DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities (emphasis added): the limitation “a second panel area having a second display as a second front face thereof, to the second panel area being configured to overlap the first panel area in a folded state” should read: “a second panel area having a second display as a second front face thereof,the second panel area being configured to overlap the first panel area in a folded state”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities (emphasis added): the limitation “among the two data lines disposed in a each column” should read: “ among the two data lines disposed in [[a]] each column” or “among the two data lines disposed in a [[each]] column”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities (emphasis added): the limitation “a second panel area having a second display as a second front face thereof, to the second panel area being configured to overlap the first panel area in a folded state” should read: “a second panel area having a second display as a second front face thereof, [[to]] the second panel area being configured to overlap the first panel area in a folded state”.. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-13 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 8 and 14. Claims 8 and 14 recite the limitations (emphasis added):
first and second scan switches each for switching the scan line disposed in respective row to be connected to the data line at the one side disposed in a respective column; and
third and fourth scan switches each for switching the scan line disposed in a respective row to be connected to the data line at the other side disposed in a respective column.
The claimed scan switches are illustrated in Applicant’s disclosure, Figure 13 as T-Sc, and Figure 14 as T2. The scan switches , T-Sc, in Figure 13 are N-channel transistors and the transistor, T2, in Figure 14 is a P-channel transistor.
A transistor comprises three electrodes, a gate, a source and a drain. A signal applied to the gate electrode controls the amount of current flowing between the source and drain electrodes. When configured as a switch, the gate electrode is used to effectively open or close the electrical path between the source and the drain electrodes.
As illustrated in Figure 14, the scan line S1 is connected to the gate electrode of T2 and the data line is connected to the source/drain electrode (P1) of T2 while the drain/source electrode (P2) of T2 is connected to T3 and Tdr. When a switching signal is applied to S1, “the switching” either connects P1 and P2 or disconnects P1 and P2. The switching of T2 does not connect the gate electrode (P7) with either source/drain electrode (P1) or drain/source electrode (P2). In other words, the scan switches do not switch the scan line to be connected with the data line.
The limitation is indefinite because it claims a function for each of the scan switches that does not exist and therefore does not particularly point out and distinctly claim the relationship of the scan switches and the data line at the one side and the data line at the other side.
Regarding Claims 9-13 and 15-16. Claims 9-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 USC §112(b) for containing the indefinite subject matter of their parent Claim.
In support of compact prosecution the cited Claim 8 and 14 limitations are construed:
a first scan switch configured to connect a first pixel to the first data line, and
a second scan switch configured to connect a second pixel, in a same row as the first pixel, to the second data line; and
a third scan switch configured to connect a third pixel to the second data line, and a fourth scan switch configured to connect a fourth pixel, in the same row, to the first data line.
Claims 8-13 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 8 and 14. Claims 8 and 14 recite the limitation {emphasis added):
a first multiplexer configured to select a data line at one side among the two data lines disposed in each column; a second multiplexer configured to select a data line at the other side among the two data lines disposed in each column". There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the other side”.
Regarding Claims 9-13 and 15-16. Claims 9-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 USC §112(b) for inheriting the indefinite term from their parent Claim.
In support of compact prosecution the cited Claims 8 and 14 limitation is construed:
a first data line disposed on a first column side in each of the columns of the plurality of sub-pixels, and
a second data line disposed on a second column side in each of the columns of the plurality of sub-pixels;
a first multiplexer configured to select the first data line;
a second multiplexer configured to select the second data line.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirakata (US 2023/0320000) in view of Oh (US 2020/0225704). All reference is to Hirakata unless otherwise indicated.
