DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 filed on April 9, 2025 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 15, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,271,522.
Present Application
US Patent 12,271,522
1. A head mounted display device comprising:
a right image sensor disposed on an edge of a right opening portion, the right image sensor being configured to capture an image of a right eye facing a right lens disposed in the right opening portion; a left image sensor disposed on an edge of a left opening portion, the left image sensor being configured to capture an image of a left eye facing a left lens disposed in the left opening portion;
a plurality of right light sources disposed along the edge of the right opening portion, the plurality of right light sources being disposed to illuminate the right eye; and a plurality of left light sources disposed along the edge of the left opening portion, the plurality of left light sources being disposed to illuminate the left eye,
wherein the right image sensor is disposed near an inner corner of the right eye, wherein the left image sensor is disposed near an inner corner of the left eye,
wherein a number of right light sources disposed on an opposite side of the right image sensor with respect to an optical axis of the right lens is more than a number of light sources disposed on a same side of the right image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the right lens, and wherein a number of left light sources disposed on an opposite side of the left image sensor with respect to an optical axis of the left lens is more than a number of light sources disposed on a same side of the left image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the left lens.
1. A line-of-sight detection device comprising:
an image sensor disposed on an edge of an opening portion and configured to capture an image of an eye facing a lens disposed on the opening potion; and
a plurality of light sources disposed along the edge of the opening portion and arranged to illuminate the eye,
[Claim 5] 5. The line-of-sight detection device according to claim 1, wherein the image sensor is disposed on left side or right side of the lens.
wherein a number of light sources disposed on opposite side of the image sensor with respect to an optical axis of the lens is more than a number of light sources disposed on same side of image sensor with respect to the optical axis, and
light emitted from at least one of the plurality of light sources transmits through the lens, is reflected by the eye, transmits through the lens again, and enters the image sensor.
[Claim 6] 6. The line-of-sight detection device according to claim 5, wherein the image sensor is disposed on a horizontal line passing through the optical axis.
1. A head mounted display device comprising:
a right image sensor disposed on an edge of a right opening portion, the right image sensor being configured to capture an image of a right eye facing a right lens disposed in the right opening portion; a left image sensor disposed on an edge of a left opening portion, the left image sensor being configured to capture an image of a left eye facing a left lens disposed in the left opening portion;
a plurality of right light sources disposed along the edge of the right opening portion, the plurality of right light sources being disposed to illuminate the right eye; and a plurality of left light sources disposed along the edge of the left opening portion, the plurality of left light sources being disposed to illuminate the left eye,
wherein the right image sensor is disposed near an inner corner of the right eye, wherein the left image sensor is disposed near an inner corner of the left eye,
wherein a number of right light sources disposed on an opposite side of the right image sensor with respect to an optical axis of the right lens is more than a number of light sources disposed on a same side of the right image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the right lens, and wherein a number of left light sources disposed on an opposite side of the left image sensor with respect to an optical axis of the left lens is more than a number of light sources disposed on a same side of the left image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the left lens.
1. A line-of-sight detection device comprising:
an image sensor disposed on an edge of an opening portion and configured to capture an image of an eye facing a lens disposed on the opening potion; and
a plurality of light sources disposed along the edge of the opening portion and arranged to illuminate the eye,
[Claim 17] 17. The line-of-sight detection device according to claim 15, wherein the image sensor is disposed to left side or right side of all light sources disposed on the edge of the opening portion.
wherein a number of light sources disposed on opposite side of the image sensor with respect to an optical axis of the lens is more than a number of light sources disposed on same side of image sensor with respect to the optical axis, and
light emitted from at least one of the plurality of light sources transmits through the lens, is reflected by the eye, transmits through the lens again, and enters the image sensor.
[Claim 15] 15. The line-of-sight detection device according to claim 1, wherein the image sensor is configured to capture the image of the eye including a Purkinje image of at least one of the plurality of light sources and a pupil image of the eye.
