DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Ohkawa et al. (US2014/0184166 A1).
Re Claim 1: Ohkawa teaches a control unit for controlling power consumption of a battery charger powered at least partly from an external power source, such as electrical mains, via a cable connection (see 150, 420 fig.1 para 0024-0027, 0034-0036) external power source reads on household power supply or charging station) , wherein the control unit is arranged to obtain data indicative of a current drawn by the battery charger as function of time (see 130 para 0052-0053, 0059); wherein the control unit is arranged to process the obtained data using at least a first and a second averaging function (see 152 fig.3 para 0052-0054, 0059, figs 7-9) wherein the first averaging function is associated with a shorter averaging time window compared to the second averaging function which is associated with a longer averaging time window (see 183 para 0052-0054 fig.7), and wherein the outputs of the at least two functions are associated with respective function acceptance criteria (see fig.7-8 para 0052-0054, 0060-0061), wherein the control unit is arranged to control power consumption by at least the battery charger based on outputs of the first and the second averaging functions, and on the respective function acceptance criteria (see fig.9-11 para 0054-0056, 0061).
Re Claim 16: Ohkawa teaches method for controlling power consumption of a battery charger powered at least partly from an external power source, such as electrical mains, via a cable connection (see 150, 420 fig.1 para 0024-0027, 0034-0036) external power source reads on household power supply or charging station the method comprising obtaining data indicative of a current drawn by the battery charger as function of time(see 130 para 0052-0054, 0059); processing the obtained data using at least a first and a second averaging function (see 152 fig.7-9 para 0052-0054, 0060-0061); wherein the first averaging function is associated with a shorter averaging time window compared to the second averaging function (see fig.7 para 0052-0054, 0060-0061); and wherein the outputs of the at least two functions are associated with respective function acceptance criteria (see fig.7-8 para 0052-0054, 0060-0061); and controlling power consumption by the battery charger based on outputs of the first and the second averaging functions, and on the respective function acceptance criteria (see fig.9-11 para 0054-0056, 0061-0063).
Re Claim 2: Ohkawa teaches invention set forth above, Okhawa further teaches wherein the control unit is arranged to limit a current drawn by the battery charger in case any of the outputs of the averaging functions does not satisfy its acceptance criterion (see 152, table 183, 150fig.9-11 para 0054-0056, 0061-0063).
Re Claim 3: Ohkawa teaches invention set forth above, Okhawa further teaches comprising a current sensor arranged to measure a current drawn via the cable connection (see 130 fig.1 para 0024-0026, 0059), wherein the data indicative of the current drawn by the battery charger is obtained at least in part from the current sensor (see 130, 150 para 0052-0053, 0059).
Re Claim 12: Ohkawa teaches invention set forth above, Okhawa further teaches a battery charger comprising the control unit according to claim 1 (see 150, 420 fig.1 para 0024-0027, 0034-0036) and at least one battery receptacle arranged to receive and to temporarily hold a rechargeable battery (see 110, 111 fig.1 para 0024-0029).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 8 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkawa et al. (US2014/0184166 A1) in view of Matsumoto (US2016/0254661 A1).
Re Claim 4: Ohkawa teaches invention set forth above, Okhawa doesn’t expressly teach wherein at least one of the first and the second averaging function is a moving average filter and wherein the acceptance criterion comprises a threshold value, wherein the threshold value is preferably determined in dependence of a construction site fuse setting.
In an analogous art Matsumoto teaches wherein at least one of the first and the second averaging function is a moving average filter (see para 0053, 0059 fig.8) and wherein the acceptance criterion comprises a threshold value, wherein the threshold value (see para 0007, 0053-0054, 0061) is preferably determined in dependence of a construction site fuse setting (see para 0005,0007, 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use component-constraint-based allowable average current threshold of Matsumoto in invention of Ohkawa to define acceptance thresholds for multi window averaged charged current based on upstream protection limits thereby preventing overload and external protection devices e.g fuses.
Re Claim 5: Ohkawa teaches invention set forth above, Okhawa doesn’t expressly teach wherein at least one of the first and the second averaging function has a low-pass filter characteristic, and wherein the acceptance criterion comprises a threshold value, and wherein the threshold value is preferably determined in dependence of a construction site fuse setting.
