DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et. al (US 20190204867 A1) hereafter referred to as Song in view of Chaung et. al (US 20150004345 A1) hereafter referred to as Chaung.
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches a display module comprising:
a display panel (110 display panel);
a support plate (150 rigid member) supporting the display panel (¶51),
the support plate comprising a bendable region (151 opening pattern, overlaps the FA folding area in the z direction, Fig 3) comprising a lattice pattern (151a blocking portions and 151b opens portions are “continuously and alternately arranged”),
a first region (NFA non-folding area) spaced apart from the bendable region in a first direction (Fig 1),
and a second region (AA active area) between the first region and the bendable region (Fig 1);
and an adhesive layer (140 second adhesive member) between the display panel and the support plate (Fig 3).
Song fails to teach the adhesive layer comprising an adhesive area and a non-adhesive area, wherein the adhesive layer further comprises: a first portion on the first region of the support plate, the first portion comprising the adhesive area; and a second portion on the second region of the support plate, the second portion comprising the adhesive area and the non-adhesive area; a ratio of the adhesive area per unit area of the second portion increasing along the first direction.
However, Chaung teaches:
the adhesive layer (adhesive layers shown in Fig 3A-3K) comprising an adhesive area (310, 312, 314, 316, 318, 320, 322, 324, 326, 328, and 330 adhesive layer in Fig 3A-3K, respectively)
and a non-adhesive area (area around 318 adhesive layer, shown in white),
wherein the adhesive layer further comprises:
a first portion on the first region of the support plate (220 first layer), the first portion
comprising the adhesive area (see annotated Fig 3E below);
and a second portion on the second region of the support plate, the second portion comprising the adhesive area and the non-adhesive area (see annotated Fig 3E below,
a ratio of the adhesive area per unit area of the second portion increasing along the first direction (x direction, from the center folding area to the outer edge along the x direction, Fig 3E).
Song and Chaung are both in the industry of flexible display devices, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Song to include the adhesive structure of Chaung in order to reduce the stress that results in wrinkles or cracks in the display device (Chaung ¶3, 5)
Regarding claim 2, Song in view of Chaung teach the display module of claim 1, wherein,
in the second the adhesive area (324b adhesive layer, Fig 3H) comprises a plurality of geometric structures (Fig 3H, 324a, 324b, and 324c adhesive layers),
and a size of each of the plurality of geometric structures is increased in the first direction (size of adhesive structures increases from 324a to 324c to 324b along the x direction),
and the non-adhesive area at least partially surrounds each of the plurality of geometric structures (white are of 220 first layer, Fig 3H).
Regarding claim 3, Song in view of Chaung teach the display module of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of geometric structures (Fig 3H, 324a, 324b, and 324c adhesive layers) has a polygonal shape (324 adhesive layers are rectangular, Fig 3H, ¶27).
Regarding claim 4, Song in view of Chaung teach the display module of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of geometric structures (312a and 312b adhesive layers, Fig 3B) has a circular shape or an oval shape (Fig 3B show circular shape, ¶27).
Regarding claim 5, Song in view of Chaung teach the display module of claim 1, wherein the adhesive area comprises an adhesive material (¶22, ¶7), and wherein the non-adhesive area comprises an open space (gap, ¶27).
Regarding claim 6, Song in view of Chaung teach the display module of claim 1, wherein the second portion comprises an edge area (see annotated Fig 3E below) provided at an end portion in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (width 1 is provided along the Y direction), and the edge area has a shape in which a width of the non-adhesive area gradually decreases along the first direction (see annotated Fig 3E
below)
Regarding claim 9, Song in view of Chaung teach the display module of claim 1.
Song in view of Chaung fail to teach in the second portion: the adhesive area has a pattern shape in which a plurality of geometric structures are spaced apart from each other, the non-adhesive area is between the plurality of geometric structures, and an interval between the plurality of geometric structures decreases along the first direction in the combination of claim 1. However, Chaung teaches:
in the second portion (see annotated Fig 3E above):
the adhesive area has a pattern shape in which a plurality of geometric structures (324a and 324b adhesive layers) are spaced apart from each other Fig 3H),
the non-adhesive area is between the plurality of geometric structures (white portion of drawings in between 324a and 324b),
and an interval between the plurality of geometric structures decreases along the first direction (interval between 324c is greater than 324b along the x direction).