2. The line-of-sight detection device according to claim 1, wherein the opening portion includes an opening portion for a right eye and an opening portion for a left eye, each of an image sensor for the right eye, which is disposed on an edge of the opening portion for the right eye and is disposed to capture the right eye of a user from the left eye side, and an image sensor for the left eye, which is disposed on an edge of the opening portion lens for the left eye and is disposed to capture the left eye of the user from the right eye side, is included as the image sensor, and each of a plurality of light sources for the right eye disposed along the edge of the opening portion for the right eye and a plurality of light sources for the left eye disposed along the edge of the opening portion for the left eye is included as the plurality of light sources.
2. The head mounted display device according to claim 1, wherein the right image sensor and the left image sensor are disposed on a horizontal line passing through the optical axis of the right lens and the optical axis of the left lens.
3. The head mounted display device according to claim 1, wherein the right image sensor is disposed at a position at 270° rotated clockwise from a position directly above the optical axis of the right lens, with the optical axis of the right lens as a center, and wherein the left image sensor is disposed at a position at 90° rotated clockwise from a position directly above the optical axis of the left lens, with the optical axis of the left lens as a center.
4. The head mounted display according to claim 1, wherein a number of right light sources disposed in a 120° range on the opposite side of the right image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the right lens is more than a number of right light sources disposed in a range other that the outside the 120° range on the opposite side of the right image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the right lens, and wherein a number of left light sources disposed in a 120° range on the opposite side of the left image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the left lens is more than a number of left light sources disposed in a range other that the outside the 120° range on the opposite side of the left image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the left lens.
5. The head mounted display according to claim 1, wherein intervals between right light sources disposed in a 120° range on the opposite side of the right image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the right lens is smaller than intervals between right light sources disposed in a range other that the outside the 120° range on the opposite side of the right image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the right lens, and wherein intervals between left light sources disposed in a 120° range on the opposite side of the left image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the left lens is more than intervals between left light sources disposed in a range other that the outside the 120° range on the opposite side of the left image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the left lens.
6. The head mounted display according to claim 1, wherein a number of right light sources disposed on a lower side of a horizontal line passing through the optical axis of the right lens and the optical axis of the left lens is more than a number of right light sources disposed on an upper side of the horizontal line, and wherein a number of left light sources disposed on the lower side of the horizontal line is more than a number of left light sources disposed on the upper side of the horizontal line.
3. The line-of-sight detection device according to claim 1, wherein in a 360° range around the optical axis, a number of light sources disposed in a range on opposite side of the image sensor with respect to the optical axis is more than a number of light sources disposed in a rest range which is a range of 360° around the optical axis minus the range on the opposite side of the image sensor with respect to the optical axis.
4. The line-of-sight detection device according to claim 3, wherein the range on the opposite side of the image sensor with respect to the optical axis is a 90° range around the optical axis as a center in a direction opposite of the image sensor.
7. The line-of-sight detection device according to claim 1, wherein a number of light sources disposed on lower side of the lens is more than a number of light sources disposed on upper side of the lens.
8. The line-of-sight detection device according to claim 7, wherein a number of light sources disposed on lower side of a horizontal line passing through the optical axis is more than a number of light sources disposed on upper side of the horizontal line.
9. The line-of-sight detection device according to claim 3, wherein a number of light sources disposed in the range on the opposite side of the image sensor with respect to the optical axis is at least 3 more than a number of light sources disposed in the rest range.
10. The line-of-sight detection device according to claim 1, further comprising a processor configured to control each of the plurality of light sources, wherein in a case where a lateral direction of the eye substantially matches with a lateral direction of the lens, the processor lights a first light source group which includes only light sources disposed on upper side of the optical axis of the lens.
11. The line-of-sight detection device according to claim 10, wherein in the case where the lateral direction of the eye substantially matches with the longitudinal direction of the lens, the processor lights a second light source group which is different from the first light source group, and a part of the plurality of light sources is included in both the first light source group and the second light source group.
12. The line-of-sight detection device according to claim 10, wherein in a case where a number of Purkinje images formed on the image sensor is less than a predetermined number, the processor temporarily lights at least one light source which is not lit.
13. A head mounted display device comprising: the line-of-sight detection device according to claim 1; the opening portion; the lens; and a display panel, wherein the lens directs light from the display panel to the eye.
