DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichols (US 2024/0058935) in view of Huizhou (CN105522066A) and Devine (US 2014/0069717).
Regarding claim 1, Nichols discloses a robotic system for repairing or maintaining an electrical component connected to a conductor (rotary tools for operating on energized power lines may be used to manipulate wire ties wrapped around the conductors and to clean the conductors; Abstract), the system comprising:
a sensor package configured to sense at least one parameter (a remote capture device 210 to capture sensory information, including but not limited to three-dimensional information, audio information, or other sensory information captured by any of the sensors 220; Para. [0055]);
a robot (a robot unit 302; Fig. 3; Para. [0065]), comprising:
one or more robotic manipulator arms pivotally connected to the robot (robot unit 302 comprises two utility arms 330a, 330b with pivotable joints 334 connecting the arms to the robot unit; Fig. 3; Para. [0070]); and
a logic unit (fig, 2; computer 260) configured to control the one or more robotic manipulator arms (controller 224 is a processor that receives instructions and other information from the computer 260 and relays commands to the motion controller 230 to control the six degree of freedom movement of the utility arms 33a, 330b; Paras. [0055]-[0056]) to perform a repair or maintenance operation (the robot unit's 302 utility arms 330a, 330b may receive movement instructions from the computer 260 to perform repair and maintenance work; Paras. [0069]-[0070]);
wherein the system is mountable to an upper end of a truck or a crane boom (robot unit 302 is affixed at the end of a boom assembly 114; Fig. 1; Para. [0065]).
Nichols fails to explicitly disclose a mechanical translator configured to position the robot along a slide rail; and at least one insulator configured to releasably secure the conductor away from the electrical component; and wherein the one or more robotic manipulator arms are positioned downwardly relative to the slide rail.
Huizhou is in the field of a suspension type mechanical hand (Abstract) and teaches a mechanical translator configured to position the robot along a slide rail (first driving device 220 drives the first gear 210 so that the slider 200 slides on the first slide rail 120 to position the arm rod 400 along the length of the first slide rail 120; Paras. [0042], [0046]; Fig. 2); and wherein the one or more robotic manipulator arms are positioned downwardly relative to the slide rail (the arm rod 400 is positioned downwardly from slide rail 120; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the robotic system of Nichols to include positioning the robot downwardly from a slide rail as taught by Huizhou. The motivation being to be able to adjust the position of the robot without having to move the entire boom arm supporting the robot.
Devine is in the field of a boom mountable robotic arm for temporarily supporting an elongate conductor (Abstract) and teaches at least one insulator configured to releasably secure the conductor away from the electrical component (the elongate conductor 11 can be captured within a conductor retainer 44 to then be raised well above the insulator 16 on the tower 14, and when the work is completed the the conductor retainer 44 can return the elongate conductor 11 to the insulator 16; Figs. 5-6, Paras. [0060]-[0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the robotic system of Nichols to include an insulator for securing the conductor as taught by Devine. The motivation being to be able to temporarily reposition the energized conductors away from the working area to make the working area safer.
Regarding Claim 2, Nichols discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the sensor package includes one or more of: a camera, a proximity sensor, a laser sensor, a Global Positioning System (GPS) sensor, a gyroscope sensor, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor, or an accelerometer (the remote capturing device 210 is provided with sensors 220 that may comprise a gyroscope, an accelerometer, a voltage detector, magnetometers, a light emitter, and rotary encoder, remote capturing device 210 may also include a camera 212 and three-dimensional camera 216; Paras. [0048], [0050]).
Regarding Claim 3, Nichols discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one parameter includes one or more of:
a location associated with one or more of: the electrical component, the conductor, the robot, or an obstacle;
a velocity associated with the robot; an acceleration associated with the robot; an orientation associated with the robot;
a distance between two of: the electrical component, the conductor, the robot, or the obstacle; or an electromagnetic field change (remote capture device 210 may comprise at least one sensor 220 configured as an electricity sensor for determining whether a cable or power line has electricity running through it (electromagnetic fields); Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 4, Nichols discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the logic unit is further configured to determine, based on the sensed at least one parameter, one or more path plans for the robot (robot 302 receives movement instructions from a computer 260 to position a camera mount 310 as well as the robotic utility arms 330a, 330b based on imaging and sensor data; Paras. [0069]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 5, Huizhou discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the mechanical translator is configured to position the robot at a position along the slide rail (first driving device 220 drives the first gear 210 so that the slider 200 slides on the first slide rail 120 to position the arm rod 400 along the length of the first slide rail 120; Paras. [0042], [0046]; Fig. 2).