Regarding Claim 1 (Original), Hirakata teaches a display device, comprising:
a foldable [¶0069, “By folding the light-emitting device 100 at a portion between the housings, the light-emitting device 100 can be reversibly modified from the developed state in FIG. 1A to the folded state in FIG. 1C through a state in FIG. 1B. At this time, the relative positions between the housing 111 and the housing 112 and between the housing 112 and the housing 113 are fixed by a magnetic force”] display panel [fig. 2 @101] including:
a first panel area [fig. 1C @111] having a first display as a first front face thereof [fig. 2 portion of 101 overlapping 111];
a second panel area [fig. 1C @112] having a second display as a second front face thereof [fig. 2 portion of 101 overlapping 112], the second panel area [fig. 3C @112] being configured to overlap the first panel area [fig. 3C @111] in a folded state [fig. 3C];
a third panel area [fig. 1C @113] having a third display as a third front face thereof [fig. 2 portion of 101 overlapping 113], the third panel area [fig. 3C @113] being configured to overlap the second panel area [fig. 3C @112] in the folded state [fig. 3C];
a first folding area [fig. 3C @102 between 111 and 112] disposed between the first panel area and the second panel area; and
a second folding area [fig. 3C @102 between 112 and 113] disposed between the second panel area and the third panel area; wherein
each of the first panel area [fig. 1C @111], the second panel area [fig. 1C @111], and the third panel area [fig. 1C @111] includes an active area [area where fig. 2 @101 overlaps 111 or 112 or 113] and a non-active area [area where fig. 2 @102 overlaps 111, 112 or 113], wherein
the first display [fig. 2 portion of 101 overlapping 111], the second display [fig. 2 portion of 101 overlapping 112], and the third display [fig. 2 portion of 101 overlapping 113] are continuously arranged and are integrally formed with each other [¶0052, “When the light-emitting device of one embodiment of the present invention is in use, the seamless large light-emitting region”]
Hirakata does not teach each of the first display, the second display, and the third display includes a plurality of scan lines and a plurality of data lines arranged to intersect each other, and a plurality of pixels respectively disposed at intersections between the scan lines and the data lines, each pixel including an organic light emitting diode, and wherein the non-active area of one of the first panel area, the second panel area, and the third panel area includes: a scan driver for applying a scan signal to the plurality of scan lines; a light-emission controller for applying a light-emission control signal to a plurality of light-emission control lines; the scan driver or the light-emission controller disposed at one side of the non-active area, and the scan driver parallel to the light-emission controller in a first direction, and wherein the scan driver or the light-emission controller overlap with the first folding area and the second folding area
Oh teaches each [¶0084, “The display panel DP may include a display region DP-DA and a non-display region DP-NDA, when viewed in a plan view. In the present embodiment, the non-display region DP-NDA may be located along an edge or outer boundary of the display region DP-DA. The display region DP-DA and the non-display region DP-NDA of the display panel DP may correspond to the display region DD-DA and the non-display region DD-NDA, respectively, of the display device DD shown in FIG. 1”] of a first display, a second display, and a third display [¶0050, “The display region DD-DA may include a first display region DA1, a second display region DA2, and a third display region DA3”] includes
a plurality of scan lines [fig. 5 @SL] and a plurality of data lines [fig. 5 @DL] arranged to intersect each other [fig. 5 illustrates claimed intersection], and
a plurality of pixels [figs. 5 and 6 @PX] respectively disposed at intersections between the scan lines and the data lines, each pixel [fig. 6 @PX] including an organic light emitting diode [OLED] and wherein
the non-active area of one of the first panel area, the second panel area, and the third panel area [construed as fig. 5 @DP-NDA] includes:
a scan driver [fig. 5 @100] for applying a scan signal to the plurality of scan lines [¶0087];
a light-emission controller [¶0086, “The scan driver 100 may include a scan driving part and an emission control driving part”] for applying a light-emission control signal [¶0087] to a plurality of light-emission control lines [fig. 5 @ECL];
the scan driver [fig. 5 @100] or the light-emission controller disposed at one side of the non-active area [fig. 5 @100 illustrates scan part and emission driver part located on right side of DP-NDA], and
the scan driver parallel [scan driver part and light-emission driver part taught by ¶0086 are construed as positioned at intersection of SL or ECL with fig. 5 @100, scan driver part and light-emission part are parallel in the fig. 5 @DWR2 direction] to the light-emission controller in a first direction, and wherein
the scan driver or the light-emission controller [construed as fig. 5 @100] overlap [¶0084 teaches figs. 1 and 5 represent same display, comparison of figs. 1 and 5 illustrates fig. 5 @100 overlaps both BX1 and BX2] with the first folding area [fig. 1 @BX1] and the second folding area [fig. 1 @BX2]
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate pixels, and pixel control lines in each of the display areas and the scan and light emission driver in the non-display area, as taught by Oh, into the display device taught by Hirakata in order to provide control signals to each pixel resulting in the generation of display information.
