DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to application no. 19/076,402 filed on 03/11/2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA ..
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12284376 B2 in view of DESHPANDE et al. (US 20160191926 A1).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the cited pat. No. ‘376 teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 except the limitation “wherein the one or more HRD parameters indicate information related to a coded picture buffer (CPB) removal delay of the decoding unit.”
However, DESHPANDE teaches wherein the one or more HRD parameters indicate information related to a coded picture buffer (CPB) removal delay of the decoding unit (¶0131-0132: The method also includes determining, when the picture timing SEI message does not comprise the common decoding unit CPB removal delay flag, a separate decoding unit CPB removal delay parameter for each decoding unit in the access unit). Note that the CPB removal delay parameter correspond to HRD parameter, see DESHPANDE ¶0104, 0116-0017.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified encoder in claim 1 of ‘376 to include “wherein the one or more HRD parameters indicate information related to a coded picture buffer (CPB) removal delay of the decoding unit,” as taught by DESHPANDE, in order to specify an amount of sub-picture clock ticks to wait after removal from the CPB of the last decoding unit before removing from the CPB (DESHPANDE ¶0102).
Claims 2-4 recite the limitation analogous to claim 1, and are rejected due to the same reason set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Table 1 below shows the comparison between the current claims and the claims of pat. No. ‘376.
TABLE 1
Current claims
Pat. No. US 12284376 B2 claims
1. An encoder comprising: circuitry; and memory coupled to the circuitry, wherein in operation, the circuitry: encodes, for each of decoding units per temporal sub-layer, one or more hypothetical reference decoder (HRD) parameters into an HRD-related supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message, the one or more HRD parameters being one or more parameters for an HRD, the one or more parameters being related to a decoding unit, the HRD-related SEI message being an SEI message related to the HRD; and generates a bitstream including the HRD-related SEI message,
1. An encoder comprising: circuitry; and memory coupled to the circuitry, wherein in operation, the circuitry: encodes, for each of decoding units per temporal sub-layer, one or more hypothetical reference decoder (HRD) parameters into an HRD-related supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message, the one or more HRD parameters being one or more parameters for an HRD, the one or more parameters being related to a decoding unit, the HRD-related SEI message being an SEI message related to the HRD.
2. A decoder comprising: circuitry; and memory coupled to the circuitry, wherein in operation, the circuitry: decodes, for each of decoding units per temporal sub-layer, one or more hypothetical reference decoder (HRD) parameters from an HRD-related supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message, the one or more HRD parameters being one or more parameters for an HRD, the one or more parameters being related to a decoding unit, the HRD-related SEI message being an SEI message related to the HRD,
2. A decoder comprising: circuitry; and memory coupled to the circuitry, wherein in operation, the circuitry: decodes, for each of decoding units per temporal sub-layer, one or more hypothetical reference decoder (HRD) parameters from an HRD-related supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message, the one or more HRD parameters being one or more parameters for an HRD, the one or more parameters being related to a decoding unit, the HRD-related SEI message being an SEI message related to the HRD.
3. An encoding method comprising: encoding, for each of decoding units per temporal sub-layer, one or more hypothetical reference decoder (HRD) parameters into an HRD-related supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message, the one or more HRD parameters being one or more parameters for an HRD, the one or more parameters being related to a decoding unit, the HRD-related SEI message being an SEI message related to the HRD; and generating a bitstream including the HRD-related SEI message,
3. An encoding method comprising: encoding, for each of decoding units per temporal sub-layer, one or more hypothetical reference decoder (HRD) parameters into an HRD-related supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message, the one or more HRD parameters being one or more parameters for an HRD, the one or more parameters being related to a decoding unit, the HRD-related SEI message being an SEI message related to the HRD.
4. A decoding method comprising: decoding, for each of decoding units per temporal sub-layer, one or more hypothetical reference decoder (HRD) parameters from an HRD-related supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message, the one or more HRD parameters being one or more parameters for an HRD, the one or more parameters being related to a decoding unit, the HRD-related SEI message being an SEI message related to the HRD,
4. A decoding method comprising: decoding, for each of decoding units per temporal sub-layer, one or more hypothetical reference decoder (HRD) parameters from an HRD-related supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message, the one or more HRD parameters being one or more parameters for an HRD, the one or more parameters being related to a decoding unit, the HRD-related SEI message being an SEI message related to the HRD.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DESHPANDE et al. (US 20160191926 A1) in view of SEO (US 20170201751 A1).
