system (such as the relief valve 12). The controller 40 automatically determines that the aircraft is in cruise when the airspeed is high and the aircraft landing gear is retracted. When the controller 40 determines that the aircraft is in cruise, it continuously monitors the pressure from sensor 11. When the monitored pressure drops below an acceptable threshold, then the controller 40 issues a refill command to a refill valve 35 which opens in response to the refill command to recharge the accumulator 6 with liquid." – see at least Howell: paragraph 0040).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LeFevre with these above aforementioned teachings from Howell to include, when a threshold condition is satisfied, supplying pressurized hydraulic fluid to the hydraulic accumulator for recharging the hydraulic accumulator; wherein the threshold condition is based on one or more of the estimated characteristics of the hydraulic accumulator. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Howell’s controller for issues a refill command with LeFevre’s system for diagnosing leaks in a hydraulic accumulator in order to enable charging of a hydraulic accumulator which has lost pressure due to leakage (“Opening the refill valve 35 causes the accumulator 6 to be charged by the pump 20.” – see at least Howell: paragraph 0041). Doing so would provide the benefit of charging the hydraulic accumulator back up to an acceptable pressure level after detecting that the pressure has fallen below an acceptable level (“When the pump 20 has charged the accumulator 6 to the required pressure, then the controller 40 commands the refill valve 35 to close.” – see at least Howell: paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 2, LeFevre in view of Howell teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. LeFevre further teaches:
wherein the characteristics comprise: at least one mass characteristic representative of a loss of mass of fluid in the hydraulic accumulator ("A method for diagnosing leaks in a hydraulic accumulator includes measuring the time required to discharge the hydraulic accumulator to determine an actual discharge duration. The method includes comparing the actual discharge duration to an expected discharge duration to generate a condition indicator. The condition indicator correlates to the presence or absence of a leak." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0006) (The examiner notes that the presence of a leak as taught by LeFevre corresponds to the claimed loss of mass of fluid in the hydraulic accumulator);
and at least one energy characteristic representative of a loss of energy in the hydraulic accumulator ("Accurate diagnostic indications minimize unnecessary maintenance efforts and costs due to misdiagnosis, for example, they reduce the probability of hydraulic accumulators being removed with “no fault found”. Moreover, false diagnoses of other aircraft system problems whose root cause could include a leaking hydraulic accumulator, e.g., gas path degradation of the Auxiliary Power Unit (APU) as a cause for slow APU starts, can be avoided by accurately diagnosing a leaky accumulator." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0018).
Regarding claim 3, LeFevre in view of Howell teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. LeFevre further teaches:
wherein the model is based on data comprising simulated and/or experimental values of pressure over time for the respective variants of the characteristics ("Method 200 includes generating a look-up table of expected discharge durations using a physics-based accumulator model that correlates expected discharge duration of a leak free accumulator at a variety of local ambient temperatures, as indicated by box 202. " – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0021).
Regarding claim 4, LeFevre in view of Howell teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. LeFevre further teaches:
comprising: obtaining temperature information representative of an external temperature external to the hydraulic accumulator at each of the plurality of times during the mission of the aircraft ("System 100 includes a temperature sensor 116 operatively connected to hydraulic accumulator 102. Those skilled in the art will readily appreciate that temperature sensor 116 can be in a variety of suitable locations with respect to hydraulic accumulator 102, as long as temperature sensor 116 is located in the proximity of hydraulic accumulator 102 to measure the ambient temperature to which hydraulic accumulator 102 is exposed." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0019);
and estimating the characteristics based on the pressure information, the temperature information, and the model ("Method 200 includes determining accumulator health or gas chamber pressure, as indicated by box 213, by using the ambient temperature measurement and condition indicator value to select the appropriate accumulator health or gas chamber pressure value from another look-up table, which is generated by the physics-based accumulator model and correlates the value of the condition indicator to the pressure in gas chamber 104 as a function of measured ambient temperature. Method 200 includes generating an indication of at least one of accumulator health or gas chamber pressure and transmitting the indication of accumulator health and/or gas chamber pressure to other diagnostic and prognostic tools, as indicated by box 214, for the purpose of further analysis." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0022),
wherein the model comprises relationships between pressure and time for respective variants of the characteristics and respective variants of the external temperature ("Leak assessment module 114 includes at least one of a look-up table and an equation. Each of the look-up table and equation is based on a physics-based accumulator model that correlates expected discharge duration to varied levels of pressure in gas chamber 104 for a variety of ambient temperatures to characterize the presence or absence of a leak in hydraulic accumulator 102." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0020).