Regarding Claim 5 (Original), Hirakata in view of Oh teaches the display device of Claim 1, wherein the display panel further includes:
the first panel area [fig. 1C @111] having the first front face [front of 111] and a first rear face [back of 111];
the second panel area [fig. 1C @112] having the second front face [front of 112] and a second rear face [back of 112],
the second panel area [fig. 1C @112] being configured to overlap the first panel area [fig. 1C @111] with the second rear face [back of 112] facing [fig. 1B illustrates back of 111 facing back of 112] the first rear face [back of 111] with the display panel in a folded state [fig. 1C] at a boundary [fig. 1b @102] between the first and second panel areas [fig. 1C illustrates claimed overlap];
the third panel area [fig. 1C @113] having the third front face [front of 113] and a third rear face [back of 113],
the third panel area [fig. 1C @113] being configured to overlap the second panel area [fig. 1C @112] with the third front face [front 113] facing [fig. 1B illustrates front of 113 facing front of 112] the second front face [front 112] with the display panel in a folded state at a boundary between the second and third panel areas [fig. 1C illustrates claimed overlap].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirakata in view of Oh and Song (US 2019/0103455). All reference is to Hirakata unless otherwise indicated.
Regarding Claim 2 (Original), Hirakata in view of Oh teaches the display device of Claim 1, wherein
the non-active area [Oh: fig. 1 @DD-NDA] of one of the first panel area [Oh: fig. 1 @DA1], the second panel area [Oh: fig. 1 @DA2], and the third panel area [Oh: fig. 1 @DA3] includes:
a data driver [Oh: fig. 5 @200] for applying a data signal to the plurality of data lines;
a high-potential voltage [Oh: fig. 5 @ELVDD], a low-potential voltage [Oh: fig. 5 @ELVSS], and an initialization voltage [Oh: fig. 6 @Vint] to each pixel [Oh: fig. 6 @PX]
Hirakata in view of Oh does not teach the non-active area includes a power supply and a timing controller for controlling the scan driver and the data driver
Song teaches a non-active area [construed as areas not considered as display areas, fig. 1 @NDA and fig. 1 @FPCB] includes a power supply and a timing controller for controlling the scan driver and the data driver [¶0078, “…A timing controller (not shown) for controlling the data driver DDV, the scan driver, and the emission driver, a touch driver (not shown) for sensing a touch of a user, the power supply unit, and the like may be disposed (e.g., mounted) on the flexible printed circuit board FPCB”]
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of disposing the display control circuits and power supply lines in non-active areas of the device, as taught by Song, into the display device taught by Hirakata in view of Oh in order to maximize the panel area used for display.
Claims 3-4, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirakata in view of Oh and Wang (US 2017/0103700). All reference is to Hirakata unless otherwise indicated.
Regarding Claim 3 (Original), Hirakata in view of Oh teaches the display device of Claim 1, wherein
a plurality of pixels [Oh: fig. 5 @PX] arranged in rows and columns [Oh: fig. 5 illustrates claimed arrangement], wherein
one of the scan lines [Oh: fig. 5 @SL] is disposed in a corresponding one of the rows of the plurality of pixels [Oh: fig. 5 illustrates one scan line and one emission control line for each row of pixels], and
one of the light-emission control lines [Oh: fig. 5 @ECL] is disposed in a corresponding one of the rows of the plurality of pixels [Oh: fig. 5 illustrates one scan line and one emission control line for each row of pixels] and
one of the data lines [Oh: fig. 5 @DL] are disposed in a corresponding one of the columns of the plurality of pixels [Oh: fig. 5 illustrates one DL and one PL in each column of pixels]
Hirakata in view of Oh does not teach the plurality of pixels is a plurality of sub-pixels
Wang teaches a plurality of pixels is a plurality of sub-pixels [fig. 2 illustrates a pixel comprising three sub-pixels]
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of dividing a display pixel into sub-pixels, as taught by Wang, into the display device taught by Hirakata in view of Oh in order to display color images.
