DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 5, applicant states Akimoto does not disclose the winding layers switching on the same side of the winding head. Examiner disagrees. Akimoto in FIG. 37 discloses the winding layers switching on the same side of the winding head. Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 12/12/2025, with respect to claims 1-4 and claim objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection and objection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akimoto et al. (US 2017/0324286 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Akimoto discloses a winding mat (60) for forming a coil winding (40) of a component of an electric machine (¶ [0059]), comprising:
a plurality of wave winding wires (50), each wave winding wire (50) extending in a longitudinal direction and bent in a wave shape forming a plurality of wave sections (FIG. 7), each wave section comprising:
a first straight wire section (51) having a first end and a second end opposite the first end, the first straight wire section (51) extending in a transverse direction,
a second straight wire section (51) having a first end and a second end opposite the first end, the second straight wire section (51) extending in the transverse direction,
a first winding head (52) bent in a first direction and connecting the first end of the first straight wire section (51) with the first end of the second straight wire section (51), and
a second winding head (52) bent in a second direction which is opposite the first direction, the second winding head (52) connecting the second end of the second straight wire section (51) to the second end of a first straight wire section (51) of an adjacent wave section,
wherein a first wave winding wire (50, 50A) in the plurality of wave winding wires is plugged to a second wave winding wire (50, 50B) in the plurality of wave winding wires (50) to join the first wave winding wire (50, 50A) and the second wave winding wire (50, 50B) without twisting the first wave winding wire (50, 50A) and the second wave winding wire (50, 50B) about one another (FIG. 23),
wherein along respective lengths of the first and second wave winding wires (50A, 50B):
a first section (white section on top) of the first wave winding wire (50, 50A) crosses a first section of the second wave winding wire (50, 50B) at a first cross point (see annotation below) on the first wave winding wire (50, 50A) such that the first section of the first wave winding wire (50, 50A) transitions from a lower position to an upper position and the first section of the second wave wire (50, 50B) transitions from the upper position to the lower position at the first cross point, and
a second section (white section on bottom) of the first wave winding wire (50, 50A) adjacent the first section of the first wave winding wire (50, 50A) crosses a second section of the second wave winding wire (50, 50B) adjacent the first section of the second wave winding wire (50, 50B) at a second cross point (see annotation below) on the first wave winding wire (50, 50A) such that the second section of the first wave winding wire (50, 50A) transitions from the upper position to the lower position and the second section of the second wave winding wire (50, 50B) transitions from the lower position to the upper position at the second cross point,
wherein the first and second cross points are located between ends of respective first winding heads (52) of the first wave section of the plurality of wave sections and the second wave section of the plurality of wave sections or between ends of respective second winding heads (52) of a first wave section of the plurality of wave sections and a second wave section of the plurality of wave sections (FIG. 37).
Regarding claim 13/5, Akimoto was discussed above in claim 5. Akimoto further discloses wherein each wave winding wire in the plurality of wave winding wires (50) has a rectangular cross-sectional shape (FIG. 26), wherein a front-facing orientation of a first side wall remains constant in each wave section (FIG. 15).
Regarding claim 14/13, Akimoto was discussed above in claim 13. Akimoto further discloses wherein a rear-facing orientation of a side wall parallel with the first side wall remains constant in each wave section (FIG. 13, 26).
Regarding claim 15/5, Akimoto was discussed above in claim 5. Akimoto further discloses wherein the plurality of wave winding wires (50) further comprises a third wave winding wire (50C) that is parallel with the first wave winding wire (50A).
Regarding claim 16/5, Akimoto was discussed above in claim 5. Akimoto further discloses wherein the plurality of wave winding wires (50) further comprises a third wave winding wire (50C) that is parallel with the first or second wave winding wire (50A, 50B).
