DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/12/2025 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5 and 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RYU (US PgPub No. 20210007213).
Regarding claim 1, RYU teaches an image pickup apparatus (figures 1 – 3; mobile terminal with camera) comprising: a first member made of a conductive material (figure 8 item 210); a second member made of a nonconductive material (figure 4 item 202); a first antenna disposed between the first member and the second member and capable of wireless communication (figure 8 item 211; note item 211 will be between items figure 8 item 210 and figure 4 item 202); and a second antenna disposed between the first member and the second member and capable of the wireless communication (figure 8 item 212; note item 212 will be between items figure 8 item 210 and figure 4 item 202), wherein the first antenna has a first surface that has a first pattern and is orthogonal to an optical axis direction (figure 8 item 211 with a first surface that has a first pattern, which is orthogonal to the optical axis shown in 3 item 121b lens with optical axis direction), wherein the second antenna has a second surface that has a second pattern and is tilted relative to the first surface (figure 8 item 212 with a second surface that has a second pattern, and is tilted relative to the first surface), and wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are arranged so that the first antenna and the second antenna do not overlap each other when viewed from the optical axis direction and when viewed from a direction orthogonal to the second surface (figure 8 items 211 and 212, wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are arranged so that the first antenna and the second antenna do not overlap each other when viewed from the optical axis direction and when viewed from a direction orthogonal to the second surface, optical axis shown in 3 item 121b lens with optical axis direction).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, RYU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, RYU teaches wherein the second surface is tilted relative to the first surface by 90 degrees (figure 8 items 212 with second surface tilted relative to 211 with first surface by 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, RYU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, RYU teaches an image sensor configured to convert an optical image of an object into an electrical signal (paragraph 0074, image sensor; paragraph 0086 at least one a camera sensor (CCD, CMOS etc.), a photo sensor (or image sensors)), wherein a longitudinal direction of the first pattern is the same as a longitudinal direction of the image sensor, and wherein a longitudinal direction of the second pattern is the same as the longitudinal direction of the image sensor (figure 8 items 211 and 212 in relation to image/camera sensor; Note: applicant does not specifically claim what is longitudinal direction).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, RYU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, RYU teaches an image sensor configured to convert an optical image of an object into an electrical signal (paragraph 0074, image sensor; paragraph 0086 at least one a camera sensor (CCD, CMOS etc.), a photo sensor (or image sensors)), wherein a longitudinal direction of the first pattern is the same as a longitudinal direction of the image sensor, and wherein a longitudinal direction of the second pattern is the same as the optical axis direction (figure 8 items 211 and 212 in relation to image/camera sensor and optical axis; Note: applicant does not specifically claim what is longitudinal direction).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, RYU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, RYU teaches wherein the first member is an exterior member (figures 4 and 8 item 210; is an exterior member to internal components e.g. item 210 is exterior to item 220), and wherein the second member is an exterior member partially covering the first member (figure 4 item 202 is exterior to item 210 and item 202 partially covering item 210 on at least one surface).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, RYU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, RYU teaches wherein the first member is a member for fixing the first antenna and the second antenna (figures 4 and 8; items 211 and 212 in fixed on item 210), and wherein the first member is an exterior member having a grip portion for a photographer to grip the image pickup apparatus (figure 4 item 210 attached to item 202 which can be used as a grip).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 8, RYU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, RYU teaches a battery disposed in an area where a projection direction of the first surface and a projection direction of the second surface intersect (figure 3 item 191 in relation to figures 4 and 8 items 211 and 212).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, RYU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, RYU teaches wherein each of the first pattern and the second pattern includes a first antenna pattern and a second antenna pattern, and the first antenna pattern and the second antenna pattern are adjusted to different frequencies (paragraphs 0142 - 0143, 0149, 0154, 0160 – 0164; antennas with different frequencies).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU (US PgPub No. 20210007213) in view of Anderson (US PgPub No. 20130222668).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 5, RYU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
Additionally, RYU teaches a display unit (figure 2 item 151), wherein the first antenna and the second antenna are disposed on an object side of the display unit (figures 2 and 4, 8; items 211 and 212 in relation to item 151).