Regarding Claim 4 (Original), Hirakata in view of Oh and Wang teaches the display device of Claim 3, wherein
the sub-pixel [Wang: fig. 2 and Oh: fig. 6] includes a plurality [Oh: fig. 6 @T1 and T2] of thin-film transistors [The Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of thin film transistors in display pixel driving circuits is well known in the display art], an organic electroluminescent diode [Oh: fig. 6 @OLED], a driving thin-film transistor [Oh: fig. 6 @T1], and an internal compensation circuit [Oh: ¶0110], and
at least one of the plurality of thin-film transistors and the driving thin-film transistor implemented as an oxide TFT [Oh: ¶0112, “FIG. 6 illustrates an example in which p-type metal oxide semiconductor (PMOS) transistors are used as the transistors T1-T7”], and
the remaining transistors implemented as a low temperature poly silicon (LTPS) TFT [Oh: ¶0089, “The scan driver 100 may include a plurality of thin film transistors that are formed by the same process as that for the driving circuit of the pixels PX (e.g., by a low temperature polycrystalline silicon (LTPS) process or a low temperature polycrystalline oxide (LTPO) process)”].
Regarding Claim 8 (Claim 8 construed as follows based on previously cited 112(b) rejections), Hirakata in view of Oh teaches the display device of Claim 3
Hirakata in view of Oh does not teach a first data line disposed on a first column side in each of the columns of the plurality of sub-pixels, and a second data line disposed on a second column side in each of the columns of the plurality of sub-pixels; a first multiplexer configured to select the first data line; a second multiplexer configured to select the second data line, a first scan switch configured to connect a first pixel to the first data line, a second scan switch configured to connect a second pixel, in a same row as the first pixel, to the second data line; and a third scan switch configured to connect a third pixel to the second data line, and a fourth scan switch configured to connect a fourth pixel, in the same row, to the first data line
Wang teaches a first data line [fig. 4 @D1] disposed on a first column side [left] in each of the columns of the plurality of sub-pixels, and
a second data line [fig. 4 @D2] disposed on a second column side [right] in each of the columns of the plurality of sub-pixels;
a first multiplexer [fig. 4 @SW1] configured to select the first data line [fig. 4 @D1];
a second multiplexer [fig. 4 @SW2] configured to select the second data line [fig. 4 @D2];
a first [first pixel] scan switch [fig. 1 illustrates a typical scan switch connecting a data line to a pixel] configured to connect a first pixel [fig. 4 @row 1 column 1] to the first data line [fig. 4 @D1], and
a second [second pixel] scan switch configured to connect a second pixel [fig. 2 @row 2 column 1] to the second data line [fig. 2 @D2]; and
a third [third pixel] scan switch configured to connect a third pixel [fig. 2 @row 2 column 2] to the second data line [fig. 2 @D2], and
a fourth [fourth pixel] scan switch configured to connect a fourth pixel [fig. 2 @row 1 column 2] to the first data line [fig. 2 @D1].
Regarding Claim 9 (Original), Hirakata in view of Oh and Wang teaches the display device of Claim 8, wherein
the first and second scan switches are respectively disposed in two sub-pixels [Wang: fig. 2 illustrates the first and second scan switches are located in row 1 and row 2 in column 1] arranged consecutively in a column direction along the one of the two data lines among the plurality of sub-pixels, and wherein
the third and fourth scan switches are respectively disposed in two sub-pixels arranged consecutively [Wang: fig. 2 illustrates the third and fourth scan switches are located in row 2 and row 1 in column 2] in the column direction along the other of the two data lines among the plurality of sub-pixels.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirakata in view of Oh and Alhaidar (US Patent 9, 077,792). All reference is to Hirakata unless otherwise indicated.
