DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: “pool 975, 76)” in line 1 should read --pool (75, 76)--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 1, line 10, claim 3, line 3, claim 7, line 13, and claim 9, line 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the junction" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the junction” is interpreted to read --a junction--.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the junction" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the junction” is interpreted to read --a junction--.
Any remaining dependent claim(s) are indefinite insofar as they depend on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fincham (US 20190063092) in view of Slater (US 20170044784).
Regarding claim 1, Fincham discloses a wave generating foil (122, 300, ¶ 0053) for use in a wave pool (100) with a shore (211) and water line (199), the foil comprising:
an inner surface (302, 312-314, 340) extending from a leading edge (304) to a trailing edge (306), the inner surface extends below and above the water line (¶ 0026);
the inner surface constructed to be propelled (via 118, ¶ 0025) along a travel line (116), the travel line defines a shore side (203) and an opposite side (201);
the inner surface comprising:
a first section (annotated in Fig. 9A below) extending away from the leading edge (the first section annotated in Fig. 9A below extends away from the leading edge near 342) and substantially parallel to the travel line (the first section is substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the foil shown in Fig. 9A below; see Fig. 8A-9B);
a second section (annotated in Fig. 9A below) that extends away from the first section (the second section annotated in Fig. 9A below extends away from the first section; see Fig. 8A-9B).
However, Fincham does not explicitly disclose the inner surface faces the shore; the second section extends towards the opposite side as claimed.
Slater discloses a wave generator system wherein the inner surface (inner surface of 3104 facing 3100) faces the shore (3100); a second section (section of 3104 extending toward 3102) that extends away from the first section towards the opposite side (see Fig. 28; ¶ 0114). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the inner surface of Fincham, to face the shore as claimed, as taught by Slater, since it was known in the art that a wave generation mechanism can be bi-directional by flipping or turning the wave generation mechanism and/or foils physically to reverse their orientation (¶ 0114). In doing so, the combination meets the limitations of the inner surface faces the shore; a second section that extends away from the first section towards the opposite side as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, the combination above and specifically Fincham further discloses the inner surface further comprises a third section (annotated in Fig. 9A above) that extends away from the second section towards the shore side (as modified by Slater above; the third section annotated in Fig. 9A above extends away from the second section; see Fig. 8A-9B).
Regarding claim 3, the combination above and specifically Fincham further discloses a fourth section (annotated in Fig. 9A above) extending away from the third section and substantially parallel to the travel line (the fourth section annotated in Fig. 9A above extends away from the third section and is substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the foil shown in Fig. 9A above; see Fig. 8A-9B).
Regarding claim 4, the combination above and specifically Fincham further discloses a plane of symmetry (the plane of symmetry located at α which bisects the foil; the foil is substantially symmetrical around the vertical axis, α, ¶ 0043-0044) extending perpendicularly from the travel line (see Fig. 8A-9B) and intersecting the inner surface at the junction (314) of the second and third sections (see Fig. 8A-9B).
Regarding claim 5, the combination above and specifically Fincham further discloses the foil is further constructed to be propelled in either direction (bi-directional, ¶ 0026) along the travel line.
Regarding claim 6, the combination above and specifically Fincham further discloses the travel line is straight (see Fig. 1) or curved.
Regarding claim 7, Fincham discloses a wave generating system comprising:
a wave pool (100) with a shore (211) and water line (199);
a conveyance (118) crossing the wave pool (¶ 0025);
a wave generating foil (122, 300; ¶ 0053) constructed to be propelled along a travel line (116) by the conveyance (¶ 0025), the travel line defines a shore side (203) and an opposite side (201);
the foil comprising:
an inner surface (302, 312-314, 340) extending from a leading edge (304) to a trailing edge (306), the inner surface extends below and above the water line (¶ 0026);
the inner surface comprising:
a first section (annotated in Fig. 9A above) extending away from the leading edge (the first section annotated in Fig. 9A above extends away from the leading edge near 342) and substantially parallel to the travel line (the first section is substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the foil shown in Fig. 9A above; see Fig. 8A-9B);
a second section (annotated in Fig. 9A above) that extends away from the first section (the second section annotated in Fig. 9A below extends away from the first section; see Fig. 8A-9B).
However, Fincham does not explicitly disclose the inner surface faces the shore; the second section extends towards the opposite side as claimed.