14. The line-of-sight detection device according to claim 3, wherein the range on the opposite side of the image sensor with respect to the optical axis is a 120° range with the optical axis as a center in a direction opposite of the image sensor.
16. The line-of-sight detection device according to claim 1, wherein a number of all light sources disposed on the edge of the opening portion is more than a number of all image sensors disposed on the edge of the opening portion.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 1 of the present application overlaps and encompasses the scope of claims 1, 5, 15, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,271,522, and vice-versa. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill to broaden the scope of claims 1, 5, 15, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,271,522 to that of claim 1 of the present application for the well-known purpose of having a larger scope of patent protection, and consequently, more products in the industrial applicability which are patent protected.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,271,522 in view of Pattikonda (US 11,385,481 B1, Filed on September 17, 2019).
1. A head mounted display device comprising:
a right image sensor disposed on an edge of a right opening portion, the right image sensor being configured to capture an image of a right eye facing a right lens disposed in the right opening portion;
a left image sensor disposed on an edge of a left opening portion, the left image sensor being configured to capture an image of a left eye facing a left lens disposed in the left opening portion;
a plurality of right light sources disposed along the edge of the right opening portion, the plurality of right light sources being disposed to illuminate the right eye; and
a plurality of left light sources disposed along the edge of the left opening portion, the plurality of left light sources being disposed to illuminate the left eye,
wherein the right image sensor is disposed near an inner corner of the right eye, wherein the left image sensor is disposed near an inner corner of the left eye,
wherein a number of right light sources disposed on an opposite side of the right image sensor with respect to an optical axis of the right lens is more than a number of light sources disposed on a same side of the right image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the right lens, and wherein a number of left light sources disposed on an opposite side of the left image sensor with respect to an optical axis of the left lens is more than a number of light sources disposed on a same side of the left image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the left lens.
1. A line-of-sight detection device comprising:
an image sensor disposed on an edge of an opening portion and configured to capture an image of an eye facing a lens disposed on the opening potion; and
[Claim 2] an image sensor for the left eye, which is disposed on an edge of the opening portion lens for the left eye and is disposed to capture the left eye of the user from the right eye side, is included as the image sensor, and
a plurality of light sources disposed along the edge of the opening portion and arranged to illuminate the eye,
[Claim 2] a plurality of light sources for the left eye disposed along the edge of the opening portion for the left eye is included as the plurality of light sources.
wherein a number of light sources disposed on opposite side of the image sensor with respect to an optical axis of the lens is more than a number of light sources disposed on same side of image sensor with respect to the optical axis, and
light emitted from at least one of the plurality of light sources transmits through the lens, is reflected by the eye, transmits through the lens again, and enters the image sensor.
[Claim 2] 2. The line-of-sight detection device according to claim 1, wherein the opening portion includes an opening portion for a right eye and an opening portion for a left eye, each of an image sensor for the right eye, which is disposed on an edge of the opening portion for the right eye and is disposed to capture the right eye of a user from the left eye side, and
[Claim 2] each of a plurality of light sources for the right eye disposed along the edge of the opening portion for the right eye and
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 1 of the present application overlaps and encompasses the scope of claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,271,522, and vice-versa, with the exception that claims 1-2 of US Patent 12,271,522 does not disclose: wherein the right image sensor is disposed near an inner corner of the right eye, wherein the left image sensor is disposed near an inner corner of the left eye.
However, Pattikonda does disclose wherein the right image sensor is disposed near an inner corner of the right eye, wherein the left image sensor is disposed near an inner corner of the left eye (Pattikonda at Fig. 42, cameras 702; col. 20, ll. 53-60 discloses “(150) FIG. 42A a top view of eyeglasses 700 using two separate cameras 702. FIG. 42B is a front view of the eyeglasses 700 of FIG. 42A. The two separate cameras are positioned on a nose pad 704 of the eyeglasses looking at the left and right eye of the user. This position is ideal for eyeglasses as it gives proper angle of the eyes even if the eyes are looking down for reading. It is also the most suitable position for the concealed positioning of the cameras inside the frames.”).1
U.S. Patent No. 12,271,522 discloses a base head mounted device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Pattikonda discloses a comparable head mounted device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to U.S. Patent No. 12,271,522 the teachings of Pattikonda for the predictable result of most suitably concealing the position of the cameras inside the frames (Pattikonda at col. 20, ll. 53-63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Melakari (US 2023/0097774 A1, Filed September 29, 2021) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Melakari (US 2023/0097774 A1, Filed September 29, 2021) in view of Pattikonda (US 11,385,481 B1, Filed on September 17, 2019).