Since Nichols already disclose position the robot at a position along the slide rail based on the determined one or more path plans it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that Nichols as modified by Huizhou teach the mechanical translator configured to position the robot at a position along the slide rail based on the determined one or more path plans
Regarding claim 6, Nichols discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the one or more robotic manipulator arms are configured to connect to an effector, and the effector includes one or more of: a gripper, a snipper, a wrench, pliers, a hand tool, a bond-on wand, a claw, or a heat source (fig. 1; para 0043, 0045).
Regarding claim 10, Huizhou discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the slide rail is linear, bowed, curved, or non-linear (Paras. [0042], [0046]; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Huizhou discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the mechanical translator is further configured to position the robot about and along a vertical axis orthogonal to the slide rail (Paras. [0042], [0046]; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Nichols discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the repair or maintenance operation includes one or more of:
releasing the electrical component from the conductor (para 0009, 0012, 0013, 0043, 0045, etc);
replacing the electrical component with a new electrical component (para 0009, 0012, 0013, 0043, 0045, etc); or
securing the electrical component to the conductor (para 0009, 0012, 0013, 0043, 0045, etc).
Regarding claim 13, Nichols discloses the system of claim 12, wherein releasing the electrical component includes untying a tie wire or unclamping the electrical component (para 0009, 0012, 0013, 0043, 0045, etc).
Regarding claim 14, Nichols discloses the system of claim 12, wherein securing the electrical component includes tying a tie wire or clamping the electrical component (para 0009, 0012, 0013, 0043, 0045, etc).
Regarding claim 15, Nichols discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more robotic manipulator arms have seven or more degrees of freedom (para 0009, 0012, 0013, 0043, 0045, etc).
Regarding claim 16, Nichols discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising:
a coupler configured to mount the system to the upper end of the truck or the crane boom (para 0009, 0012, 0013, 0043, 0045, etc); and
a third insulator configured to electrically insulate the system from the upper end of the truck or the crane boom, wherein the third insulator is located between the system and the coupler (para 0009, 0012, 0013, 0043, 0045, etc).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichols (US 2024/0058935) in view of Huizhou (CN105522066A).
Regarding claim 17, Nichols discloses a method for repairing or maintaining an electrical component connected to a conductor (rotary tools for operating on energized power lines may be used to manipulate wire ties wrapped around the conductors and to clean the conductors; Abstract), comprising:
sensing, using a sensor package, at least one parameter (a remote capture device 210 to capture sensory information, including but not limited to three dimensional information, audio information, or other sensory information captured by any of the sensors 220; Para. [0055]);
determining, using at least one processor, one or more path plans for a robot based on the sensed at least one parameter (robot 302 receives movement instructions from a computer 260 to position a camera mount 310 as well as the robotic utility arms 330a, 330b based on imaging and sensor data; Paras. [0069]-[0070]), wherein the robot comprises one or more robotic manipulator arms (robot unit 302 comprises two utility arms 330a, 330b with pivotable joints 334 connecting the arms to the robot unit; Fig. 3; Para. [0070]);
positioning the robot at a position based on the determined one or more path plans (robot 302 receives movement instructions from a computer 260 to position the robotic utility arms 330a, 330b; Paras. [0069]-[0070]); and
performing, using the one or more robotic manipulator arms, a repair or maintenance operation associated with the electrical component (the robot unit's 302 utility arms 330a, 330b receive movement instructions from the computer 260 to perform repair and maintenance work; Paras. [0069]-[0070]).
Nichols fails to explicitly disclose positioning, using a mechanical translator, the robot at a position along a slide rail; wherein the one or more robotic manipulator arms are positioned downwardly relative to the slide rail.
Huizhou teaches positioning, using a mechanical translator, the robot at a position along a slide rail (first driving device 220 drives the first gear 210 so that the slider 200 slides on the first slide rail 120 to position the arm rod 400 along the length of the first slide rail 120; Paras. [0042], [0046]; Fig. 2), wherein the one or more robotic manipulator arms are positioned downwardly relative to the slide rail (the arm rod 400 is positioned downwardly from slide rail 120; Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the robotic system of Nichols to include positioning the robot downwardly from a slide rail as taught by Huizhou. The motivation being to be able to adjust the position of the robot without having to move the entire boom arm supporting the robot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nichols, (US 2024/0058935) in view of Huizhou (CN 105522066 ) as applied to claim 17 and further in view of Qingdao (CN 112366590).
Regarding Claim 18, Nichols discloses the method of claim 17, but Nichols fails to explicitly disclose:
securing the conductor to at least one insulator; and
moving the at least one insulator away from the electrical component, wherein the at least one insulator is positioned downwardly relative to the slide rail.