Regarding claim 5, LeFevre in view of Howell teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. LeFevre further teaches:
comprising estimating a change in at least one of the characteristics during an upcoming portion of the mission of the aircraft ("A leak assessment module operatively connected to the start valve status sensor, the low-pressure switch and the temperature sensor to determine whether a leak is present in the hydraulic accumulator based on an assessment of a condition indicator corrected for the measured local ambient temperature and derived from elapsed time between opening of the start valve and tripping of the low-pressure switch." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0009) (The examiner notes that determining the presence of a leak as taught by LeFevre corresponds to estimating a change in at least one of the characteristics as claimed).
Regarding claim 6, LeFevre in view of Howell teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. LeFevre further teaches:
wherein the estimating the change in the at least one of the characteristics comprises estimating a change in energy stored in and/or mass of hydraulic fluid in the hydraulic accumulator during the upcoming portion of the mission of the aircraft ("A method for diagnosing leaks in a hydraulic accumulator includes measuring the time required to discharge the hydraulic accumulator to determine an actual discharge duration. The method includes comparing the actual discharge duration to an expected discharge duration to generate a condition indicator. The condition indicator correlates to the presence or absence of a leak." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0006) (The examiner notes that the presence of a leak as taught by LeFevre corresponds to the claimed change in mass of hydraulic fluid in the hydraulic accumulator).
Regarding claim 11, this claim is substantially similar to claim 1 and is, therefore, rejected in the same manner as claim 1 as has been set forth above.
Regarding claim 12, this claim is substantially similar to claim 1 and is, therefore, rejected in the same manner as claim 1 as has been set forth above.
Regarding claim 13, LeFevre in view of Howell teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. LeFevre further teaches:
a pressure sensor configured to detect the pressure information representative of the pressure of hydraulic fluid in the hydraulic accumulator ("With continued reference to FIG. 2, a leak assessment module 114 is operatively connected to start valve status sensor 108, low-pressure switch 112, and temperature sensor 116 to determine whether a leak is present in hydraulic accumulator 102 based on the measured elapsed time, e.g. actual discharge duration, between opening start valve 106, which releases the hydraulic charge from hydraulic accumulator 102, and tripping of low-pressure switch 112, which senses when pressure in gas chamber 104 of hydraulic accumulator 102 has reached a pre-determined threshold, described in more detail below." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0020) (The examiner notes that the low-pressure switch as taught by LeFevre corresponds to the claimed pressure sensor).
Regarding claim 14, this claim is substantially similar to claim 12 and is, therefore, rejected in the same manner as claim 12 as has been set forth above.
Regarding claim 15, this claim is substantially similar to claim 13 and is, therefore, rejected in the same manner as claim 13 as has been set forth above.
Regarding claim 16, this claim is substantially similar to claim 12 and is, therefore, rejected in the same manner as claim 12 as has been set forth above.
Regarding claim 17, this claim is substantially similar to claim 13 and is, therefore, rejected in the same manner as claim 13 as has been set forth above.
Regarding claim 18, this claim is substantially similar to claim 14 and is, therefore, rejected in the same manner as claim 14 as has been set forth above.
Regarding claim 19, this claim is substantially similar to claim 15 and is, therefore, rejected in the same manner as claim 15 as has been set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeFevre in view of Howell, further in view of Vianna (US 2010/0030496), hereinafter referred to as Vianna. Vianna is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of monitoring a hydraulic accumulator system for an aircraft.