Song and Chaung are both in the industry of flexible display devices, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Song to include the adhesive structure of Chaung in order to in order to minimize the stress on the central folding portion of the display device (Chaung ¶24)
Regarding claim 10, Song in view of Chaung teach the display module of claim 1,
wherein, in the second portion: the adhesive area (310, 312, 314, 316, 318, 320, 322, 324, 326, 328, and 330 adhesive layer in Fig 3A-3K, respectively) has a pattern shape in which a plurality of geometric structures are spaced apart from each other (Fig 3H, 324b, and 324c adhesive layers)
the non-adhesive area is between the plurality of geometric structures (white space in between adhesive layers, Fig 3A-K),
and an interval between the plurality of geometric structures decreases from an end portion along a second direction, perpendicular to the first direction, toward a center of the second portion (interval between 324c is greater than 324b).
Regarding claim 11, Song in view of Chaung teach the display module of claim 1,
wherein the adhesive area (310, 312, 314, 316, 318, 320, 322, 324, 326, 328, and 330 adhesive layer in Fig 3A-3K, respectively) comprises an adhesive material (abstract),
and wherein the non-adhesive area comprises the adhesive material and a non-adhesive material (324a filling units) that covers at least one surface of the adhesive material (¶34).
Regarding claim 12, Song in view of Chaung teach the display module of claim 1.
Song and Chaung fail to teach the non-adhesive area of the second portion comprises: a first non-adhesive portion comprising an open space; and a second non-adhesive portion comprising a non-adhesive material in the combination of claim 1. However, Chaung teaches:
wherein the non-adhesive area (¶36 “In certain embodiments, at least one of the first adhesive units 328a and the third adhesive unit 328c may be replaced by air or transparent filler material such as polymer resin”) of the second portion comprises:
a first non-adhesive portion comprising an open space (328a or 328c adhesive units);
and a second non-adhesive portion comprising a non-adhesive material (328a or 328c adhesive units).
Song and Chaung are both in the industry of flexible display devices, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Song to include the non-adhesive filled with air or a non-adhesive area of Chaung in order to form a stress releasing region along the folding axis (Chaung ¶36)
Regarding claim 13, Song in view of Chaung teach the display module of claim 1, wherein, in the second portion: the non-adhesive area has a pattern shape (area in between adhesive layer 324c forms a grid pattern) in which a plurality of geometric structures are arranged (Fig 3H),
and the adhesive area surrounds each of the plurality of geometric structures (324c surrounds the non adhesive grid pattern).
Regarding claim 14, Song in view of Chaung teach the display module of claim 13, wherein the second portion has a pattern shape (324c adhesive layers, Fig 3H) in which an area of each of the plurality of geometric structures of the non-adhesive area (white area in between 324c) decreases along the first direction (there are fewer geometric adhesive structures along the x direction, Fig 3H).
Regarding claim 16, Song teaches the display module comprising:
a display panel (110 display panel);
a support plate (150 rigid member) supporting the display panel (¶51),
the support plate comprising a bendable region (151 opening pattern, overlaps the FA folding area in the z direction, Fig 3) comprising a lattice pattern (151a blocking portions and 151b opens portions are “continuously and alternately arranged”),
a first region (NFA non-folding area) spaced apart from the bendable region in a first direction (Fig 1),
and a second region (AA active area) between the first region and the bendable region (Fig 1);
and an adhesive layer (140 second adhesive member) between the display panel and the support plate (Fig 3).
Song fails to teach the adhesive layer comprising an adhesive area and a non-adhesive area, wherein the adhesive layer further comprises: a first portion on the first region of the support plate, the first portion comprising the adhesive area; and a second portion on the second region of the support plate, the second portion comprising the adhesive area and the non-adhesive area a ratio of the adhesive area per unit area of the second portion increasing along the first direction.
However, Chaung teaches:
the adhesive layer (adhesive layers shown in Fig 3A-3K) comprising an adhesive area (310, 312, 314, 316, 318, 320, 322, 324, 326, 328, and 330 adhesive layer in Fig 3A-3K, respectively)
and a non-adhesive area (area around 318 adhesive layer, shown in white),
the non-adhesive area occupying an entirety of the folding portion (at least one of the first adhesive units 328a and the third adhesive unit 328c may be replaced by air or transparent filler material such as polymer resin);
wherein the adhesive layer further comprises:
a first portion on the first region of the support plate (220 first layer), the first portion
comprising the adhesive area (see annotated Fig 3E below);
and a second portion on the second region of the support plate, the second portion comprising the adhesive area and the non-adhesive area (see annotated Fig 3E below,
a ratio of the adhesive area per unit area of the second portion increasing along the first direction (x direction, from the center folding area to the outer edge along the x direction, Fig 3E).