In an analogous art Matsumoto teaches wherein at least one of the first and the second averaging function has a low-pass filter characteristic (see para 0053, 0059 fig.7-8), and wherein the acceptance criterion comprises a threshold value, and wherein the threshold value (see para 0007, 0053-0054, 0061) is preferably determined in dependence of a construction site fuse setting (see para 0005,0007, 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use component-constraint-based allowable average current threshold of Matsumoto in invention of Ohkawa to define acceptance thresholds for multi window averaged charged current based on upstream protection limits thereby preventing overload and external protection devices e.g fuses.
Re Claim 8: Ohkawa teaches invention set forth above, Okhawa doesn’t expressly teach arranged to store recent averaging function outputs in the event of a power outage in a storage medium of the control unit.
In an analogous art Matsumoto teaches arranged to store recent averaging function outputs in the event of a power outage in a storage medium of the control unit (para 0113-0115 0122-0123, 0127-0132 fig.19; power interruption/aux machine clearing, store difference d in nonvolatile memory, read stored D after restart).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use the power outage state storage and restart-based control adjustment of Matsumoto in the averaging based charger control system of Ohkawa to preserve a reuse recent averaged control outputs after a power interruption there by ensuring safe and predictable resumption of charger power control.
Re Claim 9: Ohkawa teaches invention set forth above, Okhawa doest expressly teach arranged to re-configure one or more of the acceptance criteria based on the stored recent averaging function outputs in response to a power outage.
In an analogous art Matsumoto teaches arranged to re-configure one or more of the acceptance criteria based on the stored recent averaging function outputs in response to a power outage (para 0118-0120, 0122-0125, 0127-132 fig.16-19; store difference d in nonvolatile memory, read stored D after restart).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use the power outage state storage and restart-based control adjustment of Matsumoto in the averaging based charger control system of Ohkawa to preserve a reuse recent averaged control outputs after a power interruption there by ensuring safe and predictable resumption of charger power control.
Claim(s) 6, 7,10 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkawa et al. (US2014/0184166 A1) in view of Conroy et al. (US 2014/0351621 A1.)
Re Claim 6: Ohkawa teaches invention set forth above, Okhawa doesn’t expressly teach arranged to gradually limit the current drawn according to a pre-determined function in case any of the averaging function outputs does not meet the respective function acceptance criterion.
In an analogous art Conroy teaches arranged to gradually limit the current drawn (see fig. 6 control module para 0065-0068, 0104-0112) according to a pre-determined function in case any of the averaging function outputs does not meet the respective function acceptance criterion (see para 0067-0068, 0139-0142).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use the gradual power throttling and recovery functions of Conroy in the charger current limiting system of Ohkawa to smoothly enforce averaged current acceptance criteria and adjust charger power based on the other loads sharing same power to improve stability and avoid abrupt transition.
Re Claim 7: Ohkawa teaches invention set forth above, Okhawa doesn’t expressly teach arranged to gradually remove an imposed limitation on the current drawn according to a pre-determined function in case all of the averaging function outputs meet the respective function acceptance criterion.
In an analogous art Conroy teaches arranged to gradually remove an imposed limitation on the current drawn (see fig. 6 para 0139-0142) according to a pre-determined function in case all of the averaging function outputs meet the respective function acceptance criterion (see para 0104-0112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use the gradual power throttling and recovery functions of Conroy in the charger current limiting system of Ohkawa to smoothly enforce averaged current acceptance criteria and adjust charger power based on the other loads sharing same power to improve stability and avoid abrupt transition.
Re Claim 10: Ohkawa teaches invention set forth above, Okhawa further teaches arranged to control the power consumption by the battery charger (see 420 para 0034-0036-0053-0057)
Okhawa doesn’t expressly teach at least in part by controlling an amount of electrical power provided via a power outlet of the battery charger.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use shared power course monitoring and coordinated load control of Conroy in the battery charger control system of Ohkawa to control the amount of electrical power delivered by the charger and adjust the power base don consumption to prevent overloading and improve power source stability.