Regarding Claim 6 (Original), Hirakata in view of Oh teaches the display device of Claim 5
Hirakata in view of Oh does not teach the first panel area, the second panel area, and the third panel area have different size
Alhaidar teaches a first panel area [fig. 6 @10a], a second panel area [fig. 6 @10b], and a third panel area [fig. 6 @10c] have different size [col 3 lines 12-16, “… the display portions of each of the panels 10a, 10b, and 10c can be used simultaneously to provide multi-display output. In such a configuration … It should be understood that the screen or display portion of each of the panels can vary in size. For example, the size of the display portion of each of the panels can range from about two to six inches diagonal”]
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of sizing each display panel differently, as taught by Alhaidar, into the display device taught by Hirakata in view of Oh in order to provide the user with increased flexibility to determine the desired display size.
Regarding Claim 7 (Original), Hirakata in view of Oh and Alhaidar teaches the display device of Claim 6
Hirakata in view of Oh and Alhaidar teaches the first panel and the third panel are different sizes [Alhaidar; col 3 lines 12-16]
Hirakata in view of Oh and Alhaidar does not teach the first panel area is smaller than the third panel area
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that one possible combination of configuring the first and third display panels in a different size was a configuration where the first panel is smaller than the third panel with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2017/0103700) in view of Oh (US 2020/0225704). All reference is to Wang unless otherwise indicated.
Regarding Claim 14 (Original), Wang teaches a display device, comprising:
a plurality of sub-pixels [¶0025, “Each of the pixels P comprises a plurality of sub-pixels, such as red sub-pixels R, green sub-pixels G and blue sub-pixels B”] arranged in rows and columns [fig. 2 illustrates three columns and four rows of sub-pixels], wherein
a first data line [fig. 4 @D1] disposed on a first column side [left] in each of the columns of the plurality of sub-pixels, and
a second data line [fig. 4 @D2] disposed on a second column side [right] in each of the columns of the plurality of sub-pixels;
a first multiplexer [fig. 4 @SW1] configured to select the first data line [fig. 4 @D1];
a second multiplexer [fig. 4 @SW2] configured to select the second data line [fig. 4 @D2];
a first [first pixel] scan switch [fig. 1 illustrates a typical scan switch connecting a data line to a pixel] configured to connect a first pixel [fig. 4 @row 1 column 1] to the first data line [fig. 4 @D1], and
a second [second pixel] scan switch configured to connect a second pixel [fig. 2 @row 2 column 1] to the second data line [fig. 2 @D2]; and
a third [third pixel] scan switch configured to connect a third pixel [fig. 2 @row 2 column 2] to the second data line [fig. 2 @D2], and
a fourth [fourth pixel] scan switch configured to connect a fourth pixel [fig. 2 @row 1 column 2] to the first data line [fig. 2 @D1]
Wang does not teach one scan line is disposed in each of the rows of the plurality of sub-pixels
Oh teaches one scan line [fig. 5 illustrates one scan line and one emission control line for each row of pixels] is disposed in each of the rows of the plurality of sub-pixels
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a scan line in each row of sub-pixels, as taught by Oh, into the display device taught by Wang in order to provide a control signal, for selecting a data line, to each row sub-pixel.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Oh and Park (US 2022/0319409). All reference is to Wang unless otherwise indicated.
