DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 9/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 and 10-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kismarton (US 20180304983 A1).
As to claim 1, Kismarton discloses method for joining a carbon fiber structure and a metal to guard against galvanic corrosion (“To further avoid galvanic corrosion of metal structures”), the method comprising:
arranging sheets of carbon fiber and sheets of glass into a stack such that edge regions of the sheets of carbon fiber and edge regions of the sheets of glass overlap in an alternating arrangement, wherein a region of the stack where the sheets of carbon and the sheets of glass overlap is a transition band (“strips of glass fibers from the first plurality of strips 32 are layered on the exterior surfaces of the beam 12. This is represented in FIG. 2 where strips from the first plurality of strips of glass fibers 32 are applied over the opposite sides of the central web 18, the top surface of the upper flange 22 and the bottom surface of the lower flange 24”), a region of the stack where the sheets of glass extend a first direction away from the transition band is an edge band, and a region of the stack where the sheets of carbon fiber extend a second direction away from the transition band is a primary band, wherein the first direction is opposite the second direction (“the strips of unidirectional carbon fibers in the construction of the beam 12 are transitioned to strips of glass fibers by a co-cured splice between the strips of unidirectional carbon fibers and the strips of glass fibers.”);
curing the stack into a single rigid part (“the strips of unidirectional carbon fibers are transitioned to strips of glass fibers by a co-cured splice”); and
attaching the edge band of the single rigid part to the metal such that the primary band and the transition band are separated from the metal by the edge band (paragraph 0004 discloses drilling to produce fastener holes to attach; paragraph 0007 discloses doing this in the fiberglass region that would correlate to the edge band).
See paragraph 0007 and 0038-0044, disclosing:
[0004] Additionally, the attachment of an aircraft beam constructed of strips of carbon fiber to a metal structure of the aircraft can lead to galvanic corrosion in the metal structure. To use an intermediate attachment between the carbon fiber beam and the metal structure, for example an attachment made from titanium is expensive and can lead to complex and heavy joints between the carbon fiber beam and the metal structure. Additionally, drilling of the carbon fiber beam to produce fastener holes to attach the intermediate attachment to the beam produces conductive dust of carbon that can contaminate manufacturing equipment and components of the aircraft.
[0007] To avoid galvanic corrosion of metal structures of the aircraft to which portions of the beam are attached, the strips of unidirectional carbon fibers are transitioned to strips of glass fibers by a co-cured splice. Because the fiberglass added at attachment areas of the beam is not galvanicly active, galvanic corrosion of metal structures in the aircraft to which the beam is attached is avoided. Additionally, drilling a fiberglass/aluminum joint in the metal structure of the aircraft is a much easier manufacturing procedure than drilling a carbon/titanium joint.
…
[0037] To avoid galvanic corrosion of metal structures of the aircraft to which portions of the beam 12 are attached, strips of glass fibers from the first plurality of strips 32 are layered on the exterior surfaces of the beam 12. This is represented in FIG. 2 where strips from the first plurality of strips of glass fibers 32 are applied over the opposite sides of the central web 18, the top surface of the upper flange 22 and the bottom surface of the lower flange 24. Thus, strips of glass fibers from the first plurality of strips 32 sandwich the second plurality of strips of unidirectional carbon fibers 34 within the beam and shield the second plurality of strips of unidirectional carbon fibers 34 from the exterior environment of the aircraft and from metal structures of the aircraft.
[0038] To further avoid galvanic corrosion of metal structures of the aircraft to which portions of the beams 12 are attached, the strips of unidirectional carbon fibers in the construction of the beam 12 are transitioned to strips of glass fibers by a co-cured splice between the strips of unidirectional carbon fibers and the strips of glass fibers.
[0039] FIG. 3 is a representation of a modification to a first terminal end portion 42 of a strip of unidirectional carbon fibers 44 at the first terminal end 46 of the beam. Represented in FIG. 3, a small strip of glass fiber 48 is spliced to the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 44 at the first terminal end portion 42 of the beam. The splice 52 joining the small strip of glass fiber 48 to the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 44 at the first terminal end 46 of the beam is a single sided taper. The small strip of glass fiber 48 is spliced to the tapered end of the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 44 along the tapered splice 52 and the strips are co-cured. This provides the small strip of glass fiber 48 to the end of the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 44 at an end of the beam that is designed to be attached to a metal structure of an aircraft. Because the fiberglass strip 48 at the attached end of the beam is not galvanicly active, galvanic corrosion of metal structures in the aircraft to which the beam is attached is avoided.
[0040] FIG. 4 is a further representation of a strip 54 of unidirectional carbon fiber transitioning to a small strip 56 of glass fiber along a splice 58. In FIG. 4, the splice 58 has a configuration of a double sided taper with the carbon of the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 54 on the opposite side surfaces of the double sided taper splice 58. Again, the small strip of glass fiber 56 is abutted against the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 54 along the double sided splice 58 and the strips are co-cured. This provides the fiberglass strip 56 to an attachment end of the beam where the fiberglass strip 56 is not galvanicly active and prevents galvanic corrosion of metal structures to which the beam end is attached.
[0041] FIG. 5 is a further representation of the end of a strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 62 being joined to a small strip of glass fiber 64 by a splice 66. The splice 66 is a double sided taper similar to that represented in FIG. 4, but with the glass fiber of the small strip of glass fiber 64 on opposite sides of the splice 66. Again, the small strip of glass fiber 62 is attached to the end of the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 64 by the splice 66 being co-cured.
[0042] FIG. 6 is a further representation of a small strip of glass fiber 72 being joined to the end of a strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 74 by a splice 76. In FIG. 6, the splice 76 has a randomly interspersed configuration. The small strip of glass fiber 72 is joined to the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 74 along the splice 76 by co-curing.
[0043] In each of the examples represented in FIGS. 3-6, because the small fiberglass strip added at attachment areas of the beam is not galvanicly active, galvanic corrosion of metal structures in the aircraft to which the beam is attached is avoided. In each of the examples, the splice added between the strip of glass fiber and the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber will be positioned at different locations in each layer of the beam adjacent the terminal end of the beam.
