DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim of priority from the US provisional application 63/563,936 filed on 03/11/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (“IDS”) filed on 07/17/2025 has been reviewed and the listed references have been considered.
Drawings
The 5-page drawings have been considered and placed on record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 9 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter as follows. Considering claim 9, it is directed to a “computer-readable storage media”. Applicant’s specification states in ¶0041: “In some implementations, the storage media may be non-transitory. In some instances, at least a portion of the storage media may be transitory. In no case is the storage media a propagated signal”. Firstly, the specification only recites a “storage media” not a “computer-readable storage media”. Secondly, since in some cases the storage media is not non-transitory, it suggests that the storage media may include transitory propagating signals, which directly contradicts the next statement. Since the claim language recites “computer-readable storage media”, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer-readable media. See Subject Matter Eligibility of Computer Readable Media, 1351 OG 212 (26 Jan 2010). See MPEP 2111.01. Signals are nothing but the physical characteristics of a form of energy, and as such is nonstatutory natural phenomena. See, e.g., In re Nuitjen, 500 F. 3d 1346, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2007)(slip. op. at 18)("A transitory, propagating signal like Nuitjen's is not a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.' … Thus, such a signal cannot be patentable subject matter.") Thus, claims 9 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. In order to overcome this rejection, Applicant may amend the claim by inserting the term “non-transitory” before “computer-readable storage media”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paine et al. (US 2018/0189354 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Paine teaches, A method comprising: (Paine, ¶0059: “a method 500 for performing a focus-specific search query”) capturing an image; (Paine, ¶0075: “data from the outward-facing optical system 612 may be used by the on-board computer 604 to construct still images”) determining the image includes a gesture; (Paine, ¶0046: “The gesture recognition machine may be configured to analyze one or more images provided by the outward-facing optical system and recognize that the finger 314 pointing at the real-world item 312 is a gesture indicating an object”) and in response to determining the image includes the gesture: generating a query from at least the image and the gesture, (Paine, ¶0041: “a search query pronoun is mapped to an object of user focus based on a gesture performed by a user”) providing the query to a search engine, (Paine, ¶0028: “sending these search queries to one or more search engines”) receiving a response to the query, and outputting the response. (Paine, ¶0058: “When the search results are returned from the search engines 422, the focus-specific search shell 414 renders the results as an overlay on a view of the application of user focus”).
Regarding claim 2, Paine teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to determining the image includes the gesture: receiving a voice prompt, (Paine, ¶0018: “The user 100 vocalizes this intention by providing voice input 114”) wherein the query is further generated from the voice prompt. (Paine, ¶0056: “initiate a focus-specific search query based on the voice recognition machine 408 receiving voice input”).
Regarding claim 3, Paine teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein outputting the response comprises displaying the response on a display (Paine, ¶0031: “visually presents, in the field of view 106, the results of the one or more focus-specific search queries”; ¶0033: “near-eye display 104 visually presents the FOV 106”) and the method further comprising: receiving a voice prompt associated with the response; (Paine, ¶0044: “user 302 signals this desire by pointing to the real-world item 312 with a finger 314 and by providing voice input 316 to device 304”) generating a second query based on the voice prompt; (Paine, ¶0056: “initiate a focus-specific search query based on the voice recognition machine 408 receiving voice input”) and providing the second query to the search engine. (Paine, ¶0058: “search engines service computing systems 420 may be configured to perform any suitable type of searching including text search, image search, video search, audio search”).
Regarding claim 5, Paine teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the query comprises at least a prompt and the image. (Paine, ¶0047: “computing device 304 sends an image of the real-world item 312 as a query to an image search database”; ¶0057: “replaces the identified pronoun with the returned name of the object of user focus in a focus-specific search query”).
Regarding claim 6, Paine teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the image includes a first instance of a gesture, and the method further comprising: capturing a second image; determining that the second image includes a second instance of the gesture; (Paine, ¶0046: “The gesture recognition machine may be configured to analyze one or more images provided by the outward-facing optical system and recognize that the finger 314 pointing at the real-world item”) and in response to determining the second image includes a second instance of the gesture; (Paine, ¶0046: “recognize an object of user focus based on other physical interactions such as touching, picking up, holding, or other physical contact of a real-world object. Such interactions may be considered gestures”) generating a second query from at least the second image and the gesture, providing the second query to the search engine, receiving a second response to the second query, (Paine, ¶0047: “computing device 304 sends an image of the real-world item 312 as a query to an image search database, and the image search database may return one or more identifying tags or other identifying information for the real-world item”) and outputting the second response. (Paine, ¶0058: “the focus-specific search shell 414 renders the results as an overlay on a view of the application of user focus”).
