DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the Application No. 19/076,263 filled on 03/11/2025.
Claims 1-10 are presented for examination.
Examiner comments
Claim 1 cites the element “control module” configured to control the camera device, where the control module is a generic place holder. However, claim 3 further defines that the control module comprises an embedded board. Therefore, the control module is a hardware and is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 cites the phrase “the mode”, where the claim cites “first mode” and “second mode” in the previous line. It is not clear whether the mode is referred to first mode, or the second mode or another mode in second mode. Further clarification and/or claim amendment is required to overcome this rejection. For examination purpose, the examiner considers as “when the camera device is operated in the second mode, the camera device is configured to transmit image information…”.
Claims 2-4 are also rejected by the virtue of their dependency on rejected base claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “ToF module” and “RGB camera module” in Claim 7; have has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use a generic placeholder “means for” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/ columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching
all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang et al. (EP 3696135A1, attached English translated NPL document is used for claim mapping) (hereinafter Lang) in view of Holz (US2018304468).
Claim 1. Lang teaches a camera device mounted on an object (See Fig. 1B “forklift 10 [i.e., object] is equipped with first Camera 12 [i.e., camera device]”, and/or second camera 14), the camera device comprising:
a body (See Fig. 3A-3C, “first camera 12 having a structure, i.e., body’); and
a control module located in the body and configured to control the camera device to be operated in one of a first mode or a second mode based on input information (See Para. [0033], “The first camera can then also capture image data of the side of the goods using the extended/folded-out mirrors [i.e., first mode]”, and/or see Para. [0037], “a first camera system with a first camera configured to detect a side of goods to be picked up facing the forklift truck; a controller configured to output a first activation signal to the first camera when the distance detected by the first sensor falls below a minimum distance; a transmission system configured to transmit the image data [i.e., second mode] of the goods captured by the first camera to a data processing system; a”), and
wherein based on the mode of the camera device being operated in the second mode, the camera device is configured to transmit image information acquired by the camera device to another device connected to the object for controlling the object (See Fig. 1B, Para. [0060], [0088], “the forklift 10 can include a transfer unit 22, which can transmit the image data captured by the first camera 12 of the forklift 10 to a data processing system 24 for identifying the goods W. Further, See Fig. 1B, “the data processing system 24 of the forklift being designed to be controlled by the first camera 12 to analyze captured image data in order to identify the goods).
Nevertheless, Lang fails to teach, wherein based on the camera device being operated in the first mode, the camera device is configured to control the object.
However, Holz teaches, wherein based on the camera device being operated in the first mode, the camera device is configured to control the object (See Figs. 3-4, Para. [0078]- [0079], discloses “the robotic device is equipped with ToF 450, RGB 452, Device sensors 338 and Drives 340, where the drives 340 an include one or more drive controllers and/or actuators that provide functionality for moving robotic device(s) 120”, and/or see Para. [0070], “onboard sensors 322 can include one or more navigation lasers, laser scanners, cameras, and/or other sensors for navigating and/or controlling onboard system 320.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the camera of Lang with a device sensor and drives as taught by Holz in order to provide functionality in a camera to move forklift more efficiently loading/unloading goods as the camera captures surround images in order to identify the goods and empty container.
Claim 4. The teaching of Lang as modified by the teaching of Holz teaches the camera device of claim 1, but fails to teach the method further comprising: a time of flight (ToF) camera module (See Lang, Para. [0064], “the second camera can comprise a 3D camera which uses a time-of-flight (TOF)”. Additionally, see Holz, Para. [0080], “robotic device architecture 400 can include one or more cameras, including but not limited to, ToF camera 450 and RGB camera 452, where the one or more cameras can include one or more still cameras and/or one or more video cameras”); and a red, green, blue (RGB) camera module (See Holz, Para. [0078], “cameras (e.g., Time-of-Flight (ToF) cameras, Red-Green-Blue (RGB) cameras, thermal cameras)”) , wherein the image information is acquired by the ToF camera module and the RGB camera module ( See Lang, Para. [0064], “the second camera can comprise a 3D camera which uses a time-of-flight (TOF) method to determine the dimensions of the product W during its recording”, and/or see Para. [0088], “a first camera system with a first camera (12) which is configured to capture a first side (S1) of a product (W) to be recorded; a second camera system comprising a second camera (14) configured to capture a second side of the goods during or after they have been picked up by the forklift, wherein the first side differs from the second side”. Additionally, see Holz, Para. [0087], “cameras 606 may be visual cameras (e.g., RGB cameras) that can capture color images of the environment.”, Para. [0032], “Cameras or other types of sensors may measure the distance to points by the time (or phase) difference between an emitted and received light pulse (or wave).”).