Regarding claim 7, LeFevre in view of Howell teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. LeFevre does not explicitly disclose, but Vianna teaches:
comprising estimating a period of time until an energy, mass, and/or power able to be provided by the hydraulic accumulator meets or drops below a respective threshold energy, threshold mass and/or threshold power ("The angular coefficient represents the total mass decrease rate in time, in other words, leakage. The linear coefficient is combined with "angular coefficient" and a "mass alert threshold" 18. Mass alert threshold 18 can provide a low acceptable mass of hydraulic fluid that the system needs to operate properly with desirable acceptable safety margins. The result is the time that total mass will reach the threshold 18 defined, in other words, the "Remaining Useful Life". " – see at least Vianna: paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LeFevre with these above aforementioned teachings from Vianna to include estimating a period of time until an energy, mass, and/or power able to be provided by the hydraulic accumulator meets or drops below a respective threshold energy, threshold mass and/or threshold power. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Vianna’s method of calculating a remaining useful life based on a mass alert threshold with LeFevre’s system for diagnosing leaks in a hydraulic accumulator in order to implement an alert system based on the calculated remaining useful life (“An alert system can provide the exemplary illustrative presentation 19 shown in FIG. 5. The graphic contains three main regions: Alert, Caution and No Message. These intervals can be presented by boxes with the following colors: Red, Yellow and Green for Alert, Caution and No Message respectively. Another way of presenting results is by text messages reports. Another solution of alerting regions is by means of the "Remaining Useful Life" as shown in FIG. 6. As the RUL decreases, the displayed (bar) region goes from "No Messages" to "Caution" and "Alert".” – see at least Vianna: paragraph 0036). Doing so would provide the benefit of alerting an operator of an upcoming dangerous condition and the urgency of the dangerous condition (“The constants "c1", "c2", "c3", "c4" from FIG. 5 and "a1", "a2" from FIG. 6 are the Parameters that define the alerting intervals. These numbers and the "Mass Alert Threshold" may be defined by a user interface to the operator. For example, an "Alerting Sensitivity Level" available at the presentation provides the following user defined input options: "High", "Medium" and "Low".” – see at least Vianna: paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 8, LeFevre in view of Howell and Vianna teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. LeFevre does not explicitly disclose, but Vianna teaches:
comprising performing an action based on the estimated change in the at least one of the characteristics ("The result is the time that total mass will reach the threshold 18 defined, in other words, the "Remaining Useful Life". This information may be provided to operator station 19 for display or other visual, aural or tactile indication." – see at least Vianna: paragraph 0031),
wherein the action comprises any one or more of: causing provision of a status of the hydraulic accumulator to flight crew; causing provision of instructions to flight crew; and causing control of one or more systems of the aircraft ("An alert system can provide the exemplary illustrative presentation 19 shown in FIG. 5. The graphic contains three main regions: Alert, Caution and No Message. These intervals can be presented by boxes with the following colors: Red, Yellow and Green for Alert, Caution and No Message respectively. Another way of presenting results is by text messages reports. Another solution of alerting regions is by means of the "Remaining Useful Life" as shown in FIG. 6. As the RUL decreases, the displayed (bar) region goes from "No Messages" to "Caution" and "Alert"." – see at least Vianna: paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LeFevre with these above aforementioned teachings from Vianna to include performing an action based on the estimated change in the at least one of the characteristics, wherein the action comprises any one or more of: causing provision of a status of the hydraulic accumulator to flight crew; causing provision of instructions to flight crew; and causing control of one or more systems of the aircraft. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Vianna’s method of calculating a remaining useful life based on a mass alert threshold with LeFevre’s system for diagnosing leaks in a hydraulic accumulator in order to implement an alert system based on the calculated remaining useful life (“An alert system can provide the exemplary illustrative presentation 19 shown in FIG. 5. The graphic contains three main regions: Alert, Caution and No Message. These intervals can be presented by boxes with the following colors: Red, Yellow and Green for Alert, Caution and No Message respectively. Another way of presenting results is by text messages reports. Another solution of alerting regions is by means of the "Remaining Useful Life" as shown in FIG. 6. As the RUL decreases, the displayed (bar) region goes from "No Messages" to "Caution" and "Alert".” – see at least Vianna: paragraph 0036). Doing so would provide the benefit of alerting an operator of an upcoming dangerous condition and the urgency of the dangerous condition (“The constants "c1", "c2", "c3", "c4" from FIG. 5 and "a1", "a2" from FIG. 6 are the Parameters that define the alerting intervals. These numbers and the "Mass Alert Threshold" may be defined by a user interface to the operator. For example, an "Alerting Sensitivity Level" available at the presentation provides the following user defined input options: "High", "Medium" and "Low".” – see at least Vianna: paragraph 0037).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeFevre in view of Howell, further in view of Moravek et al. (US 2018/0144643), hereinafter referred to as Moravek. Moravek is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of determining conditions of aircraft systems.
