DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants’s submission filed 6/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 4/20/2026 has been considered by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 10-13, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stabrawa et al. in US Patent Application Publication № 2023/0008874, hereinafter called Stabrawa.
In regard to claim 1, Strabrawa teaches a memory management device, comprising:
a processor;
and a non-transitory computer-readable storage, coupled to the processor, and configured to store a memory management program comprising instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform an execution of an allocator module and an execution of a resolver module;
wherein the execution of the allocator module causes the processor to:
receive a memory allocation request from an application program, wherein the memory allocation request includes a specified size (“The memory pool may be managed by the management server 120. The management server 120, using various components, may provision external primary memory to the client 130 or multiple clients that request external memory allocation.” Paragraph 0036, “For example, region access logic requests received by the region access logic 212 may include requests to create the region 214…” paragraph 0113, further “The request may include, for example, a starting memory offset, a size of memory allocation, a starting memory location, a number of units of memory to access, or any other attribute relating to the requested memory access operation.” Paragraph 0078),
allocate a buffer with the specified size in a memory in response to the memory allocation request (“Upon receiving a request to create the region 214, the region access logic 212 may allocate a portion of the memory 210 included in the memory appliance 110 for the region 214.” Paragraph 0115), and
generate a buffer pointer for the buffer, and return the buffer pointer to the application program (i.e. in a memory-allocation data structure, “The memory-allocation data structure(s) may include other information related to the portion(s). For example, the memory-allocation data structure(s) may include addresses, offsets, and or sizes which describe the position and/or size of the portion(s) within the region 214 and/or the external memory allocation.” Paragraph 0212),
wherein the buffer is a device buffer allocated for one or more accelerator devices (i.e. a hardware client component, as in paragraph 0365), or a CPU buffer allocated for a CPU (i.e. local primary memory, note that “When any virtual memory address is accessed by the CPU, the virtual memory address may reference a portion of physical RAM in primary memory and/or memory of the I/O device. Thus, instructions executed by the CPU that access the virtual memory address may also access the I/O device.” Paragraph 0345; alternatively or additionally, “As illustrated in FIG. 16A, an address space 1602 may include, associate with, and/or map to a first mapped portion 1604, such as with a mapping of local primary memory.” Paragraph 0374, further “Alternatively or in addition, the address space 1602 may include, associate with, and/or map to a second mapped portion 1610. One or more data structures may be updated, modified, and/or replaced to indicate that the portion of the address space 1602 corresponding to the second mapped portion 1610 includes and/or is mapped to external primary memory.” Paragraph 0375; note further that the cache is expressly taught to include a CPU cache in at least paragraph 0390);
and wherein the execution of the resolver module causes the processor to:
receive a memory access request from the application program, wherein the memory access request includes a search pointer (i.e. address, “A page fault and/or other event, such as a request to access a portion of an address space and/or file, may occur (1302), triggering a flow such as the example illustrated in FIG. 13A.” paragraph 0304, note that an address is expressly taught in paragraph 0306),
determine, based on the buffer pointer and the specified size, whether the search pointer corresponds to the device buffer or the CPU buffer (“Upon allocating the portion of local primary memory (1304), the client logic 312 and/or another logic may determine (1306) whether data for the portion is in external primary memory. In an example implementation, the determination (1306) may be made by evaluating whether or not an address associated with the triggering event (1302) is associated with a portion of external primary memory, such as a portion of the region 214 and/or external memory allocation.” Paragraph 0306, note that the local memory is the alternative, “If data for the portion is not in external primary memory, the portion of local primary memory may be initialized (1308).” Paragraph 0306; further, note that external memory can be cached in local memory, as taught in paragraph 0247, and accordingly data can be accessed from local memory if the address is present in the cache), and
allow access to the device buffer if the search pointer corresponds to the device buffer (“If data for the portion is in external primary memory, the data may be written (1310) to the portion of local primary memory, such as by copying the data from the portion of the region 214 and/or external memory allocation. In some examples, the data may be copied using client-side memory access, via one or more RDMA operations, and/or via any other one or more suitable data transfer operations” paragraph 0306, note that this access to the external memory is only performed if the portion is resident there and accordingly meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim), and allow access to the CPU buffer if the search pointer corresponds to the CPU buffer (“If data for the portion is not in external primary memory, the portion of local primary memory may be initialized (1308).” Paragraph 0306).
