DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of spacers being a helical structure of claim 4 attached to a must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the absorbent material wrapping the support structure of claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the absorbent pad attached to the support structure of claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear what structure is required to read on “a plane representing the wearer’s scalp”, how does the human scalp relate to the garment structure?
Claims 1 and 10 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear what the “open area” is and how it relates to the headband structure.
Claim 2 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear what the metes and bounds of “discrete” would be when referring to the spacers. What would or would not be considered discrete?
Claim 4 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear how the helical structure form a plurality of spacers attached to the support structure and have an air space between adjacent spacers. Isn’t a helical structure a continuous structure and therefore would not be a plurality of spacers spaced apart?
Claim 5 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear what “the spacing structure” is an how it relates to the headband structure. Further, there is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear what the metes and bounds would be of the limitation “soft” when referring to the absorbent material. The term “soft” is a indefinite term, since it can be defined differently by different people. It is unclear what would or would not be required of the absorbent material to read on “soft”.
Claims 8 and 9 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear if “each scalp touch zone” is the same or in addition to “a scalp touch zone” previously presented in claim 1.
Claims 11 and 12 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear what “substantially” would require of the circular band and the flat ring, is the band required to be circular or not and is the ring required to be a ring or flat?
Claim 17 and the claims that depend therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear if an additional support structure and plurality of spacers are being required by the claim, or if claim 17 is only some of the subject matter of claim 17, which is improper. It is unclear what structure is required to read on the claim. Applicant should make this claim an independent claim to avoid confusion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). The limitation “the wearer’s scalp” should include the language “configured to”, “adapted to”, “when worn” or other similar language to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sullivan (US 5,787,507).
In regard to claim 1, Sullivan teaches a headband for reducing sweat accumulation and increasing airflow to a wearer's scalp when worn on the wearer's head (apparatus: 30), the headband comprising: a support structure configured to be positioned adjacent to the wearer's head (apparatus: 30); and a plurality of spacers attached to the support structure (spacers/fingers: 20), wherein each spacer is configured to extend between the support structure and the wearer's scalp and to penetrate the wearer's hair (see figures 6-8), if any, when the headband is worn (see figures 6-8), wherein each spacer (20) has a contact portion defining a scalp touch zone configured to contact the wearer's scalp (see figures 6 and 8), and wherein the spacers are arranged to define an air space between adjacent spacers (see figures 6-8), the air space extending from the support structure to a plane representing the wearer's scalp (see figures 6 and 8), excluding the scalp touch zones, and wherein the air space has at least 70% open area (see figures 6-8).
In regard to claim 2, Sullivan teaches wherein the plurality of spacers are discrete spacers (see figure 7).
In regard to claim 3, Sullivan teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of discrete spacers comprises a post (see figure 1-4).
In regard to claim 10, Sullivan teaches wherein the air space has at least 50% open area (see figures 3, 4, 7 and 8).
In regard to claim 11, Sullivan teaches wherein the support structure is a substantially circular band (see figures 2 and 7).
In regard to claim 12, Sullivan teaches wherein the support structure is a substantially flat ring (see figures 2 and 7).
In regard to claim 13, Sullivan teaches wherein the support structure comprises a portion of a hat body, and wherein the plurality of spacers are attached directly to the hat body (see figures 6-8).
In regard to claim 14, Sullivan teaches wherein the spacers are made of a material selected from the group consisting of: plastic, rubber, silicone, foam, and a combination thereof (column 4, lines 10-13).
In regard to claim 15, Sullivan teaches wherein each of the plurality of spacers has a cross-sectional shape selected from the group consisting of: circular, oval, rectangular, and semi-circular (see figures 1-4).
In regard to claim 17, Sullivan teaches a method of making a headband comprising: providing a support structure; and attaching a plurality of spacers to the support structure according to claim 1 (figures 1-4 and column 4, lines 57-61).
In regard to claim 18, Sullivan teaches a method of wearing a headband comprising placing the headband of claim 1 on a wearer's head (see figures 6 and 8), wherein the spacers penetrate the wearer's hair, if any, and contact the wearer's scalp (see figures 6 and 8).
In regard to claim 19, Sullivan teaches a hat, comprising: a crown; and a headband according to claim 1, wherein the headband is secured to the crown (figures 7 and 8).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scarnato (US 5,101,516).
In regard to claim 1, Scarnato teaches a headband for reducing sweat accumulation and increasing airflow to a wearer's scalp when worn on the wearer's head (figures 6 and 10), the headband comprising: a support structure configured to be positioned adjacent to the wearer's head (see figures 6, 9 and 10); and a plurality of spacers attached to the support structure (spacers: 42, 28), wherein each spacer is configured to extend between the support structure and the wearer's scalp and to penetrate the wearer's hair (see figures 8 and 9), if any, when the headband is worn, wherein each spacer has a contact portion defining a scalp touch zone configured to contact the wearer's scalp (see figures 8 and 9), and wherein the spacers are arranged to define an air space between adjacent spacers (see figures 3, 5 and 8), the air space extending from the support structure to a plane representing the wearer's scalp (see figures 3, 5 and 8), excluding the scalp touch zones, and wherein the air space has at least 70% open area (see figure 5).