However, RYU fails to teach a display including an eyepiece unit. Anderson, on the other hand teaches a display including an eyepiece unit.
More specifically, Anderson teaches a display including an eyepiece unit (figures 1 – 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Anderson with the teachings of RYU because in at least paragraphs 0002 and 0025 - 0026 Anderson teaches that using the invention allows to block out light that causes the smart phone's camera display to be difficult to see, thereby improving the system of RYU.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU (US PgPub No. 20210007213) in view of Soshi (US Patent No. 5557357).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 5, RYU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, RYU fails to teach a shake detector disposed in an area where the optical axis direction and a direction orthogonal to the second surface intersect. Soshi, on the other hand teaches a shake detector disposed in an area where the optical axis direction and a direction orthogonal to the second surface intersect.
More specifically, Soshi teaches a shake detector disposed in an area where the optical axis direction and a direction orthogonal to the second surface intersect (figures 3 – 5, 7 – 10, 12 - 19; items 54 – 55 in relation to optical axis and outside cover of device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Soshi with the teachings of RYU to have a system with improved imaging by correcting for shake in imaging.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU (US PgPub No. 20210007213) in view of Samardzija (US Patent No. 11652293).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 10, RYU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, RYU fails to teach wherein where l is a wavelength of a radio wave of a set frequency, a spatial distance between the first antenna pattern of the first pattern and the first antenna pattern of the second pattern falls within a range of l/6 to l/4, and a spatial distance between the second antenna pattern of the first pattern and the second antenna pattern of the second pattern falls within a range of l/12.5 to l/4. Samardzija, on the other hand teaches wherein where l is a wavelength of a radio wave of a set frequency, a spatial distance between the first antenna pattern of the first pattern and the first antenna pattern of the second pattern falls within a range of l/6 to l/4, and a spatial distance between the second antenna pattern of the first pattern and the second antenna pattern of the second pattern falls within a range of l/12.5 to l/4.
More specifically, Samardzija teaches wherein where l is a wavelength of a radio wave of a set frequency, a spatial distance between the first antenna pattern of the first pattern and the first antenna pattern of the second pattern falls within a range of l/6 to l/4, and a spatial distance between the second antenna pattern of the first pattern and the second antenna pattern of the second pattern falls within a range of l/12.5 to l/4 (abstract 2.4Ghz i.e. l/6 and 5Ghz i.e. l/12.5 antennas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Samardzija with the teachings of RYU to have a system with improved communication antennas, thereby improving RYU communication.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU (US PgPub No. 20210007213) in view of Irci (US PgPub No. 20220085488).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, RYU teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, RYU fails to teach wherein each of the first antenna and the second antenna is a monopole antenna. Irci, on the other hand teaches wherein each of the first antenna and the second antenna is a monopole antenna.
More specifically, Irci teaches wherein each of the first antenna and the second antenna is a monopole antenna (paragraph 0053; monopole antenna structures).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Irci with the teachings of RYU to have a device with a simple reduced cost compact antenna system, thereby reducing the cost and complexity of RYU antennas.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (US patent No. 12199334) teaches camera with antennas.
Hinman (US patent No. 11251539) teaches camera with antennas.
YAMAGATA (US PgPub No. 20250266607) teaches camera with antennas.
KATSUMATA (US PgPub No. 20240422427) teaches camera with antennas.
KIM (US PgPub No. 20230099993) teaches camera with antennas.
LEE (US PgPub No. 20230101080) teaches camera with antennas.
LEE (US PgPub No. 20220085505) teaches camera with antennas.
KIM (US PgPub No. 20200329557) teaches camera with antennas.
PARK (US PgPub No. 20200186180) teaches camera with antennas.
MOON (US PgPub No. 20200106167) teaches camera with antennas.
Ueda (US PgPub No. 20190335075) teaches camera with antennas.
KIM (US PgPub No. 20190327834) teaches camera with antennas.
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
09/25/2026