Regarding claim 9, LeFevre in view of Howell teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. LeFevre does not explicitly disclose, but Moravek teaches:
comprising estimating a maximum flight duration of an upcoming mission of the aircraft ("For example, a minimum flight time duration may be determined by dividing the estimated duration of the flight plan by the maximum number of flight path segments, and a maximum flight time duration may be determined by dividing the estimated duration of the flight plan by the minimum number of flight path segments. In one or more exemplary embodiments, the processing system 108 utilizes the scaled flight plan to identify a portion of the flight plan defined by the minimum and maximum flight time durations for flight path segments from the initial flight path segment boundary." – see at least Moravek: paragraph 0128).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LeFevre with these above aforementioned teachings from Moravek to include estimating a maximum flight duration of an upcoming mission of the aircraft. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Moravek’s method of estimating a maximum flight duration of a flight path segment with LeFevre’s system for diagnosing leaks in a hydraulic accumulator in order to use flight plan information in combination with current aircraft status information to determine the viability of landing the aircraft at an airport (“In an exemplary embodiment, the en route diversion display diversion display process 400 begins by receiving or otherwise obtaining current status information associated with the aircraft (task 402). The current status information pertaining to the aircraft 102 generally represents the instantaneous, real-time or most recent available values for one or more parameters that quantify the current operation of the aircraft 102. In this regard, the current aircraft status information provides one or more base parameters for scoring or otherwise grading the viability of an airport with respect to one or more parameter groups, as described in greater detail below.” – see at least Moravek: paragraph 0071). Doing so would provide the benefit of planning a safe diversion from a flight plan in the event of an emergency (“However, in situations where the aircraft needs to deviate from the original plan, such as an emergency situation, the information needs to be reanalyzed with respect to the deviation to facilitate continued safe operation. For example, in the case of an emergency landing, ideally a pilot would select an airport within range of the aircraft where landing is least likely to be compromised or complicated by weather or other factors.” – see at least Moravek: paragraph 0003).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a detected leak in a hydraulic accumulator, as described by LeFevre, may be an example of an emergency aircraft status which would require a diversion from an initial flight plan. The examiner notes that the use of flight plan information including flight duration and aircraft status to determine a plan for diverting to a different airport as taught by Moravek is consistent with the benefits of determining a duration of an aircraft mission as described in the specification of the instant application (“Optionally, the flight instructions comprise instructions to change the mission, such as to divert to a different airport, such as to land earlier if the estimated period of time is less than a remaining duration of the current aircraft mission.” – see at least paragraph 0036 of the specification of the instant application).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeFevre in view of Castro (US 2022/0097663), hereinafter referred to as Castro. Castro is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of determining conditions of aircraft systems.
The examiner notes that the applied reference by Castro has a common applicant with the instant application. This reference is considered prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention, and the exceptions under 35 U.S.C 102(b)(1) do not apply due to the publication date of the applied reference which is greater than one year prior to the effective filing date of the instant application.