Song and Chaung are both in the industry of flexible display devices, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Song to include the adhesive structure of Chaung in order to reduce the stress that results in wrinkles or cracks in the display device (Chaung ¶3, 5)
Regarding claim 17, Song in view of Chaung teach the display module of claim 16,
wherein the second portion comprises an edge area (see annotated Fig 3E below),
provided at the end portions along the second direction (width 1 is provided along the Y direction),
and the edge area has a shape in which a width of the non-adhesive area is gradually decreased along the first direction (see annotated Fig 3E below).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Chaung and further in view of Jang et. al (KR 102524398 B1) hereafter referred to as Jang.
Regarding claim 7, Song in view of Chuang teach the display module of claim 6.
Song in view of Chaung fail to teach the edge area comprises a boundary line where the adhesive area and the non-adhesive area face each other, and the boundary line is curved along the first direction. However, Jang teaches:
the edge area (area in between 121 adhesive patterns and 120 adhesive layer) comprises
a boundary line (edge of 120 adhesive layer) where the adhesive area and the non-adhesive area face each other (Fig 2),
and the boundary line is curved along the first direction (edge of 120 is curved).
Song, Chaung, and Jang are all in the industry of flexible display devices therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Song and Chaung to include the curved edge of the adhesive area of Jang in order to match the curved edge of the housing (Jang Fig 2)
Regarding claim 18, Song in view of Chaung teach the display module of claim 17.
Song in view of Chaung fail to teach the edge area comprises a boundary line where the adhesive area and the non-adhesive area face each other, and the boundary line is curved along the first direction. However, Jang teaches:
the edge area (area in between 121 adhesive patterns and 120 adhesive layer) comprises
a boundary line (edge of 120 adhesive layer) where the adhesive area and the non-adhesive area face each other (Fig 2),
and the boundary line is curved along the first direction (edge of 120 is curved).
Song, Chaung, and Jang are all in the industry of flexible display devices therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Song and Chaung to include the curved edge of the adhesive area of Jang in order to match the curved edge of the housing (Jang Fig 2)
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Chaung and further in view of Changmook et. al (KR 20230081158 A) hereafter referred to as Changmook.
Regarding claim 15, Song in view of Chaung teach the bendable electronic device comprising: the display module according to claim 1.
Song in view of Chaung fail to teach a housing structure supporting the display module and configured to fold. However, Changmook teaches
a housing structure (310 and 320 housing structures) supporting the display module
and configured to fold (pg. 7 3rd full paragraph).
Song, Chaung, and Changmook are all in the industry of flexible display devices therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Song and Chaung to include the housing structure of Changmook in order to support the flexible display module while folding, unfolding, and in an intermediate state (Changmook pg. 7, 3rd and 5th full paragraphs)
Regarding claim 19, Song in view of Chaung teach a bendable electronic device comprising:
the display module according to claim 16.
Song in view of Chaung fail to teach a housing structure supporting the display module and configured to fold. However, Changmook teaches
a housing structure (310 and 320 housing structures) supporting the display module
and configured to fold (pg. 7 3rd full paragraph).
Song, Chaung, and Changmook are all in the industry of flexible display devices therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Song and Chaung to include the housing structure of Changmook in order to support the flexible display module while folding, unfolding, and in an intermediate state (Changmook pg. 7, 3rd and 5th full paragraphs)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Chaung and further in view of Lim et. al (US 20230195164 A1) hereafter referred to as Lim.
Regarding claim 20, Song teaches an electronic device comprising:
a display panel (110 display panel);
a support plate (150 rigid member) supporting the display panel (¶51),
the support plate comprising a bendable region (151 opening pattern, overlaps the FA folding area in the z direction, Fig 3) comprising a lattice pattern (151a blocking portions and 151b opens portions are “continuously and alternately arranged”),
a first region (NFA non-folding area) spaced apart from the bendable region in a first direction (Fig 1),
and a second region (AA active area) between the first region and the bendable region (Fig 1);
and an adhesive layer (140 second adhesive member) between the display panel and the support plate (Fig 3).
