DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (US 2017/0179690 A1) in view of Hayashi et al. (US 2023/0352253 A1) further in view of Lam (US 2015/0280432 A1).
Re Claim 1: Miller teaches 1. A power supply system configured to supply alternating current power from a grid power supply to a power load in a house (see Para 0040–0042; FIGS. 1, 4; AC power from a utility source is delivered through a service entrance including (18) and (11) to residential loads) the power supply system comprising: a current breaker configured to receive the alternating current power supplied from the grid power supply to the house and to shut off in case of either or both of an earth leakage and an overcurrent (see para 0050) ;a load breaker configured to electrically disconnect the current breaker from the power load(see para 0041,0050; FIG. 11a transfer switch contacts that selectively isolate the utility supply from the load-side conductors); a first switch configured to switch between electrically connecting and disconnecting the current breaker to and from the load (see para 0041, 0050; FIGS. 1, 11a; the automatic transfer switch selectively couples or decouples the utility supply from the distribution panel) and a measuring instrument configured to measure at least one of the following values between the load breaker and the power load: a current value, a voltage value, and a power value (see para 0046, Para 0047 load-side current transformers that monitor current supplied to residential loads)
Miller doesn’t expressly teach a power converter configured to supply alternating current power from a battery to the power load when the battery is connected to the power converter; a second switch configured to switch between electrically connecting and disconnecting the first switch to and from the power converter and configured to switch between electrically connecting and disconnecting the load breaker to and from the power converter; wherein the power supply system is configured to close the first switch and open the second switch when the battery is connected to the power converter and a measured value from the measuring instrument is greater than a threshold.
In an analogous art Hayashi teaches a power converter configured to supply alternating current power from a battery to the power load when the battery is connected to the power converter (see para 0027, 0035–0037; FIG. 1; bidirectional power converter (14) converts DC power from a battery (3) into AC power supplied to an output terminal feeding a load); a second switch configured to switch between electrically connecting and disconnecting the first switch to and from the power converter and configured to switch between electrically connecting and disconnecting the load breaker to and from the power converter; (para 0028–0030, 0049, 0055-0056; FIGS. 1–2; semiconductor AC switch (SW, 13) that selectively isolates a grid-side path and connects a converter output to the load under controller command) a controllable AC switch (SW1–SWn) configured to electrically connect and disconnect nodes in a power path (Paras [0028]-[0030]) and a bidirectional converter (14) configured to supply AC power to a load (Para [0049]). The converter operation is coordinated with the switch circuit (Paras [0055]-[0056]). The switch circuit is positioned in the power path associated with the converter and load, and therefore corresponds to the claimed second switch ; wherein the power supply system is configured to close the first switch and open the second switch when the battery is connected to the power converter and a measured value from the measuring instrument is greater than a threshold (see para 0038, 0065–0071; by disclosing a controller (20) that compares measured current and voltage values to predetermined thresholds and controls switching states accordingly when a power storage device is connected).
Therefore It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the bidirectional power converter, semiconductor switching, and measurement-based threshold control of Hayashi into the residential service-entrance transfer switching system with load sensing and over-current protection of Miller in order to supply alternating current power from a battery to a residential power load while isolating the grid, thereby providing controlled backup power functionality.
Combination of Miller and Hayashi doesn’t explicitly teach the battery being mounted on a vehicle.
In an analogous art Lam teaches the battery being mounted on a vehicle (see para 0012, 0031, 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art at the time of invention was claimed to use the vehicle-based battery implementation of Lam in the invention of Miller and Hayashi to implement the disclosed battery energy source as an electric vehicle energy source system to provide vehicle to home power during grid interruption.
Re Claim 2: combination of Miller and Hayashi teaches invention set forth above, Hayashi further teaches wherein: the power converter is configured to charge the battery with alternating current when the battery is connected to the power converter (see para 0027, 0035-0037) Miller further teaches and the power supply system is configured to close the first switch, open the second switch when the battery is connected to the power converter and the measured value is greater than the threshold (see para 0040-0047, 0050).
Lam further teaches the battery being mounted on a vehicle (see para 0012, 0031, 0044) ;the house includes a power conditioner configured to receive power generated by a photovoltaic power generator (see para 0024-0025 fig.1); charge the vehicle with alternating current power from the power conditioner (see para 0028-0031); the power supply system further includes a third switch configured to switch between electrically connecting and disconnecting the power conditioner to and from the power converter (see para 0029-0033 fig.3); and open the third switch. (see para 0029-0033)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to PV power conditioner and third switch of Lam in the combined system of Mille and Hayashi to allow the battery to be charged with AC power from the power conditioner and to disconnect the power conditioner when the measured value is greater than threshold to improve source management using known techniques.
