Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin (Patent No. US 20130214995 A1) in further view of Chen (Patent No. WO 2022048484 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Levin teaches A screen wallpaper display method performed in a system having a first electronic device, a second electronic device, and a third electronic device, (Levin, “[0009] FIG. 5 is a block diagram illustrating an example of a configuration for a UI framework;”) wherein the second and third electronic device (Levin, “[0026] As will be explained in greater detail below, having the UI framework in the scenario shown in FIG. 3 obtain and render the UI element 12 for the application through a client-server rendering configuration (see also FIGS. 5 and 6) allows the UI framework to determine that multiple screens 16, 20 are available and either automatically, or according to specific application logic, modify the UI element 12 to take full advantage of the increased screen space.”)
sending, by the first electronic device to the second electronic device, second wallpaper description information comprising parameter information describing a second live wallpaper, wherein the second wallpaper description information is based on the first wallpaper description information; (Levin, “[0057] FIG. 8 illustrates data flows between the first mobile device 10 and the second mobile device 18 coordinated by UI frameworks 36a, 36b on the respective devices. The application 38 exposes or otherwise provides or makes available application logic 56 that defines what screen modes and UI arrangements are permitted by the application 38. For example, the application logic 56 may define which UI elements can be rendered on the screen 20 of the second mobile device 18, the relative arrangement of UI elements in portrait versus landscape orientations, etc. Screen settings 58 are provided by the UI framework 36b of the second mobile device 18 when the two devices are paired and communicating with each other at close range. As will be discussed in greater detail below, after determining that screen space on another device is available to be used by the application 38, the UI framework 36a of the first mobile device 10 can communicate with the UI framework 36b of the second mobile device 18 in order to determine the screen size, among other things that may be relevant to the rendering of the UI.”)
sending, by the first electronic device to the third electronic device, third wallpaper description information comprising parameter information describing a third live wallpaper, wherein the third wallpaper description information is based on the first wallpaper description information; (Levin, “[0009] FIG. 5 is a block diagram illustrating an example of a configuration for a UI framework;”)
displaying, by the first electronic device, the first live wallpaper on a screen of the first electronic device based on the first wallpaper description information; (Levin, “[0025] The application displaying the first and second UI elements 12, 14 may also benefit from an enlarged screen space afforded by the utilization of a second display screen 20 on a paired or otherwise nearby mobile device 18, as shown in FIG. 2. Once the two mobile devices 10, 18 are paired, near each other, or paired and near each other the first and second UI elements 12, 14 may be rearranged to enable an enlarged first UI element 12' to occupy the first screen 16, and an enlarged second UI element 14' to occupy the second screen 20.”)
displaying, by the second electronic device, the second live wallpaper on a screen of the second electronic device based on the second wallpaper description information; and (Levin, “[0025] The application displaying the first and second UI elements 12, 14 may also benefit from an enlarged screen space afforded by the utilization of a second display screen 20 on a paired or otherwise nearby mobile device 18, as shown in FIG. 2. Once the two mobile devices 10, 18 are paired, near each other, or paired and near each other the first and second UI elements 12, 14 may be rearranged to enable an enlarged first UI element 12' to occupy the first screen 16, and an enlarged second UI element 14' to occupy the second screen 20.”)
displaying, by the third electronic device, the third live wallpaper on a screen of the third wallpaper device based on the third wallpaper description information, (Levin, “[0009] FIG. 5 is a block diagram illustrating an example of a configuration for a UI framework; / [0026] As will be explained in greater detail below, having the UI framework in the scenario shown in FIG. 3 obtain and render the UI element 12 for the application through a client-server rendering configuration (see also FIGS. 5 and 6) allows the UI framework to determine that multiple screens 16, 20 are available and either automatically, or according to specific application logic, modify the UI element 12 to take full advantage of the increased screen space.”)
and the first, second, and third animation effects (Levin, “[0026] As will be explained in greater detail below, having the UI framework in the scenario shown in FIG. 3 obtain and render the UI element 12 for the application through a client-server rendering configuration (see also FIGS. 5 and 6) allows the UI framework to determine that multiple screens 16, 20 are available and either automatically, or according to specific application logic, modify the UI element 12 to take full advantage of the increased screen space.”)
