The instant application having Application No. 19/077,269 filed on 3/12/2025 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims, 1, 4, and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “wherein said beams of laser light that make up the entire said image all pass through a portion of the pupil of the person that has a smaller than the pupillary cross-sectional diameter thereby achieving an optical pinhole effect”, which should be “wherein said beams of laser light that make up the entire said image all pass through a portion of the pupil of the person, the beams of laser light having a smaller diameter than a pupillary cross-sectional diameter”.
Claim 4 recites “beams of laser light that make up the entire image all pass through a portion of the pupil of the person that has a smaller than the pupillary cross-sectional diameter”, which should be “beams of laser light that make up the entire image all pass through a portion of the pupil of the person, the beams of laser light having a smaller diameter than a pupillary cross-sectional diameter”.
Claim 8 recites “such that the beams of laser light that make up an entire image all pass through a portion of the pupil of a wearer that has a smaller than the pupillary cross-sectional diameter”, which should be “such that the beams of laser light that make up an entire image all pass through a portion of the pupil of a wearer, the beams of laser light having a smaller diameter than a pupillary cross-sectional diameter”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “14” has been used to designate both “eye having a center of rotation” and “set of mirrors”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kihara (US 20220236567 A1)(Embodiment 1), in view of Lo (US 20170188021 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kihara (Embodiment 1) discloses a method of displaying an image to a person, in at least Figures 1 and 2A, comprising:
with a VRD device (20 “image display apparatus”, Figure 1), displaying an image to a person (80 “observer”, paragraphs 0086 and 0087 state “the image display apparatus 20 of the first embodiment or the third embodiment described later includes … an image forming apparatus 30”, paragraph 0092 states “An image exiting the image forming apparatus 30 obliquely enters the optical element 40 from the region situated behind the optical element, and is reflected off the optical element 40 to reach a pupil 82 of the observer 80”) by drawing said image on a retina (paragraph 0062 states “the display apparatus of the present disclosure may be a head-mounted display (HMD), that is, a Maxwellian viewing retinal projection HMD in particular”) of the person (80 “observer”, paragraph 0092, Figures 1, 2A) with beams of laser light (paragraph 0099 states “the image forming apparatus having the second configuration includes, but not limited to, a light source 31R, a light source 31G, a light source 31B, and a scanning mechanism 32 that scans pieces of light respectively emitted by the light source 31R, the light source 31G, and the light source 31B to form an image”, paragraph 0100 states “a red-light-emitting element 31R, a green-light-emitting element 31G, and a blue-light-emitting element 31B may be used as the light-emitting elements. Examples of the light-emitting element include a semiconductor laser element, a solid-state laser, and an LED”), wherein said beams of laser light that make up the entire said image all pass through a portion of the pupil (82 “pupil”, Figures 1, 2A) of the person (80 “observer”, paragraph 0099 states “the image forming apparatus having the second configuration includes, but not limited to, a light source 31R, a light source 31G, a light source 31B, and a scanning mechanism 32 that scans pieces of light respectively emitted by the light source 31R, the light source 31G, and the light source 31B to form an image”, paragraph 0092 states “an image exiting the image forming apparatus 30 obliquely enters the optical element 40 from the region situated behind the optical element, and is reflected off the optical element 40 to reach a pupil 82 of the observer 80”, paragraph 0106), and a pupillary cross-sectional diameter (paragraph 0002 states “the diameter of a human pupil is in a very narrow range of between 2 mm in a bright environment and 7 mm in a dark environment”).
However, Kihara (Embodiment 1) does not disclose wherein said beams of laser light that make up the entire said image all pass through a portion of the pupil of the person that has a smaller than the pupillary cross-sectional diameter thereby achieving an optical pinhole effect.
