DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 9 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the command value of the tube current" in (pg. line numbering 15-16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Similar issue present in both claim 11 and claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 11-12, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Sammon (US 5,077,773).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 14, Sammon teaches an X-ray apparatus, a controller, and a method that can perform a tube-current modulation scan, the X-ray apparatus (Abstract) comprising:
an X-ray tube (10) configured to irradiate an object with X-rays;
a memory (122) configured to store, for each tube voltage to be applied to the X-ray tube, characteristic data in which a filament current flowing through a filament in the X-ray tube and the tube current are associated with each other;
an X-ray tube power supply configured to apply the tube voltage to the X-ray tube by periodically switching the tube voltage between a first tube-voltage value and a second tube- voltage value lower than the first tube-voltage value (col. 3, lines 30-36; 124; 130; 132);
processing circuitry configured to update the command value of the tube current at a predetermined timing according to switching of the tube voltage (Abstract; Fig. 4); and
a filament control circuit configured to specify a filament-current command-value corresponding to the command value of the tube current based on the characteristic data (Figs. 1 and 4; 16; Ifil).
Regarding claims 2, 12, and 15, Sammon teaches a filament power supply configured to apply a voltage to the filament based on a specified filament-current command-value, wherein: the processing circuitry is configured to update the command value of the tube current, as the predetermined timing, when the tube voltage switches from the first tube- voltage value to the second tube-voltage value; and the filament control circuit is configured to specify a filament-current command-value corresponding to the command value of the tube current at a predetermined tube voltage based on the characteristic data (Figs. 1, 2, and 4).
Regarding claim 3, Sammon teaches the filament control circuitry is configured to specify the filament-current command-value in a period during which the tube voltage is the first tube-voltage value from an updated command value of the tube current based on the characteristic data; and the filament power supply is configured to apply a voltage to the filament based on the specified filament- current command-value in a period during which the tube voltage is the second tube-voltage value (Figs. 1, 2, and 4).
Regarding claim 4, Sammon teaches a tube-current detection circuit configured to detect the tube current, wherein: the filament control circuit is configured to specify the filament-current command-value in a period during which the tube voltage is the first tube-voltage value from an updated command value of the tube current and a detected detection value of the tube current based on the characteristic data; and the filament power supply is configured to apply a voltage to the filament during the period based on the specified filament-current command-value (Figs. 1, 2, and 4).
Regarding claim 5, Sammon teaches the filament control circuit is configured to use the characteristic data for specifying a value of the filament current in a period during which the tube voltage is the first tube-voltage value from the updated command value of the tube current, specifying a value of the tube current in a period during which the tube voltage is the second tube-voltage value from a value of the filament current, and specifying the filament-current command-value in a period during which the tube voltage is the second tube- voltage value from an intermediate value between the command value of the tube current and the value of the tube current; and the filament power supply is configured to apply a voltage to the filament based on the specified filament- current command-value in a period during which the tube voltage is the second tube-voltage value (Figs. 1, 2, and 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10, 13, and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Hermeyer et al. (US 4,177,406) teaches a circuit for adjusting X-ray anode current including memory storing relationships between filament current, anode current and tube voltages (Abstract; col. 1, lines 5-16).
Hirokawa et al. (US 2010/0232566) teaches an X-ray CT apparatus that includes a stored program, that performs calculation with the relationship of tube voltage, tube current, and filament current ([0092]).
Regarding claims 6-10, the prior art of record does not disclose or reasonably suggest, along with the other claimed limitations, an X-ray CT apparatus comprising: namely, the processing circuitry is configured to update the command value of the tube current, as the predetermined timing, at a timing of switching of a view determined by the number of times of data acquisition per rotation of a rotating frame.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record does not disclose or reasonably suggest, along with the other claimed limitations, a controller comprising: namely, the processing circuitry is configured to update the command value of the tube current, as the predetermined timing, at a timing of switching of a view determined by the number of times of data acquisition per rotation of a rotating frame.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record does not disclose or reasonably suggest, along with the other claimed limitations, a control method comprising: namely, the step of updating the command value of the tube current is updating the command value of the tube current, as the predetermined timing, at a timing of switching of a view determined by the number of times of data acquisition per rotation of a rotating frame.
Conclusion
/CAROLYN FIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2884