DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, received 06 March 2026, is reviewed and entered. This Office Action is a non-final rejection.
Status of Claims
Amended
1-2, 5, 9, 12, 19
Newly Added
21-30
Canceled
4, 10, 13, 20
Pending
1-3, 5-9, 11-12, 14-19, 21-30
Presented for Examination
1-3, 5-9, 11-12, 14-19, 21-30
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
103 Rejections
Applicant’s arguments are drawn to newly added features and are addressed in the rejections below.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “fabric panel” in claim 21. The originally filed disclosure does not support “fabric.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The new matter is “fabric panel” in claim 21. The originally filed disclosure does not support “fabric.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-12, 16-19, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, section (c)(i) is indefinite because it is unclear which of these is being claimed:
1) the at least one snap comprises a first snap (the second snap is not included in the “at least one snap” but is in addition to the “at least one snap”), or
2) the at least one snap comprises a first and a second snap (which is to say, the at least one snap includes both the first and the second snap).
Because it is not clear which of the above things is being claimed, in section (c) (ii), it is not clear if the at least one complementary snap being located above the at least one snap is above the first snap, the first or second snap, or another unclaimed snap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-12, 16-19, 21-24, 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3125581 U, hereinafter, “the Japanese reference” in view of Katz (US 6839907 B2) and Green et al. (US 20190335825 A1), hereinafter, “Green.”
As to claim 1, the Japanese reference discloses a convertible apron (“apron,” title, apron body 1 is convertible in length via fasteners 2 and 3), comprising:
(a) an apron body configured to fold along a fold line to transition the convertible apron between a full length configuration and a short configuration (1), wherein the apron body comprises:
(i) a first face (front of the apron, see annotated FIG below),
(ii) a second face (rear of the apron, see annotated FIG below),
(iii) a bottom edge (see FIGS),
(iv) a first side edge (see FIGS),
(v) a second side edge located opposite the first side edge (see FIGS);
(b) at least one tie attached to the apron body (see FIGS), wherein the at least one tie extends laterally away from the apron body (see FIGS), and wherein the at least one tie is configured to secure the convertible apron to a waist of a wearer (capable of securing and intended to secure); and
(c) a plurality of fasteners securely positioned on the second face of the apron body (fasteners 2 and fasteners 3);
wherein when the convertible apron is in the short configuration, a first portion of the second face located on one side of the fold line faces toward a second portion of the second face located on an opposite side of the fold line (see annotated FIG below), the first portion and the second portion being in face-to-face juxtaposition and at least partially defining an interior extending between the first side edge and the second side edge (see annotated FIG below).
The Japanese reference does not disclose (vi) at least one pocket located on the first face, wherein the at least one pocket comprises a first pocket having a lower edge, and wherein the fold line is vertically aligned with the lower edge of the first pocket such that the fold line and the lower edge are coincident relative to each other, wherein the fold line defines a modified bottom edge of the convertible apron when the convertible apron is in the short configuration such that the lower edge of the first pocket is positioned at the modified bottom edge.
It is known to provide aprons with pockets.
Katz teaches a similar apron (title), including at least one pocket on the first face (4 which includes 5), wherein the at least one pocket comprises a first pocket having a lower edge (see FIG 1, and a pocket necessarily has a lower edge), and wherein the bottom edge of the apron is vertically aligned with the lower edge of the first pocket such that the bottom edge of the apron and the lower edge are coincident relative to each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the first face with a pocket for the purpose of carrying objects.
Furthermore, the Japanese reference discloses the fold line defines a modified bottom edge of the convertible apron when the convertible apron is in the short configuration (see annotated FIG below), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide wherein the fold line is vertically aligned with the lower edge of the first pocket such that the fold line and the lower edge are coincident relative to each other, such that the lower edge of the first pocket is positioned at the modified bottom edge, for the purpose of allowing full use of the pocket whether the bottom edge is folded or unfolded.
The Japanese reference does not disclose wherein the plurality of fasteners comprises: (i) at least one snap comprising a first snap located at the first side edge and a second snap located at the second side edge; and (ii) at least one complementary snap located vertically above the at least one snap bottom fastener, wherein the at least one complementary snap comprises a first complementary snap located at the first side edge and a second complementary snap located at the second side edge, wherein each snap of the at least one snap is configured to selectively couple with a respective complementary snap of the at least one complementary snap to releasably retain the convertible apron in the short configuration.
The Japanese references discloses fasteners (2, 3), but does not expressly disclose the fasteners are snap fasteners.