Claim 5 is a method claim corresponding to the device claim 1 and having substantially the same technical features as claim 1, differing only in the category of invention. Therefore, the claim 5 is rejected for the same rationales set forth as above for claim 1.
Claim 6. The teaching of Lang as modified by the teaching of Holz teaches the method of claim 5,further comprising transmitting image information acquired by the camera device to the another device based on the determined mode being the second mode (See Lang, Patra. [0060], “transmit the image data captured by the camera to a data processing system 24”, and/or Para. [0088], “transmit the image data of the goods captured by the first camera and by the second camera respectively to a data processing system (24) for the purpose of identifying the goods.”).
Claim 7 is a method claim corresponding to the device claim 4 and having substantially the same technical features as claim 4, differing only in the category of invention. Therefore, the claim 7 is rejected for the same rationales set forth as above for claim 4.
Claim 8. The method of claim 5, further comprising providing a user interface (UI) for controlling the object based on the determined mode being the first mode (See Holz, Para. [0062]-[0063], “Logistics interface to command robotic device for moving pallet from one location to another”, Para. [0064]-[0065], “a user interface to provide access to tools for monitoring and managing system 300.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Lang with an interface as taught by Holz in order issue a user command to control robotic device to perform task.
Claim 10. The teaching of Lang as modified by the teaching of Holz teaches the method of The method of wherein determining the mode of the camera device is performed by a control module of the camera device; and wherein controlling the object is performed by the control module based on the determined mode being the first mode (See Holz, Figs. 3-4, Para. [0078]- [0079], discloses “the robotic device is equipped with ToF 450, RGB 452, Device sensors 338 and Drives 340, where the drives 340 an include one or more drive controllers and/or actuators that provide functionality for moving robotic device(s) 120”, and/or see Para. [0070], “onboard sensors 322 can include one or more navigation lasers, laser scanners, cameras, and/or other sensors for navigating and/or controlling onboard system 320.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the camera of Lang with a device sensor and drives as taught by Holz in order to provide functionality in a camera to move forklift more efficiently loading/unloading goods as the camera captures surround images in order to identify the goods and empty container.
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang et al. (EP 3696135A1, attached English translated NPL document is used for claim mapping) (hereinafter Lang) in view of Holz (US20180304468) and further in view of Hattori et al. (US 2020158114 A, attached English translated NPL document is used for claim mapping) (hereinafter Hattori).
Claim 2. The teaching of Lang as modified by the teaching of Holz teaches the camera device of claim 1, but fails to teach the camera device that further comprising a first port and a second port, wherein the input information includes information indicating that a cable is connected to at least one of the first port or the second port.
However, Hattori teaches, the camera device that further comprising a first port and a second port, wherein the input information includes information indicating that a cable is connected to at least one of the first port or the second port (See Para. [0026], “detachable connecting cable for outputting image information captured by the wide-area camera to an external source”, and/or see Para. [0093], [0098], “the connecting cable 7 is a cable for outputting image information captured by the hemispherical camera 2 to a recording device 6, which is separately and detachably equipped. One end of the cable is equipped with a cable-side connector 7A for connecting to the imaging device-side connector 32, which is equipped on the main body 3 of the imaging device 1”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Lang in view of Holz with camera having port configured to connect a cable for output image information as taught by Hattori, so the cable can be easily removed and replaced when there is a break in the wire and providing peace of mind in the event of wire breakage.
Claim 9 is a method claim corresponding to the device claim 2 and having substantially the same technical features as claim 2, differing only in the category of invention. Therefore, the claim 9 is rejected for the same rationales set forth as above for claim 2.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang et al. (EP 3696135A1, attached English translated NPL document is used for claim mapping) (hereinafter Lang) in view of Holz (US20180304468) and further in view of Lam et al. (US 2025/0371885 A1) (hereinafter Lam).
Claim 3. The teaching of Lang as modified by the teaching of Holz teaches the camera device of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the control module comprises an embedded board.
However, Lam teaches, wherein the control module comprises an embedded board (See Para. [0025], [0040], “the processor is embedded in the camera”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified the teaching of Lang in view of Holz with a camera where the controller/processor is embedded in the camera as taught by Lam for a design choice and additionally, it would be more convenient to attach the camera with forklift more conveniently.
Conclusion
/B M M HANNAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657