DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)/6th ¶
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
· Claim(s) 1: a computing module adapted to ...,
· Claim(s) 1: a signal direction computation module adapted to ...,
· Claim(s) 1: a rendering module to ...,
· Claim(s) 2: a digitization module to ....
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 9, 12-14, 16, 19 is/are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, line 4, the space before the period should be deleted. Claims 3-4 are dependent upon claim 2.
In claim 6, line 1, "the total signal strength" should be replaced by --a total signal strength" since there is no antecedent basis for "the total signal strength" in the claim.
In claim 9, line 2, "the loudest audio output" should be replaced by --a loudest audio output-- since there is no antecedent basis for "the loudest audio output" in the claim.
In claim 12, lines 2-3, ", and a decoding module to decode the IQ representation to extract signal characteristics, comprising frequency, modulation properties, and audio characteristics" should be deleted since this language is simply repeating language already present in parent claim 11, lines 5-6. Claims 13-14 are dependent upon claim 2.
In claim 12, line 3, the space before the period should be deleted. Claims 13-14 are dependent upon claim 2.
In claim 16, line 1, "the total signal strength" should be replaced by --a total signal strength" since there is no antecedent basis for "the total signal strength" in the claim.
In claim 19, line 2, "the loudest audio output" should be replaced by --a loudest audio output-- since there is no antecedent basis for "the loudest audio output" in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craig '530 (US 2020/0393530 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Craig '530 discloses a system for determining the direction of a Radio Frequency (RF) signal, the system comprising:
a receiver module to receive RF signals from multiple directions via a plurality of phased array antennas (Fig. 2);
a computing module adapted to:
compute magnitude data from the extracted signal characteristics for signal strength evaluation (108, Fig. 1; ¶53; ¶72); and
compute phase-aligned signal characteristics data from the extracted signal characteristics based on time delays to determine phased signal alignment for direction estimation (Fig. 10; ¶53; ¶70-71) [where the phase differences between the antennas is due to the time delay between receiving the transmitted at one antenna relative to the other antenna];
a signal direction computation module adapted to determine a signal direction vector of strongest received signal by identifying peak signal strength patterns using the computed magnitude data and phase-aligned signal characteristics data (Fig. 3; Fig. 11; ¶54-57; ¶72); and
a rendering module to render the computed signal direction vector on a user device to indicate the direction of the strongest received RF signal (208, Fig. 2; 1108, 114, Fig. 11; ¶72) [where the Office takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it well known before the effective filing date of the invention to determine direction in elevation as well as in azimuth (such as when there is a hill or mountain nearby, resulting in multiple elevation angles corresponding to the same azimuth angle) by moving the device in elevation as well as azimuth, resulting in a signal direction vector].
In regard to claim 11, Craig '530 discloses a method for determining the direction of a radio frequency signal, the method comprising:
receiving Radio Frequency (RF) signals from multiple directions via a plurality of phased array antennas (Fig. 2);
converting the received RF signals into in-phase (I) and quadrature (Q) representation (Fig. 8);
decoding the IQ representation to extract signal characteristics, comprising frequency (1102, Fig. 11; ¶6; ¶20; ¶46), modulation properties (¶54; ¶59), and audio characteristics (¶54; ¶69);
computing magnitude data from the extracted signal characteristics for signal strength evaluation (108, Fig. 1; ¶53; ¶72);
computing phase data from the extracted signal characteristics based on time delays to determine phased signal alignment for direction estimation (Fig. 10; ¶53; ¶70-71) [where the phase differences between the antennas is due to the time delay between receiving the transmitted at one antenna relative to the other antenna];
determining signal direction vector of strongest received signal by identifying peak signal strength patterns using the computed magnitude data and phase-aligned signal characteristics data (Fig. 3; Fig. 11; ¶54-57; ¶72); and
rendering the computed signal direction vector on a user device to indicate the direction of the strongest received RF signal (208, Fig. 2; 1108, 114, Fig. 11; ¶72) [where the Office takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it well known before the effective filing date of the invention to determine direction in elevation as well as in azimuth (such as when there is a hill or mountain nearby, resulting in multiple elevation angles corresponding to the same azimuth angle, e.g., by moving the device in elevation as well as azimuth, resulting in a signal direction vector)].
In regard to claims 2 and 12, Craig '530 further discloses comprising a digitization module to convert/converting the received RF signals into In-phase (I) and Quadrature (Q) representation (Fig. 8), and a decoding module to decode/decoding the IQ representation to extract signal characteristics, comprising frequency (1102, Fig. 11; ¶6; ¶20; ¶46), modulation properties (¶54; ¶59), and audio characteristics (¶54; ¶69).