Regarding Claim 15 (Original), Wang in view of Oh teaches the display device of Claim 14,
Wang in view of Oh does not teach the display device operates in an interlace scheme in a low-speed mode, and the display device operates in a progressive scheme in a high-speed mode
Park teaches a display device operates in an interlace scheme in a low-speed mode [still image display], and the display device operates in a progressive scheme in a high-speed [moving image] mode [¶0005, “In the progressive scanning, the scan driver should sequentially output a scan signal to all scan lines for every frame, and therefore, power consumption is high. However, all the scan lines are driven for every frame, and therefore, the progressive scanning is suitable for moving image display … in the interlaced scanning, the scan driver alternately drives odd-numbered scan lines and even-numbered scan lines for every frame, and thus power consumption is low. However, only a half of the scan lines are driven during a sub-frame, and therefore, the interlaced scanning is suitable for still image display”]
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of interlaced display driving mode when display image movement is low and a progressive driving mode when display image movement is high, as taught by Park, into the display device taught by Wang in view of Oh in order to provide display driving modes that allow the power consumption to be tailored to the type of images displayed.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Oh and Hirakata (US 2023/0320000). All reference is to Wang unless otherwise indicated.
Regarding Claim 16 (Original), Wang in view of Oh teaches the display device of Claim 14
Wang in view of Oh does not teach a first hinge coupling for coupling the first panel area and the second panel area to each other in a hinge coupling manner; and a second hinge coupling for coupling the second panel area and the third panel area to each other in the hinge coupling manner
Hirakata teaches a first hinge coupling [¶0111, “Although the structure in which the portions between the two housings are connected to each other by the protective layers 102 is described above, the portions between the two housings may be mechanically connected to each other by hinges. Relative movable ranges of the portions between the two housings can be controlled by hinges; therefore, the light-emitting panel 101 can be prevented from being broken”] for coupling the first panel area [fig. 2 @111] and the second panel area [fig. 2 @112] to each other in a hinge coupling manner; and
a second hinge coupling [¶0111] for coupling the second panel area [fig. 2 @112] and the third panel area [fig. 2 @113] to each other in the hinge coupling manner
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of first mechanical hinges coupling the first and second display panel area and second mechanical hinges coupling the second and third display panel, as taught by Hirakata into the display device taught by Wang in view of Oh in order to provide mechanical coupling between each of the display panels preventing separation of the connected display panels by mechanical strength that is resistance to fatigue failure (Hirakata: ¶0111).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirakata in view of Oh and Hirakata (US 2019/0033919) hereinafter Hirakata ‘919. All reference is to Hirakata unless otherwise indicated.
Regarding Claim 17 (Original) Hirakata teaches a display device, comprising:
a foldable [¶0069, “By folding the light-emitting device 100 at a portion between the housings, the light-emitting device 100 can be reversibly modified from the developed state in FIG. 1A to the folded state in FIG. 1C through a state in FIG. 1B. At this time, the relative positions between the housing 111 and the housing 112 and between the housing 112 and the housing 113 are fixed by a magnetic force”] display panel [fig. 2 @101] including:
a first panel area [fig. 1C @111] having a first display as a first front face thereof [fig. 2 portion of 101 overlapping 111];
a second panel area [fig. 1C @112] having a second display as a second front face thereof [fig. 2 portion of 101 overlapping 112], the second panel area [fig. 3C @112] being configured to overlap the first panel area [fig. 3C @111] in a folded state [fig. 3C];
a third panel area [fig. 1C @113] having a third display as a third front face thereof [fig. 2 portion of 101 overlapping 113], the third panel area [fig. 3C @113] being configured to overlap the second panel area [fig. 3C @112] in the folded state [fig. 3C];
a first folding area [fig. 3C @102 between 111 and 112] disposed between the first panel area and the second panel area; and