In regard to claims 7 and 13, they are substantially similar to claim 1, and accordingly are rejected under similar reasoning
In regard to claim 4, Strabrawa further teaches that the execution of the resolver module further causes the processor to determine whether the memory access request is issued by a process that is authorized to access the buffer, and deny access to the buffer if the memory access request is determined to be issued by an unauthorized process (“Alternatively or in addition, the region access logic 212 may control access based on an authentication mechanism, including but not limited to a password, a key, biometrics, or a cryptographic authentication.” Paragraph 0080; alternatively or additionally, “Permissions may include data read access, data write access, metadata read access, metadata write access, destroy access, and/or any other capability that may be selectively granted and/or revoked to a client, a memory appliance, and/or a management server.” Paragraph 0066).
In regard to claims 10 and 16, they are substantially similar to claim 4, and accordingly are rejected under similar reasoning
In regard to claim 5, Strabrawa further teaches that the buffer pointer indicates a starting address of the buffer, an ending address of the buffer, or an offset address corresponding to a fix location of the buffer (“The memory-allocation data structure(s) may include other information related to the portion(s). For example, the memory-allocation data structure(s) may include addresses, offsets, and or sizes which describe the position and/or size of the portion(s) within the region 214 and/or the external memory allocation.” Paragraph 0212); and wherein the search pointer indicates a memory address requested by the application program (“In an example implementation, the determination (1306) may be made by evaluating whether or not an address associated with the triggering event (1302) is associated with a portion of external primary memory, such as a portion of the region 214 and/or external memory allocation.” Paragraph 0306).
In regard to claims 11 and 17, they are substantially similar to claim 5, and accordingly are rejected under similar reasoning
In regard to claim 6, Strabrawa further teaches that the device buffer comprises a graphics processing unit (GPU) buffer, a neural processing unit (NPU) buffer, a vision processing unit (VPU) buffer, a direct memory access (DMA) buffer, or a deep learning accelerator (DLA) buffer; and each of the one or more accelerator devices comprises a GPU, an NPU, a VPU,a DMA, or a DLA (“In a first example, the hardware client component may respond to attempts of the hardware application component to access physical addresses by accessing data included in the memory and/or cache of the hardware client component.” Paragraph 0366, wherein “A hardware client component may be and/or may include a processor, a GPU, an MMU, an IO-MMU, a communication interface, such as the one or more communication interfaces 330, a direct memory access controller, an FPGA, an ASIC, a chipset, a compute module, a hardware accelerator module, a hardware logic, a memory access transaction translation logic, any other hardware component, and/or a combination of multiple hardware components.” Paragraph 0365)
In regard to claims 12 and 18, they are substantially similar to claim 6, and accordingly are rejected under similar reasoning
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 8, 9, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stabrawa as applied to claim 1, 7, or 13 above, as applicable, and further in view of Beard et al. in US Patent Application Publication № 2019/0018786, hereinafter called Beard.
In regard to claim 2, Stabrawa teaches the memory management device as claimed in claim 1, as above. Stabrawa further teaches that the execution of the allocator module further causes the processor to store, in a data structure (i.e. memory-allocation data structures, as in paragraph 0209), mapping entries between a plurality of the buffer pointers of device buffers, the device buffers, and the specified sizes associated with the device buffers (“The memory-allocation data structure(s) may include other information related to the portion(s). For example, the memory-allocation data structure(s) may include addresses, offsets, and or sizes which describe the position and/or size of the portion(s) within the region 214 and/or the external memory allocation…” paragraph 0212);
and wherein the execution of the resolver module further causes the processor to:
check whether the data structure contains at least one mapping entry, and determine that the search pointer corresponds to the CPU buffer if the data structure does not contain any mapping entry (“The collection of allocated portions 818 may include and/or may reference zero or more allocated portion data structures 832. For example, the collection of allocated portions 818 may include a red-black tree of zero or more allocated portion data structures 832. Other examples may involve using any other collection data structure to include and/or reference zero or more allocated portion data structures 832.” Paragraph 0224, further, “In some examples, the allocated portion data structure 832 may not contain any collection-related data 836, such as if there is only one allocated portion” paragraph 0228).
However, he fails to expressly teach to identify, from the data structure, a largest one of the buffer pointers that is not larger than the search pointer included in the memory access request if the data structure contains at least one mapping entry, and
determine that the search pointer corresponds to the device buffer if the search pointer is not larger than a sum of the identified buffer pointer and the specified size associated with the identified buffer pointer,
and determine that the search pointer corresponds to the CPU buffer otherwise.