As to claim 1, Melakari discloses a head mounted display device comprising:
a right image sensor disposed on an edge of a right opening portion, the right image sensor being configured to capture an image of a right eye facing a right lens disposed in the right opening portion (Melakari at Figs. 2-4, sensor 208, 408 for the right eyeglasses opening located near the nose bridge, e.g. sensor 208 that is depicted in Fig. 2 as connected to processor 210 by the dashed line; ¶ [0087] discloses “Optionally, the sensor data is in a form of an image that is representative of features of the user's eye. Such features may comprise at least one of: a shape of a pupil of the user's eye, a size of the pupil, corneal reflections of the at least one light source from the surface of the user's eye, a relative position of the pupil with respect to the corneal reflections, a relative position of the pupil with respect to corners of the user's eye”);
a left image sensor disposed on an edge of a left opening portion, the left image sensor being configured to capture an image of a left eye facing a left lens disposed in the left opening portion (Melakari at Figs. 2-4, sensor 208, 408 for the left eyeglasses opening located near the nose bridge, e.g. sensor 208 that is depicted in Fig. 2 as connected to processor 210 by the dashed line; ¶ [0087] discloses “Optionally, the sensor data is in a form of an image that is representative of features of the user's eye. Such features may comprise at least one of: a shape of a pupil of the user's eye, a size of the pupil, corneal reflections of the at least one light source from the surface of the user's eye, a relative position of the pupil with respect to the corneal reflections, a relative position of the pupil with respect to corners of the user's eye”);
a plurality of right light sources disposed along the edge of the right opening portion, the plurality of right light sources being disposed to illuminate the right eye (Melakari at Fig. 2-4, light sources 206 disposed around right eye opening); and
a plurality of left light sources disposed along the edge of the left opening portion, the plurality of left light sources being disposed to illuminate the left eye (Melakari at Fig. 2-4, light sources 206 disposed around left eye opening),
wherein the right image sensor is disposed near an inner corner of the right eye (Melakari at Figs. 2-4, sensor 208, 408 for the right eyeglasses opening located near the nose bridge, e.g. sensor 208 that is depicted in Fig. 2 as connected to processor 210 by the dashed line;
wherein the left image sensor is disposed near an inner corner of the left eye (Melakari at Figs. 2-4, sensor 208, 408 for the left eyeglasses opening located near the nose bridge, e.g. sensor 208 that is depicted in Fig. 2 as connected to processor 210 by the dashed line);
wherein a number of right light sources disposed on an opposite side of the right image sensor with respect to an optical axis of the right lens is more than a number of light sources disposed on a same side of the right image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the right lens (Melakari at Figs. 2-4, light sources 206, 406 are more numerous on the temple side of the eyeglasses opening than on the nose bridge side), and
wherein a number of left light sources disposed on an opposite side of the left image sensor with respect to an optical axis of the left lens is more than a number of light sources disposed on a same side of the left image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the left lens Melakari at Figs. 2-4, light sources 206, 406 are more numerous on the temple side of the eyeglasses opening than on the nose bridge side).
In the event that it is found that Melakari does not disclose the claimed aspect of “wherein the right image sensor is disposed near an inner corner of the right eye; wherein the left image sensor is disposed near an inner corner of the left eye,” then Examiner offers Pattikonda for disclosing this claimed subject matter Fig. 42, cameras 702; col. 20, ll. 53-60).2
Melakari discloses a base head mounted device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Pattikonda discloses a comparable head mounted device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Melakari the teachings of Pattikonda for the predictable result of most suitably concealing the position of the cameras inside the frames (Pattikonda at col. 20, ll. 53-63).