Green teaches a similar apron, including snap fasteners for enabling the apron to have a long and short configuration (508, 510, para. 0034, see annotated FIG 5 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the Japanese reference’s apron with Green’s snaps, in order to allow the apron to be selectively lengthened and shortened using a known fastener type that is easily sourced for manufacturing and that provides a secure attachment while also being easy to attach and detach.
When the Japanese reference is modified to have the snaps taught by Green, the resulting structure is the first snap and the first complementary snap are configured to couple together to substantially close the interior at the first side edge; and
the second snap and the second complementary snap are configured to couple together to substantially close the interior at the second side edge.
As to claim 2, the modified Japanese reference discloses the convertible apron of claim 1, wherein the at least one snap comprises a plurality of bottom snaps extending along a first array, and wherein the at least one complementary snap comprises a plurality of complementary snaps extending along a second array (this is the result of the modification presented above, where the bottom edge of the Japanese apron is provided with a first array of four snaps as taught by Green, and these four snaps fasten to the array of four complimentary snaps about and parallel to the first array).
As to claim 3, the Japanese reference as modified discloses the convertible apron of claim 2, wherein the fold line extends parallel to both the first array and the second array (this is the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 2 above, where the fold line of the Japanese reference remains the same, only the fasteners are modified to be an array of fasteners).
As to claim 5, the Japanese reference as modified discloses the convertible apron of claim 3, wherein the plurality of bottom snaps comprises an interior snap (one of the two snaps between the first and second snaps), and wherein the plurality of complementary snaps comprises an interior complementary snap (one of the two complimentary snaps between the first and second complimentary snaps).
As to claim 6, the Japanese reference as modified discloses the convertible apron of claim 5, wherein the interior snap and the interior complementary snap are located at a lateral center of the apron body (this is the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above, where the fasteners are modified to be an array of fasteners, see annotated Green FIG 5 below, for claim 6, the “lateral center” is interpreted as the area at and around the vertical centerline between the lateral side edges).
As to claim 7, the Japanese reference as modified discloses the convertible apron of claim 5, wherein the interior snap and the interior complementary snap are located away from the lateral center of the apron body (this is the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above, where the fasteners are modified to be an array of fasteners, see annotated Green FIG 5 below, for claim 7, the “lateral center” is interpreted as the vertical centerline between the lateral side edges).
As to claim 8, the Japanese reference as modified discloses the convertible apron of claim 7, wherein the lateral center of the apron body does not include any fasteners (see annotated Green FIG 5 above).
As to claim 9, the Japanese reference as modified discloses the convertible apron of claim 7, wherein the plurality of bottom snaps comprises a second interior snap (this is the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above, where the fasteners are modified to be an array of fasteners, see Green FIG 5 which teaches an array of four snaps), and wherein the plurality of complementary snaps comprises a second interior complementary snap (this is the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above, where the fasteners are modified to be an array of fasteners, see Green FIG 5 which teaches an array of four snaps).
As to claim 11, the Japanese reference discloses the convertible apron of claim 1, wherein the bottom edge of the apron body comprises a hem (abstract).
As to claim 12, the Japanese reference discloses the convertible apron of claim 11, wherein the at least one snap is located adjacent to the hem (see FIGS).
As to claim 16, the Japanese reference discloses the convertible apron of claim 1, wherein the apron body further comprises a top edge (see FIGS), and wherein the at least one tie extends from the top edge of the apron body (see FIGS).
As to claim 17, the Japanese reference does not disclose the convertible apron of claim 16, wherein the at least one top edge comprises a hem.
The Japanese reference is silent as to the structure of the top edge. However, one of ordinary skill would recognize that a hem is a known means of finishing a raw edge, and raw edges are finished for durability and aesthetics.
Green teaches a similar apron (FIG 5) including the top edge 130 comprises a hem (507).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to hem the top edge, for the purpose of providing a clean and durable finished edge.
As to claim 18, the Japanese reference discloses the convertible apron of claim 1, wherein the apron body further comprises a top edge (see FIGS), and wherein the bottom edge is further away from the top edge while the convertible apron is in the full length configuration as compared to while the convertible apron is in the short configuration (see FIGS).
As to claim 19, the modified Japanese reference discloses the convertible apron of claim 1, wherein each snap of the at least one snap forms a pair with a respective complementary snap of the at least one complementary snap (this is the result of the modification with Green as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above), and wherein respective snaps of each pair of snaps are vertically spaced equidistant from the fold line (this is the result of the modification with Green as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above).
