DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 30-49 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14, 24 and 29 of US Patent 10,254,634 B2 (hereafter “Patent A” in this section), claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 14, and 15 of US Patent 11,681,206 B2 (hereafter “Patent B” in this section) and claims 7 and 20 of US Patent 12,248,234 B2 (hereafter “Patent C” in this section) Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims either anticipate the claimed invention (being drawn to a more specific embodiment than the claimed configuration) or the claimed invention is obvious over the patent claims (for example, by noting the inclusion of indicators on an optical filter in Patent C, the patent claims render obvious the claimed positioning of the indicators on the side frame of an optical element as photographic filter elements typically take the form of a flat glass element with a surrounding frame upon which the identifying marks are provided, and because a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that positioning a tactile/visual indicator on the flat surface even out of the normally optically active region would be less than optimal due to the undesirability of having a user place their finders upon the flat glass region, potentially leaving fingerprints).
The claims correspond as indicated in the following table:
Instant Claim
Patent A
Patent B
Patent C
30
14
1
7
31
14
1
7
32
14
1
7
33
14
1
7
34
14
5
7
35
14
1
n/a
36
14
5
7
37
14
2
7
38
29
14
20
39
29
14
20
40
29
15
n/a
41
29
15
n/a
42
29
14
20
43
29
14
20
44
29
14
20
45
24
8
n/a
46
24
8
n/a
47
24
8
n/a
48
24
11
n/a
49
24
8
n/a
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 39 recites the limitation "the one or more surface features" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 30 does not recite the presence of any surface features. Claim 35 does, and for the purpose of examination with regard to the prior art the claim is being interpreted as though it depended upon claim 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 30-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sanada (US Patent 3,904,279).
With regard to claim 30: Sanada discloses an apparatus which comprises an optical body configured to pass an optical image to a camera (a camera lens) which comprises an indicator configured to covey a fixed property of the element to a user by touch and/or sight (combination of 6a and 6b formed in cover ring 6, which indicates a property of the camera optical element, specifically focal length, see column 2 lines 32-53). The examiner notes that the limitation “touch and/or sight” is being interpreted in light of the specification as requiring that the indicator must be able to be used either by touch or sight, although not necessarily simultaneously. For example, embossed braille dots with a contrasting color allowing it to be “read” visually by someone who knows the dot patterns while also being able to be interpreted by touch.
With regard to claims 31-34: The camera element of Sanada has a front surface (the left end as shown in Figure 1), a rear surface (the camera mounting end 1 on the right of Figure 1) and a plurality of side surfaces (rings 2, 3, 5, and 6 and indicia area 4a) arranged perpendicularly between the front and rear surface. The surface feature of the tactile indicator is formed on one of the side surfaces (specifically cover ring 6) as surface features 6a and 6b on a side edge (the circumference of the lens as shown in Figures 1 and 3) of the outer surface of the optical body.
With regard to claim 35-36: The indicator of Sanada is configured to have surface features which are configured have a shape associated with the camera optical element for indicating a property of the camera optical element (the shape of the digits incorporated in the indicator).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38-43 and 45-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanada.
With regard to claims 38 and 40-42: Sanada discloses a method which comprises: feeling or viewing a tactile indicator (combination of 6a and 6b, possibly with 8 as well) associated with a camera optical element (an interchangeable camera lens) and then selecting the camera optical element based on the fixed optical properties as conveyed to a user during the step of viewing or feeling, the indicator being configured to convey an identity of a fixed optical feature by touch vua the number and/or shape of the surface feature. This is disclosed by Sanada making multiple references to a user being able to identifying the lens by “sight or feel” (see e.g. column 2 line 36) and disclosure relating to the problem solved by the invention (see column 1 lines 29-34) and summary of the invention (see column 1 lines 47-50) making it clear to the reader that the intended use of the lenses of Sanada is to allow a photographer to be able to select a desired lens amount a plurality of lenses based on either sight or touch (such when as reaching into a camera bag with a plurality of lenses within).
Even if Sanada is considered to not disclose such a method to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, such method would have been obvious to said person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing in view of Sanada since the obvious use of a system allowing a user to uniquely identify components is to use that system to allow a user of the system (in the case of Sanada, a photographer) to select and make use of the component (via attachment of the component to a camera) that they desire to use from a selection of various components.
With regard to claim 39 The camera element of Sanada has a front surface (the left end as shown in Figure 1), a rear surface (the camera mounting end 1 on the right of Figure 1) and a plurality of side surfaces (rings 2, 3, 5, and 6 and indicia area 4a) arranged perpendicularly between the front and rear surface. The surface feature of the tactile indicator is formed on one of the side surfaces (specifically cover ring 6) as surface features 6a and 6b on a side edge (the circumference of the lens as shown in Figures 1 and 3) of the outer surface of the optical body.
With regard to claim 43: Sanada teaches that the camera optical elements are interchangeable lenses which incorporate a mount 1 for coupling the lens to a camera body, indicating that after selection of the desired camera optical element the camera optical element is to be coupled to the camera. Even if Sanada is considered to not disclose such a method to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, such method would have been obvious to said person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing in view of Sanada since camera lenses are used by coupling to a camera body.
With regard to claim 45: Sanada discloses a system of camera optical elements (camera lenses each having a particular focal length, in Figures 1, 4, and 5 100mm, 85mm, and 50mm lenses are shown, and in whole the disclosure indicates towards a system of such lenses as the markings discussed in Sanada are only useful if there exist plural lenses to distinguish between) with each optical element having a fixed optical property (focal length), and wherein each optical element comprises a tactile and visual indicator (combination of 6a, 6b, and 8) configured to indicate the optical property of the respective optical element. See column 1 lines 47-49 and column 2 lines 35-58 describing how the indicia enables the focal length or aperture of the lens (the fixed property) to be determined either by touch or visually.
Even if Sanada is considered to not disclose such a system (that is, if Figures 1, 4, and 5 are not considered to be a disclosure of separate lenses of the same system each with different focal lengths) to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, such a system would have been obvious to said person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing in view of Sanada since the obvious use of the identification scheme of Sanada is to allow a photographer to select and make use of the component that they desire to use from a selection of various components. Simply put, a photographer has no need to be able to uniquely identify a lens by sight or feel when the photographer only has a single lens available, so it would have been obvious to have a plurality of lenses with the identification scheme.
With regard to claims 47-48: The camera element of Sanada has a front surface (the left end as shown in Figure 1), a rear surface (the camera mounting end 1 on the right of Figure 1) and a plurality of side surfaces (rings 2, 3, 5, and 6 and indicia area 4a) arranged perpendicularly between the front and rear surface forming a frame in which the optical elements (lenses) are retained. The surface feature of the tactile indicator is formed on one of the side surfaces (specifically cover ring 6) as surface features 6a and 6b on a side edge (the circumference of the lens as shown in Figures 1 and 3) of the outer surface of the optical body frame and includes surface features that a configured to identify the fixed optical property of the optical element.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With regard to claims 37, 44, and 49: The prior art does not teach the use of a tactile identification scheme for a filter element. If there Double Patenting rejection were to be rendered moot or otherwise overcome, the claims would be objected to as being allowable but dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Conclusion
/LEON W RHODES, JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2852