Regarding claim 20, LeFevre teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. LeFevre further teaches:
A computer-implemented method of estimating characteristics of a hydraulic accumulator of an aircraft ("The present disclosure relates to hydraulic accumulators, and more particularly to diagnosing leaks in hydraulic accumulators." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0003),
the method comprising: obtaining pressure information representative of a pressure of hydraulic fluid in the hydraulic accumulator at a plurality of times during a mission of the aircraft ("With continued reference to FIG. 2, a leak assessment module 114 is operatively connected to start valve status sensor 108, low-pressure switch 112, and temperature sensor 116 to determine whether a leak is present in hydraulic accumulator 102 based on the measured elapsed time, e.g. actual discharge duration, between opening start valve 106, which releases the hydraulic charge from hydraulic accumulator 102, and tripping of low-pressure switch 112, which senses when pressure in gas chamber 104 of hydraulic accumulator 102 has reached a pre-determined threshold, described in more detail below." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0020);
and estimating the characteristics based on the pressure information ("Method 200 includes determining accumulator health or gas chamber pressure, as indicated by box 213, by using the ambient temperature measurement and condition indicator value to select the appropriate accumulator health or gas chamber pressure value from another look-up table, which is generated by the physics-based accumulator model and correlates the value of the condition indicator to the pressure in gas chamber 104 as a function of measured ambient temperature. Method 200 includes generating an indication of at least one of accumulator health or gas chamber pressure and transmitting the indication of accumulator health and/or gas chamber pressure to other diagnostic and prognostic tools, as indicated by box 214, for the purpose of further analysis." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0022) (The examiner notes that the indication of accumulator health and gas chamber pressure at various ambient temperatures as taught by LeFevre corresponds to the claimed characteristics)
and a model comprising relationships between pressure and time for respective variants of the characteristics ("Leak assessment module 114 includes at least one of a look-up table and an equation. Each of the look-up table and equation is based on a physics-based accumulator model that correlates expected discharge duration to varied levels of pressure in gas chamber 104 for a variety of ambient temperatures to characterize the presence or absence of a leak in hydraulic accumulator 102." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0020).
LeFevre alone does not explicitly disclose, but the combination of LeFevre and Castro teaches:
and when the characteristics of the hydraulic accumulator indicate power in the hydraulic accumulator meets or drops below a threshold power value ("The status of the central hydraulic system 16 is communicated to the controller 12, and is illustrated by STATUS in FIG. 1. During operation of the aircraft 100, reduced functionality of the central hydraulic system 16, for example incorrect operation of the first 24 and second 26 hydraulically-actuated brake supplies, may be deemed sufficient to necessitate landing of the aircraft 100 before its intended destination. This may be referred to as a “return to land” condition." – see at least Castro: paragraph 0040) (The examiner notes that while Castro does not explicitly recite wherein power in the hydraulic accumulator meets or drops below a threshold power value, the combination of LeFevre and Castro is considered to fully teach the claimed limitations as set forth in further detail below),
controlling a hydraulic braking system of the aircraft to reduce an amount of braking torque applied to brakes of the aircraft during a landing event ("In such a return to land condition, the hydraulic accumulator 18 may supply pressurised fluid to the hydraulically-actuated brake 14 to provide braking to wheels of the landing gear 102 during landing on a runway to decelerate the aircraft 100, for example in response to depression of the brake pedal 22, with such supply indicated by PRESSURE in FIG. 1. This operation of the hydraulic accumulator 18 may be referred to as an emergency braking mode. In conventional emergency braking modes, a maximum pressure level able to be supplied by the hydraulic accumulator 18 to the hydraulically-actuated brake 14 is limited by the controller 12, and this may also limit depression of the brake pedal 22 by a pilot of the aircraft 100. The maximum pressure level is conventionally a single maximum value." – see at least Castro: paragraph 0040).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LeFevre with these above aforementioned teachings from Castro to include, when the characteristics of the hydraulic accumulator indicate power in the hydraulic accumulator meets or drops below a threshold power value, controlling a hydraulic braking system of the aircraft to reduce an amount of braking torque applied to brakes of the aircraft during a landing event. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Castro’s method of limiting a maximum pressure level supplied by a hydraulic accumulator to a hydraulically-actuated brake with LeFevre’s system for diagnosing leaks in a hydraulic accumulator in order to determine a maximum braking level during a return-to-land procedure (i.e., a landing event) (“The controller may be configured to determine the maximum braking level in a return-to-land procedure, for example a procedure which corresponds to an unexpected or early landing procedure. In such a return-to-land procedure, a maximum braking level to be applied may be limited, but by determining a maximum braking level based on the criterion indicative of an aircraft condition or a runway condition, the present invention may provide greater flexibility than existing systems utilised in a return-to-land procedure.” – see at least Castro: paragraph 0023). Doing so would provide the benefit of adjusting braking control based on conditions of the aircraft (“Where the aircraft 100 experiences a return to land condition, the weight of the aircraft 100 may be greater than expected during a normal landing condition, for example due to the aircraft 100 carrying more fuel than was expected to be carried at the time of landing, and the weight of the aircraft 100 may vary depending on when in a flight the return to land condition occurs. The weight of the aircraft 100 may have an impact on vertical forces experienced by wheels of the landing gear 102 during a landing procedure, and in such circumstances it may be desirable to vary the maximum braking level able to be applied to the hydraulically-actuated brake 14 dependent on the weight of the aircraft 100.” – see at least Castro: paragraph 0043).