As to claim 6, the combination Melakari and Pattikonda discloses the head mounted display according to claim 1, wherein a number of right light sources disposed on a lower side of a horizontal line passing through the optical axis of the right lens and the optical axis of the left lens is more than a number of right light sources disposed on an upper side of the horizontal line, and wherein a number of left light sources disposed on the lower side of the horizontal line is more than a number of left light sources disposed on the upper side of the horizontal line (Melakari at Figs 6, 8).
Claims 2, 3, 4, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Melakari (US 2023/0097774 A1, Filed September 29, 2021) in view of Pattikonda (US 11,385,481 B1, Filed on September 17, 2019).
As to claim 2, the combination Melakari and Pattikonda discloses the head mounted display device according to claim 1, wherein the right image sensor and the left image sensor are disposed on a horizontal line passing through the optical axis of the right lens and the optical axis of the left lens (Pattikonda at Fig. 42, cameras 702 are necessarily disposed on a horizontal line. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes changes in configuration are obvious).
Melakari discloses a base head mounted device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Pattikonda discloses a comparable head mounted device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Melakari the teachings of Pattikonda for the predictable result of most suitably concealing the position of the cameras inside the frames (Pattikonda at col. 20, ll. 53-63).
As to claim 3, the combination Melakari and Pattikonda discloses the head mounted display device according to claim 1, wherein the right image sensor is disposed at a position at 270° rotated clockwise from a position directly above the optical axis of the right lens, with the optical axis of the right lens as a center, and wherein the left image sensor is disposed at a position at 90° rotated clockwise from a position directly above the optical axis of the left lens, with the optical axis of the left lens as a center (Pattikonda at Fig. 42. MPEP 2144.04(IV)).
Melakari discloses a base head mounted device upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Pattikonda discloses a comparable head mounted device which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Melakari the teachings of Pattikonda for the predictable result of most suitably concealing the position of the cameras inside the frames (Pattikonda at col. 20, ll. 53-63).
As to claim 4, the combination Melakari and Pattikonda discloses the head mounted display according to claim 1, wherein a number of right light sources disposed in a 120° range on the opposite side of the right image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the right lens is more than a number of right light sources disposed in a range other that the outside the 120° range on the opposite side of the right image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the right lens (Melakari at Figs. 3-4, light sources 206, 406 on the right eye area of frame 400. MPEP 2144.04(IV)), and
wherein a number of left light sources disposed in a 120° range on the opposite side of the left image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the left lens is more than a number of left light sources disposed in a range other that the outside the 120° range on the opposite side of the left image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the left lens (Melakari at Figs. 3-4, light sources 206, 406 on the left eye area of frame 400. MPEP 2144.04(IV)).
As to claim 5, the combination Melakari and Pattikonda discloses the head mounted display according to claim 1, wherein intervals between right light sources disposed in a 120° range on the opposite side of the right image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the right lens is smaller than intervals between right light sources disposed in a range other that the outside the 120° range on the opposite side of the right image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the right lens (Melakari at Fig. 2-3. MPEP 2144.04(IV)), and
wherein intervals between left light sources disposed in a 120° range on the opposite side of the left image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the left lens is more than intervals between left light sources disposed in a range other that the outside the 120° range on the opposite side of the left image sensor with respect to the optical axis of the left lens (Melakari at Fig. 2-3. MPEP 2144.04(IV)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (KR 20230085416, Filed on December 7, 2021) is a made of record for its relevance to claim 1 by its disclosure of two camera modules 10 mounted on nose pad 34 of eyeglass frame 32 “to capture images of the wearer’s iris and iris movement in real time” as depicted in Fig. 14:
Tu (US 2022/00821830 A1, Filed January 19, 2021) is made of record for its relevance to claim by its disclosure of invisible light camera 130 in Fig. 1:
/Sanjiv D. Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
11/04/2025
1 See also Kim and Tu in the Conclusion Section below.
2 See also Tu and Kim in Conclusion Section below.