[0044] As various modifications could be made in the construction of the beam and its method of construction herein described and illustrated without departing from the scope of the invention, it is intended that all matter contained in the foregoing description or shown in the accompanying drawings shall be interpreted as illustrative rather than limiting. Thus, the breadth and scope of the present disclosure should not be limited by any of the above described exemplary embodiments, but should be defined only in accordance with the following claims appended hereto and their equivalents.
See Figures 2-3, below:
Figures 4-6 show additional shape variations for the splice region that would read on a transition band.
As to claim 2, Kismarton discloses wherein the attaching of the edge band of the single rigid part to the metal comprises drilling holes through the edge band and the metal and inserting fasteners through the holes.
See paragraph 0004 and 0007, disclosing:
[0004] Additionally, the attachment of an aircraft beam constructed of strips of carbon fiber to a metal structure of the aircraft can lead to galvanic corrosion in the metal structure. To use an intermediate attachment between the carbon fiber beam and the metal structure, for example an attachment made from titanium is expensive and can lead to complex and heavy joints between the carbon fiber beam and the metal structure. Additionally, drilling of the carbon fiber beam to produce fastener holes to attach the intermediate attachment to the beam produces conductive dust of carbon that can contaminate manufacturing equipment and components of the aircraft.
[0007] To avoid galvanic corrosion of metal structures of the aircraft to which portions of the beam are attached, the strips of unidirectional carbon fibers are transitioned to strips of glass fibers by a co-cured splice. Because the fiberglass added at attachment areas of the beam is not galvanicly active, galvanic corrosion of metal structures in the aircraft to which the beam is attached is avoided. Additionally, drilling a fiberglass/aluminum joint in the metal structure of the aircraft is a much easier manufacturing procedure than drilling a carbon/titanium joint.
As to claim 4, Kismarton discloses wherein the metal is a structure comprised of aluminum. See paragraph 0007, disclosing “Because the fiberglass added at attachment areas of the beam is not galvanicly active, galvanic corrosion of metal structures in the aircraft to which the beam is attached is avoided. Additionally, drilling a fiberglass/aluminum joint in the metal structure of the aircraft is a much easier manufacturing procedure than drilling a carbon/titanium joint.”;
As to claim 5, Kismarton discloses wherein the sheets of glass comprise sheets of fiberglass. See paragraph 0005, disclosing “hybrid carbon/fiberglass structural component”; See paragraph 0007, disclosing “Because the fiberglass added at attachment areas of the beam is not galvanicly active, galvanic corrosion of metal structures in the aircraft to which the beam is attached is avoided. Additionally, drilling a fiberglass/aluminum joint in the metal structure of the aircraft is a much easier manufacturing procedure than drilling a carbon/titanium joint.”; See paragraph 0013, disclosing “The first plurality of strips of composite material are comprised of strips of glass fibers where the glass fibers are oriented at an angle relative to the length of the beam.”. See paragraph 0032, disclosing “The first plurality of strips 32 of pre-preg composite material consists of strips of glass fibers or fiberglass.”.
As to claim 7, Kismarton discloses wherein the alternating arrangement includes the edge regions of at least two of the sheets of carbon fiber being overlapped onto the edge regions of at least two of the sheets of glass. See, for example, Figure 2, below, sheets 32 and 34 .
As to claim 10, Kismarton discloses a method for joining a carbon fiber structure and aluminum to guard against galvanic corrosion (“To further avoid galvanic corrosion of metal structures”), the method comprising:
arranging sheets of carbon fiber and sheets of fiberglass into a stack such that edge regions of the sheets of carbon fiber and edge regions of the sheets of fiberglass overlap in an alternating arrangement, wherein a region of the stack where the sheets of carbon and the sheets of fiberglass overlap is a transition band, a region of the stack where the sheets of fiberglass extend a first direction away from the transition band is an edge band, and a region of the stack where the sheets of carbon fiber extend a second direction away from the transition band is a primary band, wherein the first direction is opposite the second direction (“strips of glass fibers from the first plurality of strips 32 are layered on the exterior surfaces of the beam 12. This is represented in FIG. 2 where strips from the first plurality of strips of glass fibers 32 are applied over the opposite sides of the central web 18, the top surface of the upper flange 22 and the bottom surface of the lower flange 24”), a region of the stack where the sheets of glass extend a first direction away from the transition band is an edge band, and a region of the stack where the sheets of carbon fiber extend a second direction away from the transition band is a primary band, wherein the first direction is opposite the second direction (“the strips of unidirectional carbon fibers in the construction of the beam 12 are transitioned to strips of glass fibers by a co-cured splice between the strips of unidirectional carbon fibers and the strips of glass fibers.”);
curing the stack into a single rigid part (“the strips of unidirectional carbon fibers are transitioned to strips of glass fibers by a co-cured splice”); and
mechanically attaching the edge band of the single rigid part to the aluminum such that the primary band and the transition band are separated from the aluminum by the edge band (paragraph 0004 discloses drilling to produce fastener holes to attach; paragraph 0007 discloses drilling a fiberglass/aluminum joint in the metal structure of the aircraft wherein the fiberglass region that would correlate to the edge band).
See paragraph 0007 and 0038-0044, disclosing:
[0004] Additionally, the attachment of an aircraft beam constructed of strips of carbon fiber to a metal structure of the aircraft can lead to galvanic corrosion in the metal structure. To use an intermediate attachment between the carbon fiber beam and the metal structure, for example an attachment made from titanium is expensive and can lead to complex and heavy joints between the carbon fiber beam and the metal structure. Additionally, drilling of the carbon fiber beam to produce fastener holes to attach the intermediate attachment to the beam produces conductive dust of carbon that can contaminate manufacturing equipment and components of the aircraft.
[0007] To avoid galvanic corrosion of metal structures of the aircraft to which portions of the beam are attached, the strips of unidirectional carbon fibers are transitioned to strips of glass fibers by a co-cured splice. Because the fiberglass added at attachment areas of the beam is not galvanicly active, galvanic corrosion of metal structures in the aircraft to which the beam is attached is avoided. Additionally, drilling a fiberglass/aluminum joint in the metal structure of the aircraft is a much easier manufacturing procedure than drilling a carbon/titanium joint.