Beard teaches that the execution of the allocator module further causes the processor to store, in a data structure (i.e. RTB), mapping entries between a plurality of the buffer pointers of device buffers, the device buffers, and the specified sizes (i.e. address ranges) associated with the device buffers (“In FIG. 1, address translation is carried out by a so-called range table buffer (RTB) 105, 115. This performs address translation between a virtual memory address in the virtual memory address space and an output memory address in the output (real) address space.” Paragraph 0037, wherein “The data 220, 230 together define a range of virtual memory addresses between respective virtual memory address boundaries in the virtual memory address space. In the example of FIG. 2a, the range of virtual memory addresses is between the address represented by Base VA up to and including the address represented by Base VA+Range.” Paragraph 0056, note is taken that many different ways of calculating the address range using the BaseVA and range values are described in paragraph 0056, however, in each case the range value is used to calculate a range of addresses between boundaries, and the BaseVA+Range implementation is expressly taught in paragraph 0056);
and wherein the execution of the resolver module further causes the processor to:
identify, from the data structure, a largest one of the buffer pointers that is not larger than the search pointer included in the memory access request if the data structure contains at least one mapping entry (“If the address tag is less than the address tag at the root the left child is selected. If the address tag is greater than the address tag at the root the right child is selected. This search process continues for successive nodes until a match is found or a leaf node is reached. If a leaf node (a node with no child node) is reached without match being found, the line associated with the searched address tag is not cached in the system” paragraph 0117), and
determine that the search pointer corresponds to the device buffer if the search pointer is not larger than a sum of the identified buffer pointer and the specified size associated with the identified buffer pointer (“The indicators may be start and end addresses ( or start and end address tags), or a start address and a length, for example. The indicators enable minimum (MIN) and maximum (MAX) address tag values of the range to be determined. Optionally, the request may also indicate the desired coherence state for data in the range. Alternatively, a default state (such as 'Invalid') may be assumed. The tag search structure is then used to identify address tags, in the range {MIN, MAX}, that match address tags in one or more caches of the system.” Paragraph 0119, further, “If no match is found, as depicted by the negative branch from decision block 1206, the tree is searched at block 1208 to find the smallest stored tag that is greater than the MIN value.” Paragraph 0120, note that the range is expressly taught in the form of VAtest+offset in at least paragraph 0057);
and determine that the search pointer corresponds to the CPU buffer otherwise (“Alternatively, a default state (such as 'Invalid') may be assumed” paragraph 0119, note further that If a leaf node (a node with no child node) is reached without match being found, the line associated with the searched address tag is not cached in the system” paragraph 0117).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the local and external memory allocation system taught by Stabrawa to include the determination of an address being within an allocated range stored in a metadata tree in a memory allocation and cache system, as taught by Beard. It would have been obvious because it represents the application of a known technique (i.e. determining memory coherency using a balanced binary search tree for managing allocations, as taught by Beard in at least paragraphs 0114 and 0117, including the matching of addresses to ranges based on a base plus offset, as taught in at least paragraphs 0057 and 0119, and the mapping of virtual to physical addresses, as taught in at least paragraph 0057) to a known system (i.e. the system for mapping external memory regions, as taught by Stabrawa in at least paragraph 0306, which includes a red-black tree of zero or more allocations, as taught in at least paragraph 0224, the mapping of virtual to physical addresses, as taught in at least paragraph 0227, and the use of local memory as a cache, as taught in at least paragraph 0247) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (i.e. the balanced red-black tree may be searched for address ranges using minimal storage and rapid searching). One would have been motivated to do so in order to minimize the size of memory needed to store the mapping information, as taught by Beard in at least paragraph 0114, and to allow the tree to be searched rapidly, as taught by Beard in at least paragraph 0115.
In regard to claims 8 and 14, they are substantially similar to claim 2, and accordingly are rejected under similar reasoning. [Examiner notes that the limitation “… if the data structure contains at least one mapping entry…” which is present on line 12 of claim 2 appears to be omitted in claims 8 and 14; however, the claims are sufficiently similar to claim 2 that the instant rejection applies under analogous reasoning]
In regard to claim 3, Stabrawa and Beard teach the memory management device as claimed in claim 2, as above. Stabrawa further teaches that the data structure is constructed as a red-black tree (“Collection(s) of portions may be organized, such as with an array, a list, a tree, a red-black tree, a B-tree, a B+ tree, a hash table, a distributed hash table, and/or with any other collection data structure.” Paragraph 0210),
However, he fails to expressly teach that the execution of the resolver module further causes the processor to perform a binary search on the red-black tree to identify the largest one of the buffer pointers that is not larger than the search pointer included in the memory access request.