Slater discloses a wave generator system wherein the inner surface (inner surface of 3104 facing 3100) faces the shore (3100); a second section (section of 3104 extending toward 3102) that extends away from the first section towards the opposite side (see Fig. 28; ¶ 0114). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the inner surface of Fincham, to face the shore as claimed, as taught by Slater, since it was known in the art that a wave generation mechanism can be bi-directional by flipping or turning the wave generation mechanism and/or foils physically to reverse their orientation (¶ 0114). In doing so, the combination meets the limitations of the inner surface faces the shore; a second section that extends away from the first section towards the opposite side as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, the combination above and specifically Fincham further discloses the inner surface further comprises a third section (annotated in Fig. 9A above) that extends away from the second section towards the shore side (as modified by Slater above; the third section annotated in Fig. 9A above extends away from the second section; see Fig. 8A-9B).
Regarding claim 9, the combination above and specifically Fincham further discloses the inner surface further comprises a fourth section (annotated in Fig. 9A above) extending away from the third section and substantially parallel to the travel line (the fourth section annotated in Fig. 9A above extends away from the third section and is substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the foil shown in Fig. 9A above; see Fig. 8A-9B).
Regarding claim 10, the combination above and specifically Fincham further discloses a plane of symmetry (the plane of symmetry located at α which bisects the foil; the foil is substantially symmetrical around the vertical axis, α, ¶ 0043-0044) extending perpendicularly from the travel line (see Fig. 8A-9B) and intersecting the inner surface at a junction (314) of the second and third sections (see Fig. 8A-9B).
Regarding claim 11, the combination above and specifically Fincham further discloses the foil is further constructed to be propelled in either direction (bi-directional, ¶ 0026) along the travel line by the conveyance.
Regarding claim 12, the combination above and specifically Fincham further discloses the conveyance travels in a straight path (path of 116, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination above discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 7.
Fincham further discloses the channel can be curvilinear such as an arc, semi-circle, or a circle (¶ 0022, 0028-0029); however, Fincham does not specifically disclose the conveyance travels in a curved path as claimed.
Slater disclose a wave generator system wherein the conveyance (moving mechanism, ¶ 0111) travels in a curved path (3006, see Fig. 27, ¶ 0106-0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the conveyance of Fincham, to travel in a curved path as claimed, as taught by Slater, since it was known in the art that a track of a wave generation system can be curved or provided with multiple curves (¶ 0106-0108) and that the track can be positioned and installed along an edge of the body of water, such as a reef, berm, beach, wall or jetty, or the like (¶ 0106-108).
Regarding claim 14, the combination above and specifically Fincham further discloses the first section is curved (see annotated Fig. 9A above).
Regarding claim 15, the combination above discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 7.
Fincham further discloses the first section is curved (see annotated Fig. 9A above); and the fourth section is curved (see annotated Fig. 9A above).
Additionally, Fincham discloses the channel can be curvilinear such as an arc, semi-circle, or a circle (¶ 0022, 0028-0029); however, Fincham does not specifically disclose the conveyance travels in a curved path as claimed.
Slater disclose a wave generator system wherein the conveyance (moving mechanism, ¶ 0111) travels in a curved path (3006, see Fig. 27, ¶ 0106-0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the conveyance of Fincham, to travel in a curved path as claimed, as taught by Slater, since it was known in the art that a track of a wave generation system can be curved or provided with multiple curves (¶ 0106-0108) and that the track can be positioned and installed along an edge of the body of water, such as a reef, berm, beach, wall or jetty, or the like (¶ 0106-108).
Regarding claim 16, the combination above and specifically Fincham further discloses the shore is curved (¶ 0022 and 0028-0029 disclose the channel can be curvilinear such as an arc, semi-circle, or a circle; therefore, the beach regions making up the channel are also curved).
Regarding claim 17, the combination above and specifically Fincham further discloses the wave pool comprises a sloped floor (208 and 210 are sloped, see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, the combination above and specifically Fincham further discloses the slope floor has at least two different slopes (208 and 210 have different slopes, see Fig. 4).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 4-7, and 10-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,247,412. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-18 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1, 4-7, and 10-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,247,412.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lochtefeld (US 20130199433) is directed to the state of the art as disclosing an apparatus for adjusting and stabilizing a wave generator traveling through a body of water including a tow connector (15), hulls (5), and surfaces (6) to generate waves (92).
/WILLIAM R KLOTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754