Lo teaches wherein said beams of laser light that make up the entire said image all pass through a portion of the pupil of the person (paragraph 0060 states “The light source 230 is controlled by the digital image processing system 201 to provide light corresponding to an image 227 to be drawn on the retina 255”) that has a smaller than the pupillary cross-sectional diameter (paragraph 0061 states “the laser beam may have a diameter of substantially 0.5 mm to approximately 1 mm depending on the area of the retina written to”, where Kihara (Embodiment 1) states that the diameter of a human pupil is between 2 mm and 7 mm, so therefore the diameter of said beams of laser light is smaller than the diameter of a human pupil) thereby achieving an optical pinhole effect (paragraph 0061).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method of displaying an image to a person of Kihara (Embodiment 1) modified by wherein said beams of laser light that make up the entire said image all pass through a portion of the pupil of the person that has a smaller than the pupillary cross-sectional diameter thereby achieving an optical pinhole effect, as taught by Lo, in order to provide greater resolution for the retina (paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kihara (Embodiment 1) and Lo disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Kihara (Embodiment 1) does not disclose wherein said portion of the pupil through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 1.23 mm2.
Lo teaches wherein said portion of the pupil through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 1.23 mm2 (paragraph 0061 states “the laser beam may have a diameter of substantially 0.5 mm to approximately 1 mm depending on the area of the retina written to”, where a diameter of 0.5 mm results in an area of 0.19 mm2 and a diameter of 1 mm results in an area of 0.78 mm2, which both meet the claimed limitation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method of displaying an image to a person of Kihara (Embodiment 1) modified by wherein said portion of the pupil through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 1.23 mm2, as taught by Lo, in order to provide greater resolution for the retina (paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kihara (Embodiment 1) and Lo disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Kihara (Embodiment 1) does not disclose wherein said portion of the pupil through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 0.8 mm2.
Lo teaches wherein said portion of the pupil through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 0.8 mm2 (paragraph 0061 states “the laser beam may have a diameter of substantially 0.5 mm to approximately 1 mm depending on the area of the retina written to”, where a diameter of 0.5 mm results in an area of 0.19 mm2 and a diameter of 1 mm results in an area of 0.78 mm2, which both meet the claimed limitation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method of displaying an image to a person of Kihara (Embodiment 1) modified by wherein said portion of the pupil through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 0.8 mm2, as taught by Lo, in order to provide greater resolution for the retina (paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 4, Kihara (Embodiment 1) discloses VRD device (20 “image display apparatus”, Figure 1) for displaying an image to a person (80 “observer”, paragraphs 0086 and 0087 state “the image display apparatus 20 of the first embodiment or the third embodiment described later includes … an image forming apparatus 30”, paragraph 0092 states “An image exiting the image forming apparatus 30 obliquely enters the optical element 40 from the region situated behind the optical element, and is reflected off the optical element 40 to reach a pupil 82 of the observer 80”) by drawing the image on a retina (paragraph 0062 states “the display apparatus of the present disclosure may be a head-mounted display (HMD), that is, a Maxwellian viewing retinal projection HMD in particular”) of the person (80 “observer”, paragraph 0092, Figures 1, 2A) with beams of laser light (paragraph 0099 states “the image forming apparatus having the second configuration includes, but not limited to, a light source 31R, a light source 31G, a light source 31B, and a scanning mechanism 32 that scans pieces of light respectively emitted by the light source 31R, the light source 31G, and the light source 31B to form an image”, paragraph 0100 states “a red-light-emitting element 31R, a green-light-emitting element 31G, and a blue-light-emitting element 31B may be used as the light-emitting elements. Examples of the light-emitting element include a semiconductor laser element, a solid-state laser, and an LED”), in at least Figures 1 and 2A, wherein the device comprises an arrangement of optical elements (34 “light-collecting member”, 40 “optical element”, Figures 1, 2A) such that beams of laser light that make up the entire image all pass through a portion of the pupil (82 “pupil”, Figures 1, 2A) of the person (80 “observer”, paragraph 0099 states “the image forming apparatus having the second configuration includes, but not limited to, a light source 31R, a light source 31G, a light source 31B, and a scanning mechanism 32 that scans pieces of light respectively emitted by the light source 31R, the light source 31G, and the light source 31B to form an image”, paragraph 0092 states “an image exiting the image forming apparatus 30 obliquely enters the optical element 40 from the region situated behind the optical element, and is reflected off the optical element 40 to reach a pupil 82 of the observer 80”, paragraph 0106 states “light (an image) that exits the scanning mechanism 32 and is formed into parallel light by the light-collecting member 34 obliquely enters the optical element 40 from the region situated behind the optical element, and is reflected off the optical element 40 to reach a center CP of the pupil 82 of the observer 80”), and a pupillary cross-sectional diameter (paragraph 0002 states “the diameter of a human pupil is in a very narrow range of between 2 mm in a bright environment and 7 mm in a dark environment”).
