DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/076,451 (‘451) in view of Pervan (US 2009/0031662):
Re claim 1 of the pending application and claim 1 of ‘451, each discloses a plank comprising: a composite sheet having a planar upper surface, four sides, a lower surface, and an overall thickness, and said composite sheet comprising at least one base layer, wherein said at least one base layer comprises at least one polymeric material and at least one filler, wherein opposite sides of the composite sheet comprise a first tongue on a first side and a first groove having a groove deck on the opposite second side, wherein the first tongue and first groove have complementary shapes to each other to be interlockingly engageable with a corresponding groove or tongue on an adjacent plank, and wherein when said first tongue is interlockingly engaged with said corresponding groove on said adjacent plank, a first clearance exists between i) a tongue distal end having an upper side that is slanted or sloped relative to the planar upper surface and ii) a groove deck of said corresponding groove, and a second clearance exists between i) a distal edge of the lower lip of said corresponding groove and ii) a tongue channel wall,
but ‘451 fails to claim wherein the composite sheet comprises a laminate comprising a printed design located above said at least one base layer.
However, Pervan discloses wherein the composite sheet ([0106]) comprises a laminate ([0036]) comprising a printed design ([0036]) located above ([0014]) said at least one base layer ([0014]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify the plank of ‘428 wherein the composite sheet comprises a laminate comprising a printed design located above said at least one base layer as disclosed by Pervan in order to increase aesthetic appeal or to resemble natural floor such as wood planks, ceramic surfaces, brick, stone, and the like ([0014]).
Re claim 2 of the pending application and claim 2 of ‘451, each discloses a print layer.
Re claim 3 of the pending application and claim 3 of ‘451, each discloses PVC film.
Re claim 4 of the pending application and claim 4 of ‘451, each discloses at least one wear layer.
Re claim 5 of the pending application and claim 5 of ‘451, each discloses simulating natural wood, stone or brick.
Re claim 6 of the pending application and claim 6 of ‘451, each discloses wherein the base layer comprises a homogenous blend of a thermoplastic polymeric material and an inorganic filler in sheet form, wherein the thermoplastic polymeric material is a polyvinyl chloride.
Re claim 7 of the pending application and claim 7 of ‘451, each discloses wherein said at least one base layer comprises from about 50 wt% to about 90 wt% inorganic filler.
Re claim 8 of the pending application and claim 8 of ‘451, each discloses wherein the inorganic filler is one or more of limestone, clay, talc, silicates, and aluminates.
Re claim 9 of the pending application and claim 9 of ‘451, each discloses wherein the inorganic filler is in the form of particles.
Re claim 10 of the pending application and claim 10 of ‘451, each discloses wherein said at least one base layer comprises a stabilizer.
Re claim 11 of the pending application and claim 11 of ‘451, each discloses wherein the plank is a resilient type flooring.
Re claim 12 of the pending application and claim 12 of ‘451, each discloses wherein the molecular weight of the polymeric material is from 10,000 to 1,000,000, based on weight average molecular weight.
Re claim 13 of the pending application and claim 13 of ‘451, each discloses wherein the composite sheet is resilient.
Re claim 14 of the pending application and claim 14 of ‘451, each discloses wherein the composite sheet has an overall thickness of 5 mm or less.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 42 of U.S. Patent No. 8,833,028 (‘028). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Re claim 1 of the pending application and claim 42 of ‘028, each discloses a plank comprising: a composite sheet having a planar upper surface, four sides, a lower surface, and an overall thickness, and said composite sheet comprising at least one base layer, wherein said at least one base layer comprises at least one polymeric material and at least one filler, wherein opposite sides of the composite sheet comprise a first tongue on a first side and a first groove having a groove deck on the opposite second side, wherein the first tongue and first groove have complementary shapes to each other to be interlockingly engageable with a corresponding groove or tongue on an adjacent plank, and wherein when said first tongue is interlockingly engaged with said corresponding groove on said adjacent plank, a first clearance exists between i) a tongue distal end having an upper side that is slanted or sloped relative to the planar upper surface and ii) a groove deck of said corresponding groove, and a second clearance exists between i) a distal edge of the lower lip of said corresponding groove and ii) a tongue channel wall,
but ‘028 fails to claim wherein the composite sheet comprises a laminate comprising a printed design located above said at least one base layer.