Song fails to teach the adhesive layer comprising an adhesive area and a non-adhesive area, wherein the adhesive layer further comprises: a folding portion on the bendable region of the support plate and comprising the non-adhesive area, a first portion on the first region of the support plate, the first portion comprising the adhesive area; and a second portion on the second region of the support plate, the second portion comprising the adhesive area and the non-adhesive area, the non-adhesive area occupying an entirety of the folding portion; a ratio of the adhesive area per unit area of the second portion increasing along the first direction.
However, Chaung teaches:
the adhesive layer (adhesive layers shown in Fig 3A-3K) comprising an adhesive area (310, 312, 314, 316, 318, 320, 322, 324, 326, 328, and 330 adhesive layer in Fig 3A-3K, respectively)
and a non-adhesive area (area around 318 adhesive layer, shown in white),
wherein the adhesive layer further comprises:
a folding portion on the bendable region of the support plate and comprising the non-adhesive area,
a first portion on the first region of the support plate (220 first layer), the first portion
comprising the adhesive area (see annotated Fig 3E below);
and a second portion on the second region of the support plate, the second portion comprising the adhesive area and the non-adhesive area (see annotated Fig 3E below,
a ratio of the adhesive area per unit area of the second portion increasing along the first direction (x direction, from the center folding area to the outer edge along the x direction, Fig 3E).
Song and Chaung are both in the industry of flexible display devices, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Song to include the adhesive structure of Chaung in order to reduce the stress that results in wrinkles or cracks in the display device (Chaung ¶3, 5)
Song and Chaung fail to teach a housing structure; and a display module comprising a plurality of bendable folding areas, coupled to the housing structure, and configured to visually expose at least a partial area thereof and a third portion comprising the adhesive area and the non-adhesive area and having a ratio of the adhesive area per unit area of the third portion increasing along a direction away from each of the plurality of bendable folding areas.
However, Lim teaches
A housing structure (HAU housing); and
a display module (DM display module) comprising a plurality of bendable folding areas (FA1 and FA2 folding areas, Fig 1),
coupled to the housing structure (Fig 2B),
and configured to visually expose at least a partial area thereof, a third portion (NFA2 second non-folding area) between the plurality of bendable folding areas (in between folding areas FA1 and FA2, Fig 2B),
the third portion comprising the adhesive area (not numbered, adhesive layer in between DM display module and WM window, ¶90)
Song, Chaung, and Lim are all in the industry of flexible display devices, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Song and Chaung to include the three non-folding area and two folding area structure of Lim in order to maximize screen size in a mobile device and support the flexible display (Lim ¶20, 73)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Song, Chuang, Jang, Lim, and Changmook teach a display module comprising:
a display panel (Song 110 display panel);
a support plate (Song 150 rigid member) supporting the display panel (Song ¶51),
the support plate comprising a bendable region (Song 151 opening pattern, overlaps the FA folding area in the z direction, Fig 3) comprising a lattice pattern (Song 151a blocking portions and 151b opens portions are “continuously and alternately arranged”),
a first region (Song NFA non-folding area) spaced apart from the bendable region in a first direction (Song Fig 1),
and a second region (Song AA active area) between the first region and the bendable region (Song Fig 1);
and an adhesive layer (Song 140 second adhesive member) between the display panel and the support plate (Song Fig 3).
the adhesive layer (Chaung adhesive layers shown in Fig 3A-3K) comprising an adhesive area (Song 310, 312, 314, 316, 318, 320, 322, 324, 326, 328, and 330 adhesive layer in Fig 3A-3K, respectively)
and a non-adhesive area (Chaung area around 318 adhesive layer, shown in white),
wherein the adhesive layer further comprises:
a first portion on the first region of the support plate (Chaung 220 first layer), the first portion
comprising the adhesive area (Chaung see annotated Fig 3E above);
and a second portion on the second region of the support plate, the second portion comprising the adhesive area and the non-adhesive area (see annotated Fig 3E above) a ratio of the adhesive area per unit area of the second portion increasing along the first direction (Chaung x direction, from the center folding area to the outer edge along the x direction, Fig 3E).
However, the prior art fails to teach the ratio of the adhesive area per unit area of the second portion gradually increases from an end portion along a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction and toward a center of the second portion as set forth in the claims.
Conclusion
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/E.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2841