As to claim 21, the Japanese reference discloses a convertible apron (“Apron with adjustable front hook length,” title) comprising: an apron body (1) configured to selectively fold along a fold line to transition between a full length configuration and a short configuration (capable of folding and intended to fold along a fold line, FIG 1 shows a full length configuration and FIG 2 shows a short configuration), the apron body comprising:
a fabric panel comprising a front face and a rear face opposite the front face (the abstract discloses an apron made of a cloth, see annotated FIGS below), the fabric panel extending vertically from a top edge to a bottom edge (see annotated FIGS below), the fabric panel extending horizontally from a left side edge to a right side edge (see annotated FIGS below), and the fold line dividing the rear face into an upper rear face portion and a lower rear face portion (see annotated FIGS below);
a plurality of fasteners attached to the rear face of the fabric panel (2, 3),
a left tie attached to and extending from the left side edge of the fabric panel (FIG 1); and
a right tie attached to and extending from the right side edge of the fabric panel (FIG 1);
wherein the left tie and the right tie are configured to selectively interface one another to secure the convertible apron to a waist of a person (capable of selectively interfacing, this is a known function of apron ties);
when the convertible apron is in the full length configuration, the left lower snap is disengaged from the left upper snap, the right lower snap is disengaged from the right upper snap, and the lower rear face portion is configured to be generally coplanar with the upper rear face portion (FIG 1 shows the full length configuration where all of the fasteners 2, 3 are disengaged; see the modification below regarding the fasteners specifically being snaps);
when the convertible apron is in the short configuration, the left lower snap engages the left upper snap, the right lower snap engages the right upper snap, and the lower rear face portion is configured to contact the upper rear face portion in face-to-face juxtaposition at each of the left side edge and the right side edge (FIG 2 shows the short configuration where all of the fasteners 2, 3 are engaged; see modification below regarding the fasteners specifically being snaps, the lower and upper rear faces contact one another in face-to-face juxtaposition at 2, 3); and
when the convertible apron is in the short configuration, the fold line defines a modified bottom edge of the convertible apron (FIG 2).
The Japanese reference does not disclose a first pocket provided on the front face of the fabric panel, wherein the first pocket comprises a lower edge.
It is known to provide aprons with pockets.
Katz teaches a similar apron (title), including a first pocket provided on the front face of the fabric panel (4), wherein the first pocket comprises a lower edge (see Katz FIG 1, where the pocket lower edge is coextensive with the apron lower edge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a first pocket provided on the front face of the fabric panel for the purpose of carrying objects.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the pocket on the apron such that the lower edge of the first pocket is positioned at the modified bottom edge, for the purpose of allowing full use of the pocket whether the bottom edge is folded or unfolded.
The Japanese reference does not disclose the plurality of fasteners comprises:
a left lower snap located adjacent to an intersection between the left side edge and the bottom edge;
a left upper snap located adjacent to the left side edge and vertically above the left lower snap;
a right lower snap located adjacent to an intersection between the right side edge and the bottom edge; and
a right upper snap located adjacent to the right side edge and vertically above the right lower snap.
The Japanese references discloses fasteners but does not expressly disclose the type of fasteners. Snaps are a known fastener type.
Green teaches a similar apron that uses fasteners to adjust between a full length and short configurations including a left lower snap located adjacent to an intersection between the left side edge and the bottom edge (508, 510, para. 0034, see annotated Green FIG 5 below);
a left upper snap located adjacent to the left side edge and vertically above the left lower snap (see annotated Green FIG 5 below);
a right lower snap located adjacent to an intersection between the right side edge and the bottom edge (see annotated Green FIG 5 below); and
a right upper snap located adjacent to the right side edge and vertically above the right lower snap (see annotated Green FIG 5 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the Japanese apron with the Green snap fasteners in order to allow the apron to be selectively lengthened and shortened using a known fastener type that is easily sourced for manufacturing and that provides a secure attachment while also being easy to attach and detach.
As to claim 22, the modified Japanese reference discloses the convertible apron of claim 21, wherein the plurality of fasteners further comprises: a first interior snap located laterally between the left side edge and a lateral center of the fabric panel, wherein the first interior snap is vertically aligned with the left lower snap and the right lower snap; a first interior complementary snap located laterally between the left side edge and the lateral center of the fabric panel, wherein the first interior complementary snap is vertically aligned with the left upper snap and the right upper snap; a second interior snap located laterally between the right side edge and the lateral center of the fabric panel, wherein the second interior snap is vertically aligned with the left lower snap and the right lower snap; and a second interior complementary snap located laterally between the right side edge and the lateral center of the fabric panel, wherein the second interior complementary snap is vertically aligned with the left upper snap and the right upper snap; wherein, when the convertible apron is in the short configuration, the first interior snap is configured to couple with the first interior complementary snap, and wherein the second interior snap is configured to couple with the second interior complementary snap (this is the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 21 above, see annotated Green FIG 5 above).
