DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of the term Boston Scientific CorporationTM (Page 11 Line 3) and Measurement SpecialtiesTM (Page 17 Line 15), which are trade names or marks used in commerce, have been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belef et al. (US 6398755) in view of Stigall et al. (US 20140276016).
Regarding Claim 1, Belef teaches a system, (Abstract “system (2)”), for imaging a blood vessel, (Column 2 Lines 6-10 “Imagining using computer-assisted reconstruction algorithms enables physicians to view a representation of the patient's interior intravascular structures in two or three dimensions (i.e., so-called three-dimensional or longitudinal view reconstruction).”), the system comprising:
a) a catheter shaft, (Column 4 Line 55 “catheter 24”), having a proximal end region (Column 5 Line 18 “proximal end 50”);
b) a telescope assembly disposed at the proximal end region, (Fig. 1), the telescope assembly including a first telescope tube, (Column 4 Line 16 “telescoping portion 51”), and a second telescope tube, (Column 4 Line 59 “catheter sheath 36” and Fig. 1), the telescope assembly including a seal (Column 6 Line 60 “There is a sliding seal between end 50 and portion 51”); and
c) an imaging assembly slidably disposed within the catheter shaft, the imaging assembly including a drive shaft and an imaging device coupled to the drive shaft (Fig. 1 and Column 4 Lines 57-66 “Catheter 24 includes a catheter core 34, with an operative element 32 (typically an ultrasonic transducer) at its distal end, housed within a catheter sheath 36. Catheter drive unit 22 includes a housing 28 to which an LCD translation displacement display 30 is mounted. Display 30 provides the user with translation displacement information relating to the translational (that is, longitudinal or axial) position of operative element 32. Catheter core 34 is rotatable and translatable (longitudinally slidable) within sheath 36 of catheter 24.”).
However, Belef does not explicitly teach a proximal member coupled to the telescope assembly, the proximal member including a flush port.
In an analogous flushing for imaging catheters field of endeavor, Stigall teaches a system for imaging a blood vessel, ([0024] “The imaging assembly 120 produces ultrasound energy and receives echoes from which real time ultrasound images of a thin section of the blood vessel are produced.”), the system comprising: a proximal member coupled to the telescope assembly, the proximal member including a flush port (Fig. 1, where connector 170 has flush port 190 connected to it).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Belef with proximal member including a flush port of Stigall because it allows fluid communication between the ends of the catheter system, for example, to allow the lumen of the catheter to fill with blood, as taught by Stigall in [0026].
Regarding Claim 2, the modified system of Belef teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Belef teaches wherein the imaging device includes an ultrasound transducer (Column 4 Lines 57-59 “Catheter 24 includes a catheter core 34, with an operative element 32 (typically an ultrasonic transducer) at its distal end, housed within a catheter sheath 36.).
Regarding Claim 3, the modified system of Belef teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Belef teaches wherein the seal is disposed between the first telescope tube and the second telescope tube (Fig. 1 and Column 6 Line 60 “There is a sliding seal between end 50 and portion 51”).
Regarding Claim 4, the modified system of Belef teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Belef teaches a handle coupled to the telescope assembly (Fig. 2, where housing 28 provides a handle coupled to the telescope assembly).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified system of Belef teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Belef teaches a pullback slider coupled to the drive shaft (Column 7 Line 33 “The invention is typically used in a pullback mode” and Figs. 2 and 3, where drive unit interface 82 is mounted to be slidable and is coupled to drive unit 22.).
Regarding Claim 6, the modified system of Belef teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Belef teaches wherein a portion of the telescope assembly is coupled to the drive shaft (Fig. 1 via hub 49).
Regarding Claim 7, the modified system of Belef teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Belef teaches wherein the first telescope tube is coupled to the drive shaft (Fig. 1, where telescoping portion 51 is coupled to catheter drive unit 22 via hub 49).
Regarding Claim 9, the modified system of Belef teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Stigall teaches wherein the catheter shaft includes an open distal end (Figs. 2A-2D and Claim 1 “a plurality of openings at a distal end of the catheter.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Belef with the open distal end of Stigall because the modification allows for easy passage of fluids once the distal end is inserted properly into the patient.