In regard to claims 3 and 13, Craig '530 further discloses the received RF signals are converted into IQ representation using an Analog-to-Digital Converter (ADC) (Fig. 8) [where RF signals are input at 802 and IQ signals are output at 828/830].
In regard to claims 4 and 14, Craig '530 further discloses the IQ representation is decoded using open-source Software-Defined Radio (SDR) software to generate an audio output and a digital signal strength readout (104, Fig. 1; Fig. 8; I/Q Audio, Fig. 9; ¶27; ¶55) [where Parsons (Software-Defined Radio), provides the definition of Software-Defined Radio as implementing components that would conventionally have been implemented in hardware, such as mixers, filters, and amplifiers, in software (p. 1, section "What Is A Software Defined Radio?"). See MPEP 2131.01(II).].
Craig '530 fails to disclose the Software-Defined Radio (SDR) software is open-source.
The Office takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it well known before the effective filing date of the invention to use open-source software when it is available.
In regard to claims 5 and 15, Craig '530 further discloses the time delay is determined by comparing phase-aligned signals from antennas positioned at fixed distances from each other (Fig. 2; ¶71).
In regard to claims 6 and 16, Craig '530 further discloses the total signal strength is computed by combining signals received via plurality of antennas positioned at a fixed distance apart (Fig. 2; ¶53).
In regard to claims 7 and 17, Craig '530 further discloses the signal direction vector is displayed in a format comprising a graphical directional arrow (¶62) [where the Office takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it well known before the effective filing date of the invention to implement a visual indication of a target emitter signal direction by using a graphical direction arrow].
Claim(s) 7, 9, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craig '530, as applied to claims 1 and 11, above, and further in view of Snow (US 5,652,578 A).
In regard to claims 9 and 19, Craig '530 further discloses both determining a peak signal strength pattern and providing audio to the user (¶54).
Craig '530 fails to disclose the strongest signal direction is determined by identifying peak signal strength patterns corresponding to the loudest audio output.
Snow teaches the strongest signal direction is determined by identifying peak signal strength patterns corresponding to the loudest audio output (58, Fig. 2; col. 3, lines 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to assist the user to confirm that the strongest signal direction has been found by using an audio output that the user can readily use to determine when the audio is the loudest.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the user can readily determine the direction of the highest signal strength.
In regard to claims 7 and 17, Snow further teaches the signal direction vector is displayed in a format comprising an auditory output (54, Fig. 1-2; col. 2, lines 52-54; col. 3, lines 1-6 and 33-34) [where the audio signal can be displayed in visual form].
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craig '530, as applied to claims 1 and 11, above, and further in view of Newman (US 2023/0178891 A1).
Craig '530 fails to disclose the received RF signals are processed by synchronizing signals from opposite antennas to enhance signal magnitude.
Newman teaches received RF signals are processed by synchronizing signals from opposite antennas to enhance signal magnitude (¶54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ensure that the phase difference/time delay is measured accurately.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that an accurate phase difference/time delay is measured.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Craig '530, as applied to claims 1 and 11, above, and further in view of Kim (KR 102448082 B1).
Craig '530 fails to disclose a USB hub is used to accommodate multiple SDR receivers, enabling simultaneous processing of signals from different antennas.
Kim teaches a USB hub is used to accommodate multiple receivers (component of 300 connected to 400-x in Fig. 5; p. 5, ¶4-10), enabling simultaneous processing of signals from different antennas (p. 4, ¶8) [where each 400-x includes an antenna].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to determine the position of the desired signal immediately using multiple direction measurements at once rather than having to wait for a single receiver to make multiple directions over time before being able to determine the position.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the position of the user device transmitting the signal is found faster.
In the combination, the receivers are SDR receivers.
The following reference(s) is/are also found relevant:
Gresyilov (WO 2012/154079 A1), which teaches determining both azimuth and elevation directions using a portable direction finder (p. 2, ¶ before the final ¶).
Parsons (Software-Defined Radio), which provides the definition of Software-Defined Radio as implementing components that would conventionally have been implemented in hardware, such as mixers, filters, and amplifiers, in software (p. 1, section "What Is A Software Defined Radio?").
Hüsges (An Inexpensive SDR System for Emitter Localization), which teaches direction-finding using SDRs, synchronization, and a USB hub.
Applicant is encouraged to consider these documents in formulating their response (if one is required) to this Office Action, in order to expedite prosecution of this application.
Fred H. Mull
Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/F. H. M./
Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648