As to claim 23, the modified Japanese reference discloses the convertible apron of claim 22, wherein the lateral center of the fabric panel does not include any fasteners (when the Japanese apron is provided with the Green snap configuration, the result is the lateral center not including any fasteners as shown in Green FIG 5).
As to claim 24, the modified Japanese reference discloses the convertible apron of claim 23, wherein the first pocket comprises a rectangular pocket (Katz’ pocket 4 is a rectangular pocket, so when the Japanese apron is provided with Katz’ pocket 4, the result is the first pocket comprises a rectangular pocket).
As to claim 26, the modified Japanese reference discloses the convertible apron of claim 24, further comprising a second pocket provided on the front face of the fabric panel (Katz 5), wherein the second pocket extends at least partially within the first pocket (Katz FIG 1).
As to claim 27, the modified Japanese reference does not disclose the convertible apron of claim 21, wherein the plurality of fasteners further comprises: a left side edge snap located at the left side edge vertically between the fold line and the left lower snap; a left complementary side edge snap located at the left side edge vertically between the fold line and the left upper snap; a right side edge snap located at the right side edge vertically between the fold line and the right lower snap; and a right complementary side edge snap located at the right side edge vertically between the fold line and the right upper snap.
It is noted that the Japanese reference does disclose two sets of fasteners 3, one of which is equivalent to Applicant’s left and right upper snap and the other of which is equivalent to Applicant’s left and right side edge snap.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide additional side edge and complementary side edge snaps in order to provide options for the length of the apron, because the lower snaps could then be attached to the upper snaps for one length/ appearance or the side edge snaps for another length/ appearance and/ or to close the gaps between the upper and lower snaps for a flatter fold or in order to store objects within the fold.
As to claim 28, the Japanese reference does not disclose the convertible apron of claim 27, wherein: the left side edge snap and the left complementary side edge snap are vertically spaced substantially equidistant from the fold line; and the right side edge snap and the right complementary side edge snap are vertically spaced substantially equidistant from the fold line.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the left side edge snap and the left complementary side edge snap are vertically spaced substantially equidistant from the fold line; and the right side edge snap and the right complementary side edge snap are vertically spaced substantially equidistant from the fold line in order to provide the desired appearance.
As to claim 29, the modified Japanese reference discloses the convertible apron of claim 28, wherein, when the convertible apron is in the short configuration: the left side edge snap is configured to couple with the left complementary side edge snap to close an opening at the left side edge; and the right side edge snap is configured to couple with the right complementary side edge snap to close an opening at the right side edge (this is the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 27 above).
As to claim 30, the Japanese reference does not disclose the convertible apron of claim 1, wherein the plurality of snaps further comprises: a first side edge snap located at the first side edge vertically between the fold line and the first snap; a first complementary side edge snap located at the first side edge vertically between the fold line and the first complementary snap; a second side edge snap located at the second side edge vertically between the fold line and the second snap; and a second complementary side edge snap located at the second side edge vertically between the fold line and the second complementary snap.
It is noted that the Japanese reference does disclose two sets of fasteners 3, one of which is equivalent to Applicant’s first and second snap and the other of which is equivalent to Applicant’s first and second side edge snap.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide additional side edge and complementary side edge snaps in order to provide options for the length of the apron, because the lower snaps could then be attached to the upper snaps for one length/ appearance or the side edge snaps for another length/ appearance and/ or to close the gaps between the upper and lower snaps for a flatter fold or in order to store objects within the fold.
Claim(s) 14-15, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3125581 U, hereinafter, “the Japanese reference” in view of Katz (US 6839907 B2) and Green et al. (US 20190335825 A1), hereinafter, “Green” as applied to claim 1 or 24 above, and further in view of Lenart (US 5468152 A).
As to claim 14 or 25, the Japanese reference as modified does not disclose the first pocket comprises a square pocket.
The Katz pocket is rectangular and close to being square, but is not exactly square.
Lenart teaches a similar pocket (21-23) including pockets that may be square or rectangular (col 2 line 50-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the rectangular pocket as a square, for the purpose of aesthetics and to carry the intended objects.
As to claim 15, the Japanese reference as modified discloses the convertible apron of claim 14, wherein the at least one pocket further comprises a rectangular pocket extending at least partially within the square pocket (this is the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 13 above, where Katz’ pocket 4 including 5 are provided on the front face of the Japanese reference, and 5 is a rectangular pocket extending at least partially within 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for similar aprons having fasteners for selectively folding up and fastening a lower peripheral edge.
SALLY HADEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/SALLY HADEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732