Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/02/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection (in view of Uchida (US 2012/0243042)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US 7,714,800 B2 hereinafter Kobayashi) in view of Uchida (US 2012/0243042 hereinafter Uchida).
Referring to claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a device for controlling a vehicle (Col. 10 lines 18-32; The case in which the control unit 9 and display unit 10 of the AV navigation apparatus S were hidden was explained, however it is not limited to this, and this embodiment could also be applied to the case in which the control unit or display unit in the instrument panel on the vehicle side are the control unit and display unit, and are hidden by the movement of the display panel 7. An embodiment in this case will be explained below.), comprising:
a vehicle body (Col. 10 lines 18-32; this embodiment could also be applied to the case in which the control unit or display unit in the instrument panel on the vehicle side are the control unit and display unit, and are hidden by the movement of the display panel 7.); and
a display device (Fig. 2; 7) included in the vehicle body (Col. 10 lines 18-32; this embodiment could also be applied to the case in which the control unit or display unit in the instrument panel on the vehicle side are the control unit and display unit, and are hidden by the movement of the display panel 7.), wherein the display device (Fig. 2; 7) comprises:
a display configured to display visual information (Col. 5 lines 56-67; The graphics-processing unit 6 performs graphic processing based on the video signal output from the source-switching unit 4 and outputs the video to the display screen of the display panel 7. Also, the graphics-processing unit 6 superimposes image data from the system-control unit 12 on the video signal output on the display screen of the display panel 7, or replaces the video with that image data (for example, a selection-menu display or selection-button image for selecting a source from among the tuner 1, navigation unit 2, and disc-reproduction unit 3, or the image of the control unit and display unit that will be described later) and displays it on the display screen); and
a driving unit (Fig. 1; 8) configured to change at least one of a shape of the display or a position of the display based on a mode (Col. 6 lines 34-43; The movement-control unit 8 is provided with: a rotation-motor driver (not shown in the figure) that drives the rotation motor in order to rotate the display panel 7 around the shaft J in FIG. 2; and a slider-motor driver (not shown in the figure) for moving the display panel 7 together with the removal rail R to the left or right in FIG. 2, and these drivers are both controlled by a control signal from the system-control unit 12 in order to drive the rotation motor and slider motor. The movement-control unit 8 can also be provided with a microcomputer for controlling the drivers.),
wherein the vehicle body further includes a hidden button (Fig. 2; 9) area covered by a part of the display (Col. 7 lines 4-11; As shown in FIG. 2, the control unit 9 and display unit 10 are located on the front of the main housing KK, and when the display panel 7 is removed from the storage unit K in the main housing KK and is in the usable state, they are hidden behind the display panel 7. On the other hand, when the display panel is stored in the storage unit K in the main housing KK, the control unit 9 and display unit 10 appear such that they face the side of the passenger.),
wherein the hidden button area (Fig. 2; 9) includes at least one physical button configured to perform at least one function of the vehicle body (Col. 7 lines 18-33, Fig. 3; In the control unit 9 there are hardware-type control buttons (control switches) such as a volume-adjustment button 9a for adjusting the volume of the sound output from the audio-processing unit 5, a channel-selection button 9b for selecting the channel of the television signal received by the tuner 1, a source-selection button 9c for switching the source provided to the passenger, an eject button 9d for ejecting the CD, DVD or the like from the disc-reproduction unit 3, control buttons 9e, 9f for performing operations such as reproducing, stopping or skipping the program information that is recorded on the CD, DVD or the like and a move-panel button 9g for moving the display panel 7 (remove or store). When the user presses the control buttons that are arranged like this, an instruction signal that corresponds to that control button is output to the system-control unit 12.), and
wherein the driving unit (Fig. 1; 8) changes the position of the display to expose the hidden button area (Fig. 2; buttons 9 will be exposed when the rotation of the display panel 7 downward.).
However, Kobayashi does not specifically disclose to expose the hidden button area by sliding the display along the hidden button area.
In an analogous art, Uchida discloses to expose the hidden button area by sliding the display along the hidden button area (Uchida- [0093]; FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram illustrating a slide mode (second variation) of operation panel device 1 according to the embodiment of the present invention. In operation panel device 1 illustrated in FIG. 5, first panel 100 is mounted on image forming apparatus MFP. FIG. 5(A) illustrates the state in which operation panel device 1 is closed, and FIG. 5(B) illustrates the state in which operation panel device 1 is opened. First panel 100 is fixed to image forming apparatus MFP while second panel 200 is slidable in the horizontal direction on the drawing sheet. Thus, exposed of the operation key group 30 when the second panel 200 slides in the horizontal direction.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Uchida to the system of Kobayashi in order to enable to obtain a design having light weight.