However, Kihara (Embodiment 1) does not disclose beams of laser light that make up the entire image all pass through a portion of the pupil of the person that has a smaller than the pupillary cross-sectional diameter, thereby achieving an optical pinhole effect.
Lo teaches beams of laser light that make up the entire image all pass through a portion of the pupil of the person (paragraph 0060 states “The light source 230 is controlled by the digital image processing system 201 to provide light corresponding to an image 227 to be drawn on the retina 255”) that has a smaller than the pupillary cross-sectional diameter (paragraph 0061 states “the laser beam may have a diameter of substantially 0.5 mm to approximately 1 mm depending on the area of the retina written to”, where Kihara (Embodiment 1) states that the diameter of a human pupil is between 2 mm and 7 mm, so therefore the diameter of said beams of laser light is smaller than the diameter of a human pupil), thereby achieving an optical pinhole effect (0061).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the VRD device for displaying an image to a person by drawing the image on a retina of the person with beams of laser light of Kihara (Embodiment 1) modified by beams of laser light that make up the entire image all pass through a portion of the pupil of the person that has a smaller than the pupillary cross-sectional diameter, thereby achieving an optical pinhole effect, as taught by Lo, in order to provide greater resolution for the retina (paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kihara (Embodiment 1) and Lo disclose all the limitations of claim 4 and Kihara (Embodiment 1) further discloses wherein said arrangement of optical elements (34 “light-collecting member”, 40 “optical element”) includes one or more optical elements (34 “light-collecting member”, 40 “optical element”), at least one said optical element (34 “light-collecting member”, 40 “optical element”) is selected from the group consisting of a convexly curved mirror, a flat mirror, a prism and a convex lens (34 “light-collecting member”, paragraph 0077 states “Examples of the light-collecting member include an optical system that has a positive optical power as a whole and in which a convex lens”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kihara (Embodiment 1) and Lo disclose all the limitations of claim 4, however Kihara (Embodiment 1) does not disclose wherein the portion of the pupil through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 1.23 mm2.
Lo teaches wherein the portion of the pupil through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 1.23 mm2 (paragraph 0061 states “the laser beam may have a diameter of substantially 0.5 mm to approximately 1 mm depending on the area of the retina written to”, where a diameter of 0.5 mm results in an area of 0.19 mm2 and a diameter of 1 mm results in an area of 0.78 mm2, which both meet the claimed limitation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the VRD device for displaying an image to a person by drawing the image on a retina of the person with beams of laser light of Kihara (Embodiment 1) modified by wherein the portion of the pupil through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 1.23 mm2, as taught by Lo, in order to provide greater resolution for the retina (paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kihara (Embodiment 1) and Lo disclose all the limitations of claim 4, however Kihara (Embodiment 1) does not disclose wherein the portion of the pupil through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 0.8 mm2.