While the examiner acknowledges that Castro alone does not explicitly recite wherein power in the hydraulic accumulator meets or drops below a threshold power value, the combination of LeFevre and Castro is considered to fully teach the claimed limitations. In particular, LeFevre teaches detecting a leak based on the pressure in the gas chamber of a hydraulic accumulator falling below a low-pressure threshold (see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0020), wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the detection of a leak as taught by LeFevre corresponds to reduced functionality of an aircraft central hydraulic system as recited in Castro. In other words, one of ordinary skill in the art would be readily capable of recognizing that LeFevre’s method of detecting a leak in a hydraulic accumulator may be used to identify reduced functionality of the central hydraulic system of an aircraft, which would trigger the return to land condition and the aforementioned method of hydraulic braking control as taught by Castro.
As best understood by the examiner, the amount of power available in a hydraulic accumulator is directly related to the available pressure in the hydraulic accumulator (“The aircraft system may comprise a hydraulically-actuated brake powered by a hydraulic accumulator in the emergency braking mode, and the maximum available braking level may comprise a maximum pressure level able to be supplied to the hydraulically-actuated brake by the hydraulic accumulator during the emergency braking mode.” – see at least Castro: paragraph 0019). Therefore, the pressure in the hydraulic accumulator falling below a threshold level as taught by LeFevre as set forth above is considered analogous to the power in the hydraulic accumulator dropping below a threshold power value as claimed.
Regarding claim 21, LeFevre in view of Castro teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. LeFevre further teaches:
A computer-implemented method of estimating characteristics of a hydraulic accumulator of an aircraft ("The present disclosure relates to hydraulic accumulators, and more particularly to diagnosing leaks in hydraulic accumulators." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0003),
the method comprising: obtaining pressure information representative of a pressure of hydraulic fluid in the hydraulic accumulator at a plurality of times during a mission of the aircraft ("With continued reference to FIG. 2, a leak assessment module 114 is operatively connected to start valve status sensor 108, low-pressure switch 112, and temperature sensor 116 to determine whether a leak is present in hydraulic accumulator 102 based on the measured elapsed time, e.g. actual discharge duration, between opening start valve 106, which releases the hydraulic charge from hydraulic accumulator 102, and tripping of low-pressure switch 112, which senses when pressure in gas chamber 104 of hydraulic accumulator 102 has reached a pre-determined threshold, described in more detail below." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0020);
and estimating the characteristics based on the pressure information ("Method 200 includes determining accumulator health or gas chamber pressure, as indicated by box 213, by using the ambient temperature measurement and condition indicator value to select the appropriate accumulator health or gas chamber pressure value from another look-up table, which is generated by the physics-based accumulator model and correlates the value of the condition indicator to the pressure in gas chamber 104 as a function of measured ambient temperature. Method 200 includes generating an indication of at least one of accumulator health or gas chamber pressure and transmitting the indication of accumulator health and/or gas chamber pressure to other diagnostic and prognostic tools, as indicated by box 214, for the purpose of further analysis." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0022) (The examiner notes that the indication of accumulator health and gas chamber pressure at various ambient temperatures as taught by LeFevre corresponds to the claimed characteristics)
and a model comprising relationships between pressure and time for respective variants of the characteristics ("Leak assessment module 114 includes at least one of a look-up table and an equation. Each of the look-up table and equation is based on a physics-based accumulator model that correlates expected discharge duration to varied levels of pressure in gas chamber 104 for a variety of ambient temperatures to characterize the presence or absence of a leak in hydraulic accumulator 102." – see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0020).