In regard to claim 2, Scarnato teaches wherein the plurality of spacers are discrete spacers (see figures 3, 5 and 8).
In regard to claim 3, Scarnato teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of discrete spacers comprises a post (figure 7, 42 and 28).
In regard to claim 5, Scarnato teaches wherein a portion of the spacing structure located in a forehead region of the support structure is wrapped with an absorbent material (absorbent material 28 is wrapping support structure: see figures 6 and 7).
In regard to claim 6, Scarnato teaches wherein the absorbent material is soft (column 2, lines 66-68 though column 3, lines 1-7).
In regard to claim 7, Scarnato teaches further comprising an absorbent pad attached to the support structure in a forehead region (absorbent pad: 28, column 3, lines 66-68 through column 3, lines 1-7).
In regard to claim 10, Scarnato teaches wherein the air space has at least 50% open area (see figure 2).
In regard to claim 11, Scarnato teaches wherein the support structure is a substantially circular band (sweatband: 16).
In regard to claim 12, Scarnato teaches wherein the support structure is a substantially flat ring (sweatband: 16).
In regard to claim 13, Scarnato teaches wherein the support structure comprises a portion of a hat body, and wherein the plurality of spacers are attached directly to the hat body (see figures 1-2, 6 and 9).
In regard to claim 14, Scarnato teaches wherein the spacers are made of a material selected from the group consisting of: plastic, rubber, silicone, foam, and a combination thereof (spacers absorbent material 28 is made from sponge, which is foam: column 2, lines 66-68).
In regard to claim 15, Scarnato teaches wherein each of the plurality of spacers has a cross-sectional shape selected from the group consisting of: circular, oval, rectangular, and semi-circular (see figure 6 and 7).
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Getler (US 1,140,812).
In regard to claim 1, Getler teaches a headband for reducing sweat accumulation and increasing airflow to a wearer's scalp when worn on the wearer's head (see figure 1), the headband comprising: a support structure configured to be positioned adjacent to the wearer's head (hat: 5); and a plurality of spacers attached to the support structure (spacers/coil: 9), wherein each spacer is configured to extend between the support structure and the wearer's scalp and to penetrate the wearer's hair (see figures 1, 2 and 3), if any, when the headband is worn, wherein each spacer has a contact portion defining a scalp touch zone configured to contact the wearer's scalp (contact portion 6), and wherein the spacers are arranged to define an air space between adjacent spacers (see figure 6), the air space extending from the support structure to a plane representing the wearer's scalp (see figure 2 and 3), excluding the scalp touch zones, and wherein the air space has at least 70% open area (see figures 1-3).
In regard to claim 4, Getler teaches wherein the plurality of spacers are formed by a helical structure (coil: 9).
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abudusalam (US 2021/0030093).
In regard to claim 1, Abudusalam teaches a headband for reducing sweat accumulation and increasing airflow to a wearer's scalp when worn on the wearer's head (figures 1-6, paragraph 0060), the headband comprising: a support structure configured to be positioned adjacent to the wearer's head (headband: 10); and a plurality of spacers attached to the support structure (figure 2, element: 40), wherein each spacer is configured to extend between the support structure and the wearer's scalp and to penetrate the wearer's hair (paragraph 0059), if any, when the headband is worn, wherein each spacer has a contact portion defining a scalp touch zone configured to contact the wearer's scalp (paragraph 0059, figure 2), and wherein the spacers are arranged to define an air space between adjacent spacers (see figure 2 and paragraph 0059), the air space extending from the support structure to a plane representing the wearer's scalp (paragraph 0059), excluding the scalp touch zones, and wherein the air space has at least 70% open area (see figures 2 and paragraph 0059).
In regard to claim 8, Abudusalam The headband of claim 1, wherein each scalp touch zone has a surface area between 0.1 mm2 and 25 mm2 (paragraph 0060).
In regard to claim 9, Abudusalam teaches wherein each scalp touch zone has a surface area between 0.5 mm2 and 10 mm2 (paragraph 0060).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abbott (US 174,998).
In regard to claim 16, Abbott teaches a jig for assembling a headband (crown of hat: figures 1 and 2), the jig comprising a base with a channel sized to receive a portion of a helical spacer (base is hat: A and sweat band: B and channel/orifice: a), and a surrounding skirt configured to support a ring-shaped support structure (surrounding skirt is brim capable of supporting a ring-shaped support structure as required, no ring-shaped support structure is required by the claim).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found cited in PTO-892 form submitted herewith. The cited prior art to Yoon (US 4,951,320) is of particular relevance to the claimed invention.
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732