Regarding claim 7, Paine teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the gesture comprises a pointing gesture from a body portion of a user. (Paine, ¶0045: “user 304 performs a pointing gesture with finger… identify the real-world items 312 as the object of user focus based on the pointing gesture”).
Regarding claim 8, Paine teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein generating the query from at least the image and the gesture includes: identifying a portion of the image referenced by the gesture, (Paine, ¶0068: “augmented-reality object may appear to occupy the same portion of the near-eye display”) wherein the query includes the portion of the image. (Paine, ¶0032: “focus-specific search queries may include still images, video clips, diagrams, text and/or other visual representations”).
Regarding claim 9, it recites a system with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited elements of system claim 9 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 1. Additionally, Paine teaches, A computing system comprising: a computer-readable storage media; (Paine, ¶0084: “Computing system 700 includes a logic machine 702 and a storage machine”) at least one processor operatively coupled to the computer-readable storage media; (Paine, ¶0090: “logic machine 702 and storage machine 704 may be integrated together into one or more hardware-logic components”) and program instructions stored on the computer-readable storage media (Paine, ¶0087: “Storage machine 704 includes one or more physical devices configured to hold instructions”) that, when executed by the at least one processor, direct the at least one processor (Paine, ¶0086: “The logic machine 702 may include one or more processors configured to execute software instruction”) to perform a method (Paine, ¶0095: “a method of focus-specific search querying performed by a computing device”).
Regarding claim 10, it recites a system with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 2. Therefore, the recited elements of system claim 10 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, it recites a system with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 3. Therefore, the recited elements of system claim 11 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, it recites a system with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 5. Therefore, the recited elements of system claim 13 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, it recites a system with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 6. Therefore, the recited elements of system claim 14 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, it recites a system with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 7. Therefore, the recited elements of system claim 15 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, it recites a system with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 8. Therefore, the recited elements of system claim 16 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, it recites a computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 1. Therefore, the instructions recited in the computer-readable storage medium claim 17 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 1. Additionally, Paine teaches, A computer-readable storage medium (Paine, ¶0084: “Computing system 700 includes a logic machine 702 and a storage machine”) having program instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one processor, (Paine, ¶0087: “Storage machine 704 includes one or more physical devices configured to hold instructions”) direct the at least one processor (Paine, ¶0086: “The logic machine 702 may include one or more processors configured to execute software instruction”) to perform a method (Paine, ¶0095: “a method of focus-specific search querying performed by a computing device”).
Regarding claim 18, it recites a computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 2. Therefore, the instructions recited in the computer-readable storage medium claim 18 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, it recites a computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 7. Therefore, the instructions recited in the computer-readable storage medium claim 20 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paine et al. (US 2018/0189354 A1) in view of Cai (US 2017/0126767 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Paine teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to determining the image includes the gesture. However, Paine does not explicitly teach, determining an expiration of a timeout period associated with a voice input from a user; and identifying a default prompt, wherein the query is further generated from the default prompt.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Cai teaches, determining an expiration of a timeout period associated with a voice input from a user; and identifying a default prompt, wherein the query is further generated from the default prompt. (Cai, ¶0165: “if the inputted selection instruction is not detected in the predetermined time, search whether the description information of a live audio matched with the description information of a live audio collected by a user exists in the live metadata; if yes, generate a selection instruction according to the description information”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Paine using the teachings of Cai to introduce a default operation in the case of a voice input timeout. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of generating a query without explicit voice input. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Paine and Cai to obtain the invention in claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, it recites a system with elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 4. Therefore, the recited elements of system claim 12 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 4. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Paine and Cai presented in rejection of claim 4, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 19, it recites a computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 4. Therefore, the instructions recited in the computer-readable storage medium claim 19 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in method claim 4. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Paine and Cai presented in rejection of claim 4, apply to this claim.
Conclusion
/MEHRAZUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662