Regarding Claim 10, the modified system of Belef teaches all limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Furthermore, Stigall teaches wherein the catheter shaft defines a lumen and wherein the flush port is in fluid communication with the lumen ([0025] “The flush port 190 is connected to a lumen (not shown) that runs the length of the catheter 100, allowing fluid communication between the ex-corporal portion and the pull-back chamber 130.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Belef with the lumen of Stigall for the same reasons as Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 11, Belef teaches a system for imaging a blood vessel, the system comprising:
a) a catheter shaft having a lumen, (Fig. 1, where the sheath 36 is shown to have a lumen to house catheter core 34), formed therein and having a proximal end region (Column 5 Line 18 “proximal end 50”);
b) a telescope assembly disposed at the proximal end region, (Fig. 1), the telescope assembly including a first telescope tube, (Column 4 Line 16 “telescoping portion 51”), and a second telescope tube, (Column 4 Line 59 “catheter sheath 36” and Fig. 1), the telescope assembly including a seal (Column 6 Line 60 “There is a sliding seal between end 50 and portion 51”);
c) an imaging assembly slidably disposed within the catheter shaft, the imaging assembly including a drive shaft and an imaging device coupled to the drive shaft (Fig. 1 and Column 4 Lines 57-66 “Catheter 24 includes a catheter core 34, with an operative element 32 (typically an ultrasonic transducer) at its distal end, housed within a catheter sheath 36. Catheter drive unit 22 includes a housing 28 to which an LCD translation displacement display 30 is mounted. Display 30 provides the user with translation displacement information relating to the translational (that is, longitudinal or axial) position of operative element 32. Catheter core 34 is rotatable and translatable (longitudinally slidable) within sheath 36 of catheter 24.”).
However, Belef does not explicitly teach a housing coupled to the telescope assembly, the housing including a flush port.
In an analogous flushing for imaging catheters field of endeavor, Stigall teaches a system for imaging a blood vessel, ([0024] “The imaging assembly 120 produces ultrasound energy and receives echoes from which real time ultrasound images of a thin section of the blood vessel are produced.”), the system comprising: a housing coupled to the telescope assembly, ([0023] “The end of the telescope section is defined by the connector 170 which allows the catheter 100 to be interfaced to an interface module”), the housing including a flush port (Fig. 1, where connector 170 has flush port 190 connected to it).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Belef with proximal member including a flush port of Stigall because it allows fluid communication between the ends of the catheter system, for example, to allow the lumen of the catheter to fill with blood, as taught by Stigall in [0026].
Regarding Claim 12, the modified system of Belef teaches all limitations of Claim 11, as discussed above. Furthermore, Belef teaches wherein the seal is disposed between the first telescope tube and the second telescope tube (Fig. 1 and Column 6 Line 60 “There is a sliding seal between end 50 and portion 51”).
Regarding Claim 13, the modified system of Belef teaches all limitations of Claim 11, as discussed above. Furthermore, Belef teaches a handle coupled to the telescope assembly (Fig. 2, where housing 28 provides a handle coupled to the telescope assembly).
Regarding Claim 14, the modified system of Belef teaches all limitations of Claim 11, as discussed above. Furthermore, Belef teaches a pullback slider coupled to the drive shaft (Column 7 Line 33 “The invention is typically used in a pullback mode” and Figs. 2 and 3, where drive unit interface 82 is mounted to be slidable and is coupled to drive unit 22.).
Regarding Claim 15, the modified system of Belef teaches all limitations of Claim 11, as discussed above. Furthermore, Belef teaches wherein a portion of the telescope assembly is coupled to the drive shaft (Fig. 1, where telescoping portion 51 is coupled to catheter drive unit 22 via hub 49).
Regarding Claim 16, the modified system of Belef teaches all limitations of Claim 11, as discussed above. Furthermore, Belef teaches wherein the first telescope tube is coupled to the drive shaft (Fig. 1, where telescoping portion 51 is coupled to catheter drive unit 22 via hub 49).