…
[0037] To avoid galvanic corrosion of metal structures of the aircraft to which portions of the beam 12 are attached, strips of glass fibers from the first plurality of strips 32 are layered on the exterior surfaces of the beam 12. This is represented in FIG. 2 where strips from the first plurality of strips of glass fibers 32 are applied over the opposite sides of the central web 18, the top surface of the upper flange 22 and the bottom surface of the lower flange 24. Thus, strips of glass fibers from the first plurality of strips 32 sandwich the second plurality of strips of unidirectional carbon fibers 34 within the beam and shield the second plurality of strips of unidirectional carbon fibers 34 from the exterior environment of the aircraft and from metal structures of the aircraft.
[0038] To further avoid galvanic corrosion of metal structures of the aircraft to which portions of the beams 12 are attached, the strips of unidirectional carbon fibers in the construction of the beam 12 are transitioned to strips of glass fibers by a co-cured splice between the strips of unidirectional carbon fibers and the strips of glass fibers.
[0039] FIG. 3 is a representation of a modification to a first terminal end portion 42 of a strip of unidirectional carbon fibers 44 at the first terminal end 46 of the beam. Represented in FIG. 3, a small strip of glass fiber 48 is spliced to the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 44 at the first terminal end portion 42 of the beam. The splice 52 joining the small strip of glass fiber 48 to the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 44 at the first terminal end 46 of the beam is a single sided taper. The small strip of glass fiber 48 is spliced to the tapered end of the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 44 along the tapered splice 52 and the strips are co-cured. This provides the small strip of glass fiber 48 to the end of the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 44 at an end of the beam that is designed to be attached to a metal structure of an aircraft. Because the fiberglass strip 48 at the attached end of the beam is not galvanicly active, galvanic corrosion of metal structures in the aircraft to which the beam is attached is avoided.
[0040] FIG. 4 is a further representation of a strip 54 of unidirectional carbon fiber transitioning to a small strip 56 of glass fiber along a splice 58. In FIG. 4, the splice 58 has a configuration of a double sided taper with the carbon of the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 54 on the opposite side surfaces of the double sided taper splice 58. Again, the small strip of glass fiber 56 is abutted against the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 54 along the double sided splice 58 and the strips are co-cured. This provides the fiberglass strip 56 to an attachment end of the beam where the fiberglass strip 56 is not galvanicly active and prevents galvanic corrosion of metal structures to which the beam end is attached.
[0041] FIG. 5 is a further representation of the end of a strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 62 being joined to a small strip of glass fiber 64 by a splice 66. The splice 66 is a double sided taper similar to that represented in FIG. 4, but with the glass fiber of the small strip of glass fiber 64 on opposite sides of the splice 66. Again, the small strip of glass fiber 62 is attached to the end of the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 64 by the splice 66 being co-cured.
[0042] FIG. 6 is a further representation of a small strip of glass fiber 72 being joined to the end of a strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 74 by a splice 76. In FIG. 6, the splice 76 has a randomly interspersed configuration. The small strip of glass fiber 72 is joined to the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber 74 along the splice 76 by co-curing.
[0043] In each of the examples represented in FIGS. 3-6, because the small fiberglass strip added at attachment areas of the beam is not galvanicly active, galvanic corrosion of metal structures in the aircraft to which the beam is attached is avoided. In each of the examples, the splice added between the strip of glass fiber and the strip of unidirectional carbon fiber will be positioned at different locations in each layer of the beam adjacent the terminal end of the beam.
[0044] As various modifications could be made in the construction of the beam and its method of construction herein described and illustrated without departing from the scope of the invention, it is intended that all matter contained in the foregoing description or shown in the accompanying drawings shall be interpreted as illustrative rather than limiting. Thus, the breadth and scope of the present disclosure should not be limited by any of the above described exemplary embodiments, but should be defined only in accordance with the following claims appended hereto and their equivalents.
See Figures 2-3, below:
Figures 4-6 show additional shape variations for the splice region that would read on a transition band.
As to claim 11, Kismarton discloses wherein the mechanical attaching of the edge band of the single rigid part to the aluminum comprises drilling holes through the edge band and the aluminum (“drilling a fiberglass/aluminum joint in the metal structure of the aircraft is a much easier”) and inserting fasteners through the holes (“to produce fastener holes to attach the intermediate attachment”). See paragraph 0004 and 0007, disclosing:
[0004] Additionally, the attachment of an aircraft beam constructed of strips of carbon fiber to a metal structure of the aircraft can lead to galvanic corrosion in the metal structure. To use an intermediate attachment between the carbon fiber beam and the metal structure, for example an attachment made from titanium is expensive and can lead to complex and heavy joints between the carbon fiber beam and the metal structure. Additionally, drilling of the carbon fiber beam to produce fastener holes to attach the intermediate attachment to the beam produces conductive dust of carbon that can contaminate manufacturing equipment and components of the aircraft.
[0007] To avoid galvanic corrosion of metal structures of the aircraft to which portions of the beam are attached, the strips of unidirectional carbon fibers are transitioned to strips of glass fibers by a co-cured splice. Because the fiberglass added at attachment areas of the beam is not galvanicly active, galvanic corrosion of metal structures in the aircraft to which the beam is attached is avoided. Additionally, drilling a fiberglass/aluminum joint in the metal structure of the aircraft is a much easier manufacturing procedure than drilling a carbon/titanium joint.
As to claim 14, Kismarton discloses wherein the alternating arrangement includes the edge regions of at least two of the sheets of carbon fiber being overlapped onto the edge regions of at least two of the sheets of fiberglass. See, for example, Figure 2, below, sheets 32 and 34 .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kismarton (US 20180304983 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 and 10-11 and 14 above, and further in view of Sayilgan (US 20110031350 A1).
As to claim 3, Kismarton does not disclose wherein the attaching of the edge band of the single rigid part to the metal comprises forming a butt joint between the edge band and the metal.
However, Sayilgan discloses and makes obvious wherein the attaching of the edge band of the single rigid part to the metal comprises forming a butt joint between the edge band and the metal. Sayilgan discloses that it is known to utilize butt joints when joining or building a component for a fuselage section of an aircraft. See the abstract, disclosing:
A component for building a fuselage section of an aircraft includes a border area connectable to a corresponding further border area of a further component so as to form an electrically conductive joint, wherein the component includes a composite structure.