Referring to claim 11, Kobayashi discloses a method of controlling a vehicle (Col. 10 lines 18-32; The case in which the control unit 9 and display unit 10 of the AV navigation
apparatus S were hidden was explained, however it is not limited to this, and this embodiment could also be applied to the case in which the control unit or display unit in the instrument panel on the vehicle side are the control unit and display unit, and are hidden by the movement of the display panel 7. An embodiment in this case will be explained below.), comprising:
changing at least one of a shape of a display of a display device provided in a vehicle body or a position of the display based on a mode by a driving unit (Col. 6 lines 34-43; The
movement-control unit 8 is provided with: a rotation-motor driver (not shown in the figure) that drives the rotation motor in order to rotate the display panel 7 around the shaft J in FIG. 2; and a slider-motor driver (not shown in the figure) for moving the display panel 7 together with the removal rail R to the left or right in FIG. 2, and these drivers are both controlled by a control signal from the system control unit 12 in order to drive the rotation motor and slider motor. The movement-control unit 8 can also be provided with a microcomputer for controlling the drivers.); and
exposing a hidden button area covered by a part of the display by changing the position of the display using the driving unit (Fig. 2; buttons 9 will be exposed when the rotation of the display panel 7 downward.),
wherein the hidden button area (Fig. 2; 9) includes at least one physical button configured to perform at least one function of the vehicle body (Col. 7 lines 18-33, Fig. 3; In the control unit 9 there are hardware-type control buttons (control switches) such as a volume-adjustment button 9a for adjusting the volume of the sound output from the audio-processing unit 5, a channel-selection button 9b for selecting the channel of the television signal received by the tuner 1, a source-selection button 9c for switching the source provided to the passenger, an eject button 9d for ejecting the CD, DVD or the like from the disc-reproduction unit 3, control buttons 9e, 9f for performing operations such as reproducing, stopping or skipping the program information that is recorded on the CD, DVD or the like and a move-panel button 9g for moving the display panel 7 (remove or store). When the user presses the control buttons that are arranged like this, an instruction signal that corresponds to that control button is output to the system-control unit 12.).
However, Kobayashi does not specifically disclose exposing a hidden button area covered by a part of the display by changing the position of the display using the driving unit with sliding the display along the hidden button area.
In an analogous art, Uchida discloses exposing a hidden button area covered by a part of the display by changing the position of the display using the driving unit with sliding the display along the hidden button area (Uchida- [0093]; FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram illustrating a slide mode (second variation) of operation panel device 1 according to the embodiment of the present invention. In operation panel device 1 illustrated in FIG. 5, first panel 100 is mounted on image forming apparatus MFP. FIG. 5(A) illustrates the state in which operation panel device 1 is closed, and FIG. 5(B) illustrates the state in which operation panel device 1 is opened. First panel 100 is fixed to image forming apparatus MFP while second panel 200 is slidable in the horizontal direction on the drawing sheet. Thus, exposed of the operation key group 30 when the second panel 200 slides in the horizontal direction.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Uchida to the system of Kobayashi in order to enable to obtain a design having light weight.
Referring to claim 20, Kobayashi discloses a computer program stored in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium, wherein the program is configured to execute the method of claim 11 when executed by a computer combined with hardware (Col. 3 lines 46-57; The above object of the present invention can be achieved by an information recording medium of the present invention. The information recording medium in which an information display-processing program is recorded in a readable way by a recording computer included in an information display apparatus, the information display-processing program causing the recording computer to function as: a movement control device which performs movement control of the panel member; and a control device which performs control such that the functions of a control member or display member that are completely or partially hidden due to the movement of the panel member are realized on the display screen…, and see claim 11 rejection- Kobayashi).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US 7,714,800 B2 hereinafter Kobayashi) in view of Uchida (US 2012/0243042 hereinafter Uchida), and Song et al. (US 2021/0212225 A1 hereinafter Song).