a second folding area [fig. 3C @102 between 112 and 113] disposed between the second panel area and the third panel area; wherein
each of the first panel area [fig. 1C @111], the second panel area [fig. 1C @111], and the third panel area [fig. 1C @111] includes an active area [area where fig. 2 @101 overlaps 111 or 112 or 113] and a non-active area [area where fig. 2 @102 overlaps 111, 112 or 113], wherein
the first display [fig. 2 portion of 101 overlapping 111], the second display [fig. 2 portion of 101 overlapping 112], and the third display [fig. 2 portion of 101 overlapping 113] are continuously arranged and are integrally formed with each other [¶0052, “When the light-emitting device of one embodiment of the present invention is in use, the seamless large light-emitting region”]
Hirakata does not teach each of the first display, the second display, and the third display includes a plurality of scan lines and a plurality of data lines arranged to intersect each other, and a plurality of pixels respectively disposed at intersections between the scan lines and the data lines, each pixel including an organic light emitting diode, and wherein the non-active area of one of the first panel area, the second panel area, and the third panel area includes: a scan driver for applying a scan signal to the plurality of scan lines; a light-emission controller for applying a light-emission control signal to a plurality of light-emission control lines; the scan driver or the light-emission controller disposed at one side of the non-active area, and the scan driver parallel to the light-emission controller in a first direction
Oh teaches each [¶0084, “The display panel DP may include a display region DP-DA and a non-display region DP-NDA, when viewed in a plan view. In the present embodiment, the non-display region DP-NDA may be located along an edge or outer boundary of the display region DP-DA. The display region DP-DA and the non-display region DP-NDA of the display panel DP may correspond to the display region DD-DA and the non-display region DD-NDA, respectively, of the display device DD shown in FIG. 1”] of a first display, a second display, and a third display [¶0050, “The display region DD-DA may include a first display region DA1, a second display region DA2, and a third display region DA3”] includes
a plurality of scan lines [fig. 5 @SL] and a plurality of data lines [fig. 5 @DL] arranged to intersect each other [fig. 5 illustrates claimed intersection], and
a plurality of pixels [figs. 5 and 6 @PX] respectively disposed at intersections between the scan lines and the data lines, each pixel [fig. 6 @PX] including an organic light emitting diode [OLED] and wherein
the non-active area of one of the first panel area, the second panel area, and the third panel area [construed as fig. 5 @DP-NDA] includes:
a scan driver [fig. 5 @100] for applying a scan signal to the plurality of scan lines [¶0087];
a light-emission controller [¶0086, “The scan driver 100 may include a scan driving part and an emission control driving part”] for applying a light-emission control signal [¶0087] to a plurality of light-emission control lines [fig. 5 @ECL];
the scan driver [fig. 5 @100] or the light-emission controller disposed at one side of the non-active area [fig. 5 @100 illustrates scan part and emission driver part located on right side of DP-NDA], and
the scan driver parallel [scan driver part and light-emission driver part taught by ¶0086 are construed as positioned at intersection of SL or ECL with fig. 5 @100, scan driver part and light-emission part are parallel in the fig. 5 @DWR2 direction] to the light-emission controller in a first direction
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate pixels, and pixel control lines in each of the display areas and the scan and light emission driver in the non-display area, as taught by Oh, into the display device taught by Hirakata in order to provide control signals to each pixel resulting in the generation of display information
Hirakata in view of Oh does not teach the combined scan driver is parallel to the first folding area and the second folding area
Hirakata ‘919 teaches a scan driver [fig. 1A @232G] is parallel to the first folding area [fig. 1A @230b(1)] and the second folding area [fig. 1A @230b(2)]
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of placing a scan line driving circuit that extends in the same direction as a first and second folding area, as taught by Hirakata ‘919, into the display device taught by Hirakata in view of Oh in order to arrange the scan lines in a first display region without crossing a folding area.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirakata in view of Oh, Hirakata ‘919 and Song (US 2019/0103455). All reference is to Hirakata unless otherwise indicated.
