DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the one or more transducers" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. Claim 8 depends from claim 1 and therefore incorporates it in its entirety. Claim 1 recites “a detection circuit” in line 6. Claim 8 recites “a detection circuit” in line 1. It is unclear if this is intended to be the same detection circuit previously recited in claim 1 or a second detection circuit separate from the one recited in claim 1. This claim is an omnibus type claim.
Claims 9-11 depend from claim 8 and incorporate it in its entirety and are therefore rejected for the reasons provided above.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the one or more transducers" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kai (7812759).
With respect to claim 1, Kai discloses a transmission circuit (Col 2, lines 63-64)which, in operation, transmits transmission signals corresponding to a plurality of frequencies (Col 2, lines 55-57; Col 4, lines 2-3); a reception circuit (Col 3, lines 4-6) which, in operation, receives reception signals that the transmission signals is reflected at a plurality of reflection points of an object (Col 2, line 66-Col 3, line 3); and a detection circuit which, in operation, detects the object based on a composited signal obtained by combining the reception signals (Col 3, lines 43-49; Col 4, lines 26-27, 55-56; Col 6, lines 11-13, 48-50), wherein a power of the composited signal is greater than a power of each of the reception signals (Col 5, lines 13-18; Fig 4).
With respect to claim 13, Kai discloses transmitting transmission signals corresponding to a plurality of frequencies (Col 2, lines 55-57; Col 4, lines 2-3); receiving reception signals that the transmission signals is reflected at a plurality of reflection points of an object (Col 2, line 66-Col 3, line 3); and detecting the object based on a composited signal obtained by combining the reception signals (Col 3, lines 43-49; Col 4, lines 26-27, 55-56; Col 6, lines 11-13, 48-50), wherein a power of the composited signal is greater than a power of each of the reception signals (Col 5, lines 13-18; Fig 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kai in view of Bariant (2019/0056495).
With respect to claims 2 and 14, Kai teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach the transmission signal is a chirp signal.
Bariant teaches the transmission signal is a chirp signal ([0012], line 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method and system of Kai with the chirp signals of Bariant since such a modification would have provided better image detain and allow for clearer target separation.
With respect to claim 12, Kai teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach a vehicle in which the apparatus is mounted.
Bariant teaches a vehicle in which the apparatus is mounted ([0007], line 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the system of Kai to be mounted on a vehicle as taught by Bariant since such a modification would have allowed it to be used for self-parking or self-driving applications.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 15-18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art which is cited but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references made herein are done so for the convenience of the applicant. They are in no way intended to be limiting. The prior art should be considered in its entirety.
/KRYSTINE E BREIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645