See also paragraph 0051-52, disclosing:
[0051] In the region of a joint 45, which is to be produced by means of a suitable thermal joining process, the metal layers 43, 44 of the components 39, 40 in each case form a "compact" metal layer. In order to create the electrically conductive joint 45 the border areas 41, 42 of the components 39, 40 can be butt-joined by means of known thermal joining methods. Again, a ground return 46 for electrical consumers (not shown in FIG. 5) is connected to the electrically conductive joint 45.
[0052] FIG. 6 shows a perspective view of two shell components, joined along an electrically conductive joint to form a fuselage (sub-) section, with a ground return.
Sayilgan also recognizes that glass layers can joined to aluminum fuselages in order to avoid corrosion. See paragraph 0034.
[0034] As an alternative, aluminium alloys or stainless steel alloys can also be used as metal layers, wherein in the selection of the material for the composite-material layer it is, however, necessary to take into account the corrosion resistance and/or the structural strength in the interaction with the metal material used. For example, for reasons relating to corrosion protection, metal layers comprising aluminium alloys cannot be combined without further ado with composite-material layers comprising CFRP materials. As a rule, metal layers comprising aluminium alloys can only be combined with layers comprising glass-fibre-reinforced polyester resins or glass-fibre-reinforced epoxy resins (Glare.RTM.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the attaching of the edge band of the single rigid part to the metal comprises forming a butt joint between the edge band and the metal as taught in Sayilgan in order to form an electrically conductive joint in a fuselage section.
As to claim 12, Kismarton does not disclose wherein the mechanical attaching of the edge band of the single rigid part to the aluminum comprises forming a butt joint between the edge band and the aluminum.
However, Sayilgan discloses and makes obvious wherein the mechanical attaching of the edge band of the single rigid part to the aluminum comprises forming a butt joint between the edge band and the aluminum. Sayilgan discloses that it is known to utilize butt joints when joining or building a component for a fuselage section of an aircraft. See the abstract, disclosing:
A component for building a fuselage section of an aircraft includes a border area connectable to a corresponding further border area of a further component so as to form an electrically conductive joint, wherein the component includes a composite structure.
See also paragraph 0051-52, disclosing:
[0051] In the region of a joint 45, which is to be produced by means of a suitable thermal joining process, the metal layers 43, 44 of the components 39, 40 in each case form a "compact" metal layer. In order to create the electrically conductive joint 45 the border areas 41, 42 of the components 39, 40 can be butt-joined by means of known thermal joining methods. Again, a ground return 46 for electrical consumers (not shown in FIG. 5) is connected to the electrically conductive joint 45.
[0052] FIG. 6 shows a perspective view of two shell components, joined along an electrically conductive joint to form a fuselage (sub-) section, with a ground return.
Sayilgan also recognizes that glass layers can joined to aluminum fuselages in order to avoid corrosion. See paragraph 0034.
[0034] As an alternative, aluminium alloys or stainless steel alloys can also be used as metal layers, wherein in the selection of the material for the composite-material layer it is, however, necessary to take into account the corrosion resistance and/or the structural strength in the interaction with the metal material used. For example, for reasons relating to corrosion protection, metal layers comprising aluminium alloys cannot be combined without further ado with composite-material layers comprising CFRP materials. As a rule, metal layers comprising aluminium alloys can only be combined with layers comprising glass-fibre-reinforced polyester resins or glass-fibre-reinforced epoxy resins (Glare.RTM.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the mechanical attaching of the edge band of the single rigid part to the aluminum comprises forming a butt joint between the edge band and the aluminum as taught in Sayilgan in order to form an electrically conductive joint in a fuselage section.
Claim(s) 6, 8-9, 13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kismarton (US 20180304983 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 and 10-11 and 14 above, and further in view of Griess (US 20130075526 A1).
As to claim 6, Kismarton does not disclose further comprising trimming off a portion of the edge band before or after the step of attaching the edge band of the single rigid part to the metal.
Griess discloses and makes obvious further comprising trimming off a portion of the edge band before or after the step of attaching the edge band of the single rigid part to the metal. Griess discloses a related metal to composite hybrid (see paragraph 0057, disclosing glass fibers) that relies on stacking and transition regions. See paragraph 0054, 0057 and 0064, disclosing:
[0054] Referring to FIGS. 1-4, a layup of composite material plies 35 is terminated at a interface location 39 referred to later herein as a transition point 39, where a metal sheet or ply 37 of the substantially the same thickness as the composite material plies 35 continues to the metal edge 24a of the metal portion 24, and the layup is repeated with a composite-to-metal interface 39 that is staggered toward the metal edge 24a from the prior interface location 39 and includes a ply of structural metal adhesive 45 (see FIGS. 5 and 6) between the metal plies 37, with the next composite-to-metal interface 39 staggered away from the metal edge 24a to produce a nested splice 27. This staggered interface stacking, which produces nested tabs 29 (see FIG. 3), is continued to the full thickness of the hybrid composite structure 20 with none of the composite plies 35 extending fully to the metal edge 24a of the all metal portion 24.
…
[0057] The composite plies 35 may comprise a fiber reinforced resin, such as without limitation, carbon fiber epoxy, which may be in the form of unidirectional prepreg tape or fabric. Other fiber reinforcements are possible, including glass fibers, and the use of non-prepreg materials may be possible. The composite plies 35 may have predetermined fiber orientations and are laid up according to a predefined ply schedule to meet desired performance specifications. As previously mentioned, the bonded sheets 37 may comprise a metal such as titanium that is suitable for the intended application. In the illustrated example, the stack 36 of metal sheets 37 has a total thickness t.sub.1 which is generally substantially equal to the thickness t.sub.2 of the laminated stack 34 of plies 35. In the illustrated example however, t.sub.2 is slightly greater than t.sub.1 by a factor of the thickness of several overwrap plies 43 on opposite sides of the stack 37.