In an analogous art Conroy teaches at least in part by controlling an amount of electrical power provided via a power outlet of the battery charger (see para 0084-0086; power interface)
Re Claim 11: Ohkawa teaches invention set forth above, Okhawa further teaches arranged to control the power consumption by the battery charger (see para 0063-0067, 0104-0112).
Okhawa doesn’t expressly teach at least in part based on data related to a power consumption by an external power consumer connected to the same power source as the battery charger.
In an analogous art Conroy teaches at least in part based on data related to a power consumption by an external power consumer (see fig.5 para 0096-0095, 0100-0111) connected to the same power source as the battery charger (see para 0080-0085, 05151-0163).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use shared power course monitoring and coordinated load control of Conroy in the battery charger control system of Ohkawa to control the amount of electrical power delivered by the charger and adjust the power base don consumption to prevent overloading and improve power source stability.
Claim(s) 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkawa et al. (US2014/0184166 A1) in view of Manor et al. (US 2011/0148344 A1).
Re Claim 13: Ohkawa teaches invention set forth above, Okhawa doesn’t expressly teach comprising an on-board energy storage device configured to temporarily store electrical energy drawn from the external power source over the cable connection, wherein the onboard energy storage device is a capacitor or a rechargeable battery.
In an analogous art Manor teaches comprising an on-board energy storage device (see 15, 16 fig.1, 2 para 0011, 0013); configured to temporarily store electrical energy drawn from the external power source over the cable connection (see fig.1-4 para 0009, 0011, 0014); wherein the onboard energy storage device is a capacitor or a rechargeable battery (see para 0010, 0013, 0016).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to incorporate the on board rechargeable energy storage device of Manor in the battery charger of Okhawa to temporary store electrical energy drawn from external power source thereby improving operational flexibility.
Claim(s) 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkawa et al. (US2014/0184166 A1) in view of Dai et al. (US 2004/0036361 A1).
Re Claim 14: Ohkawa teaches invention set forth above, Okhawa doesn’t expressly teach comprising an electrical power sensor, wherein the power sensor is arranged to monitor an alternating current, AC, from the external power source, and to determine frequency and/or amplitude characteristics of the AC, wherein the control unit is arranged to detect a time variation in frequency and/or amplitude of the AC in relation to a nominal frequency and/or amplitude based on the determined characteristics, and wherein the control unit is configured to stabilize a frequency and/or amplitude of the AC over the power interface by transferring electrical power between the cable and the on-board energy storage device and/or between the cable and a battery received in a battery receptacle, in case of a detected variation in the AC over the power interface.
In an analogous art Dai teaches comprising an electrical power sensor, wherein the power sensor (see para 0015, 0042-0047) is arranged to monitor an alternating current, AC, from the external power source (see para 0015, 0052) and to determine frequency and/or amplitude characteristics of the AC (see para 00042-0046, 0055-0056), wherein the control unit is arranged to detect a time variation in frequency and/or amplitude of the AC in relation to a nominal frequency and/or amplitude (see para 0015, 0053) based on the determined characteristics, and wherein the control unit is configured to stabilize a frequency and/or amplitude of the AC over the power interface (see fig.2-3 para 0014, 0020) by transferring electrical power between the cable and the on-board energy storage device and/or between the cable and a battery received in a battery receptacle (see fig.14-16 para 0054, 0064-0066) , in case of a detected variation in the AC over the power interface (see para 0015, 0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to incorporate the AC sensing and voltage stabilization technique of Dai in the battery charger of Okhawa to improve power quality and ensuring realizable operation.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkawa et al. (US2014/0184166 A1) in view of Bang et al. (US 2023/0253811 A1).
Re Claim 15: Ohkawa teaches invention set forth above, Okhawa doesn’t expressly teach comprising a communications module configured to communicate with one or more external power consumers connected to the same external power source as the battery charger.
In an analogous art Bang teaches comprising a communications module configured to communicate with one or more external power consumers (see para 0005-0007, 0032-0034 fig.1-2) connected to the same external power source as the battery charger (see 100, 200, 300 para 0029-0034 fig.1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to incorporate power line communication module of Bang in the battery charger and control unit of Okhawa to enable communication with external consumer power vis same external power source interface.
Conclusion
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 /Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849