Beard teaches that the execution of the resolver module further causes the processor to perform a binary search on the tree to identify the largest one of the buffer pointers that is not larger than the search pointer included in the memory access request (“If no match is found, as depicted by the negative branch from decision block 1212, the tree is searched at block 1214 to find the largest stored tag that is smaller than the MAX value. The search range is updated with this value at block 1216 and flow continues to block 1218” paragraph 0121)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the local and external memory allocation system taught by Stabrawa to include the determination of an address being within an allocated range stored in a metadata tree in a memory allocation and cache system, as taught by Beard. It would have been obvious because it represents the application of a known technique (i.e. determining memory coherency using a balanced binary search tree for managing allocations, as taught by Beard in at least paragraphs 0114 and 0117,) to a known system (i.e. the system for mapping external memory regions, as taught by Stabrawa in at least paragraph 0306, which includes a red-black tree of zero or more allocations, as taught in at least paragraph 0224) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (i.e. the balanced red-black tree may be searched for address ranges using minimal storage and rapid searching). One would have been motivated to do so in order to minimize the size of memory needed to store the mapping information, as taught by Beard in at least paragraph 0114, and to allow the tree to be searched rapidly, as taught by Beard in at least paragraph 0115.
In regard to claims 9 and 15, they are substantially similar to claim 3, and accordingly are rejected under similar reasoning
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to applicants’ argument regarding the rejections of claims 1, 7, and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) because Stabrawa fails to teach that “the buffer is a device buffer allocated for one or more accelerator devices, or a CPU buffer allocated for a CPU” (see applicants’ remarks, page 10), the broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is, in fact, taught, in at least that the buffer, i.e. memory area, is allocated for one or more accelerator devices, i.e. the devices recited by Stavrawa in at least paragraph 0365. The recitation in paragraph 0365 teaches the accelerator devices for which memory is allocated, in that those devices access the memory. Absent any more specific technical limitations as to the nature of the buffer or accelerator, or as to the method of allocation, any memory region (i.e. memory region taught by Stavrawa in at least paragraph 0113) allocated at least partially for access by an accelerator device (“, i.e. the devices recited by Stavrawa in at least paragraph 0365”) would meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation “a device buffer allocated for one or more accelerator devices”, and accordingly the broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is taught.
In regard to applicants’ arguments regarding the rejections of claims 1, 7, and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) because Stabrawa fails to teach to “determine, based on the buffer pointer and the specified size, whether the search pointer corresponds to the device buffer or the CPU buffer”, the broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation is taught, in that the internal or external (i.e. accelerator, “The hardware client component may include a memory and/or cache. The memory and/or cache of the hardware client component may be used to hold portions of the data of external memory allocations and/or regions.” Paragraph 0365; Additionally, or alternatively, note that Stabrawa teaches a CPU cache, as taught in at least paragraph 0390, which is within the broadest reasonable interpretation of CPU buffer) memory is located based on an address (i.e. a pointer, note that, absent any further technical limitation as to the nature of a pointer, a memory address is within the broadest reasonable interpretation of a pointer), as is taught by Stabrawa in at least paragraph 0306 (“an example implementation, the determination (1306) may be made by evaluating whether or not an address associated with the triggering event (1302) is associated with a portion of external primary memory, such as a portion of the region 214 and/or external memory allocation.” Additionally, “The memory-allocation data structure(s) may include other information related to the portion(s). For example, the memory-allocation data structure(s) may include addresses, offsets, and or sizes which describe the position and/or size of the portion(s) within the region 214 and/or the external memory allocation” paragraph 0212; alternatively or additionally, note that external memory can be cached in local memory, as taught in paragraph 0247, and accordingly data can be accessed from local memory if the address is present in the cache). Absent any further technical limitation as to the nature of the determination, or the nature of the pointer, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitation is taught.
In regard to applicants’ arguments regarding dependent claims 4-6, 10-12, 16-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102, and regarding the rejection of dependent claims 2, 3, 8, 9, 14, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103, these arguments, based as they are on the application of Stabrawa to dependent claims 1, 7, and 13, are not persuasive for the same reasons as presented above for those claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.Z.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2156
/VAISHALI SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2156