However, Qingdao is in the field of a replacement tool and method for live-line work (Abstract) and teaches securing the conductor to at least one insulator {bow line hooks 7 are included on the insulating arms 3 to secure a bow line (conductor); Paras. [0048], [0050]; Fig. 1}; and
moving the at least one insulator away from the electrical component (the bow lines are fixed to the bow line hooks 7 and a crane is used to lift the insulators 3, hooks 7 and bow lines to a safe position above the electrical crossarms; Paras. [0064], [0067]), wherein the at least one insulator is positioned downwardly relative to the slide rail (the insulating arms 3 are positioned downwardly relative to the horizontal cross arm 2; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Nichols to include securing the conductor to a insulator to move the conductor as taught by Qingdao. The motivation being to be able to reposition an energized conductor line to a safer position above the working area.
Regarding Claim 19, Nichols the method of claim 18, wherein the repair or maintenance operation includes one or more of:
releasing the electrical component from the conductor;
replacing the electrical component with a new electrical component; or
securing the electrical component to the conductor (robot unit 302 is configured to unwind wire tie 440 from the conductor 438 and remove the wire tic from the insulator 532, releasing the conductor 438 from the insulator 532; Fig. 5C; Paras. [0093]-[0094]).
Regarding Claim 20, Nichols discloses the method of claim 19. wherein releasing the electrical component from the conductor includes:
unwrapping, using the one or more robotic manipulator arms, a first end of a tie wire from the conductor (utility arm 330a can be provided with a rotary tool 500 to unwind a first end of the wire tie 440 from the conductor 438; Paras. [0070], [0090]); and
unwrapping, using the one or more robotic manipulator arms, a second end of the tic wire from the conductor (utility arm 330b can be provided with a rotary tool 500 to unwind a second end of the wire tie 440 from the conductor 438; Paras. [0070], [0090]).
Regarding Claim 21, Nichols discloses the method of claim 19, wherein releasing the electrical component from the conductor includes:
cutting, using the one or more robotic manipulator arms, a tie wire securing the electrical component to the conductor (the rotary tool 500 may be provided with a cutter 528 for cutting wire ties 440 made from softer materials while manipulating the wire ties to release the conductor 438; Para. [0092]).
Regarding Claim 22, Nichols discloses the method of claim 19, wherein securing the electrical component to the conductor includes:
grasping, using the one or more robotic manipulator arms, a tie wire comprising a first end, a middle portion, and a second end (Paras. [0070], [0090], [0093]-[0094]);
wrapping, using the one or more robotic manipulator arms, the middle portion of the tie wire around the electrical component (Paras. [0070], [0090], [0093]-[0094]);
wrapping, using the one or more robotic manipulator arms, the first end of the tie wire around the conductor (Paras. [0070], [0090], [0093]-[0094]); and
wrapping, using the one or more robotic manipulator arms, the second end of the tie wire around the conductor (Paras. [0070], [0090], [0093]-[0094]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9, 23-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not disclose:
7. The system of claim 1, further comprising a beam pivotally mounted to the upper end of the truck or the crane boom, wherein:the beam is connected to and parallel to the slide rail, andthe at least one insulator is connected to the beam and positioned downwardly relative to the beam.
8. The system of claim 7, wherein:the beam is connected to the slide rail using at least one second insulator configured to electrically insulate the beam from the slide rail, andthe beam and the slide rail are offset by a length associated with the at least one second insulator.
9. The system of claim 7, wherein the beam includes one or more extendable telescopic arms configured to adjust a length of the beam.
23, A robotic system for repairing or maintaining an electrical component connected to a conductor, the system comprising:
a beam configured to be connected to an upper end of a truck or a crane boom; and
three insulator assemblies, each connected to the beam and comprising:
a first insulator connected at a first end to the beam and positioned downwardly with respect to the beam;
a robot connected at a first end of the robot to a second end of the beam, the robot comprising:
one or more robotic manipulator arms pivotally connected to the robot; and
a logic unit configured to control the one or more robotic manipulator arms to perform a repair or maintenance operation;
a second insulator connected at a first end of the second insulator to a second end of the robot; and
a wire cage connected to a second end of the second insulator and configured to releasably secure the conductor,
wherein each of the three insulator assemblies corresponds to a different conductor of a three phase circuit.
24. The system of claim 23, wherein the repair or maintenance operation includes one or more of:releasing the electrical component from the conductor;replacing the electrical component with a new electrical component; or securing the electrical component to the conductor.
25. The system of claim 24, wherein releasing the electrical component includes untying a tie wire or unclamping the electrical component.
26. The system of claim 24, wherein securing the electrical component includes tying a tie wire or clamping the electrical component.
27. The system of claim 23, wherein the beam is an extendable telescopic beam.
Conclusion
The prior art, Kotlaba (US 11952746) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657