Regarding claim 1, DESHPANDE teaches the claim limitation as follows:
An encoder comprising: circuitry; and memory coupled to the circuitry (FIGS. 1A: 0229-0230: Electronic device A 102a includes an encoder 104...input picture(s) 106…may be retrieved from memory and/or may be received from another electronic device. See FIGS 6A-6B: an encoder 604 ¶0284-0285: the source 622 may include image sensors, memory…), wherein in operation, the circuitry: encodes, for each of decoding units (¶0108, 0131-0132: The electronic device also determines…a separate decoding unit CPB removal delay parameter for each decoding unit in the access unit), one or more hypothetical reference decoder (HRD) parameters into an HRD-related supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message the one or more HRD parameters being one or more parameters for an HRD (¶0102-0104, 0251: The electronic device may also generate… a picture timing SEI message including a CPB removal delay parameter…¶0133, 0138-0139: In some configurations, the systems and methods disclosed herein may describe signaling sub-picture based Hypothetical Reference Decoder (HRD) parameters. For instance, the systems and methods disclosed herein describe modification to a picture timing Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message). Note that the CPB removal delay parameter correspond to HRD parameter, see also DESHPANDE ¶0116-0117, 0225, the one or more parameters being related to a decoding unit (¶0102-0104, 0131-0132: decoding unit CPB removal delay parameter), the HRD-related SEI message being an SEI message related to the HRD (¶0102-0104, 0133, 0138-0139: The electronic device may also generate… a picture timing SEI message including a CPB removal delay parameter…). Note that the CPB removal delay parameter correspond to HRD parameter, see also DESHPANDE ¶0116-0117, 0225; and generates a bitstream including the HRD-related SEI message (¶0102-0104: The electronic device may also generate… a picture timing SEI message including a CPB removal delay parameter…¶0133, 0138-0139: The systems and methods disclosed herein describe electronic devices for sending a message and buffering a bitstream…In some configurations, the systems and methods disclosed herein may describe signaling sub-picture based Hypothetical Reference Decoder (HRD) parameters. For instance, the systems and methods disclosed herein describe modification to a picture timing Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message), wherein the one or more HRD parameters indicate information related to a coded picture buffer (CPB) removal delay of the decoding unit (¶0102-0104, 0131-0132: i.e., decoding unit CPB removal delay parameter).
DESHPANDE does not explicitly disclose encod[ing]…per temporal sub-layer.
SEO teaches encod[ing]…per temporal sub-layer (¶0084: The bitstream processor 410 may receive a bitstream encoded by the video encoder 300. ¶0162: the minimum buffer size that a decoder allocates for decoding a particular bitstream may be signaled by a parameter, which may be set for each temporal sub-layer in the sequence parameter set).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DESHPANDE’s image encoder by incorporating the teaching of SEO as noted above, in order to reduce the picture buffer size as taught by SEO (¶0169).
Regarding claim 2, DESHPANDE teaches the claim limitation as follows:
A decoder comprising: circuitry; and memory coupled to the circuitry (FIGS. 1A, 7A-7B: ¶0241, 0300-0302: a decoder 712 comprising Coded Picture Buffer (CPB) 120, 720) , wherein in operation, the circuitry: decodes, for each of decoding units one or more hypothetical reference decoder (HRD) parameters from an HRD-related supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message, the one or more HRD parameters being one or more parameters for an HRD (¶0132, 0239-0240: The decoder 112 may receive a message (e.g., picture timing SEI message or other message)…the decoder 112 may determine a separate decoding unit CPB removal delay parameter for each decoding unit in the access unit…¶0133, 0138-0139: In some configurations, the systems and methods disclosed herein may describe signaling sub-picture based Hypothetical Reference Decoder (HRD) parameters. For instance, the systems and methods disclosed herein describe modification to a picture timing Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message). Note that the CPB removal delay parameter correspond to HRD parameter, see also DESHPANDE ¶0116-0017, 0225, the one or more parameters being related to a decoding unit (¶0131-0132, 0239: decoding unit CPB removal delay parameter), the HRD-related SEI message being an SEI message related to the HRD (¶0132, 0239-0240: The decoder 112 may receive a message (e.g., picture timing SEI message or other message)…the decoder 112 may determine a separate decoding unit CPB removal delay parameter for each decoding unit in the access unit…¶0133, 0138-0139: In some configurations, the systems and methods disclosed herein may describe signaling sub-picture based Hypothetical Reference Decoder (HRD) parameters. For instance, the systems and methods disclosed herein describe modification to a picture timing Supplemental Enhancement Information (SEI) message). Note that the CPB removal delay parameter correspond to HRD parameter, see also DESHPANDE ¶0116-0117, 0225, wherein the one or more HRD parameters indicate information related to a coded picture buffer (CPB) removal delay of the decoding unit (¶0102-0104, 0131-0132: i.e., decoding unit CPB removal delay parameter).
DESHPANDE does not explicitly disclose decod[ing]…per temporal sub-layer.
However, SEO teaches decod[ing]…per temporal sub-layer (¶0084: The bitstream processor 410 may receive a bitstream encoded by the video encoder 300. ¶0162: the minimum buffer size that a decoder allocates for decoding a particular bitstream may be signaled by a parameter, which may be set for each temporal sub-layer in the sequence parameter set).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DESHPANDE’s image decoder by incorporating the teaching of SEO as noted above, in order to reduce the picture buffer size as taught by SEO (¶0169).
Regarding claim 3, the claim is drawn to an encoding method claim and recites the limitation analogous to claim 1, and is rejected due to the same reason set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, the claim is drawn to an encoding method claim and recites the limitation analogous to claim 2, and is rejected due to the same reason set forth above with respect to claim 2.
The following are the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ramasubramonian et al. (US 20150103884 A1) describes “SIGNALING FOR SUB-DECODED PICTURE BUFFER (SUB-DPB) BASED DPB OPERATIONS IN VIDEO CODING” Title
Wang (US 20150373373 A1) describes “SIGNALING HRD PARAMETERS FOR BITSTREAM PARTITIONS”
Conclusion
/NATHNAEL AYNALEM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488