Re Claim 3: combination of Miller and Hayashi teaches invention set forth above, Miller further teaches wherein: a power supply system including a current breaker, switching elements, measuring instruments, and a controller configured to control switch states based on measured electrical values (see Para 0040-0047, 0050) closing and opening multiple switches in coordinated fashion based on measured electrical conditions (see para0041, 0046-0047); Hayashi further teaches a power converter configured to exchange alternating current power with a power storage device (see para 0027, 0035-0037), an AC switch (semiconductor switch) configured to selectively connect and disconnect an AC source from the power converter (see para 0028-0034), and controller-based coordinated switch control based on measured electrical values and threshold comparisons. (see para 0065, 0070); turning switches on or off when measured values satisfy a threshold condition detecting an AC voltage VI and comparing it to a lower limit voltage (i.e., a threshold); when the AC voltage VI is greater than the lower limit voltage, the switch control unit turns on each AC switch (Para [0065]). Hayashi further teaches that when the AC voltage VI drops below the lower limit voltage, the controller turns off each AC switch (Para [0070])).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the power converter and AC switch of Hayashi in the power supply system of Miller to enable controlled battery charging from a breaker-supplied AC source while coordinating multiple switch states, thereby improving flexibility and safety of power routing.
Lam further teaches the battery being mounted on a vehicle (see para 0012, 0031, 0044).
Re Claim 4: combination of Miller and Hayashi teaches invention set forth above, Combination further teaches wherein the power supply system is configured to open the first switch and close the second switch (see Miller 0041-0046, 0047-0050) when the battery is connected to the power converter (see Hayashi para 0027, 0035-0037), the measured value is equal to or less than the threshold (see Miller para 0040-0047),
Lam further teaches the battery being mounted on a vehicle (see para 0012, 0031, 0044); a current electricity rate is higher than an electricity rate when charging of electricity currently charged to the vehicle has been performed (see para 0039-0041 Fig.1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention incorporate the electricity rate-based control logic of Lam in the combined system of Mille and Hayashi in order to selectively open the first switch and close second switch when measured value is equal to or less than threshold band current electricity rate is higher than prior rate thereby reducing cost improving power routing efficiency.
Re Claim 5: combination of Miller, Hayashi and Lam teaches invention set forth above, Miller further teaches a power supply system including a measuring instrument configured to measure electrical values and a controller configured to compare the measured value to a threshold and control switch states accordingly (see para 0042, 0046, 0046) Miller teaches dynamic reconfiguration of switch states, including closing a switch that was previously open and opening another switch that was previously closed, in response to a measured value exceeding a predetermined condition (see para 0041, 0046–0047, 0050).
Hayashi further teaches a power converter connected to a power storage device (battery) and controlled switching between AC power paths while the battery is connected to the converter (see para 0027, 0035-0037); controller-driven switch control based on measured electrical values and threshold conditions, including opening and closing AC switches during operation of the converter (see para 0065, 0070); turning switches on or off when measured values satisfy a threshold condition detecting an AC voltage VI and comparing it to a lower limit voltage (i.e., a threshold); when the AC voltage VI is greater than the lower limit voltage, the switch control unit turns on each AC switch (Para [0065]). Hayashi further teaches that when the AC voltage VI drops below the lower limit voltage, the controller turns off each AC switch (Para [0070])).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the power converter and bidirectional power flow control of Hayashi in the measured-value-based switch-control system of Miller to control the switching states based on detected electrical conditions thereby enabling controller redirection of power between source and loads.
Lam teaches the battery being mounted on a vehicle (see para 0012, 0031, 0044).
Re Claim 6: combination of Miller, Hayashi and Lam teaches invention set forth above, Miller further teaches wherein the power supply system is configured to keep the first switch closed and keep the second switch open (see para 0041-0046, 0047, 0050) when the measured value from the measuring instrument is greater than the threshold (see para 0041-0046, 0047, 0050), the first switch being closed, and the second switch being open (see para 0046-0050); Hayashi further teaches with the Battery being connected to the power converter (see para 0027, 0035–0037; FIG. 1); Lam further teaches the battery being mounted on a vehicle (see para 0012, 0031, 0044).
Conclusion
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849