…
[0064] During the lay-up process, the metal sheets 37 are sequenced like plies into the lay-up, much like composite plies are sequenced into a lay-up in a conventional lay-up process. As shown at step 46, adhesive may be introduced between the metal sheets 37 in order to bond them together into a unitized metal structure. Similarly, although not shown in FIG. 8, a bonding adhesive may be introduced between the individual composite plies 35 in order to increase the bond strength between these plies 35. Next, at 48, the lay-up may be compacted using any of several known compaction techniques, such as vacuum bagging following which the lay-up is cured at step 50 using autoclave or out-of-autoclave curing processes. At step 52, the cured composite structure 20 may be trimmed and/or inspected, as necessary.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising trimming off a portion of the edge band before or after the step of attaching the edge band of the single rigid part to the metal by utilizing the trimming step of Griess in order to ensure that the cured composite structure is shaped and sized to the correct dimensions.
As to claim 8, Kismarton does not disclose wherein at least some of the edge regions of the sheets of carbon fiber are of differing lengths than others of the edge regions of the sheets of carbon fiber. Kismarton’s Figures 3 through 6 are very suggestive of different lengths for the carbon fibers at the splice region, but it is unclear Kismarton discloses the full limitation.
In any event, Griess makes obvious wherein at least some of the edge regions of the sheets of carbon fiber are of differing lengths than others of the edge regions of the sheets of carbon fiber. See paragraphs 0054-58, disclosing:
[0054] Referring to FIGS. 1-4, a layup of composite material plies 35 is terminated at a interface location 39 referred to later herein as a transition point 39, where a metal sheet or ply 37 of the substantially the same thickness as the composite material plies 35 continues to the metal edge 24a of the metal portion 24, and the layup is repeated with a composite-to-metal interface 39 that is staggered toward the metal edge 24a from the prior interface location 39 and includes a ply of structural metal adhesive 45 (see FIGS. 5 and 6) between the metal plies 37, with the next composite-to-metal interface 39 staggered away from the metal edge 24a to produce a nested splice 27. This staggered interface stacking, which produces nested tabs 29 (see FIG. 3), is continued to the full thickness of the hybrid composite structure 20 with none of the composite plies 35 extending fully to the metal edge 24a of the all metal portion 24.
[0055] Referring now also to FIGS. 2-4, the composite portion 22 of the structure 20 comprises a laminated stack 34 of fiber reinforced resin plies 35, and the metal portion 24 of the structure 20 comprises a stack 36 of metal sheets or plies 37 that are bonded together to form a laminated, substantially unitized metal structure. As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, the composite plies 35 and the metal sheets 37 are arranged in layers 38. Each of the layers 38 comprises one or more of the composite plies 35 in substantially edge-to-edge abutment with one of the metal sheets 37. Thus, each of the layers 38 transitions at a point 39 from a composite i.e. composite resin plies 35, to a metal, i.e. metal sheet 37.
[0056] The transition points 39 are staggered relative to each other according to a predetermined lay-up schedule such that the plies 35 and the metal sheets 37 overlap each other in the transition section 25 (FIG. 1). Staggering of the transition points 39 creates multiple bond lines that may reduce the occurrence and/or propagation of cracks or disbonds in the joint 26. The staggering of the transition points 39 also results in a form of interleaving of the composite plies 35 and the metal sheets 37 within the joint 26 which forms a nested splice 27 between the all composite portion 22 and the all metal portion 24. This nested splice 27 may also be referred to as a finger bond 26, a finger joint 26 or a multiple step lap joint 26. The adjacent ones of the transition points 39 are spaced from each other in the in-plane direction of the structure 20 so as to achieve a bonded joint 26 that exhibits optimum performance characteristics, including strength and resistance to disbonds and propagation of inconsistencies such as cracks. In the illustrated example, the nested splice 27 forming the joint 26 is a form of a double finger joint in which the transition points 39 are staggered in opposite directions from a generally central point 55 of maximum overlap. However, as will be discussed blow in more detail, other joint configurations are possible including but not limited to a single finger joint in which the multiple transition points 39 are staggered in a single direction.
[0057] The composite plies 35 may comprise a fiber reinforced resin, such as without limitation, carbon fiber epoxy, which may be in the form of unidirectional prepreg tape or fabric. Other fiber reinforcements are possible, including glass fibers, and the use of non-prepreg materials may be possible. The composite plies 35 may have predetermined fiber orientations and are laid up according to a predefined ply schedule to meet desired performance specifications. As previously mentioned, the bonded sheets 37 may comprise a metal such as titanium that is suitable for the intended application. In the illustrated example, the stack 36 of metal sheets 37 has a total thickness t.sub.1 which is generally substantially equal to the thickness t.sub.2 of the laminated stack 34 of plies 35. In the illustrated example however, t.sub.2 is slightly greater than t.sub.1 by a factor of the thickness of several overwrap plies 43 on opposite sides of the stack 37.
[0058] The use of a multiple step lap joint 26 may increase the bond area along the length of the transition section 25, compared to a scarf type joint or other types of joints which may require a longer length transition section 25 in order to achieve a comparable bond area between the composite resin portion 22 and the metal portion 24. Following thermal curing, cooling of the hybrid composite structure 20 may result in residual stresses in the joint 26 due to a mismatch between the coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the composite resin portion 22 and the metal portion 24. The amount of thermal expansion during curing is a function of the CTE of the composite resin portion 22 and the metal portion 24, as well as the length of the transition section 25. Use of the step lap joint 26, rather than a scarf type or other type of joint may reduce the amount of these residual stresses because of the reduction in the length of the transition section 25 that is needed to obtain a preselected amount of bond area between the two portions 22, 24 of the joint 26. Reduction of the length of the transition section 25 may also reduce residual stresses in the joint 26 after the aircraft is placed in service where large temperature extremes may be encountered during either normal or extreme operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein at least some of the edge regions of the sheets of carbon fiber are of differing lengths than others of the edge regions of the sheets of carbon fiber because as suggested by multiple step lap joint of Griess because the use of a multiple step lap joint may increase the bond area along the length of the transition section, compared to a scarf type joint or other types of joints which may require a longer length transition section in order to achieve a comparable bond area.
As to claim 9, Kismarton does not disclose wherein at least some of the edge regions of the sheets of glass are of differing lengths than others of the edge regions of the sheets of glass. Kismarton’s Figures 3 through 6 are very suggestive of different lengths for the glass fibers at the splice region, but it is unclear Kismarton discloses the full limitation.