LeFevre alone does not explicitly disclose, but the combination of LeFevre and Castro teaches:
and when the characteristics of the hydraulic accumulator indicate power in the hydraulic accumulator meets or drops below a threshold power value, instructing a flight controller of the aircraft to divert the aircraft to land at a location other than an intended landing location associated with the mission of the aircraft ("The status of the central hydraulic system 16 is communicated to the controller 12, and is illustrated by STATUS in FIG. 1. During operation of the aircraft 100, reduced functionality of the central hydraulic system 16, for example incorrect operation of the first 24 and second 26 hydraulically-actuated brake supplies, may be deemed sufficient to necessitate landing of the aircraft 100 before its intended destination. This may be referred to as a “return to land” condition." – see at least Castro: paragraph 0040) (The examiner notes that while Castro does not explicitly recite wherein power in the hydraulic accumulator meets or drops below a threshold power value, the combination of LeFevre and Castro is considered to fully teach the claimed limitations as set forth in further detail below).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LeFevre with these above aforementioned teachings from Castro to include, when the characteristics of the hydraulic accumulator indicate power in the hydraulic accumulator meets or drops below a threshold power value, instructing a flight controller of the aircraft to divert the aircraft to land at a location other than an intended landing location associated with the mission of the aircraft. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Castro’s method of detecting a return to land condition with LeFevre’s system for diagnosing leaks in a hydraulic accumulator in order to determine when aircraft conditions necessitate an early landing (“During operation of the aircraft 100, reduced functionality of the central hydraulic system 16, for example incorrect operation of the first 24 and second 26 hydraulically-actuated brake supplies, may be deemed sufficient to necessitate landing of the aircraft 100 before its intended destination. This may be referred to as a “return to land” condition. Other such return to land conditions may, for example, include other aircraft system faults, ambient weather conditions, passenger health concerns, or the like.” – see at least Castro: paragraph 0040). Doing so would provide the benefit of allowing control of the aircraft to be adjusted to safely perform the early landing (“Where the aircraft 100 experiences a return to land condition, the weight of the aircraft 100 may be greater than expected during a normal landing condition, for example due to the aircraft 100 carrying more fuel than was expected to be carried at the time of landing, and the weight of the aircraft 100 may vary depending on when in a flight the return to land condition occurs. The weight of the aircraft 100 may have an impact on vertical forces experienced by wheels of the landing gear 102 during a landing procedure, and in such circumstances it may be desirable to vary the maximum braking level able to be applied to the hydraulically-actuated brake 14 dependent on the weight of the aircraft 100.” – see at least Castro: paragraph 0043).
While the examiner acknowledges that Castro alone does not explicitly recite wherein power in the hydraulic accumulator meets or drops below a threshold power value, the combination of LeFevre and Castro is considered to fully teach the claimed limitations. In particular, LeFevre teaches detecting a leak based on the pressure in the gas chamber of a hydraulic accumulator falling below a low-pressure threshold (see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0020), wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the detection of a leak as taught by LeFevre corresponds to reduced functionality of an aircraft central hydraulic system as recited in Castro. In other words, one of ordinary skill in the art would be readily capable of recognizing that LeFevre’s method of detecting a leak in a hydraulic accumulator may be used to identify reduced functionality of the central hydraulic system of an aircraft, which would trigger the return to land condition as taught by Castro.
As best understood by the examiner, the amount of power available in a hydraulic accumulator is directly related to the available pressure in the hydraulic accumulator (“The aircraft system may comprise a hydraulically-actuated brake powered by a hydraulic accumulator in the emergency braking mode, and the maximum available braking level may comprise a maximum pressure level able to be supplied to the hydraulically-actuated brake by the hydraulic accumulator during the emergency braking mode.” – see at least Castro: paragraph 0019). Therefore, the pressure in the hydraulic accumulator falling below a threshold level as taught by LeFevre as set forth above is considered analogous to the power in the hydraulic accumulator dropping below a threshold power value as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03 August 2026 with respect to claims 1-9 and 11-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection based on the teachings of the newly relied upon references by Howell and Castro, which have been introduced to address the amended and new claims.