Referring to claim 2, Kobayashi discloses wherein the shape of the display is changed by folding or unfolding a part of the display at a predetermined angle based on the mode (Col. 6 lines 44-53; Also, when using the display panel 7, the display panel 7 (including shaft J) slides along the removal rail R and is removed from the storage unit K in the main housing KK according to control from the movement-control unit 8 and the system-control unit 12. Next, the display panel 7 stands up by rotating around shaft J. From this operation the display screen that is formed on one surface of the display panel 7 is at a position such that it faces the side of the passenger and is in a usable state. On the other hand, when storing the display panel 7 after use, the series of operations described above are performed in the reverse order, and first the display panel 7 is rotated into a position such that it can be stored in the storage unit K, then in this turned down state, the display panel 7 together with shaft J slides along the removal rail R and is stored inside the storage unit K in the main housing KK.).
However, Kobayashi in view of Uchida as applied above does not specifically disclose the position of the display is changed by sliding the display upward or downward using the driving unit.
In an analogous art, Song discloses the position of the display is changed by sliding the display upward or downward using the driving unit (Song-Figs. 5-7; changing display position sliding via elastic body 540).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Song to the system of Kobayashi in view of Uchida in order to allow the vehicle display device to change the area of a display according to the needs of a user, thus optimizing the display function for user convenience as well as supporting the inherent functions of a vehicle.
Referring to claim 12, Kobayashi discloses wherein the driving unit changes the shape of the display by folding or unfolding a part of the display at a predetermined angle based on the mode (Col. 6 lines 44-53; Also, when using the display panel 7, the display panel 7 (including shaft J) slides along the removal rail R and is removed from the storage unit K in the main housing KK according to control from the movement-control unit 8 and the system-control unit 12. Next, the display panel 7 stands up by rotating around shaft J. From this operation the display screen that is formed on one surface of the display panel 7 is at a position such that it faces the side of the passenger and is in a usable state. On the other hand, when storing the display panel 7 after use, the series of operations described above are performed in the reverse order, and first the display panel 7 is rotated into a position such that it can be stored in the storage unit K, then in this turned down state, the display panel 7 together with shaft J slides along the removal rail R and is stored inside the storage unit K in the main housing KK.).
However, Kobayashi in view of Uchida as applied above does not specifically disclose changes the position of the display by sliding the display upward or downward.
In an analogous art, Song discloses changes the position of the display by sliding the display upward or downward (Song-Figs. 5-7; changing display position sliding via elastic body 540).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Song to the system of Kobayashi in view of Uchida in order to allow the vehicle display device to change the area of a display according to the needs of a user, thus optimizing the display function for user convenience as well as supporting the inherent functions of a vehicle.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US 7,714,800 B2 hereinafter Kobayashi) in view of Uchida (US 2012/0243042 hereinafter Uchida), Song et al. (US 2021/0212225 A1 hereinafter Song), and Gross et al. (US 12,091,357 B2 hereinafter Gross).
Referring to claim 3, Kobayashi in view of Uchida, and Song as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein a display area of the display is divided into a first area, a second area, and a third area arranged on a same surface, the second area is located above the first area, the third area is located below the first area, at least one of the second area or the third area is folded or unfolded at a predetermined angle by the driving unit, and a folding angle of the second area and a folding angle of the third area are the same or different.
In an analogous art, Gross discloses wherein a display area of the display is divided into a first area, a second area, and a third area arranged on a same surface, the second area is located above the first area, the third area is located below the first area, at least one of the second area or the third area is folded or unfolded at a predetermined angle by the driving unit, and a folding angle of the second area and a folding angle of the third area are the same or different (Gross- Col. 3 lines 60-63; In known display systems, such as the system 10 shown in FIG. 1, the cover substrate in dynamically bendable display systems is unsupported when the cover substrate is bent in FIG. 1…, and Col. 23 lines 37-67; FIGS. 10A-10C show different views of a cover substrate 300 that has a first major surface 301, an opposing second major surface 302, and more than one curved portion (e.g., 310, 312, 314, 316 and 318). The curved portions form concave and convex surfaces from the point of view of the first major surface 301. Specifically, curved portions 310, 314 and 316 form concave shapes and curved portions 312 and 318 form convex shapes. Without being bound by theory, the number of curved portions and/or shapes formed (convex or concave) and combinations and order of such curved portions and shapes is unlimited…. In the embodiment shown, the bend axes 330, 340 are embodiments, the portion of the cover substrate that is dynamically bent and the substantially vertical; however, they may be horizontal, diagonal or any other direction. In one or more embodiments, the minor surface 326 at the portion of the covers substrate that is dynamically bent (indicated by the dotted circle) are located outside the area of the cover substrate subject to the type of impacts measured by HIT. In one or more embodiments, the minor surface 326 at the portion of the covers substrate that is dynamically bent (indicated by the dotted circle) are located within the area of the cover substrate subject to the type of impacts measured by HIT; however, the reversible support is collapsible when impacted. In one or more embodiments, the bend axis or axes are positioned to reduce the stress on the minor surface of the cover substrate that is dynamically bent. In one or more embodiments, the bend axis or axes may be positioned along the shortest length or width dimension of the cover substrate to minimize the stress exerted on the cover substrate.) (NOTE: Kobayashi already discloses the folded or unfolded at a predetermined angle by the driving unit; Col. 6 lines 34-43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Gross to the system of Kobayashi in view of Uchida, and Song in order to utilize the reversible support to dynamically bend or dynamically bend the substrate along the bend axis from convex shape to concave shape and back to convex shape, and thus, improve head-form impact performance.