Lo teaches wherein the portion of the pupil through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 0.8 mm2 (paragraph 0061 states “the laser beam may have a diameter of substantially 0.5 mm to approximately 1 mm depending on the area of the retina written to”, where a diameter of 0.5 mm results in an area of 0.19 mm2 and a diameter of 1 mm results in an area of 0.78 mm2, which both meet the claimed limitation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the VRD device for displaying an image to a person by drawing the image on a retina of the person with beams of laser light of Kihara (Embodiment 1) modified by wherein the portion of the pupil through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 0.8 mm2, as taught by Lo, in order to provide greater resolution for the retina (paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 8, Kihara (Embodiment 1) discloses a VRD device, in at least Figures 1 and 2A, comprising:
a wearable frame (10 “frame”, paragraph 0083 states “a frame 10 that is worn by an observer 80”, Figure 1),
a laser (31R, 31G, and 31B, “light sources”, Figures 1, 2A) for emitting a beam of light having a wavelength
λ
1
(paragraph 0100 states “Examples of the light source 31R, 31G, 31B included in the image forming apparatus 30 include a light-emitting element. Specifically, a red-light-emitting element 31R, a green-light-emitting element 31G, and a blue-light-emitting element 31B may be used as the light-emitting elements”), attached to said frame (10 “frame”, paragraph 0100 states “The light source 31R, the light source 31G, the light source 31B, and the scanning mechanism 32 are accommodated in a housing 33, and the housing 33 is attached to, for example, the temple portion 12”, paragraph 0094 states “the frame 10 includes a front portion 11 that is arranged in front of the observer 80, two temple portions 12 that are respectively rotatably attached to two ends of the front portion 11”, Figure 1),
a MEMS mirror system comprising a moveable mirror (32 “scanning mechanism”, paragraph 0100 states “the scanning mechanism 32 is a MEMS mirror that includes a two-dimensionally rotatable micromirror, and horizontally scans and vertically scans light emitted by the light sources 31R, 31G, and 31B”, Figures 1, 2A) attached to said frame (10 “frame”, paragraph 0100 states “The light source 31R, the light source 31G, the light source 31B, and the scanning mechanism 32 are accommodated in a housing 33, and the housing 33 is attached to, for example, the temple portion 12”, paragraph 0094, Figure 1),
a convex focusing lens (34 “light-collecting member”, paragraph 0077 states “Examples of the light-collecting member include an optical system that has a positive optical power as a whole and in which a convex lens …”, Figures 1, 2A) attached to said frame (10 “frame”, paragraph 0095 states “the image forming apparatus 30 includes a light-collecting member 34”, Figure 1 shows that 30 “image forming apparatus” is attached to 10 “frame”), and
a curved mirror (40 “optical element”, paragraph 0095 states “the reflective hologram diffraction grating includes a function as a concave mirror”, Figures 1, 2A), wherein said curved mirror (40 “optical element”) attached to said frame (10 “frame”, paragraph 0098 states “the horizontally extending first slide bar 52 is slidably attached to the first drive apparatus 51, the first drive apparatus 51 is fixed to an upper portion or a lower portion of the front portion 11 (to the upper portion in the illustrated example), and the optical element 40 is fixed to the first slide bar 52 through an attachment member 53”, paragraph 0094 states “the frame 10 includes a front portion 11”), wherein said curved mirror (40 “optical element”) is located in front of an eye (81 “eyeball”, Figures 1, 2A) of a wearer (80 “observer”, Figures 1, 2A) and covering at least part of the field of view thereof (Figures 1, 2A),
wherein the device is configured so that beams of light emitted from said laser (31R, 31G, and 31B, “light sources”) are reflected by said movable mirror (32 “scanning mechanism”, Figure 2A), through said convex focusing lens (34 “light-collecting member”, Figure 2A) to be reflected from said curved mirror (40 “optical element”, Figure 2A) through the pupil (82 “pupil”, Figure 2A) of an eye (81 “eyeball”) of a wearer (80 “observer”, Figure 2A) to illuminate a portion of the retina of the eye (paragraph 0062 states “the display apparatus of the present disclosure may be a head-mounted display (HMD), that is, a Maxwellian viewing retinal projection HMD in particular”), wherein the device comprises an arrangement of optical elements including said convex focusing lens (34 “light-collecting member”) and said curved mirror (40 “optical element”), such that the beams of laser light that make up an entire image all pass through a portion of the pupil (82 “pupil”) of a wearer (80 “observer”, abstract states “An image exiting the image forming apparatus 30 obliquely enters the optical element 40 from the region situated behind the optical element, and is reflected off the optical element 40 to reach a pupil 82 of the observer 80”), and a pupillary cross-sectional diameter (paragraph 0002 states “the diameter of a human pupil is in a very narrow range of between 2 mm in a bright environment and 7 mm in a dark environment”).
However, Kihara (Embodiment 1) does not disclose the beams of laser light that make up an entire image all pass through a portion of the pupil of a wearer that has a smaller than the pupillary cross-sectional diameter, thereby achieving an optical pinhole effect.