Regarding Claim 18 (Original), Hirakata in view of Oh and Hirakata ‘919 teaches the display device of Claim 17, wherein
the non-active area [Oh: fig. 1 @DD-NDA] of one of the first panel area [Oh: fig. 1 @DA1], the second panel area [Oh: fig. 1 @DA2], and the third panel area [Oh: fig. 1 @DA3] includes:
a data driver [Oh: fig. 5 @200] for applying a data signal to the plurality of data lines;
a high-potential voltage [Oh: fig. 5 @ELVDD], a low-potential voltage [Oh: fig. 5 @ELVSS], and an initialization voltage [Oh: fig. 6 @Vint] to each pixel [Oh: fig. 6 @PX]
Hirakata in view of Oh and Hirakata ‘919 does not teach the non-active area includes a power supply and a timing controller for controlling the scan driver and the data driver
Song teaches a non-active area [construed as areas not considered as display areas, fig. 1 @NDA and fig. 1 @FPCB] includes a power supply and a timing controller for controlling the scan driver and the data driver [¶0078, “…A timing controller (not shown) for controlling the data driver DDV, the scan driver, and the emission driver, a touch driver (not shown) for sensing a touch of a user, the power supply unit, and the like may be disposed (e.g., mounted) on the flexible printed circuit board FPCB”]
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of disposing the display control circuits and power supply lines in non-active areas of the device, as taught by Song, into the display device taught by, Hirakata in view of Oh and Hirakata ‘919, in order to maximize the panel area used to display images.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirakata in view of Oh, Hirakata ‘919 and Wang. All reference is to Hirakata unless otherwise indicated.
Regarding Claim 19 (Original), Hirakata in view of Oh and Hirakata ‘919 teaches the display device of Claim 17, wherein
a plurality of pixels [Oh: fig. 5 @PX] arranged in rows and columns [Oh: fig. 5 illustrates claimed arrangement], wherein
one of the scan lines [Oh: fig. 5 @SL] is disposed in a corresponding one of the rows of the plurality of pixels [Oh: fig. 5 illustrates one scan line and one emission control line for each row of pixels], and
one of the light-emission control lines [Oh: fig. 5 @ECL] is disposed in a corresponding one of the rows of the plurality of pixels [Oh: fig. 5 illustrates one scan line and one emission control line for each row of pixels] and
one of the data lines [Oh: fig. 5 @DL] are disposed in a corresponding one of the columns of the plurality of pixels [Oh: fig. 5 illustrates one DL and one PL in each column of pixels]
Hirakata in view of Oh and Hirakata ‘919 does not teach the plurality of pixels is a plurality of sub-pixels
Wang teaches a plurality of pixels is a plurality of sub-pixels [fig. 2 illustrates a pixel comprising three sub-pixels]
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of dividing a display pixel into sub-pixels, as taught by Wang, into the display device taught by Hirakata in view of Oh and Hirakata ‘919 in order to display color images.
Regarding Claim 20 (Original), Hirakata in view of Oh and Hirakata ‘919 teaches the display device of Claim 17, wherein
the pixel includes a plurality [Oh: fig. 6 @T1 and T2] of thin-film transistors [The Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of thin film transistors in display pixel driving circuits is well known in the display art],
an organic electroluminescent diode [Oh: fig. 6 @OLED],
a driving thin-film transistor [Oh: fig. 6 @T1], and
an internal compensation circuit [Oh: ¶0110] and
at least one of the plurality of thin-film transistors and the driving thin-film transistor implemented as an oxide TFT [Oh: ¶0112, “FIG. 6 illustrates an example in which p-type metal oxide semiconductor (PMOS) transistors are used as the transistors T1-T7”], and the remaining transistors implemented as a low temperature poly silicon (LTPS) TFT [Oh: ¶0089, “The scan driver 100 may include a plurality of thin film transistors that are formed by the same process as that for the driving circuit of the pixels PX (e.g., by a low temperature polycrystalline silicon (LTPS) process or a low temperature polycrystalline oxide (LTPO) process)”]
Hirakata in view of Oh and Hirakata ‘919 does not teach the plurality of pixels is a plurality of sub-pixels
Wang teaches a plurality of pixels is a plurality of sub-pixels [fig. 2 illustrates a pixel comprising three sub-pixels]
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of dividing a display pixel into sub-pixels, as taught by Wang, into the display device taught by Hirakata in view of Oh and Hirakata ‘919 in order to display color images.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Douglas Wilson whose telephone number is (571)272-5640. The examiner can normally be reached 1000-1800 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Patrick Edouard can be reached at 571-272-7603. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Douglas Wilson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622