Regarding Claim 18, the modified system of Belef teaches all limitations of Claim 11, as discussed above. Furthermore, Stigall teaches wherein the catheter shaft includes an open distal end (Figs. 2A-2D and Claim 1 “a plurality of openings at a distal end of the catheter.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Belef with the open distal end of Stigall because the modification allows for easy passage of fluids once the distal end is inserted properly into the patient.
Regarding Claim 19, the modified system of Belef teaches all limitations of Claim 11, as discussed above. Furthermore, Stigall teaches wherein the flush port is in fluid communication with the lumen ([0025] “The flush port 190 is connected to a lumen (not shown) that runs the length of the catheter 100, allowing fluid communication between the ex-corporal portion and the pull-back chamber 130.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Belef with the lumen of Stigall for the same reasons as Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 20, Belef teaches a medical device for imaging a blood vessel, (Fig. 1), the medical device comprising:
a) a catheter shaft having a lumen, (Fig. 1, where the sheath 36 is shown to have a lumen to house catheter core 34), formed therein and having a proximal end region (Column 5 Line 18 “proximal end 50”);
b) a telescope assembly coupled to the proximal end region, (Fig. 1), the telescope assembly including a seal, (Column 6 Line 60 “There is a sliding seal between end 50 and portion 51”), a first telescope tube, (Column 4 Line 16 “telescoping portion 51”), and a second telescope tube (Column 4 Line 59 “catheter sheath 36” and Fig. 1); and
c) an imaging assembly slidably disposed within the catheter shaft, the imaging assembly including a drive shaft and an imaging device coupled to the drive shaft (Fig. 1 and Column 4 Lines 57-66 “Catheter 24 includes a catheter core 34, with an operative element 32 (typically an ultrasonic transducer) at its distal end, housed within a catheter sheath 36. Catheter drive unit 22 includes a housing 28 to which an LCD translation displacement display 30 is mounted. Display 30 provides the user with translation displacement information relating to the translational (that is, longitudinal or axial) position of operative element 32. Catheter core 34 is rotatable and translatable (longitudinally slidable) within sheath 36 of catheter 24.”).
However, Belef does not explicitly teach the telescope assembly including a housing, and a flush port coupled to the housing.
In an analogous flushing for imaging catheters field of endeavor, Stigall teaches a medical device for imaging a blood vessel, ([0024] “The imaging assembly 120 produces ultrasound energy and receives echoes from which real time ultrasound images of a thin section of the blood vessel are produced.”), the medical device comprising: a telescope assembly including a housing and a flush port coupled to the housing ([0023] “The end of the telescope section is defined by the connector 170 which allows the catheter 100 to be interfaced to an interface module”), the housing including a flush port (Fig. 1, where connector 170 has flush port 190 connected to it).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Belef with proximal member including a flush port of Stigall because it allows fluid communication between the ends of the catheter system, for example, to allow the lumen of the catheter to fill with blood, as taught by Stigall in [0026].
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belef et al. (US 6398755) in view of Stigall et al. (US 20140276016), as applied to Claims 1 and 11, further in view of Havel et al. (US 20150094595).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, the modified system of Belef teaches all limitations of Claims 1 and 11, as discussed above. However, the modified system of Belef teaches wherein the drive shaft includes a coil.
In an analogous over-the-wire ultrasound field of endeavor, Havel teaches a system for imaging a blood vessel, (Abstract “Disclosed are embodiments of devices and methods for imaging the inside of a body part, such as a blood vessel.”), wherein the drive shaft includes a coil ([0065] “Coil 80 is a conductor which is wrapped or coiled multiple times about the rotation axis. In the embodiment of FIG. 1, coil 80 is positioned in the axial direction (relative to the rotation axis) between motor 32 and transducer 28 and adjacent to wall 24 of catheter 22.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the coil of Havel because the coil can be energized in order to pivot the imaging assembly within the catheter, thereby allowing for effective cross sectional imaging, as taught by Havel in [0009] and [0066].
Conclusion
/MARIA CHRISTINA TALTY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/MICHAEL J CAREY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795