Lo teaches the beams of laser light that make up an entire image all pass through a portion of the pupil of a wearer (paragraph 0060 states “The light source 230 is controlled by the digital image processing system 201 to provide light corresponding to an image 227 to be drawn on the retina 255”) that has a smaller than the pupillary cross-sectional diameter (paragraph 0061 states “the laser beam may have a diameter of substantially 0.5 mm to approximately 1 mm depending on the area of the retina written to”, where Kihara (Embodiment 1) states that the diameter of a human pupil is between 2 mm and 7 mm, so therefore the diameter of said beams of laser light is smaller than the diameter of a human pupil), thereby achieving an optical pinhole effect (0061).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the VRD device of Kihara (Embodiment 1) modified by the beams of laser light that make up an entire image all pass through a portion of the pupil of a wearer that has a smaller than the pupillary cross-sectional diameter, thereby achieving an optical pinhole effect, as taught by Lo, in order to provide greater resolution for the retina (paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kihara (Embodiment 1) and Lo discloses all the limitations of claim 8, however Kihara (Embodiment 1) does not disclose wherein the portion of the pupil of an eye through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 1.23 mm2.
Lo teaches wherein the portion of the pupil of an eye through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 1.23 mm2 (paragraph 0061 states “the laser beam may have a diameter of substantially 0.5 mm to approximately 1 mm depending on the area of the retina written to”, where a diameter of 0.5 mm results in an area of 0.19 mm2 and a diameter of 1 mm results in an area of 0.78 mm2, which both meet the claimed limitation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the VRD device of Kihara (Embodiment 1) modified by wherein the portion of the pupil of an eye through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 1.23 mm2, as taught by Lo, in order to provide greater resolution for the retina (paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kihara (Embodiment 1) and Lo discloses all the limitations of claim 8, however Kihara (Embodiment 1) does not disclose wherein the portion of the pupil of an eye through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 0.8 mm2.
Lo teaches wherein the portion of the pupil of an eye through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 0.8 mm2 (paragraph 0061 states “the laser beam may have a diameter of substantially 0.5 mm to approximately 1 mm depending on the area of the retina written to”, where a diameter of 0.5 mm results in an area of 0.19 mm2 and a diameter of 1 mm results in an area of 0.78 mm2, which both meet the claimed limitation).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the VRD device of Kihara (Embodiment 1) modified by wherein the portion of the pupil of an eye through which all said beams of light pass has a cross section of not more than about 0.8 mm2, as taught by Lo, in order to provide greater resolution for the retina (paragraph 0055).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kihara (US 20220236567 A1)(Embodiment 1), in view of Lo (US 20170188021 A1), and further in view of Evans (US 20160195721 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kihara (Embodiment 1) and Lo discloses all the limitations of claim 8, however Kihara (Embodiment 1) does not disclose wherein subsequent to passing through said convex focusing lens and prior to being reflected from said curved mirror through the pupil of an eye, the beams of light are at least one of: reflected from at least one additional concavely-curved mirror; reflected from at least one additional non-curved mirror; and pass through at least one additional convex focusing lens.
Evans teaches wherein subsequent to passing through said convex focusing lens (160 “lens”, Figure 3b) and prior to being reflected from said curved mirror (420 “curved mirror”, Figure 3b) through the pupil of an eye (90 “user”, Figure 3b), the beams of light are at least one of: reflected from at least one additional concavely-curved mirror; reflected from at least one additional non-curved mirror; and pass through at least one additional convex focusing lens (160 “lens”, paragraph 0101 states “In that it includes additional lenses 160 that can be helpful to direct the flow of light … A lens 160 is positioned before the display 410 to modify/focus image 880 before providing the image 880 to the viewer 96”, Figure 3b shows that there are two elements 160 “lens” between 210 “light source” and 420 “curved mirror” along the light path of the beams of light).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the VRD device of Kihara (Embodiment 1) modified by wherein subsequent to passing through said convex focusing lens and prior to being reflected from said curved mirror through the pupil of an eye, the beams of light are at least one of: reflected from at least one additional concavely-curved mirror; reflected from at least one additional non-curved mirror; and pass through at least one additional convex focusing lens, as taught by Evans, in order to direct the flow of light as well as modify and focus the image before providing it to the viewer (paragraph 0101).
Contact Information
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Belenkii (US 20180084232 A1) discloses augmented reality head worn device including a MEMS micro-mirror, a liquid lens, and a curved transparent mirror.
/ALAINA MARIE SWANSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872