In any event, Griess makes obvious wherein at least some of the edge regions of the sheets of glass are of differing lengths than others of the edge regions of the sheets of glass. See paragraphs 0054-58, disclosing:
[0054] Referring to FIGS. 1-4, a layup of composite material plies 35 is terminated at a interface location 39 referred to later herein as a transition point 39, where a metal sheet or ply 37 of the substantially the same thickness as the composite material plies 35 continues to the metal edge 24a of the metal portion 24, and the layup is repeated with a composite-to-metal interface 39 that is staggered toward the metal edge 24a from the prior interface location 39 and includes a ply of structural metal adhesive 45 (see FIGS. 5 and 6) between the metal plies 37, with the next composite-to-metal interface 39 staggered away from the metal edge 24a to produce a nested splice 27. This staggered interface stacking, which produces nested tabs 29 (see FIG. 3), is continued to the full thickness of the hybrid composite structure 20 with none of the composite plies 35 extending fully to the metal edge 24a of the all metal portion 24.
[0055] Referring now also to FIGS. 2-4, the composite portion 22 of the structure 20 comprises a laminated stack 34 of fiber reinforced resin plies 35, and the metal portion 24 of the structure 20 comprises a stack 36 of metal sheets or plies 37 that are bonded together to form a laminated, substantially unitized metal structure. As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, the composite plies 35 and the metal sheets 37 are arranged in layers 38. Each of the layers 38 comprises one or more of the composite plies 35 in substantially edge-to-edge abutment with one of the metal sheets 37. Thus, each of the layers 38 transitions at a point 39 from a composite i.e. composite resin plies 35, to a metal, i.e. metal sheet 37.
[0056] The transition points 39 are staggered relative to each other according to a predetermined lay-up schedule such that the plies 35 and the metal sheets 37 overlap each other in the transition section 25 (FIG. 1). Staggering of the transition points 39 creates multiple bond lines that may reduce the occurrence and/or propagation of cracks or disbonds in the joint 26. The staggering of the transition points 39 also results in a form of interleaving of the composite plies 35 and the metal sheets 37 within the joint 26 which forms a nested splice 27 between the all composite portion 22 and the all metal portion 24. This nested splice 27 may also be referred to as a finger bond 26, a finger joint 26 or a multiple step lap joint 26. The adjacent ones of the transition points 39 are spaced from each other in the in-plane direction of the structure 20 so as to achieve a bonded joint 26 that exhibits optimum performance characteristics, including strength and resistance to disbonds and propagation of inconsistencies such as cracks. In the illustrated example, the nested splice 27 forming the joint 26 is a form of a double finger joint in which the transition points 39 are staggered in opposite directions from a generally central point 55 of maximum overlap. However, as will be discussed blow in more detail, other joint configurations are possible including but not limited to a single finger joint in which the multiple transition points 39 are staggered in a single direction.
[0057] The composite plies 35 may comprise a fiber reinforced resin, such as without limitation, carbon fiber epoxy, which may be in the form of unidirectional prepreg tape or fabric. Other fiber reinforcements are possible, including glass fibers, and the use of non-prepreg materials may be possible. The composite plies 35 may have predetermined fiber orientations and are laid up according to a predefined ply schedule to meet desired performance specifications. As previously mentioned, the bonded sheets 37 may comprise a metal such as titanium that is suitable for the intended application. In the illustrated example, the stack 36 of metal sheets 37 has a total thickness t.sub.1 which is generally substantially equal to the thickness t.sub.2 of the laminated stack 34 of plies 35. In the illustrated example however, t.sub.2 is slightly greater than t.sub.1 by a factor of the thickness of several overwrap plies 43 on opposite sides of the stack 37.
[0058] The use of a multiple step lap joint 26 may increase the bond area along the length of the transition section 25, compared to a scarf type joint or other types of joints which may require a longer length transition section 25 in order to achieve a comparable bond area between the composite resin portion 22 and the metal portion 24. Following thermal curing, cooling of the hybrid composite structure 20 may result in residual stresses in the joint 26 due to a mismatch between the coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the composite resin portion 22 and the metal portion 24. The amount of thermal expansion during curing is a function of the CTE of the composite resin portion 22 and the metal portion 24, as well as the length of the transition section 25. Use of the step lap joint 26, rather than a scarf type or other type of joint may reduce the amount of these residual stresses because of the reduction in the length of the transition section 25 that is needed to obtain a preselected amount of bond area between the two portions 22, 24 of the joint 26. Reduction of the length of the transition section 25 may also reduce residual stresses in the joint 26 after the aircraft is placed in service where large temperature extremes may be encountered during either normal or extreme operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein at least some of the edge regions of the sheets of glass are of differing lengths than others of the edge regions of the sheets of glass because as suggested by multiple step lap joint of Griess because the use of a multiple step lap joint may increase the bond area along the length of the transition section, compared to a scarf type joint or other types of joints which may require a longer length transition section in order to achieve a comparable bond area.
As to claim 13, Kismarton does not disclose further comprising trimming off a portion of the edge band before or after the step of mechanically attaching the edge band of the single rigid part to the aluminum.
Griess discloses and makes obvious disclose further comprising trimming off a portion of the edge band before or after the step of mechanically attaching the edge band of the single rigid part to the aluminum. Griess discloses a related metal to composite hybrid (see paragraph 0057, disclosing glass fibers) that relies on stacking and transition regions. See paragraphs 0054, 0057 and 0064, disclosing:
[0054] Referring to FIGS. 1-4, a layup of composite material plies 35 is terminated at a interface location 39 referred to later herein as a transition point 39, where a metal sheet or ply 37 of the substantially the same thickness as the composite material plies 35 continues to the metal edge 24a of the metal portion 24, and the layup is repeated with a composite-to-metal interface 39 that is staggered toward the metal edge 24a from the prior interface location 39 and includes a ply of structural metal adhesive 45 (see FIGS. 5 and 6) between the metal plies 37, with the next composite-to-metal interface 39 staggered away from the metal edge 24a to produce a nested splice 27. This staggered interface stacking, which produces nested tabs 29 (see FIG. 3), is continued to the full thickness of the hybrid composite structure 20 with none of the composite plies 35 extending fully to the metal edge 24a of the all metal portion 24.
