DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 7-8, the limitation, “other internal electrodes” is confusing. Are these in addition to the internal electrodes already claimed? It is suggested to add --of the-- before “internal”
Claim 6, line 4, replace “of 3.0 um or more and 15 um or less” with –from 3.0 µm to 15 µm--.
Claim 7, line 2, replace “50 or more and 300 or less” with –50 to 300--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakate et al. (US 2017/0345567).
Regarding claim 1, Sakate et al. disclose in Fig. 1B-1C, a multilayer ceramic electronic device (title) comprising:
dielectric layers (11a2) and internal electrode layers (11a1), the dielectric layers (11a2) and the internal electrode layers (11a1) being laminated,
wherein the internal electrode layers (11a1) comprise a first internal electrode layer located farthest out along a lamination direction (top-bottom); and
the first internal electrode layer (11a1) has a Mn concentration higher (Fig. 3A, [0040] – process of forming) than that of other internal electrode layers (11a1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakate et al. (US 2017/0345567) in view of Hamaji et al. (US 6,295,196 B1).
Regarding claim 6, Sakate et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the dielectric layers comprise an internal dielectric layer located inwards from the first internal electrode layer along the lamination direction; and the internal dielectric layer has a thickness from 3.0 µm to 15 µm.
Hamaji et al. disclose a ceramic dielectric (2) located inwards from a first internal electrode layer (8) along the lamination direction; and the internal dielectric layer (2) has a thickness from 3.0 µm to 15 µm (C:8, L: 35-42).
Lacking unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the capacitor of Sakate et al. so that the dielectric layers comprise an internal dielectric layer located inwards from the first internal electrode layer along the lamination direction; and the internal dielectric layer has a thickness from 3.0 µm to 15 µm, since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic capacitor having desired capacitance.
Regarding claim 8, Sakate et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the dielectric layers comprise Ca, Sr, Zr, Ti, and O.
Hamaji et al. disclose a multilayer ceramic capacitor having dielectric layers (2), wherein the dielectric layers comprise Ca, Sr, Zr, Ti, and O (table 5 and 8).
Lacking unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the capacitor of Sakate et al. so that the dielectric layers comprise Ca, Sr, Zr, Ti, and O, since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic capacitor having high dielectric constant ceramic layers.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakate et al. (US 2017/0345567).
Regarding claim 7, Sakate et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the number of the internal electrode layers is 50 or more and 300 or less.
It is well known in the ceramic capacitor art to form a multilayer ceramic capacitor having 50 to 300 internal electrode layers.
Lacking unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the capacitor of Sakate et al. so that it comprises 50 to 300 internal electrode layers, since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic capacitor having desired capacitance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In combination with the other claim limitations, the prior art does not teach or suggest a multilayer ceramic electronic device where
C3 < C2A < C1 is satisfied, where
C1 denotes the Mn concentration of the first internal electrode layer,
C2A denotes a Mn concentration of the gap-corresponding portion of the second
internal electrode layer, and
C3 denotes a Mn concentration of the third internal electrode layer (claim 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2016/0163453 A1 – [0053] – Mn diffusion occurs in the outermost dielectric layers into the outermost layer internal electrodes containing Ni.
US 8,971,017 B1 – multilayer ceramic capacitor having boundary layer that includes Mg and Mn
/ERIC W THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847
ERIC THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847