DETAILED ACTION
Election Restriction
Applicant’s election (with traverse) of Species 10 (i.e., FIG. 16 - FIG. 23), among Species 1 - Species 10 is acknowledged. Applicant’s argues standing claim(s) 1-29 encompass Species 10. Traversal is on the ground(s) no search burden is present when examining Species 1 - Species 10 since they relay structures present in claim 1. Applicant’s arguments are non-persuasive since claim(s) 3-4, 6-13 relay structures not present in Species 10 such as; “engaging slot is formed on the top portion“ (claim 3, line(s) 3), “engaging portion protrudes inward the engaging slot“ (claim 4, line(s) 2-3), etc. Therefore, claim(s) 3-4, 6-13 have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter, hence a search burden is present, and are withdrawn from examination. Applicant timely traversed the restriction requirement in the reply filed on April 30, 2026. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claim(s) 1-29 are pending and claim(s) 1-2, 5, 14-29 will be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 14, 23-26, 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wei (China Patent CN220236303U) hereinafter WEI.
Regarding claim 1, WEI teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 9 below) a magnetic connecting attachment W1-01, adapted for a lid 10 and a mobile device (page 2, Background, line 2, “... phone ... “),
the lid 10 comprising an engaging feature 101, and
the magnetic connecting attachment W1-01 comprising:
a main body 11, formed with an engaging slot W4-01, the main body 11 being adapted to be arranged on the lid 10, and the engaging slot W4-01 being adapted to be engaged with the engaging feature 101; and
a magnetic connecting member 2, pivotally connected to the main body 11, and being adapted to be magnetically connected to the mobile device (page 2, Background, line 2, “... phone ... “).
Regarding claim 2, WEI teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 9 above) magnetic connecting attachment W1-01, wherein the main body 11 defines a passage W4-02, and the main body 11 is adapted to sleeve the lid 10 through the passage W4-02.
Regarding claim 5, WEI teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 9 above) magnetic connecting attachment W1-01, further comprising a fastening member 1011, the fastening member 1011 being detachably connected to the main body 11 and selectively engaged with the engaging slot W4-01.
Regarding claim 14, WEI teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 9 above) magnetic connecting attachment W1-01, wherein the passage W4-02 extends along a longitudinal direction W2-03, the main body 11 comprises a top portion W2-01 and a bottom portion W2-02, the magnetic connecting member 2 is pivotally configured on the top portion W2-01, and the engaging slot W4-01 extends along the longitudinal direction W2-03 to form an opening W4-03 at the bottom portion W2-02.
Regarding claim 23, WEI teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 9 above) a lid assembly W1-01, adapted for a mobile device (page 2, Background, line 2, “... phone ... “), comprising:
a lid 10, comprising an engaging feature 101; and
a magnetic connecting attachment W1-01, comprising:
a main body 11, formed with an engaging slot W4-01, the main body 11 being adapted to be arranged on the lid 10, and the engaging slot W4-01 being adapted to be engaged with the engaging feature 101; and
a magnetic connecting member 2, pivotally connected to the main body 11, and being adapted to be magnetically connected to the mobile device (page 2, Background, line 2, “... phone ... “).
Regarding claim 24, WEI teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 9 above) lid assembly W1-01, wherein the lid 10 further comprises a limiting portion W3-01, the limiting portion W3-01 is configured on the engaging feature 101, a size of the engaging feature 101 is substantially the same as a size of at least one part of the engaging slot W4-01, and a size of the limiting portion W3-01 is larger than a size of the at least one part of the engaging slot W4-01.
Regarding claim 25, WEI teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 9 above) lid assembly W1-01, wherein the main body 11 defines a passage W4-02, and the main body 11 is adapted to sleeve the lid 10 through the passage W4-02.
Regarding claim 26, WEI teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 9 above) lid assembly W1-01, wherein the passage W4-02 extends along a longitudinal direction W2-03, the main body 11 comprises a top portion W2-01 and a bottom portion W2-02, the magnetic connecting member 2 is pivotally configured on the top portion W2-01, and the engaging slot W4-01 extends along the longitudinal direction W2-03 to form an opening W4-03 at the bottom portion W2-02.
Regarding claim 28, WEI teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 9 above) a container assembly W1-01 for beverages or food, adapted for a mobile device (page 2, Background, line 2, “... phone ... “), comprising:
a body portion 11;
a lid 10, configured on the body portion 11, and comprising an engaging feature 101; and
a magnetic connecting attachment W1-01, comprising:
a main body 11, formed with an engaging slot W4-01, the main body 11 being adapted to be arranged on the lid 10, and the engaging slot W4-01 being adapted to be engaged with the engaging feature 101; and
a magnetic connecting member 2, pivotally connected to the main body 11, and being adapted to be magnetically connected to the mobile device (page 2, Background, line 2, “... phone ... “).
Regarding claim 29, WEI teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 9 above) container assembly W1-01 for beverages or food, wherein the main body 11 defines a passage W4-02, and the main body 11 is adapted to sleeve the lid 10 through the passage W4-02.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: claim(s) 15-22, 27 are allowable because the prior art of record (i.e., WEI) does not anticipate or make obvious:
--magnetic connecting attachment according to claim 14, further comprising a fastening member, the fastening member comprising an annular body and being provided with a second combination portion, the bottom portion of the main body being provided with a first combination portion, the fastening member being detachably connected to the first combination portion of the main body through the second combination portion, the engaging feature of the lid abutting against an upper slot wall of the engaging slot, a limiting portion of the lid passing through the engaging slot, and the annular body abutting against the limiting portion.-- [claim 15, line(s) 1-9]
Moreover, it would not be obvious to further modify the respective references to satisfy these limitations, as such modifications would cause the references to operate in a fashion that is inconsistent with that which was intended by their respective inventors. Accordingly, such modifications would be highly indicative of the use of improper hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Li et al. (China PatentCN106402585B): teaches an “attachment device” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Wang (China Patent CN216565239U): teaches a “support” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Eagle et al. (Germany Patent Application Publication DE202023105647U1): teaches a “vessel” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Law et al. (U. S. Patent US10571068B2): teaches a “stand” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Alves et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20230403352A): teaches a “mount” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Contact
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ANTHONY D. STASHICK can be reached on (571) 272-4561. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit ttps://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/M.J.R.M./
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735