…
[0057] The composite plies 35 may comprise a fiber reinforced resin, such as without limitation, carbon fiber epoxy, which may be in the form of unidirectional prepreg tape or fabric. Other fiber reinforcements are possible, including glass fibers, and the use of non-prepreg materials may be possible. The composite plies 35 may have predetermined fiber orientations and are laid up according to a predefined ply schedule to meet desired performance specifications. As previously mentioned, the bonded sheets 37 may comprise a metal such as titanium that is suitable for the intended application. In the illustrated example, the stack 36 of metal sheets 37 has a total thickness t.sub.1 which is generally substantially equal to the thickness t.sub.2 of the laminated stack 34 of plies 35. In the illustrated example however, t.sub.2 is slightly greater than t.sub.1 by a factor of the thickness of several overwrap plies 43 on opposite sides of the stack 37.
…
[0064] During the lay-up process, the metal sheets 37 are sequenced like plies into the lay-up, much like composite plies are sequenced into a lay-up in a conventional lay-up process. As shown at step 46, adhesive may be introduced between the metal sheets 37 in order to bond them together into a unitized metal structure. Similarly, although not shown in FIG. 8, a bonding adhesive may be introduced between the individual composite plies 35 in order to increase the bond strength between these plies 35. Next, at 48, the lay-up may be compacted using any of several known compaction techniques, such as vacuum bagging following which the lay-up is cured at step 50 using autoclave or out-of-autoclave curing processes. At step 52, the cured composite structure 20 may be trimmed and/or inspected, as necessary.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized disclose further comprising trimming off a portion of the edge band before or after the step of mechanically attaching the edge band of the single rigid part to the aluminum by utilizing the trimming step of Griess in order to ensure that the cured composite structure is shaped and sized to the correct dimensions.
As to claim 15, Kismarton does not disclose wherein at least some of the edge regions of the sheets of carbon fiber are of differing lengths than others of the edge regions of the sheets of carbon fiber. Kismarton’s Figures 3 through 6 are very suggestive of different lengths for the carbon fibers at the splice region, but it is unclear Kismarton discloses the full limitation.
In any event, Griess makes obvious wherein at least some of the edge regions of the sheets of carbon fiber are of differing lengths than others of the edge regions of the sheets of carbon fiber. See paragraphs 0054-58, disclosing:
[0054] Referring to FIGS. 1-4, a layup of composite material plies 35 is terminated at a interface location 39 referred to later herein as a transition point 39, where a metal sheet or ply 37 of the substantially the same thickness as the composite material plies 35 continues to the metal edge 24a of the metal portion 24, and the layup is repeated with a composite-to-metal interface 39 that is staggered toward the metal edge 24a from the prior interface location 39 and includes a ply of structural metal adhesive 45 (see FIGS. 5 and 6) between the metal plies 37, with the next composite-to-metal interface 39 staggered away from the metal edge 24a to produce a nested splice 27. This staggered interface stacking, which produces nested tabs 29 (see FIG. 3), is continued to the full thickness of the hybrid composite structure 20 with none of the composite plies 35 extending fully to the metal edge 24a of the all metal portion 24.
[0055] Referring now also to FIGS. 2-4, the composite portion 22 of the structure 20 comprises a laminated stack 34 of fiber reinforced resin plies 35, and the metal portion 24 of the structure 20 comprises a stack 36 of metal sheets or plies 37 that are bonded together to form a laminated, substantially unitized metal structure. As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, the composite plies 35 and the metal sheets 37 are arranged in layers 38. Each of the layers 38 comprises one or more of the composite plies 35 in substantially edge-to-edge abutment with one of the metal sheets 37. Thus, each of the layers 38 transitions at a point 39 from a composite i.e. composite resin plies 35, to a metal, i.e. metal sheet 37.
[0056] The transition points 39 are staggered relative to each other according to a predetermined lay-up schedule such that the plies 35 and the metal sheets 37 overlap each other in the transition section 25 (FIG. 1). Staggering of the transition points 39 creates multiple bond lines that may reduce the occurrence and/or propagation of cracks or disbonds in the joint 26. The staggering of the transition points 39 also results in a form of interleaving of the composite plies 35 and the metal sheets 37 within the joint 26 which forms a nested splice 27 between the all composite portion 22 and the all metal portion 24. This nested splice 27 may also be referred to as a finger bond 26, a finger joint 26 or a multiple step lap joint 26. The adjacent ones of the transition points 39 are spaced from each other in the in-plane direction of the structure 20 so as to achieve a bonded joint 26 that exhibits optimum performance characteristics, including strength and resistance to disbonds and propagation of inconsistencies such as cracks. In the illustrated example, the nested splice 27 forming the joint 26 is a form of a double finger joint in which the transition points 39 are staggered in opposite directions from a generally central point 55 of maximum overlap. However, as will be discussed blow in more detail, other joint configurations are possible including but not limited to a single finger joint in which the multiple transition points 39 are staggered in a single direction.
[0057] The composite plies 35 may comprise a fiber reinforced resin, such as without limitation, carbon fiber epoxy, which may be in the form of unidirectional prepreg tape or fabric. Other fiber reinforcements are possible, including glass fibers, and the use of non-prepreg materials may be possible. The composite plies 35 may have predetermined fiber orientations and are laid up according to a predefined ply schedule to meet desired performance specifications. As previously mentioned, the bonded sheets 37 may comprise a metal such as titanium that is suitable for the intended application. In the illustrated example, the stack 36 of metal sheets 37 has a total thickness t.sub.1 which is generally substantially equal to the thickness t.sub.2 of the laminated stack 34 of plies 35. In the illustrated example however, t.sub.2 is slightly greater than t.sub.1 by a factor of the thickness of several overwrap plies 43 on opposite sides of the stack 37.
