11/DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation followed by “wherein in further embodiments” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 recites the temperatures are insufficient to decompose polyolefin, while claim 11 recites conditions sufficient to degrade the polyolefin component. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Javeed (US 2019/0270939).
Regarding claims 1, 4-5, 7, and 11, Javeed teaches treatment of a waste plastic feed comprising polyolefins and polar polymer component (polyethylene terephthalate, PVC, polystyrenes) [0022], comprising heteroatoms [0022]-[0023], [0034]. Javeed teaches reacting the feedstock in the absence of oxygen [0024]. Prior to cracking, Javeed teaches treatment of the waste plastics in a devolatilization extruder reactor [0029-0034]. Javeed teaches temperatures of 200-400˚C, pressures of 1-10-14 torr, and 0.1 min -1 hour [0030-0032], overlapping with the claimed range.
Javeed sends the dechlorinated/reduced heteroatom stream to further cracking treatment (depolymerization) in catalytic cracker or steam cracking steps (see figures).
Javeed does not explicitly disclose the reactions are insufficient (or sufficient as in claim 11) to decompose the polyolefin component. However, Javeed teaches overlapping temperatures, pressures, and residences times, as discussed above, as well as the same feedstocks.
Therefore, it is expected that the same reactions would occur, since the same feeds and conditions are utilized.
Regarding claim 2, Javeed teaches adding hydrogen or nitrogen stripping gas to remove the undesirable heteroatoms [0067]. Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected the stripping gas flow rates, in order to achieve the desired striping of heteroatoms as desired. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 3, Javeed teaches greater than 50% polyethylene and polypropylene (see example 1, [0078]).
Regarding claim 6, Examiner considers Javeed device to read on the claimed mixing/heating/gas injection/withdrawal means, as these are all standard to maintain the process conditions as disclosed by Javeed.
Regarding claims 8-9, Javeed teaches additional steps for treating the waste plastic with sodium hydroxide or potassium hydroxide [0051], as well as various chloride adsorbers including activated carbon, calcium oxide, etc [0052], in order to further remove chloride components.
Regarding claim 10, Javeed does not explicitly disclose the dosage of the additional chloride scrubbing components or absorbers.
However, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected an effective amount, in order to remove the chloride compounds as desired. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 12, Javeed teaches the same feeds as claimed, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above.
Therefore, it is expected that the feeds would have the same molecular weight averages and relationship as claimed. It is not seen where Applicant has distinguished the feedstocks in this regard.
Regarding claim 13, Javeed teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. After depolymerization, Javeed teaches catalytic cracking followed by scavenging to recover solid residue (char) from vapor and dechlorinated pyrolysis oil (second liquid stream) (see figure 2).
Regarding claims 14-17 and 19, Javeed teaches zeolitic cracking catalyst and temperatures of 350-730˚C [0053-0055]. Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected appropriate reaction vessels, as disclosed, in order to perform the desired steps.
Regarding claim 18, it is expected that the same intermediates are present, since the prior art teaches the same feedstocks, operating conditions, and heteroatom removal. It is not seen where Applicant has distinguished the process steps in this regard.
Regarding claim 20, Javeed teaches temperatures of 25-225 ˚C [0061], overlapping with the claimed range.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771