However, Pervan discloses wherein the composite sheet ([0106]) comprises a laminate ([0036]) comprising a printed design ([0036]) located above ([0014]) said at least one base layer ([0014]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify the plank of ‘028 wherein the composite sheet comprises a laminate comprising a printed design located above said at least one base layer as disclosed by Pervan in order to increase aesthetic appeal or to resemble natural floor such as wood planks, ceramic surfaces, brick, stone, and the like ([0014]).
Re claim 11 of the pending application and claim 42 of ‘028, each discloses wherein the plank is resilient type flooring (claim 1 of ‘028).
Re claim 13 of the pending application and claim 42 of ‘028, each discloses wherein the composite sheet is resilient (claim 1 of ‘028).
Re claim 14 of the pending application and claim 42 of ‘028, each discloses wherein the composite sheet has an overall thickness of 5 mm or less.
Claim(s) 2-10 and 12 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 1, claim 1 recites “the opposite second side” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears this language is intended to recite, “an opposite second side” and will be interpreted as such.
Claims 2-14 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-5, 10-14 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Thiers et al (“Thiers”) (US 2002/0020127) in view of Pervan (US 2008/0110125) and Chen (US 2009/0031662).
Re claim 1, Thiers discloses a plank (Fig. 15, 1) comprising:
a sheet (2) having a planar upper surface (18), four sides (3-4, 5-6), a lower surface (38), and an overall thickness (thickness of 2), and said sheet (2) comprising at least one base layer (2),
wherein the sheet (2) comprises a laminate ([0002]),
wherein opposite sides (5-6) of the sheet (2) comprise a first tongue (8) on a first side (left side of 1) and a first groove (9) having a groove deck (10) on the opposite second side (right side of 1), wherein the first tongue (8) and first groove (9) have complementary shapes to each other (Fig. 15) to be interlockingly engageable with (Fig. 15) a corresponding groove (9) or tongue (8) on an adjacent plank (1), and
wherein when said first tongue (8) is interlockingly engaged with (Fig. 15) said corresponding groove (9) on said adjacent plank (1), a first clearance (see examiner comments) exists between i) a tongue distal end (24) having an upper side (between 24 and C3) that is slanted or sloped relative to (Fig. 15) the planar upper surface (18) and ii) a groove deck (10) of said corresponding groove (9), and a second clearance (see examiner comments) exists between i) a distal edge (right end of 11) of the lower lip (11) of said corresponding groove (9) and ii) a tongue channel wall (see examiner comments),
but fails to disclose the sheet as a composite sheet, wherein said at least one base layer comprises at least one polymeric material and at least one filler, a printed design located above said at least one base layer.
However, Pervan discloses the sheet (1’) as a composite sheet (1; [0149]), wherein said at least one base layer (1’) comprises at least one polymeric material (70) and at least one filler ([0149] disclosing that impregnated materials can be used separately or in combination).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify the plank of Thiers with the sheet as a composite sheet, wherein said at least one base layer comprises at least one polymeric material and at least one filler as disclosed by Pervan in order to increase strength and flexibility of the plank, particularly the tongue ([0149]).
In addition, Chen discloses a printed design ([0014]) located above ([0014]) said at least one base layer ([0014]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify the plank of Thiers with a printed design located above said at least one base layer as disclosed by Chen in order to resemble natural floor surfaces such as ceramic, brick stone and/or wood ([0034]).
It should further be noted that the language “printed” is considered product-by-process; therefore, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. See M.P.E.P. §2113. The patentability of the product does not depend on its method of production. If the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the same prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Re claim 2, Thiers as modified discloses the plank as claimed in claim 1, Chen discloses further comprising a print layer ([0034), wherein the printed design ([0034]) is on the print layer ([0014]; [0034]).
Re claim 3, Thiers as modified discloses the plank as claimed in claim 1, further comprising at least one wear layer (14) on top of (Fig. 3) the printed design (13).