[0058] The use of a multiple step lap joint 26 may increase the bond area along the length of the transition section 25, compared to a scarf type joint or other types of joints which may require a longer length transition section 25 in order to achieve a comparable bond area between the composite resin portion 22 and the metal portion 24. Following thermal curing, cooling of the hybrid composite structure 20 may result in residual stresses in the joint 26 due to a mismatch between the coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the composite resin portion 22 and the metal portion 24. The amount of thermal expansion during curing is a function of the CTE of the composite resin portion 22 and the metal portion 24, as well as the length of the transition section 25. Use of the step lap joint 26, rather than a scarf type or other type of joint may reduce the amount of these residual stresses because of the reduction in the length of the transition section 25 that is needed to obtain a preselected amount of bond area between the two portions 22, 24 of the joint 26. Reduction of the length of the transition section 25 may also reduce residual stresses in the joint 26 after the aircraft is placed in service where large temperature extremes may be encountered during either normal or extreme operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein at least some of the edge regions of the sheets of carbon fiber are of differing lengths than others of the edge regions of the sheets of carbon fiber because as suggested by multiple step lap joint of Griess because the use of a multiple step lap joint may increase the bond area along the length of the transition section, compared to a scarf type joint or other types of joints which may require a longer length transition section in order to achieve a comparable bond area.
As to claim 16, Kismarton does not disclose wherein at least some of the edge regions of the sheets of fiberglass are of differing lengths than others of the edge regions of the sheets of fiberglass. Kismarton’s Figures 3 through 6 are very suggestive of different lengths for the carbon fibers at the splice region, but it is unclear Kismarton discloses the full limitation.
In any event, Griess makes obvious wherein at least some of the edge regions of the sheets of fiberglass are of differing lengths than others of the edge regions of the sheets of fiberglass. See paragraphs 0054-58, disclosing:
[0054] Referring to FIGS. 1-4, a layup of composite material plies 35 is terminated at a interface location 39 referred to later herein as a transition point 39, where a metal sheet or ply 37 of the substantially the same thickness as the composite material plies 35 continues to the metal edge 24a of the metal portion 24, and the layup is repeated with a composite-to-metal interface 39 that is staggered toward the metal edge 24a from the prior interface location 39 and includes a ply of structural metal adhesive 45 (see FIGS. 5 and 6) between the metal plies 37, with the next composite-to-metal interface 39 staggered away from the metal edge 24a to produce a nested splice 27. This staggered interface stacking, which produces nested tabs 29 (see FIG. 3), is continued to the full thickness of the hybrid composite structure 20 with none of the composite plies 35 extending fully to the metal edge 24a of the all metal portion 24.
[0055] Referring now also to FIGS. 2-4, the composite portion 22 of the structure 20 comprises a laminated stack 34 of fiber reinforced resin plies 35, and the metal portion 24 of the structure 20 comprises a stack 36 of metal sheets or plies 37 that are bonded together to form a laminated, substantially unitized metal structure. As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, the composite plies 35 and the metal sheets 37 are arranged in layers 38. Each of the layers 38 comprises one or more of the composite plies 35 in substantially edge-to-edge abutment with one of the metal sheets 37. Thus, each of the layers 38 transitions at a point 39 from a composite i.e. composite resin plies 35, to a metal, i.e. metal sheet 37.
[0056] The transition points 39 are staggered relative to each other according to a predetermined lay-up schedule such that the plies 35 and the metal sheets 37 overlap each other in the transition section 25 (FIG. 1). Staggering of the transition points 39 creates multiple bond lines that may reduce the occurrence and/or propagation of cracks or disbonds in the joint 26. The staggering of the transition points 39 also results in a form of interleaving of the composite plies 35 and the metal sheets 37 within the joint 26 which forms a nested splice 27 between the all composite portion 22 and the all metal portion 24. This nested splice 27 may also be referred to as a finger bond 26, a finger joint 26 or a multiple step lap joint 26. The adjacent ones of the transition points 39 are spaced from each other in the in-plane direction of the structure 20 so as to achieve a bonded joint 26 that exhibits optimum performance characteristics, including strength and resistance to disbonds and propagation of inconsistencies such as cracks. In the illustrated example, the nested splice 27 forming the joint 26 is a form of a double finger joint in which the transition points 39 are staggered in opposite directions from a generally central point 55 of maximum overlap. However, as will be discussed blow in more detail, other joint configurations are possible including but not limited to a single finger joint in which the multiple transition points 39 are staggered in a single direction.
[0057] The composite plies 35 may comprise a fiber reinforced resin, such as without limitation, carbon fiber epoxy, which may be in the form of unidirectional prepreg tape or fabric. Other fiber reinforcements are possible, including glass fibers, and the use of non-prepreg materials may be possible. The composite plies 35 may have predetermined fiber orientations and are laid up according to a predefined ply schedule to meet desired performance specifications. As previously mentioned, the bonded sheets 37 may comprise a metal such as titanium that is suitable for the intended application. In the illustrated example, the stack 36 of metal sheets 37 has a total thickness t.sub.1 which is generally substantially equal to the thickness t.sub.2 of the laminated stack 34 of plies 35. In the illustrated example however, t.sub.2 is slightly greater than t.sub.1 by a factor of the thickness of several overwrap plies 43 on opposite sides of the stack 37.
[0058] The use of a multiple step lap joint 26 may increase the bond area along the length of the transition section 25, compared to a scarf type joint or other types of joints which may require a longer length transition section 25 in order to achieve a comparable bond area between the composite resin portion 22 and the metal portion 24. Following thermal curing, cooling of the hybrid composite structure 20 may result in residual stresses in the joint 26 due to a mismatch between the coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the composite resin portion 22 and the metal portion 24. The amount of thermal expansion during curing is a function of the CTE of the composite resin portion 22 and the metal portion 24, as well as the length of the transition section 25. Use of the step lap joint 26, rather than a scarf type or other type of joint may reduce the amount of these residual stresses because of the reduction in the length of the transition section 25 that is needed to obtain a preselected amount of bond area between the two portions 22, 24 of the joint 26. Reduction of the length of the transition section 25 may also reduce residual stresses in the joint 26 after the aircraft is placed in service where large temperature extremes may be encountered during either normal or extreme operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein at least some of the edge regions of the sheets of fiberglass are of differing lengths than others of the edge regions of the sheets of fiberglass because as suggested by multiple step lap joint of Griess because the use of a multiple step lap joint may increase the bond area along the length of the transition section, compared to a scarf type joint or other types of joints which may require a longer length transition section in order to achieve a comparable bond area.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK