DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-23, 25, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kislev et al. (US Patent No.: 11489378).
For claim 19, Kislev et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: providing at least one coil (reference numeral 300) having a coil opening therein (reference numeral 320, see figure 6C); providing at least one first clip (reference numeral 110A), at least one second clip (reference numeral 110C), and at least one third clip (reference numeral 110B, see figures 32D, 32E), wherein the at least one first clip includes a first wedge-shaped tooth (reference numeral 110A), the at least one second clip includes a second wedge-shaped tooth (reference numeral 110C), and the at least one third clip includes a third tooth (reference numeral 110B, see figures 32D, 32E); positioning the first wedge-shaped tooth (reference numeral 110A) within a first end of the coil opening (i.e. coil opening within coil 300, see figures 33A, 33B); positioning the second wedge-shaped tooth (reference numeral 110C) of the second clip within a second end of the coil opening (i.e. coil opening within coil 300) opposite the first end (see figures 33A, 33B); and positioning the third tooth (reference numeral 110B) in the coil opening (i.e. coil opening within coil 300) in a gap between the first wedge-shaped tooth (reference numeral 110A) and the second wedge-shaped tooth (reference numeral 110C) to thereby collectively form a composite tooth that occupies the coil opening (i.e. the first, second, and third wedge-shaped teeth 110A, 110B, 110C being inserted in coil 300 as illustrated in figures 33A, 33B).
For claim 20, Kislev et al. disclose the at least one coil includes a plurality of coils (reference numeral 300) each having a coil opening therein (i.e. plurality of coils 300 as shown in figure 33A), the at least one first clip includes a plurality of first clips (reference numeral 110A) each having a plurality of first wedge-shaped teeth extending from a first yoke (i.e. plurality of first wedge-shaped teeth 110A extending from a first yoke as illustrated in figures 32D, 32E), a plurality of second clips (reference numeral 110C) each having a plurality of second wedge-shaped teeth extending from a second yoke (i.e. plurality of second wedge-shaped teeth 110C extending from a second yoke as illustrated in figures 32D, 32E), and a plurality of third clips (reference numeral 110B) each having a plurality of third teeth extending from a third yoke (i.e. plurality of third teeth 110B extending from a third yoke as illustrated in figures 32D, 32E), and wherein the method further comprises: positioning within each of the coil openings (i.e. openings of coil 300) one of the first wedge-shaped teeth (reference numeral 110A), one of the second wedge-shaped teeth (reference numeral 110C), and one of the third teeth (reference numeral 110B, see figures 32E, 33A), wherein each third tooth (reference numeral 110B) is positioned between one of the first wedge-shaped teeth (reference numeral 110A) and one of the second wedge-shaped teeth (reference numeral 110C), to thereby form a composite tooth within each coil opening of the plurality of coils (i.e. the first, second, and third wedge-shaped teeth 110A, 110B, 110C being inserted in coil 300 as illustrated in figures 33A, 33B); and arranging the plurality of coils (reference numeral 300) in a ring arrangement to thereby form the stator (see figure 33A).
For claim 21, Kislev et al. disclose the first wedge-shaped tooth (see also reference numeral 124E, figures 33A, 33B) and the second wedge-shaped tooth (see also reference numeral 124F, figures 33A, 33B) each having a trapezoidal cross-sectional shape (see figures 33A, 33B).
For claim 22, Kislev et al. disclose the first yoke of the first clip (reference numeral 110A) bridging at least two of plurality of coils (reference numeral 300, see figures 32E, 33A).
For claim 23, Kislev et al. disclose a first of the plurality of the first wedge-shaped teeth (reference numeral 110A) associated with a specific first yoke being positioned in a first of the plurality of coils (i.e. a first of coils 300, see figure 33A), and wherein a second of the plurality of the first wedge-shaped teeth (i.e. another tooth of the plurality of first wedge-shaped teeth 110A, see figures 32D, 32E) associated with the specific first yoke is positioned in a second of the plurality of coils (i.e. a second of coils 300, see figure 33A).
For claim 25, Kislev et al. disclose the composite tooth (i.e. combined teeth 110A, 110B, 110C) having a trapezoidal shape (see figure 32E).
For claim 26, Kislev et al. disclose the coil opening (i.e. opening of coil 300) having a trapezoidal shape (see figures 33A, 33B, also figures 7A, 7B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While the prior art discloses some of the claimed invention as explained above in the present action, the prior art of record do not sufficiently disclose the combination of features including at least the first wedge-shaped tooth and the second wedge-shaped tooth having chamfered surfaces such that when the third tooth is inserted between the first wedge-shaped tooth and the second wedge-shaped tooth the third tooth exerts an outward force on the first wedge-shaped tooth and the second wedge-shaped tooth as recited in claim 24; and positioning the third tooth between the first wedge-shaped tooth and the second wedge-shaped tooth exerting forces against walls of the coil opening to thereby secure the composite tooth in the opening by friction as recited in claim 27.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references disclose embodiments of stator/coil configurations: US 12278519 B1 (Kislev; Victor et al.), US 7723888 B2 (Petek; Marko), US 6956307 B2 (Engquist; John et al.), US 20200067391 A1 (SANDNER; Christian et al.), US 20190372408 A1 (TANIGUCHI; Makoto et al.), US 20190229583 A1 (DEXTRAZE; Jean-Philippe et al.), US 20170353063 A1 (Bell; Jamie et al.), US 20090026875 A1 (Mongeau; Peter P. et al.). Additional references are provided in PTO-892.
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834