Re claim 4, Thiers as modified discloses the plank as claimed in claim 2, Chen discloses wherein the print layer is a PVC film ([0036]).
Re claim 5, Thiers as modified discloses the plank as claimed in claim 3, Chen discloses wherein the printed design ([0034]) on the print layer ([0034]) simulates the appearance of natural wood, stone, or brick ([0034]).
Re claim 10, Thiers as modified discloses the plank as claimed in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein said at least one base layer comprises a stabilizer.
However, Chen discloses wherein said at least one base layer ([0071]) comprises a stabilizer ([0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify the plank of Thiers wherein said at least one base layer comprises a stabilizer as disclosed by Chen in order to prevent thermal degradation of the polymer during manufacturing increasing the product’s lifespan, being the normal and logical purpose of inclusion of a stabilizer.
Re claim 11, Thiers as modified discloses the plank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plank (1) is a resilient type flooring ([0007], [0092] disclosing elastic flexure).
Re claim 12, Thiers as modified discloses the plank as claimed in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the molecular weight of the polymeric material is from 10,000 to 1,000,000, based on weight average molecular weight.
However, Chen discloses wherein the molecular weight of the polymeric material is from 10,000 to 1,000,000, based on weight average molecular weight ([0070]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify the plank of Thiers wherein the molecular weight of the polymeric material is from 10,000 to 1,000,000, based on weight average molecular weight as disclosed by Chen in order to provide durability, strength, rigidity or optimum flexure.
Re claim 13, Thiers as modified discloses the plank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the composite sheet is resilient (due to 8 being resilient per the above with respect to claim 11, and the language not requiring an entirety of the sheet being resilient).
In addition, Chen discloses also wherein the composite sheet is resilient ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify the plank of Thiers wherein the composite sheet is resilient as disclosed by Chen in order to ease installation through flexure.
Re claim 14, Thiers as modified discloses the plank as claimed in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the composite sheet has an overall thickness of 5 mm or less.
However, Chen discloses wherein the composite sheet has an overall thickness of 5 mm or less ([0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify the plank of Thiers wherein the composite sheet has an overall thickness of 5 mm or less as disclosed by Chen in order to provide optimum material use, reducing costs, without material waste.
Claim 6-9 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Thiers et al (“Thiers”) (US 2002/0020127) in view of Pervan (US 2008/0110125), Chen (US 2009/0031662) and Wright (US 2005/0112320).
Re claim 6, Thiers as modified discloses the plank as claimed in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the base layer comprises a homogenous blend of a thermoplastic polymeric material and an inorganic filler in sheet form, wherein the thermoplastic polymeric material is a polyvinyl chloride.
However, Wright discloses wherein the base layer (22) comprises a homogenous blend ([0020]; claim 1) of a thermoplastic polymeric material ([0020], [0054], ]0043], claim 22) and an inorganic filler ([0054]) in sheet form (Fig. 1, see also [0043]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify the plank of Thiers wherein the base layer comprises a homogenous blend of a thermoplastic polymeric material and an inorganic filler in sheet form as disclosed by Wright in order to use an inexpensive, readily available material which is recyclable ([005]) and exhibits durability and comfort under foot ([0006]).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plank of Thiers as modified wherein the thermoplastic polymeric material is a polyvinyl chloride in order utilize an inexpensive, durable, easily formable and readily available material. In addition, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Re claim 7, Thiers as modified discloses the plank as claimed in claim 6, Wright discloses wherein said at least one base layer (22) comprises from about 50 wt% to about 90 wt% inorganic filler ([0056]).
Re claim 8, Thiers as modified discloses the plank as claimed in claim 6, Wright discloses wherein the inorganic filler is one or more of limestone, clay, talc, silicates, and aluminates ([0054]).
Re claim 9, Thiers as modified discloses the plank as claimed in claim 6, Wright discloses wherein the inorganic filler ([0054]) is in the form of particles ([0054] disclosing powders and dust).
Examiner Comments
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
KYLE WALRAED-SULLIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635