In particular, claim 1 has been amended to add limitations which recite “when a threshold condition is satisfied, supplying pressurized hydraulic fluid to the hydraulic accumulator for recharging the hydraulic accumulator; wherein the threshold condition is based on one or more of the estimated characteristics of the hydraulic accumulator”. The examiner acknowledges that while the primary reference by LeFevre teaches relevant aspects of the claimed invention, as set forth in further detail in the Non-Final Rejection filed 20 May 2026, LeFevre does not explicitly teach each of the limitations of the amended independent claim 1.
To address the Applicant’s Response, the examiner has introduced the reference by Howell which teaches a method of issuing a refill command via a controller to recharge an accumulator with liquid when a monitored pressure drops below an acceptable threshold (see at least Howell: paragraph 0040). These teachings from Howell are considered to be analogous to the aforementioned amended limitations of claim 1, and, as set forth in further detail above in the section for claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, the combination of LeFevre and Howell is therefore considered to fully teach the limitations of amended claim 1.
The amendments to the claims have further added new claims 20 and 21, which are each substantially similar to original claim 1, with the addition of the limitations “when the characteristics of the hydraulic accumulator indicate power in the hydraulic accumulator meets or drops below a threshold power value, controlling a hydraulic braking system of the aircraft to reduce an amount of braking torque applied to brakes of the aircraft during a landing event” and “when the characteristics of the hydraulic accumulator indicate power in the hydraulic accumulator meets or drops below a threshold power value, instructing a flight controller of the aircraft to divert the aircraft to land at a location other than an intended landing location associated with the mission of the aircraft”, respectively.
To address the newly added independent claims, the examiner introduced the reference by Castro which, in combination with the primary reference by LeFevre, is considered to fully teach the limitations of the newly added claims. In particular, Castro teaches methods for detecting a “return to land” condition based on detection of reduced functionality of a central hydraulic system of an aircraft, and wherein in the return to land condition, a controller is configured to limit the amount of pressure supplied by the hydraulic accumulator to the brakes of the aircraft (see at least Castro: paragraph 0040), according to an adjustable maximum pressure level which is based on conditions of the aircraft (see at least Castro: paragraph 0043). These teachings from Castro are considered to be analogous to the aforementioned new limitations of claims 20 and 21, and, as set forth in further detail above in the section for claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, the combination of LeFevre and Castro is therefore considered to fully teach the limitations of newly added claims 20 and 21.
In evaluating obvious and the level of ordinary skill in the art, the examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of applying knowledge from different areas to solve a problem (“"A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.” – see at least MPEP 2141.03). In the case of the instant application, it is considered well within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the detection of a leak using the method taught by LeFevre (i.e., detecting when the pressure in the gas chamber of a hydraulic accumulator falls below a low-pressure threshold; see at least LeFevre: paragraph 0020) indicates an issue requiring maintenance due to reduced functionality of the hydraulic system. As set forth in further detail above in the section for claim rejections of claims 20-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103, it is therefore considered well within the ability of one of ordinary skill and creativity in the art to detect the “return to land” condition as taught by Castro based on the hydraulic accumulator leak detection method taught by LeFevre, thereby enabling the combination of the two references to reach the claimed invention.
As such, the pending claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
As per the pending rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, the Applicant’s Response has provided sufficient evidence that the claims as a whole amount to significantly more than an abstract idea which could be reasonably performed in the human mind. The amended and new independent claims require tangible control steps including supplying pressurized hydraulic fluid to the hydraulic accumulator for recharging the hydraulic accumulator (claim 1), controlling a hydraulic braking system of the aircraft to reduce an amount of braking torque applied to brakes of the aircraft during a landing event (claim 20), and instructing a flight controller of the aircraft to divert the aircraft to land at a location other than an intended landing location associated with the mission of the aircraft (claim 21), each of which amount to functions which cannot reasonably be performed in the human mind and indicate integration into a practical application. Further, in view of the specification of the instant application, the claims are considered to provide an improvement to the technological field of controlling operation of a hydraulic accumulator. As such, the pending rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/TUAN C TO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661