Referring to claim 13, Kobayashi in view of Uchida, and Song as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein a display area of the display is divided into a first area, a second area, and a third area arranged on a same surface, the second area is located above the first area, the third area is located below the first area, at least one of the second area or the third area is folded or unfolded at a predetermined angle, and a folding angle of the second area and a folding angle of the third area are the same or different.
In an analogous art, Gross discloses wherein a display area of the display is divided into a first area, a second area, and a third area arranged on a same surface, the second area is located above the first area, the third area is located below the first area, at least one of the second area or the third area is folded or unfolded at a predetermined angle, and a folding angle of the second area and a folding angle of the third area are the same or different (Gross- Col. 3 lines 60-63; In known display systems, such as the system 10 shown in FIG. 1, the cover substrate in dynamically bendable display systems is unsupported when the cover substrate is bent in FIG. 1…, and Col. 23 lines 37-67; FIGS. 10A-10C show different views of a cover substrate 300 that has a first major surface 301, an opposing second major surface 302, and more than one curved portion (e.g., 310, 312, 314, 316 and 318). The curved portions form concave and convex surfaces from the point of view of the first major surface 301. Specifically, curved portions 310, 314 and 316 form concave shapes and curved portions 312 and 318 form convex shapes. Without being bound by theory, the number of curved portions and/or shapes formed (convex or concave) and combinations and order of such curved portions and shapes is unlimited…. In the embodiment shown, the bend axes 330, 340 are embodiments, the portion of the cover substrate that is dynamically bent and the substantially vertical; however, they may be horizontal, diagonal or any other direction. In one or more embodiments, the minor surface 326 at the portion of the covers substrate that is dynamically bent (indicated by the dotted circle) are located outside the area of the cover substrate subject to the type of impacts measured by HIT. In one or more embodiments, the minor surface 326 at the portion of the covers substrate that is dynamically bent (indicated by the dotted circle) are located within the area of the cover substrate subject to the type of impacts measured by HIT; however, the reversible support is collapsible when impacted. In one or more embodiments, the bend axis or axes are positioned to reduce the stress on the minor surface of the cover substrate that is dynamically bent. In one or more embodiments, the bend axis or axes may be positioned along the shortest length or width dimension of the cover substrate to minimize the stress exerted on the cover substrate.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Gross to the system of Kobayashi in view of Uchida, and Song in order to utilize the reversible support to dynamically bend or dynamically bend the substrate along the bend axis from convex shape to concave shape and back to convex shape, and thus, improve head-form impact performance.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-10 and 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 4, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the mode is divided into a first mode, a second mode, and a third mode, the second area and the third area are in a folded state with respect to the first area in the first mode, the second area is in a folded state and the third area is in an unfolded state in the second mode, the second area and the third area are in an unfolded state in the third mode, and the display slides upward by a predetermined length in the third mode”.
Referring to claims 5-10 are objected upon dependent on the claim 4.
Referring to claim 14, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the mode is divided into a first mode, a second mode, and a third mode, the second area and the third area are in a folded state with respect to the first area in the first mode, the second area is in a folded state and the third area is in an unfolded state in the second mode, the second area and the third area are in an unfolded state in the third mode, and the display slides upward by a predetermined length in the third mode”.
Referring to claims 15-19 are objected upon dependent on the claim 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT D AU/Examiner, Art Unit 2624