Regarding claim 17, Akimoto discloses a winding mat (60) for forming a coil winding (40) of a component of an electric machine (¶ [0059]), comprising:
a plurality of wave winding wires (50), each wave winding wire (50) extending in a longitudinal direction and bent in a wave shape forming a plurality of wave sections (FIG. 7), and
a plurality of layers comprising an upper layer and a lower layer formed by the plurality of wires (50; FIG. 19 discloses first and second wire alternating between upper and lower layer),
wherein each wave section comprises:
a first straight wire section (51) having a first end and a second end opposite the first end, the first straight wire section (51) extending in a transverse direction,
a second straight wire section (51) having a first end and a second end opposite the first end, the second straight wire section (51) extending in the transverse direction,
a first winding head (52) bent in a first direction and connecting the first end of the first straight wire section (51) with the first end of the second straight wire section (51), and
a second winding head (52) bent in a second direction which is opposite the first direction, the second winding head (52) connecting the second end of the second straight wire section (51) to the second end of a first straight wire section (51) of an adjacent wave section,
wherein a first wave winding wire (50, 50A) in the plurality of wave winding wires is plugged to a second wave winding wire (50, 50B) in the plurality of wave winding wires (50) to join the first wave winding wire (50, 50A) and the second wave winding wire (50, 50B) without twisting the first wave winding wire (50, 50A) and the second wave winding wire (50, 50B) about one another (FIG. 23),
wherein one of the first wave winding wire (50A) or the second wave winding wire (50B) forms the upper layer (FIG. 19; first wave winding wire starts as the upper layer) and the other of the first wave winding wire (50A) or the second wave winding wire (50B) forms the lower layer (FIG. 19; second wave winding wire starts as the lower layer), and the first wave winding wire (50A) and the second wave winding wire (50B) swap between forming the upper layer and the lower layer at cross points along the longitudinal direction of the winding mat (60),
wherein along respective lengths of the first and second wave winding wires (50A, 50B):
a first section (white section on top) of the first wave winding wire (50A) crosses a first section of the second wave winding wire (50B) at a first cross point on the first wave winding wire (50A) such that the first section of the first wave winding wire (50A) swaps from the lower layer to the upper layer at the first cross point, and
a second section (white section on bottom) of the first wave winding wire (50A) adjacent the first section of the first wave winding wire (50A) crosses a second section of the second wave winding wire (50B) adjacent the first section of the second wave winding wire (50B) at a second cross point on the first wave winding wire (50A) such that the second section of the first wave winding wire (50A) swaps from the upper layer to the lower layer at the second cross point,
wherein the first and second cross points are located between ends of respective first winding heads (52) of a first wave section of the plurality of wave sections and a second wave section of the plurality of wave sections or between ends of respective second winding heads (52) of a first wave section of the plurality of wave sections and a second wave section of the plurality of wave sections (FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 18/17, Akimoto was discussed above in claim 17. Akimoto further discloses wherein each winding head (52) has a first offset (53) which positions a first segment of each wave winding wire (50) in each winding head (52) in a first plane different than a common plane in which each of the first and second straight wire sections (51) reside (FIG. 17).
Regarding claim 19/18, Akimoto was discussed above in claim 18. Akimoto further discloses wherein each winding head (52) has a second offset (54) which positions a second segment of each wave winding wire (50) in each winding head (52) in a second plane different than the first plane and the common plane (FIG. 17).
Regarding claim 20/17, Akimoto was discussed above in claim 17. Akimoto further discloses wherein each wave winding wire in the plurality of wave winding wires (50) has a rectangular cross-sectional shape (FIG. 26), wherein an upwardly-facing orientation of a first side wall remains constant in each wave section (FIG. 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akimoto et al. (US 2017/0324286 A1) in view of Bramson et al. (US 2006/0226727 A1).
Regarding claim 6/5, Akimoto was discussed above in claim 5. Akimoto does not disclose wherein respective first and second straight wire sections of the first and second wave winding wires lie in a common plane.
Bramson discloses wherein respective first and second straight wire sections (48a, 48b, 50a, 50b) of the first and second wave winding wires lie in a common plane (¶ [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Akimoto in view of Bramson to disclose wherein respective first and second straight wire sections of the first and second wave winding wires lie in a common plane, for the advantages of reducing inherent noise of the stator and amount of crossing within the end coil (¶ [0007]).
Regarding claim 7/6, Akimoto in view of Bramson was discussed above in claim 6. Akimoto further discloses wherein the first and second winding heads (52) are roof-shaped (FIG. 15).
Regarding claim 8/7, Akimoto in view of Bramson was discussed above in claim 7. Akimoto further discloses wherein each roof-shaped winding head (52) has a first offset (53) which positions a first segment of each wave winding wire (50) in each roof-shaped winding head (52) in a first plane different than the common plane (FIG. 17).
Regarding claim 9/8, Akimoto in view of Bramson was discussed above in claim 8. Akimoto further discloses wherein each roof-shaped winding head (52) has a second offset (54) which positions a second segment of each wave winding wire (50) in each roof-shaped winding head (52) in a second plane different than the first plane and the common plane (FIG. 17).
Regarding claim 10/9, Akimoto in view of Bramson was discussed above in claim 9. Akimoto further discloses wherein first and second offsets (53, 55) are separated by a bend (55).
Regarding claim 11/10, Akimoto in view of Bramson was discussed above in claim 10. Akimoto further discloses wherein the first and second segments in the first roof-shaped winding head (52) have a first counter-bend (55; right FIG. 17) bent in a direction opposite the first direction.
Regarding claim 12/11, Akimoto in view of Bramson was discussed above in claim 11. Akimoto further discloses wherein the first and second segments in the second roof-shaped winding head (52) have a second counter-bend (55; left FIG. 17) bent in a direction opposite the second direction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MINKI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834