Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 9/12/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 2003/0121627 HU et al., hereinafter HU.
As for claim 12, HU discloses a paper machine for wet-laying a non-woven web [Figure 1]. HU discloses a first tank (1) feeds pulp via pump (2) which feeds headbox (6) [Figure 1, 0019, 0043]. A second stream fed by metering pump (5) combines with the pulp stream from tank (1) to generate a mixture before entering into the headbox (6) which then forms the sheet on belt (7) and suction box (8) [Figure 1, 0043]. There is no mixing tank between metering pump (5) and the headbox (6).
A metering pump is a type of positive-displacement/volumetric pump. The Examiner recognizes that metering (volumetric) pump (5) is stated in HU to supply add ivies (latex, reactive composition) [0043] into the fiber suspension and does not disclose regenerated cellulose fibers fed therethrough. However, an apparatus is not limited by the materials worked upon [MPEP 2115]. The tank feeding the chemicals to metering pump (5) could instead by fed with regenerated cellulose fibers.
[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims."
In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2003/0121627 HU et al., hereinafter HU, in view of U.S. 2020/0181846 SUTTNER, hereinafter SUTTNER.
As for claim 13, HU does not disclose waterjet needling of the tissue produced. TISCHER discloses water-jet needling [pg. 17 lines 20-25]. At the time of the invention it would be obvious to apply waterjet treatment of TISCHER to the apparatus/method of HU. The person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so TISCHER to increase the strength of the web of HU by entangling fibers [pg. 11 lines 10-17].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2003/0121627 HU et al., hereinafter HU, in view of U.S. 2020/0181846 SUTTNER, hereinafter SUTTNER.
As for claim 14, HU discloses a metering pump (volumetric pump) but does not disclose the type. SUTTNER in the same art of papermaking discloses eccentric screw pumps as a known metering pump [0023]. At the time of the invention it would be obvious to substitute one known metering pump for another known metering pump absent evidence of unexpected results. The person of ordinary skill in the art would expect both pumps to be capable of pumping the chemicals of HU.
Conclusion
ANTHONY J. CALANDRA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/Anthony Calandra/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748