However, Levin is silent about are communicatively connected to the first electronic device, the method comprising: obtaining, by the first electronic device, first wallpaper description information comprising parameter information describing a first live wallpaper; animation effects are different from each other.
Chen teaches are communicatively connected to the first electronic device, the method comprising: (Chen, Pg. 13, “As shown in FIG. 16 , the display object is time information, and the first preset condition and the second preset condition are that an external device such as a watch is connected to an electronic device.”)
obtaining, by the first electronic device, first wallpaper description information comprising parameter information describing a first live wallpaper; (Chen, Pg. 13, “Specifically, after the electronic device enters the off-screen display, as shown in FIG. 16B , the electronic device displays an interface 1601, and the display interface 1601 includes time information: "08:08", "Tuesday, October 15" and "Gengzi Year 8" Twenty-nine of the month". It can be understood that the time information for displaying the current time and the power information for displaying the remaining power may vary with the elapse of the current time and the change of the remaining power. At this time, the display style of the time on the interface 1601 is style A.”)
wherein the first live wallpaper has a first animation effect, the second live wallpaper has a second animation effect, and the third live wallpaper has a third animation effect (Chen, Pg. 13, “Specifically, after the electronic device enters the off-screen display, as shown in FIG. 16B , the electronic device displays an interface 1601, and the display interface 1601 includes time information: "08:08", "Tuesday, October 15" and "Gengzi Year 8" Twenty-nine of the month". It can be understood that the time information for displaying the current time and the power information for displaying the remaining power may vary with the elapse of the current time and the change of the remaining power. At this time, the display style of the time on the interface 1601 is style A.”, The examiner interpreted the display of change of time, power or heartbeat monitor as animation effect.)
animation effects are different from each other. (Chen, Pg. 13, “Specifically, after the electronic device enters the off-screen display, as shown in FIG. 16B , the electronic device displays an interface 1601, and the display interface 1601 includes time information: "08:08", "Tuesday, October 15" and "Gengzi Year 8" Twenty-nine of the month". It can be understood that the time information for displaying the current time and the power information for displaying the remaining power may vary with the elapse of the current time and the change of the remaining power. At this time, the display style of the time on the interface 1601 is style A.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Levin’s art by including are communicatively connected to the first electronic device, the method comprising: obtaining, by the first electronic device, first wallpaper description information comprising parameter information describing a first live wallpaper; wherein the first live wallpaper has a first animation effect, the second live wallpaper has a second animation effect, and the third live wallpaper has a third animation effect, animation effects are different from each other as taught by Chen and use that with Levin’s System and Method for Displaying a User Interface Across Multiple Electronic Devices.
The motivation for the combination is to improve UI information display.
Regarding claim 2, Levin is silent about The method according to claim 1, wherein the second animation effect and the third animation effect match device parameters of the second electronic device and the third electronic device, respectively.
Chen teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the second animation effect and the third animation effect match device parameters of the second electronic device and the third electronic device, respectively. (Chen, Pg. 4, 35, “FIG. 18A to FIG. 18C are schematic diagrams twelve of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application; 19A to 19C are schematic diagrams thirteen of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application;”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Levin’s art by including The method according to claim 1, wherein the second animation effect and the third animation effect match device parameters of the second electronic device and the third electronic device, respectively as taught by Chen and use that with Levin’s System and Method for Displaying a User Interface Across Multiple Electronic Devices.
Regarding claim 3, Levin is silent about The method according to claim 2, wherein each device parameter of the second electronic device and the third electronic device comprises device performance, a device form, a device interaction manner, or application data.
Chen teaches The method according to claim 2, wherein each device parameter of the second electronic device and the third electronic device comprises device performance, a device form, a device interaction manner, or application data. (Chen, Pg. 13, “Specifically, after the electronic device enters the off-screen display, as shown in FIG. 16B , the electronic device displays an interface 1601, and the display interface 1601 includes time information: "08:08", "Tuesday, October 15" and "Gengzi Year 8" Twenty-nine of the month". It can be understood that the time information for displaying the current time and the power information for displaying the remaining power may vary with the elapse of the current time and the change of the remaining power. At this time, the display style of the time on the interface 1601 is style A.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Levin’s art by including The method according to claim 2, wherein each device parameter of the second electronic device and the third electronic device comprises device performance, a device form, a device interaction manner, or application data as taught by Chen and use that with Levin’s System and Method for Displaying a User Interface Across Multiple Electronic Devices.
Regarding claim 4, Levin teaches The method according to claim 3, wherein the step of displaying the second live wallpaper by the second electronic device comprises: in response to a received first user operation, displaying, by the second electronic device, the second animation effect of the first live wallpaper on the screen of the second electronic device, wherein the first user operation corresponds to a device interaction manner of the second electronic device. (Levin, “0058] The application logic 56 also defines what UI elements 60 are to be included in the UI, and, if applicable, from where the UI elements 60 can be obtained. As described above, the UI elements 60 may be stored in a memory on the mobile device 10 and may be obtained by the UI framework 36a in order to have them rendered on the display 34 for the application 38. When distributing a UI across multiple devices, e.g., as shown in FIG. 8, data for a first UI portion 62 may be rendered on the display 34 of the first mobile device 10, and data for a second UI portion 64 may be rendered on the display 34 of the second mobile device 18. As a result of the connection between the first and second mobile devices 10, 18, interactions 66 with the application 38 and the UI being displayed on the screens 16, 20 are coordinated between the UI frameworks 36a, 36b. As shown by way of example in FIG. 8, interactions 66 detected on either mobile device 10, 18 (including interactions 66 detected via the display 34 itself, e.g., gestures, touches, taps, etc.), are handled by the UI framework 36 on the corresponding mobile device 10, 18 in order for such interactions 66, if applicable, to be communicated back to the application 38, e.g., to perform an operation such as a database call, message send operation, etc.”)
Regarding claim 5, Levin teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the second wallpaper description information is identical to the third wallpaper description information. (Levin, “[0023] Moreover, the UI framework described herein handles the virtual combined screen space transparently to one or both of the application developer and application programming interface (API) such that from the application's perspective, there appears to be no difference between the distribution of UI elements when utilizing a single mobile device screen or utilizing multiple mobile device screens, thus enabling an application to be dynamically adapted to changing environments and corresponding changes in the virtual screen space available to the application.”)
Regarding claim 6, Levin teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the second wallpaper description information is different from the third wallpaper description information. (Levin, “[0025] The application displaying the first and second UI elements 12, 14 may also benefit from an enlarged screen space afforded by the utilization of a second display screen 20 on a paired or otherwise nearby mobile device 18, as shown in FIG. 2. Once the two mobile devices 10, 18 are paired, near each other, or paired and near each other the first and second UI elements 12, 14 may be rearranged to enable an enlarged first UI element 12' to occupy the first screen 16, and an enlarged second UI element 14' to occupy the second screen 20. In this way, a rearrangement similar to what is shown in FIG. 1 can be distributed over multiple screens 16, 20, and the increase in virtual screen space allows for further enhancements, namely the enlargement of the first and second UI elements 12, 14 to take advantage of the different form factors. By abstracting the management and handling of the combined/virtual screen space using a UI framework as explained below, the application developer would not need to account for various different form factors and orientations of the connected devices thus reducing the low-level programming required. Instead, the UI framework transparently determines the screen space available to the application, and can distribute UI elements according to application logic that is device agnostic. For example, the application developer may specify that the first and second UI elements 12, 14 are to be rearranged in a side-by-side configuration when a single device is rotated and distributed in a side-by-side arrangement across multiple screens, when a second screen is available, wherein each element is resized to maximize its appearance within the screen on which it is displayed.”)
Regarding claim 7, Levin is silent about The method according to claim 6, wherein the second wallpaper description information received by the second electronic device from the first electronic device matches a device parameter of the second electronic device.
Chen teaches The method according to claim 6, wherein the second wallpaper description information received by the second electronic device from the first electronic device matches a device parameter of the second electronic device. (Chen, Pg. 4, 34, “FIG. 16A to FIG. 16C are schematic diagrams tenth of variations of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Levin’s art by including The method according to claim 6, wherein the second wallpaper description information received by the second electronic device from the first electronic device matches a device parameter of the second electronic device as taught by Chen and use that with Levin’s System and Method for Displaying a User Interface Across Multiple Electronic Devices.
Regarding claim 8, Levin teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein before the step of sending, by the first electronic device, the second wallpaper description information to the second electronic device, the method further comprises: generating, by the first electronic device, the second wallpaper description information. (Levin, “[0057] FIG. 8 illustrates data flows between the first mobile device 10 and the second mobile device 18 coordinated by UI frameworks 36a, 36b on the respective devices. The application 38 exposes or otherwise provides or makes available application logic 56 that defines what screen modes and UI arrangements are permitted by the application 38. For example, the application logic 56 may define which UI elements can be rendered on the screen 20 of the second mobile device 18, the relative arrangement of UI elements in portrait versus landscape orientations, etc. Screen settings 58 are provided by the UI framework 36b of the second mobile device 18 when the two devices are paired and communicating with each other at close range. As will be discussed in greater detail below, after determining that screen space on another device is available to be used by the application 38, the UI framework 36a of the first mobile device 10 can communicate with the UI framework 36b of the second mobile device 18 in order to determine the screen size, among other things that may be relevant to the rendering of the UI.”)
Regarding claim 9, Levin teaches The method according to claim 8, further comprising: generating the third wallpaper description information, (Levin, “The method according to claim 8, further comprising: generating the third wallpaper description information, wherein the third wallpaper description information is different from the second wallpaper description information.”) wherein the third wallpaper description information is different from the second wallpaper description information. (Levin, “[0026] FIG. 3 illustrates another example, wherein the first and second mobile devices 10, 18 include similar form factors and maintain portrait orientations as they are paired and near each other. In the example shown in FIG. 3, the increased screen space of the virtual screen enables the first UI element 12 to be enlarged across both screens 16, 20 such that one portion 12A is displayed on the first screen 16, and another portion 12B is displayed on the second screen 20. As will be explained in greater detail below, having the UI framework in the scenario shown in FIG. 3 obtain and render the UI element 12 for the application through a client-server rendering configuration (see also FIGS. 5 and 6) allows the UI framework to determine that multiple screens 16, 20 are available and either automatically, or according to specific application logic, modify the UI element 12 to take full advantage of the increased screen space.”)
Regarding claim 10, Levin is silent about The method according to claim 1, wherein the second wallpaper description information indicates to the second electronic device to display the second live wallpaper in different ways at different times.
Chen teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the second wallpaper description information indicates to the second electronic device to display the second live wallpaper in different ways at different times. (Chen, Pg. 1, “The first display object and the second display object may be the same or different. The second image of the second display object may be a still picture or a video animation. The second image of the second display object may be stored in a server, an electronic device, or an external device. When one first display object corresponds to multiple first preset conditions, the multiple first preset conditions may respectively correspond to different still pictures or video animation effects. At this time, the electronic device may determine which picture or video animation to display according to which first preset condition is satisfied. For example, when the condition (1) is waving, the first video motion effect of the virtual astronaut waving can be displayed; when the condition (2) is clicked on the screen, the second video motion effect of the virtual astronaut jumping can be displayed. For another example, when the condition (1) is satisfied and the screen is on the right side, the first video animation effect of the deer looking to the right side can be displayed. When the condition (2) is satisfied and the left screen is watched, the second video animation effect of the deer looking to the left can be displayed.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Levin’s art by including The method according to claim 1, wherein the second wallpaper description information indicates to the second electronic device to display the second live wallpaper in different ways at different times as taught by Chen and use that with Levin’s System and Method for Displaying a User Interface Across Multiple Electronic Devices.
Regarding claim 11, Levin teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the system further comprises at a fourth electronic device communicatively connected to the first electronic device, and the method further comprises: (Levin, “The method according to claim 1, wherein the system further comprises at a fourth electronic device communicatively connected to the first electronic device, and the method further comprises:”) generating, by the first electronic device, based on the first wallpaper description information, a display result of a fourth live wallpaper that matches a device parameter of the fourth electronic device, wherein the display result of the fourth live wallpaper comprises a frame sequence or a frame of static wallpaper image; sending, by the first electronic device, the display result of the fourth live wallpaper to the fourth electronic device; and displaying, by the fourth electronic device on a screen of the fourth electronic device, the display result of the fourth live wallpaper. (Levin, “[0060] Another example of an interaction is shown in FIG. 10. In FIG. 10, the first mobile device 10 displays a first portion 12A of a UI element, and the second mobile device 18 displays a second portion 12B of the UI element. At stage 1, the screen settings 58 are provided by the second mobile device 18 to the first mobile device 10 and a second UI portion 64 is sent by the first mobile device 10 at stage 2. It can be appreciated that the second UI portion 64 sent at stage 2 may include an already modified version of the complete image, or the original image with instructions for modifying the image on the second mobile device 18 when rendering the second UI portion 64. Stages 3a and 3b include displaying first and second UI portions 62, 64 respectively (as discussed above), thus distributing the UI experience across the first and second mobile devices 10, 18. Between stages 4 and 5 a cursor is moved across the first screen 16 causing an instruction 70 to be sent from the first mobile device 10 to the second mobile device 18 at stage 6 to have the cursor appear on the second screen 20 at stage 7. At stage 8 in this example, an operation is performed on the second mobile device 18, namely the selection of a button to close the image. Selection of the close button causes a second instruction 70 to be sent from the second mobile device 18 to the first mobile device 10 at stage 9 to have the UI framework 36 on the first mobile device 10 coordinate with the application 38 and the UI rendering engines 40a, 40b to update the respective displays 34.”)
Regarding claim 12, Levin teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein each of the second wallpaper description information and third wallpaper description information (Levin, “[0009] FIG. 5 is a block diagram illustrating an example of a configuration for a UI framework;”)
However, Levin is silent about comprises an animation effect parameter acting on a pattern and indicating a change rule of the pattern.
Chen teaches comprises an animation effect parameter acting on a pattern and indicating a change rule of the pattern. (Chen, Pg. 13, “Specifically, after the electronic device enters the off-screen display, as shown in FIG. 16B , the electronic device displays an interface 1601, and the display interface 1601 includes time information: "08:08", "Tuesday, October 15" and "Gengzi Year 8" Twenty-nine of the month". It can be understood that the time information for displaying the current time and the power information for displaying the remaining power may vary with the elapse of the current time and the change of the remaining power. At this time, the display style of the time on the interface 1601 is style A.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Levin’s art by including comprises an animation effect parameter acting on a pattern and indicating a change rule of the pattern as taught by Chen and use that with Levin’s System and Method for Displaying a User Interface Across Multiple Electronic Devices.
Regarding claim 13, Levin teaches The method according to claim 12, wherein the pattern is a combined pattern comprising multiple patterns that have an array relationship, (Levin, “[0009] FIG. 5 is a block diagram illustrating an example of a configuration for a UI framework;”)
However, Levin is silent about and wherein when the combined pattern changes according to a change rule indicated by a corresponding animation effect parameter, and the array relationship of the multiple patterns in the combined pattern remains unchanged.
Chen teaches and wherein when the combined pattern changes according to a change rule indicated by a corresponding animation effect parameter, and the array relationship of the multiple patterns in the combined pattern remains unchanged. (Chen, Pg. 6, 34, 35, FIG. 16A to FIG. 16C are schematic diagrams tenth of variations of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application; 17A to 17C are schematic diagrams eleven of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiments of the present application; FIG. 18A to FIG. 18C are schematic diagrams twelve of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application; 19A to 19C are schematic diagrams thirteen of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application;”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Levin’s art by including and wherein when the combined pattern changes according to a change rule indicated by a corresponding animation effect parameter, and the array relationship of the multiple patterns in the combined pattern remains unchanged as taught by Chen and use that with Levin’s System and Method for Displaying a User Interface Across Multiple Electronic Devices.
Regarding claim 14, Levin is silent about The method according to claim 13, wherein the animation effect parameter of the combined pattern comprises parameter information for changing a target array parameter of the array relationship.
Chen teaches The method according to claim 13, wherein the animation effect parameter of the combined pattern comprises parameter information for changing a target array parameter of the array relationship. (Chen, Pg. 6, 34, 35 / 13, FIG. 16A to FIG. 16C are schematic diagrams tenth of variations of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application; 17A to 17C are schematic diagrams eleven of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiments of the present application; FIG. 18A to FIG. 18C are schematic diagrams twelve of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application; 19A to 19C are schematic diagrams thirteen of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application; / Specifically, after the electronic device enters the off-screen display, as shown in FIG. 16B , the electronic device displays an interface 1601, and the display interface 1601 includes time information: "08:08", "Tuesday, October 15" and "Gengzi Year 8" Twenty-nine of the month". It can be understood that the time information for displaying the current time and the power information for displaying the remaining power may vary with the elapse of the current time and the change of the remaining power. At this time, the display style of the time on the interface 1601 is style A.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Levin’s art by including The method according to claim 13, wherein the animation effect parameter of the combined pattern comprises parameter information for changing a target array parameter of the array relationship as taught by Chen and use that with Levin’s System and Method for Displaying a User Interface Across Multiple Electronic Devices.
Regarding claim 15, Levin is silent about The method according to claim 13, wherein when the combined pattern changes based on the corresponding animation effect parameter, a ratio relationship between the target array parameter of the combined pattern and a candidate parameter of the combined pattern remains unchanged, and the candidate parameter of the combined pattern is changed by the animation effect parameter of the combined pattern.
Chen teaches The method according to claim 13, wherein when the combined pattern changes based on the corresponding animation effect parameter, a ratio relationship between the target array parameter of the combined pattern and a candidate parameter of the combined pattern remains unchanged, and the candidate parameter of the combined pattern is changed by the animation effect parameter of the combined pattern. (Chen, Pg. 6, 34, 35 / 13, FIG. 16A to FIG. 16C are schematic diagrams tenth of variations of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application; 17A to 17C are schematic diagrams eleven of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiments of the present application; FIG. 18A to FIG. 18C are schematic diagrams twelve of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application; 19A to 19C are schematic diagrams thirteen of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application; / Specifically, after the electronic device enters the off-screen display, as shown in FIG. 16B , the electronic device displays an interface 1601, and the display interface 1601 includes time information: "08:08", "Tuesday, October 15" and "Gengzi Year 8" Twenty-nine of the month". It can be understood that the time information for displaying the current time and the power information for displaying the remaining power may vary with the elapse of the current time and the change of the remaining power. At this time, the display style of the time on the interface 1601 is style A.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Levin’s art by including The method according to claim 13, wherein when the combined pattern changes based on the corresponding animation effect parameter, a ratio relationship between the target array parameter of the combined pattern and a candidate parameter of the combined pattern remains unchanged, and the candidate parameter of the combined pattern is changed by the animation effect parameter of the combined pattern as taught by Chen and use that with Levin’s System and Method for Displaying a User Interface Across Multiple Electronic Devices.
Regarding claim 16, Levin is silent about The method according to claim 1, wherein the second animation effect and third animation effect are configured to match parameters of the display of the second electronic device and the display of the third electronic device, respectively.
Chen teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the second animation effect and third animation effect are configured to match parameters of the display of the second electronic device and the display of the third electronic device, respectively. (Chen, Pg. 6, 34, 35 / 13, FIG. 16A to FIG. 16C are schematic diagrams tenth of variations of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application; 17A to 17C are schematic diagrams eleven of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiments of the present application; FIG. 18A to FIG. 18C are schematic diagrams twelve of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application; 19A to 19C are schematic diagrams thirteen of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application; / Specifically, after the electronic device enters the off-screen display, as shown in FIG. 16B , the electronic device displays an interface 1601, and the display interface 1601 includes time information: "08:08", "Tuesday, October 15" and "Gengzi Year 8" Twenty-nine of the month". It can be understood that the time information for displaying the current time and the power information for displaying the remaining power may vary with the elapse of the current time and the change of the remaining power. At this time, the display style of the time on the interface 1601 is style A.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Levin’s art by including The method according to claim 1, wherein the second animation effect and third animation effect are configured to match parameters of the display of the second electronic device and the display of the third electronic device, respectively as taught by Chen and use that with Levin’s System and Method for Displaying a User Interface Across Multiple Electronic Devices.
Regarding claim 17, Levin teaches A method for displaying screen wallpapers performed by a first electronic device, comprising: displaying a first live wallpaper on a screen of the first electronic device based on first wallpaper description information; and (“[0060] Another example of an interaction is shown in FIG. 10. In FIG. 10, the first mobile device 10 displays a first portion 12A of a UI element, and the second mobile device 18 displays a second portion 12B of the UI element. At stage 1, the screen settings 58 are provided by the second mobile device 18 to the first mobile device 10 and a second UI portion 64 is sent by the first mobile device 10 at stage 2. It can be appreciated that the second UI portion 64 sent at stage 2 may include an already modified version of the complete image, or the original image with instructions for modifying the image on the second mobile device 18 when rendering the second UI portion 64. Stages 3a and 3b include displaying first and second UI portions 62, 64 respectively (as discussed above), thus distributing the UI experience across the first and second mobile devices 10, 18. Between stages 4 and 5 a cursor is moved across the first screen 16 causing an instruction 70 to be sent from the first mobile device 10 to the second mobile device 18 at stage 6 to have the cursor appear on the second screen 20 at stage 7. At stage 8 in this example, an operation is performed on the second mobile device 18, namely the selection of a button to close the image. Selection of the close button causes a second instruction 70 to be sent from the second mobile device 18 to the first mobile device 10 at stage 9 to have the UI framework 36 on the first mobile device 10 coordinate with the application 38 and the UI rendering engines 40a, 40b to update the respective displays 34.”)
However, Levin is silent about sending second wallpaper description information to a second electronic device for the second electronic device to display a second live wallpaper on a screen of the second device based on the second wallpaper description information, wherein a first animation effect of the first live wallpaper displayed by the first electronic device is different from a second animation effect of the second live wallpaper displayed by the second electronic device.
Chen teaches sending second wallpaper description information to a second electronic device for the second electronic device to display a second live wallpaper on a screen of the second device based on the second wallpaper description information, wherein a first animation effect of the first live wallpaper displayed by the first electronic device is different from a second animation effect of the second live wallpaper displayed by the second electronic device. (Chen, Pg. 13, “Specifically, after the electronic device enters the off-screen display, as shown in FIG. 16B , the electronic device displays an interface 1601, and the display interface 1601 includes time information: "08:08", "Tuesday, October 15" and "Gengzi Year 8" Twenty-nine of the month". It can be understood that the time information for displaying the current time and the power information for displaying the remaining power may vary with the elapse of the current time and the change of the remaining power. At this time, the display style of the time on the interface 1601 is style A.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Levin’s art by including sending second wallpaper description information to a second electronic device for the second electronic device to display a second live wallpaper on a screen of the second device based on the second wallpaper description information, wherein a first animation effect of the first live wallpaper displayed by the first electronic device is different from a second animation effect of the second live wallpaper displayed by the second electronic device as taught by Chen and use that with Levin’s System and Method for Displaying a User Interface Across Multiple Electronic Devices.
Regarding claim 18, Levin is silent about The method according to claim 17, wherein the first animation effect matches device parameters of the first electronic device, and the second animation effect matches device parameters of the second electronic device.
Chen teaches The method according to claim 17, wherein the first animation effect matches device parameters of the first electronic device, and the second animation effect matches device parameters of the second electronic device. (Chen, Pg. 6, 34, 35, FIG. 16A to FIG. 16C are schematic diagrams tenth of variations of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application; 17A to 17C are schematic diagrams eleven of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiments of the present application; FIG. 18A to FIG. 18C are schematic diagrams twelve of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application; 19A to 19C are schematic diagrams thirteen of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application;”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Levin’s art by including The method according to claim 17, wherein the first animation effect matches device parameters of the first electronic device, and the second animation effect matches device parameters of the second electronic device as taught by Chen and use that with Levin’s System and Method for Displaying a User Interface Across Multiple Electronic Devices.
Regarding claim 19, Levin is silent about The method according to claim 18, wherein each device parameter of the first electronic device or the second electronic device comprises: device performance, a device form, a device interaction manner, or application data.
Chen teaches The method according to claim 18, wherein each device parameter of the first electronic device or the second electronic device comprises: device performance, a device form, a device interaction manner, or application data. (Chen, Pg. 13, “Specifically, after the electronic device enters the off-screen display, as shown in FIG. 16B , the electronic device displays an interface 1601, and the display interface 1601 includes time information: "08:08", "Tuesday, October 15" and "Gengzi Year 8" Twenty-nine of the month". It can be understood that the time information for displaying the current time and the power information for displaying the remaining power may vary with the elapse of the current time and the change of the remaining power. At this time, the display style of the time on the interface 1601 is style A.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Levin’s art by including The method according to claim 18, wherein each device parameter of the first electronic device or the second electronic device comprises: device performance, a device form, a device interaction manner, or application data as taught by Chen and use that with Levin’s System and Method for Displaying a User Interface Across Multiple Electronic Devices.
Regarding claim 20, Levin is silent about The method according to claim 19, further comprising: generating the second wallpaper description information based on the first wallpaper description information.
Chen teaches The method according to claim 19, further comprising: generating the second wallpaper description information based on the first wallpaper description information. (Chen, Pg. 6, 34, 35, FIG. 16A to FIG. 16C are schematic diagrams tenth of variations of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application; 17A to 17C are schematic diagrams eleven of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiments of the present application; FIG. 18A to FIG. 18C are schematic diagrams twelve of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application; 19A to 19C are schematic diagrams thirteen of changes of the screen-off interface provided by the embodiment of the present application;”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Levin’s art by including The method according to claim 19, further comprising: generating the second wallpaper description information based on the first wallpaper description information as taught by Chen and use that with Levin’s System and Method for Displaying a User Interface Across Multiple Electronic Devices.
Conclusion
should be directed to CHAK FUNG A LAM whose telephone number is (571)272-9823. The examiner can
normally be reached Monday-Friday 8am-5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Said Broome can be reached at 5712722931. The fax phone number for the organization where this
application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or
571-272-1000.
/C.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612